Charlotte, NC 
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #17 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 287ft.   4 / 582ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign (web layout)



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

1    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: thedogatesoup
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Loved everything about this course. It's challenging (and to be honest I didn't do that great on it) but everything felt balanced and fair. It's a nice big course with lots to see and a good variety of holes. I never felt in too much danger of losing discs either. Just a really solid course all the way through.
Cons: A buddy of mine almost lost a disc in the pond, so be careful when throwing near there, but that kind of goes without saying. haha. The only other thing I would note is that around hole 9 or 10 it gets a little hard to find the next hole for some reason. It's not impossible or anything, just a little frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this place. Great all the way through.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cream of the Crop

1    7/7/2012   1/24/2013
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent layout
-All types of holes for all types of players
-Very well maintained, located in a city park
-Tee signs are nice
-Tee pads are in good shape
-Option of playing "Charlotte's Web" as well
Cons: -Only con is "Charlotte's Web" baskets could be replaced but are still in playable condition (I understand how expensive baskets are so no big deal)
Other Thoughts: This was one of many stops for my buddies and I from Ohio in Charlotte. We came down a week before Worlds and wanted to check out the courses and have an awesome experience. Hornest's Nest did not disappoint. Hands down one of the best courses I have ever played. There are many different types of holes, long, short, sidearm, backhand. I also loved all the routes you could take from the tee box. Really makes you think before you reach in your bag. You will find yourself emptying your bag on a few holes because of how fun they are. The morning we played, we met "Cubby" (commentator for Disc Golf Monthly) and THE Mark Ellis. It was an amazing experience I will never forget. If you are visiting the area or live nearby this is a MUST play. It won't let you down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Webtastic!

1    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Web layout is an absolutely sick course. I wish it were my home course. I enjoyed getting my @ss kicked. We played the longest layout measuring at 9,120 feet with a par of 70. The Nest layout is shorter but it will test your game. This is no walk in the park.

The front of the course is drastically different from the back. The front is a little more open with water and road out of bounds coming into play. The back is just flat out wicked playing in the thick woods. This course is designed for the best of the best and it requires every shot.

The option to play 2 different layouts and mix up the variety is awesome.

The tee pads and baskets were great!

This course has some fantastic true par 4 & 5 holes. You need an all around game to birdie them. Mistakes lead to big numbers.

Hole #13 "The Guantlet" is a very memorable hole. You must put it on a rope to get the birdie. It's just as easy to get a 4 as it is to 2 it.

Several elevated baskets add difficulty.

There is risk and reward all over the course.

Hole #16 is one of the nastiest holes I have played. Measuring in a 712 feet it's a monster. You have to play down a huge tunnel then turn hard left up the hill. The green area is nasty too. Stan, you are sick and twisted!

I absolutely love the Island hole to finish this course on the Web layout.

The park features restrooms, playground, lighted ball fields, lighted tennis courts, BMX racing track, picnic shelters, fishing pond, basketball courts, and walking trails.
Cons: Like most Charlotte courses this one could use updated signs on every tee.

The only real con I could see is navigation. Print a map. I had an awesome guide who plays the course often. I did not have to walk to find anything. It was VERY enjoyable. The maps on this site are very accurate.
Other Thoughts: I spent 2 days playing 9 courses in Charlotte. Their disc golf courses are very difficult. I was very impressed with the overall design of each course. What an awesome trip when it was snowing back in Chicago.

I'm always looking for feeback. If you vote not helpful I'd love to hear why.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 RAW

1    8/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I PLAYED THE WEB AND IT WAS GREAT. MORE THAN I EXPECTED WITH THE LONGNESS OF THE HOLE AND THE VARITEY OF SHOTS. I can fully under stand why all the top pros love this course. it is like an actual golf course. me and 2 of my friends tied at 58 on the web. a great ending to a great day
Cons: that i dont live here
Other Thoughts: play longer holes to expand your game

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Get stung by the Nest!!!

1    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
19 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Elevated baskets add to the challenge with this course. This is a seldom used feature on courses probably because people aren't creative enough, but I feel like they really add to the challenge, and even moreso to the risk/reward.

2) Densely wooded courses but has a decent mix of some open drives too. I like the variety of this type of course but I much prefer the densely wooded holes, but when you deal with the difficulty of tunnel shots for an entire 18 it can wear on you a little. All and all nice balance!

3) Course loops around from 1-9 back to the parking lot and then again 10-18. This allows for 9 hole rounds without a long walk back to the lot.

4) Kiosk and bathrooms available at the first tee. Practice basket is also usable even though it doubles as the Charlottes Web 18th basket.

5) Nice signage includes Par, Hole #, Distance, O.B.'s, mandos, and other prominent features like ponds, creeks, etc.

6) Garbage cans and benches are available on every hole. This is a feature I appreciate for both cleanliness and player fatigue.

7) Framed massive concrete tees. Some holes have multiple tees when the Charlotte's Web and original layout overlap. There are some holes where the Charlotte's Web layout has it's own hole completely. In this circumstance each hole has its own tee. When the holes are shared there are two tees per hole (one for the web, one for the original). When the original and Web hole are exactly the same there is only one tee.

8) Dual layouts is an incredible idea. I love the idea of being able to play both courses each day (as opposed to the way we do it here in WI, where we have multiple locations but only one basket in place on any given day). I like being able to play both courses on each day because it cuts down on travel time and increases the efficiency of your DG for the day. 2 courses at once!

9) Excellent design using a pretty awesome property. It incorporates all sorts of unique property features into a tough and challenging course. I looked at the original layout despite only playing the Web layout. The Web was obviously more challenging and a lot longer. The original layout was still challenging, but with shorter holes it can be a lot more forgiving.

10) Excellent diversity of shot shaping and hole routing. There are all sorts of different shots needed on this course and you will be tested from start to finish. You definitely need to bring all your shots and a tomahawk could be useful from time to time.

11) The ground is leaf covered. This may be considered a negative to some but it does a good job in keeping mud from forming. The leaves create a barrier that help to allow runoff of the course so it doesnt get a chance to soak intot he soil. I played this course the morning after a 1 inch rain or so and it was wet but really only in the low spots ditches and drainageways. The wooded hole were not too bad because the rain generally filters to specific areas.

12) The local club obviously does a good job helping out with maintenance and the design/install of these courses. The municipality also aids in maintenance but apparently the club get the go ahead and they do a lot of the work to build the courses.

13) Directional signs are used on ocassion to help in routing. They could use a few more but the effort is there to help first timers through the park.

14) Risk/reward is present in multiple places on this course. Some has to do with basket locations, but some also has to do with tight curved fairways. You can try and thread the needle all the way around the corner or just layup to the dogleg.

15) Multi shot holes are always a plus in my opinion. I like it when you have to get to an area to throw to another area. It requires shot execution for sure!

16) The turf is in good condition when in the open areas. Obviously the wooded holes do not have turf but they have a nice cover of leaves to keep those areas clean as mentioned above.

17) Elevation is used whenever possible and unlike some of the other courses in the area the elevation is not extreme, but it is gently rolling.

18) The park is tremendous and it has a wide variety of other activities (if you are into things other than DG). Mecklenberg county is incredible and all of their parks are extremely nice. They are massive and there is tons to do.
Cons: 1) The layout can be a little confusing because there are two baskets installed and left in place because of the two layouts. It may get confusing if the signage isn't good, but I played with a local (Discchucker) who hadn't played the Web layout before and we had no real problems, but we had to walk up fairways on occassion to figure it out.

2) The elevated baskets are fun for me, but a lot of people (specifically beginners) will be very frustrated with this type of concept.

3) This course is very difficult and really is not conducive to a beginner enjoying themselves. There are simply too many things on this course that will keep beginners from having a good time, unless they really enjoy the challenge.

4) Too much luck is required from time to time on this course, but overall the 18 holes play pretty fairly, there just are certain holes and certain shots that may need more than skill to do well.

5) There are some confusing areas when playing the web layout. Obviously some more directional signs would help. They do have some signs to help figure things out but not in every spot that could confuse.

6) Some areas off the fairway have some rough rough areas. For the most part the areas right along the fairway is ok, but there are a few areas that could use some thinning. Get a few errant tree kicks and you will certainly have to deal with some thick stuff. Bring your tomahawk.

7) Road is in play on a few occassions. I never like this to be an issue but as long as you know when to throw and when to wait it isnt a problem except for slowing the round down slightly.
Other Thoughts: What an awesome course in an awesome city, with tons of awesome disc golf courses. I cannot believe how awesome the courses are in Charlotte. I had the pleasure of playing Renaissance (Gold Layout), Cameron Yards, Squirrel Lake, Elon Long, Elon Short, Reedy Creek, Hornets Nest (The Web Layout), Kilborne (Skillborne layout), Nevin, and Mint Hill. I am not sure how I would choose what course to play what day if I lived in the area. There are so many good courses and almost everyone of them challenges you through and through. I prefer courses that challenge and force shot making as long as they are fair. For the most part all of these courses were fair, and luck was needed from time to time, but overall didn't feel like it was too unfair. It felt like execution of these shots was possible. Now keep in mind I am a mid to high 800 rated player (currently 846, but my last two tourneys were in the upper 800's) and I played the hardest layouts of each of these courses. I always feel like I need to see everything the course can throw at me to truly appreciate the courses. This course was tough, mostly because of the distance, but they also have some tough shots. I loved every minute of it and I will be back. The Web layout was fun and am sure the original layout would still be fun but perhaps a little less challenging.

19 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.