Disc Golf Store
Charlotte, NC 
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 426ft.   5 / 712ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee (original layout)



Reviews: 72
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Webtastic!

1    2/4/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Web layout is an absolutely sick course. I wish it were my home course. I enjoyed getting my @ss kicked. We played the longest layout measuring at 9,120 feet with a par of 70. The Nest layout is shorter but it will test your game. This is no walk in the park.

The front of the course is drastically different from the back. The front is a little more open with water and road out of bounds coming into play. The back is just flat out wicked playing in the thick woods. This course is designed for the best of the best and it requires every shot.

The option to play 2 different layouts and mix up the variety is awesome.

The tee pads and baskets were great!

This course has some fantastic true par 4 & 5 holes. You need an all around game to birdie them. Mistakes lead to big numbers.

Hole #13 "The Guantlet" is a very memorable hole. You must put it on a rope to get the birdie. It's just as easy to get a 4 as it is to 2 it.

Several elevated baskets add difficulty.

There is risk and reward all over the course.

Hole #16 is one of the nastiest holes I have played. Measuring in a 712 feet it's a monster. You have to play down a huge tunnel then turn hard left up the hill. The green area is nasty too. Stan, you are sick and twisted!

I absolutely love the Island hole to finish this course on the Web layout.

The park features restrooms, playground, lighted ball fields, lighted tennis courts, BMX racing track, picnic shelters, fishing pond, basketball courts, and walking trails.
Cons: Like most Charlotte courses this one could use updated signs on every tee.

The only real con I could see is navigation. Print a map. I had an awesome guide who plays the course often. I did not have to walk to find anything. It was VERY enjoyable. The maps on this site are very accurate.
Other Thoughts: I spent 2 days playing 9 courses in Charlotte. Their disc golf courses are very difficult. I was very impressed with the overall design of each course. What an awesome trip when it was snowing back in Chicago.

I'm always looking for feeback. If you vote not helpful I'd love to hear why.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/31/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will test your skills. There are holes that play in the open and holes that will make you hit windows in the woods. You'll need to be able to make a lot of different shots if you get off the fairway in the woods.
Lots of length to the holes. Shorter holes either have O.B. close by, or you have to make the perfect shot to catch a birdie.
There are trash cans and benches on almost every hole.
Holes 1 and 10 are right next to each other, so you can start on the back or the front 9.
Cons: Some of the signs are a little old and have faded.
Could use a few more signs up to tell you where to go next. There is no sign that helps you get from hole 1 to hole 2. The signs that are around the course are also showing some age.
Other Thoughts: There's a reason this is going to be the signature course for the 2012 Worlds. It's pretty awesome, and at the same time frustrating because you know you can shoot well here, but then you slam your disc into a tree and take a bogey (if not worse).
I haven't played the long course yet (Charlotte's Web), but I plan to the next time I head down to Charlotte.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Fairytale of a course

1    12/17/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hornets Nest and in particular the Charlotte's Web layout that we played is a nasty wooded, take it to you type of course. It demands consistent play and punishes errant tee shots.

Elevation, OB, woods, tight fairways: It has pretty much everything that will challenge you. This is why a lot of quality disc golfers live in the Charlotte area. They get to play these types of courses year round!

Like I mentioned earlier, The Charlotte's Web layout is quite different from the original Hornet's Nest.- The Web is longer and more difficult. There were longer tees on some holes, longer pin placements on some holes, and sometimes BOTH. The Web smacks you in the face with seemingly impossible fairways that force players out of their comfort zone. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge. Less experienced players beware.

Amenities:
Good long concrete tees with a grippy surface.
Color coded baskets although a map would be helpful.
Park restrooms and scenery.
Cons: Charlotte's Web tee signs need to be updated. They are falling apart compared to their Hornet's Nest counterparts. Signs would help newer players and non locals navigate better.Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc.
Other Thoughts: One amazing course that probably would punish me more often than not. BUT I can say I shot an 82 for the one and only time playing from the longs. I'll take that score.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Crazy Nest!

5+    12/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: lmwolfso
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of open and closed holes. The length, while challenging, is one of the best features of the course. It also has decent signage, great baskets, and concrete pads. The Web alternative is significantly more difficult, featuring tighter, longer fairways.
Cons: The only cons are that it can get crowded on weekends and evenings. The maps are ok, but they need to be updated to reflect newer changes to the course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Queen City's Crown Jewel

5+    8/15/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Toro71
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design
-- I love this type of course, schizophrenic, with some tight technical woods and some more open bomber holes. You'll need about every disc for this course. Has all the elements of a Stan McDaniel challenge: thoughtful distance, clever use of OB, tight-line shot-making, tricky basket locations. You know you're playing one of his courses when you have more than one birdie putt that turns into a 5, or like you go OB twice on one hole (looking at you, 7!)

Maybe 5-9 signature holes here, take your pick, I feel like 7 is the one, but 12 works. 15 may be the most intimidating tee shot in NC. I 5 that thing like every time. The basket placement on 5 makes it one of the toughest par 3s in town.

The two layouts are great, with the Web having more of a location golf feel, more par 4s and more demanding lines to hit from hand to landing.

--Just a pretty course, especially at the right time of year. Though some of the holes are situated near other park-going activities (like active picnic/bar-b-q areas,) this is one of the most scenic layouts in town.

--A Charlotte standard, thousands of rounds have been played here, so the rough is reasonable, the course is beat-in, but nowhere near beat-up, if you take my meaning.

--Restrooms, parking, water right next to #1 and #10 (which are back-to-back.) Web 18's island green is right there, too, and is the ipso facto practice basket.
Cons: --On busy park days, like big weekends/holidays, there may be some interference from other park-goers on the last half of the front 9.

--It is deceptively easy to blow up on a round, and score high. I've always felt like the Nest layout can play much harder than it seems. Be prepared.

--As noted in other reviews, a few holes (like 6, especially) offers a player the best chance they'll have in Charlotte to hit a moving vehicle.

--Navigation can be a bear if you don't know the course, especially if you're giving the Web layout a go. Map's a must, or glom on with a local. Couple of long transitions, particularly between 1 and 2. You can, if you're there at the right time, take in a little BMX action on that walk, if you're so inclined.
Other Thoughts: Arguably Charlotte's best all around disc golfing, though I know that's a bold statement. I'd personallly give this one a 5 if there werent' a couple of occasions where other park-goers really screwed up rounds by walking out on a fairway and picking up a disc out of curiosity, like they couldn't figure out where it came from.

So many top players from this area have cut their teeth on this course. Pretty layout, not a bad hole, two layouts. I want to go out there right now! If you travel to the area, and really want to get your butt handed to you, Nevin is about 7 minutes away from Hornet's Nest, making for a great, if tiring, day of golf.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Put Hornet's Nest on your wish list!

2-4    6/21/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the Web overlap course, this park provides a very complete test of golf for all skill levels. There is great variety in hole shapes and looks and some of the most beautiful fairways anywhere. The front nine is fairly open and "park-like" and then loops back to the parking lot. The back nine, in particular, provides a fun, unique challenge with many gorgeous shots under an awesome tree canopy.

Hole 10 is a nice, uphill left to right shot. Halfway up the fairway is a picture postcard view of the basket framed by a gorgeous tree canopy. This view sets the tone for one of the best nine holes in disc golf.

Hole 12 is among my "best of the best" disc golf holes anywhere. (although it's a par 4, not a par 5 as listed)

"The Gauntlet" is a great little hole that provides nice contrast and adds a lot to the pucker factor. (Hint: throw a tomahawk)

Hole 15 is a very strong par 3 that can be birdied with a great drive, but can also result in disaster. It's one of the scariest tee shots in disc golf.

Hornet's Nest has many dynamic putting "greens" that create the potential for three putts. Most notable is hole 9. It is a very short, straightforward hole that has been diabolically augmented with a very tall, raised basket. The terms risk/reward apply to this hole like few others in the sport.
Cons: The navigation is a little tricky from hole 1 to hole 2, could use a couple more signs.

Holes 6 & 7 run down the busy park road and create a high likelihood that cars will be hit.

Having Web hole 15 play over two holes creates a long, wonky hole and then creates confusing routing. Web 18 is an island green in the middle of the parking lot that is a huge safety issue. The course(s) are great; it really is a letdown to see the Web end on a hokey, unsafe note.
Other Thoughts: Hornet's Nest is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Get Stung!

1    3/31/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hornets Nest has a (mostly) park-style front nine, while the back nine works its way through much tougher wooded areas. Elevation changes are fairly slight throughout, but all elevation was used to its full potential, especially with the artificially elevated baskets. Worn, established fairways with minimal schule throughout. Although a "park" vibe definitely exists in places, much of the back nine offers a more intimate and removed feel.
- The variety of shots here captured my attention. Tightly wooded, long bombers, a few ace runs, and a mixture of open and wooded keeps each hole fresh and exciting.
- The Web is the longer, more difficult layout. Some Web holes have longer tees, a second longer pin placement, a mix of both, or share the same tee and basket. The Web offers long, improbably shaped fairway designs that force players to shoot for defined landing zones in order to set up properly for the next shot. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge.
- Above average amenities. Good long concrete tees, color-coded baskets (to distinguish The Web layout from the Nest's), restrooms, trashcans/recycling, and benches all located in a multi-purpose park.
Cons: - One or two spots might suffer from "crowded park" syndrome, although nothing stood out as a particular problem.
- Some scattered trash; again, this is being pretty nit-picky. The remains of some barb-wire fencing exists on #3.
- The main con to this course is the navigaton. Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc. The Web's signs generally have less information than the Nest's.
Other Thoughts: - My rating takes into account both the Web and the Nest layouts.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great challenge

1    4/17/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park setting for the front 9 with some minor elevation and a mix of wooded and more open shots. The back 9 is heavily wooded and offers tighter lines and more seclusion. The park doesn't have big elevation changes, but the ones that are there are used exceptionally to create challenge, especially around baskets. There is a great mix of lengths on both layouts, from ace runs to holes that are long enough to make you consider a driver and tight enough to make you consider a putter.

Both layouts felt very balanced between right and left turning shots, with a few straight shots required. You'll need some serious shot shaping skills to score well here, along with creative putting and get out of trouble shots. If you miss your line, especially on the back 9, there's often enough trouble to add strokes to your score.

The tees are concrete, and are in nice shape. The baskets are discatchers with some wear and age showing, but they still catch fine. It's a cool idea to color code the baskets when there are two installed on a hole, yellow for the original layout and white for the web layout. The signage is pretty good, with hole layout and distance, the original course is better marked with more consistent signage.
Cons: With two layouts that overlap, things can get a little confusing. Some holes have different tees, some have different baskets, some have both, and some are exactly the same. The end of the course is particularly confusing, as a couple holes on the original course are combined to make one web hole. I pulled up the map on my phone, I strongly recommend this your first time through.

The front 9 shares space with other park uses, we played on a weekend and had several holes with picnickers in play. There are also several shots bringing roads and walking paths into play, on a busy day there's enough traffic on the park roads to make this a safety concern.
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast to play. The original layout is challenging with tons of variety, but approachable for less skilled players. The web layout is very tough, and will make the best players work to stay on the fairways and execute the tight lines. Because of this, there's something for just about everyone here, true beginners will find it tough and punishing but everyone else can find something here appropriate to their skill level.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 191  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.2 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perfect course. Beautiful all year long. Great variety. Friendly enough locals.
Also - a bonus hole after 9 and 18. Web 18 is a super shortie out of the woods on the left, as you walk back to the parking lot. Plays to the practice basket. A nice tie-breaker ace-run
Cons: ?
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 4.5/5 - The only thing it's lacking are those severe up/downhill holes. I'm not a big fan of those (I suck at them). Front 9 is more open, back 9 is woodsy.

Variety (length) 5/5 - The nest is 17/18 ridiculously long, the original has a few ace runs sprinkled in and some otherwise short but tight shots (10, 14)

Beauty - 5/5 - all year

Trackability - 4/5 signs everywhere, and 1 and 10 both start out of the parking lot. It could be tricky after 9 (follow trail out then walk back to lot) and after 1 (past the bmx track on your right, then basketball court also on your right)

Lost Disc Hazard - 3.5/5 - Woods everywhere on the back 9 but it's not as undergrown as Nevin. Just don't throw green discs in the spring and you're fine.

Vibe - 5/5 - Locals are nice. Secluded manicured hike on back 9. It's sketchy when you drive in and there are a million people barbecuing, but they stay mostly out of your way and they're only really around when it's a perfect weather weekend afternoon.

Safety - 4/5 - Again, sometimes it feels sketchy as you drive in or as you park, but you never feel anything out of place while you're playing.

31/35 = 4.42 = 4.5

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 So close to perfect

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are so many things going for this course. From Big to small:

The park itself is a treat. There are clean public restrooms available, along with drinking fountains. Parking is plentiful. The park is fairly clean, with some trash cans visible on the holes that are in the shared spaces of the park. The terrain on the course is good, with enough soil compaction to expose roots, but not make them a tripping hazard for the most part.

The overall course layout is well thought out, with a variety of terrain, elevation, and use of woods. 1, 10, and 18 all play within a short walk of the parking lot/restrooms. There are some tighter, more technical holes, and some "grip it and rip it" wide open fairways. There are a few holes with "artificially" elevated baskets that add a unique challenge to play. I especially enjoyed the back half of the course, and I thought the holes were challenging without being ludicrously so.

I really appreciated the though that went into the dog-leg holes, with 250' or so to the bend, and then a strong mid-range shot to the tee. These distances just felt 'right' to me, and i felt like I was left with a good "golf" shot on every hole.

The tee pads are in great shape, as are the baskets.

The presence of benches on many holes was a plus, as were the bag hooks at the tees.

I found the players to be very polite and respectful to each other. I showed up alone and grabbed a tag-along spot with a few others. On several instances, we had a two-some catch up to our (admittedly too large) group, and there was no hesitation on letting the others play through. This is important because it's obvious based on the crowd that the word is out on how good of a course this is.


Cons: Fairly long walk between 1 and 2. I'd love to see arrow signs in the area of the baskets directing players to the next tee.(apologies if it's there and I missed it.) The map and my local guides made navigation less painful than it would have otherwise been.

I know this is a matter of personal preference, but to me the elevated basket thing gets old pretty fast. I would prefer a dogleg or distance instead of a short hole to a basket that plays 12' higher than the fairway in front of it. (#9 I believe?)

There are a few holes that play along the park roads on one side, and as noted in other reviews, the park is quite busy. One needs to stay aware of the traffic to avoid mishaps.


I've love to see more trash cans in the woods. There are quite a few cans and bottles thrown about, and I'm happy to help clean up if there's an obvious receptacle to put these in. The trash cans that were there were heaped and overflowing in some cases.


Other Thoughts: I love the fact that this course and Nevin are only a few miles apart. While Nevin is challenging and forces your best on nearly every throw, Hornet's Nest is a bit more forgiving, allowing a poor throw here and there to be saved by taking a chance. The two courses are fantastic counterparts to one another. Add in Renny, and you just might have the perfect disc golf weekend. If I only have time to play one of them, Hornet's Nest will be my choice.

I had a fantastic experience and enjoyed every throw today. I find myself wishing I could pack this course up and take it back to PA with me. Since I cant, I'm putting this course on my must play list for my next trip to the Charlotte area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.