Charlotte, NC
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 324ft.   5 / 710ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee (original layout)



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Fairytale of a course

1    12/17/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 53  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hornets Nest and in particular the Charlotte's Web layout that we played is a nasty wooded, take it to you type of course. It demands consistent play and punishes errant tee shots.

Elevation, OB, woods, tight fairways: It has pretty much everything that will challenge you. This is why a lot of quality disc golfers live in the Charlotte area. They get to play these types of courses year round!

Like I mentioned earlier, The Charlotte's Web layout is quite different from the original Hornet's Nest.- The Web is longer and more difficult. There were longer tees on some holes, longer pin placements on some holes, and sometimes BOTH. The Web smacks you in the face with seemingly impossible fairways that force players out of their comfort zone. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge. Less experienced players beware.

Amenities:
Good long concrete tees with a grippy surface.
Color coded baskets although a map would be helpful.
Park restrooms and scenery.
Cons: Charlotte's Web tee signs need to be updated. They are falling apart compared to their Hornet's Nest counterparts. Signs would help newer players and non locals navigate better.Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc.
Other Thoughts: One amazing course that probably would punish me more often than not. BUT I can say I shot an 82 for the one and only time playing from the longs. I'll take that score.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Crazy Nest!

5+    12/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: lmwolfso
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of open and closed holes. The length, while challenging, is one of the best features of the course. It also has decent signage, great baskets, and concrete pads. The Web alternative is significantly more difficult, featuring tighter, longer fairways.
Cons: The only cons are that it can get crowded on weekends and evenings. The maps are ok, but they need to be updated to reflect newer changes to the course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Queen City's Crown Jewel

5+    8/15/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Toro71
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design
-- I love this type of course, schizophrenic, with some tight technical woods and some more open bomber holes. You'll need about every disc for this course. Has all the elements of a Stan McDaniel challenge: thoughtful distance, clever use of OB, tight-line shot-making, tricky basket locations. You know you're playing one of his courses when you have more than one birdie putt that turns into a 5, or like you go OB twice on one hole (looking at you, 7!)

Maybe 5-9 signature holes here, take your pick, I feel like 7 is the one, but 12 works. 15 may be the most intimidating tee shot in NC. I 5 that thing like every time. The basket placement on 5 makes it one of the toughest par 3s in town.

The two layouts are great, with the Web having more of a location golf feel, more par 4s and more demanding lines to hit from hand to landing.

--Just a pretty course, especially at the right time of year. Though some of the holes are situated near other park-going activities (like active picnic/bar-b-q areas,) this is one of the most scenic layouts in town.

--A Charlotte standard, thousands of rounds have been played here, so the rough is reasonable, the course is beat-in, but nowhere near beat-up, if you take my meaning.

--Restrooms, parking, water right next to #1 and #10 (which are back-to-back.) Web 18's island green is right there, too, and is the ipso facto practice basket.
Cons: --On busy park days, like big weekends/holidays, there may be some interference from other park-goers on the last half of the front 9.

--It is deceptively easy to blow up on a round, and score high. I've always felt like the Nest layout can play much harder than it seems. Be prepared.

--As noted in other reviews, a few holes (like 6, especially) offers a player the best chance they'll have in Charlotte to hit a moving vehicle.

--Navigation can be a bear if you don't know the course, especially if you're giving the Web layout a go. Map's a must, or glom on with a local. Couple of long transitions, particularly between 1 and 2. You can, if you're there at the right time, take in a little BMX action on that walk, if you're so inclined.
Other Thoughts: Arguably Charlotte's best all around disc golfing, though I know that's a bold statement. I'd personallly give this one a 5 if there werent' a couple of occasions where other park-goers really screwed up rounds by walking out on a fairway and picking up a disc out of curiosity, like they couldn't figure out where it came from.

So many top players from this area have cut their teeth on this course. Pretty layout, not a bad hole, two layouts. I want to go out there right now! If you travel to the area, and really want to get your butt handed to you, Nevin is about 7 minutes away from Hornet's Nest, making for a great, if tiring, day of golf.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Put Hornet's Nest on your wish list!

2-4    6/21/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the Web overlap course, this park provides a very complete test of golf for all skill levels. There is great variety in hole shapes and looks and some of the most beautiful fairways anywhere. The front nine is fairly open and "park-like" and then loops back to the parking lot. The back nine, in particular, provides a fun, unique challenge with many gorgeous shots under an awesome tree canopy.

Hole 10 is a nice, uphill left to right shot. Halfway up the fairway is a picture postcard view of the basket framed by a gorgeous tree canopy. This view sets the tone for one of the best nine holes in disc golf.

Hole 12 is among my "best of the best" disc golf holes anywhere. (although it's a par 4, not a par 5 as listed)

"The Gauntlet" is a great little hole that provides nice contrast and adds a lot to the pucker factor. (Hint: throw a tomahawk)

Hole 15 is a very strong par 3 that can be birdied with a great drive, but can also result in disaster. It's one of the scariest tee shots in disc golf.

Hornet's Nest has many dynamic putting "greens" that create the potential for three putts. Most notable is hole 9. It is a very short, straightforward hole that has been diabolically augmented with a very tall, raised basket. The terms risk/reward apply to this hole like few others in the sport.
Cons: The navigation is a little tricky from hole 1 to hole 2, could use a couple more signs.

Holes 6 & 7 run down the busy park road and create a high likelihood that cars will be hit.

Having Web hole 15 play over two holes creates a long, wonky hole and then creates confusing routing. Web 18 is an island green in the middle of the parking lot that is a huge safety issue. The course(s) are great; it really is a letdown to see the Web end on a hokey, unsafe note.
Other Thoughts: Hornet's Nest is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Get Stung!

1    3/31/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hornets Nest has a (mostly) park-style front nine, while the back nine works its way through much tougher wooded areas. Elevation changes are fairly slight throughout, but all elevation was used to its full potential, especially with the artificially elevated baskets. Worn, established fairways with minimal schule throughout. Although a "park" vibe definitely exists in places, much of the back nine offers a more intimate and removed feel.
- The variety of shots here captured my attention. Tightly wooded, long bombers, a few ace runs, and a mixture of open and wooded keeps each hole fresh and exciting.
- The Web is the longer, more difficult layout. Some Web holes have longer tees, a second longer pin placement, a mix of both, or share the same tee and basket. The Web offers long, improbably shaped fairway designs that force players to shoot for defined landing zones in order to set up properly for the next shot. More experienced players will find this Par 70, 9000'+ layout a solid challenge.
- Above average amenities. Good long concrete tees, color-coded baskets (to distinguish The Web layout from the Nest's), restrooms, trashcans/recycling, and benches all located in a multi-purpose park.
Cons: - One or two spots might suffer from "crowded park" syndrome, although nothing stood out as a particular problem.
- Some scattered trash; again, this is being pretty nit-picky. The remains of some barb-wire fencing exists on #3.
- The main con to this course is the navigaton. Although each hole for both the Nest and the Web have signs, it's not always immediately clear what's going on with the multiple baskets, tees, etc. The Web's signs generally have less information than the Nest's.
Other Thoughts: - My rating takes into account both the Web and the Nest layouts.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great challenge

1    4/17/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park setting for the front 9 with some minor elevation and a mix of wooded and more open shots. The back 9 is heavily wooded and offers tighter lines and more seclusion. The park doesn't have big elevation changes, but the ones that are there are used exceptionally to create challenge, especially around baskets. There is a great mix of lengths on both layouts, from ace runs to holes that are long enough to make you consider a driver and tight enough to make you consider a putter.

Both layouts felt very balanced between right and left turning shots, with a few straight shots required. You'll need some serious shot shaping skills to score well here, along with creative putting and get out of trouble shots. If you miss your line, especially on the back 9, there's often enough trouble to add strokes to your score.

The tees are concrete, and are in nice shape. The baskets are discatchers with some wear and age showing, but they still catch fine. It's a cool idea to color code the baskets when there are two installed on a hole, yellow for the original layout and white for the web layout. The signage is pretty good, with hole layout and distance, the original course is better marked with more consistent signage.
Cons: With two layouts that overlap, things can get a little confusing. Some holes have different tees, some have different baskets, some have both, and some are exactly the same. The end of the course is particularly confusing, as a couple holes on the original course are combined to make one web hole. I pulled up the map on my phone, I strongly recommend this your first time through.

The front 9 shares space with other park uses, we played on a weekend and had several holes with picnickers in play. There are also several shots bringing roads and walking paths into play, on a busy day there's enough traffic on the park roads to make this a safety concern.
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast to play. The original layout is challenging with tons of variety, but approachable for less skilled players. The web layout is very tough, and will make the best players work to stay on the fairways and execute the tight lines. Because of this, there's something for just about everyone here, true beginners will find it tough and punishing but everyone else can find something here appropriate to their skill level.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 187  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 18.9 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perfect course. Beautiful all year long. Great variety. Friendly enough locals.
Also - a bonus hole after 9 and 18. Web 18 is a super shortie out of the woods on the left, as you walk back to the parking lot. Plays to the practice basket. A nice tie-breaker ace-run
Cons: ?
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 4.5/5 - The only thing it's lacking are those severe up/downhill holes. I'm not a big fan of those (I suck at them). Front 9 is more open, back 9 is woodsy.

Variety (length) 5/5 - The nest is 17/18 ridiculously long, the original has a few ace runs sprinkled in and some otherwise short but tight shots (10, 14)

Beauty - 5/5 - all year

Trackability - 4/5 signs everywhere, and 1 and 10 both start out of the parking lot. It could be tricky after 9 (follow trail out then walk back to lot) and after 1 (past the bmx track on your right, then basketball court also on your right)

Lost Disc Hazard - 3.5/5 - Woods everywhere on the back 9 but it's not as undergrown as Nevin. Just don't throw green discs in the spring and you're fine.

Vibe - 5/5 - Locals are nice. Secluded manicured hike on back 9. It's sketchy when you drive in and there are a million people barbecuing, but they stay mostly out of your way and they're only really around when it's a perfect weather weekend afternoon.

Safety - 4/5 - Again, sometimes it feels sketchy as you drive in or as you park, but you never feel anything out of place while you're playing.

31/35 = 4.42 = 4.5

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 So close to perfect

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are so many things going for this course. From Big to small:

The park itself is a treat. There are clean public restrooms available, along with drinking fountains. Parking is plentiful. The park is fairly clean, with some trash cans visible on the holes that are in the shared spaces of the park. The terrain on the course is good, with enough soil compaction to expose roots, but not make them a tripping hazard for the most part.

The overall course layout is well thought out, with a variety of terrain, elevation, and use of woods. 1, 10, and 18 all play within a short walk of the parking lot/restrooms. There are some tighter, more technical holes, and some "grip it and rip it" wide open fairways. There are a few holes with "artificially" elevated baskets that add a unique challenge to play. I especially enjoyed the back half of the course, and I thought the holes were challenging without being ludicrously so.

I really appreciated the though that went into the dog-leg holes, with 250' or so to the bend, and then a strong mid-range shot to the tee. These distances just felt 'right' to me, and i felt like I was left with a good "golf" shot on every hole.

The tee pads are in great shape, as are the baskets.

The presence of benches on many holes was a plus, as were the bag hooks at the tees.

I found the players to be very polite and respectful to each other. I showed up alone and grabbed a tag-along spot with a few others. On several instances, we had a two-some catch up to our (admittedly too large) group, and there was no hesitation on letting the others play through. This is important because it's obvious based on the crowd that the word is out on how good of a course this is.


Cons: Fairly long walk between 1 and 2. I'd love to see arrow signs in the area of the baskets directing players to the next tee.(apologies if it's there and I missed it.) The map and my local guides made navigation less painful than it would have otherwise been.

I know this is a matter of personal preference, but to me the elevated basket thing gets old pretty fast. I would prefer a dogleg or distance instead of a short hole to a basket that plays 12' higher than the fairway in front of it. (#9 I believe?)

There are a few holes that play along the park roads on one side, and as noted in other reviews, the park is quite busy. One needs to stay aware of the traffic to avoid mishaps.


I've love to see more trash cans in the woods. There are quite a few cans and bottles thrown about, and I'm happy to help clean up if there's an obvious receptacle to put these in. The trash cans that were there were heaped and overflowing in some cases.


Other Thoughts: I love the fact that this course and Nevin are only a few miles apart. While Nevin is challenging and forces your best on nearly every throw, Hornet's Nest is a bit more forgiving, allowing a poor throw here and there to be saved by taking a chance. The two courses are fantastic counterparts to one another. Add in Renny, and you just might have the perfect disc golf weekend. If I only have time to play one of them, Hornet's Nest will be my choice.

I had a fantastic experience and enjoyed every throw today. I find myself wishing I could pack this course up and take it back to PA with me. Since I cant, I'm putting this course on my must play list for my next trip to the Charlotte area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Charlotte's Web and the Nest

5+    2/20/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety is on offer both in terms of length and direction of fairways and shots, there are also two layouts, offering a very challenging experience (The Web) and one that, while it's still challenging (Original), doesn't just beat you down. Quality golf shots abound. If you throw well here, you will be rewarded, if you don't execute quality shots, you will be punished.

The front nine plays through the more open parts of the park, while the back plays more in the woods. Terrific use of the available land and terrain has been made, and the course flows well from hole to hole. You don't look around and wonder, why didn't they put a basket (or tee) over there?

Holes 7 and 9 stand out in my mind as signature holes on the front nine, along with 12 and 14 on the back nine, Hole 7 is a par 4 beauty which runs alongside the park road, which is OB, while hole 9 offers a Stan McDaniel signature elevated basket, creating real risk/reward decisions to be made. Hole 12 is a wonderful multi-throw hole with well defined landing zones, and hole 14 is the infamous Gauntlet, which is as tight as its name implies, yet still offering fair lines to hit.

Another thing I like about the Nest is that there are almost always other folks out playing, but the course itself (unlike the park in general) never seems too crowded. You can almost always show up and find somebody that wants company for a round.
Cons: Not a lot, but here goes, the Nest can get crowded. Not the disc golf course so much, but the park in general, especially on weekends, and on the front nine. There are many things going on in Hornet's Nest park, and consequently, lots of folks around. If you're road tripping, I would recommend not playing the Nest on a nice weekend afternoon, because the park will be crowded between tennis players, BMX racers, and pic-nic'ers. Weekdays and mornings are the best times to play here to avoid crowds of park goers.

Some folks won't like the elevated baskets. I personally enjoy the scoring challenge they provide, and the risk/reward of do I go for it or do I play it safe.

Navigation (for the Web, mainly) can be little difficult for the navigationally challenged, so if there's any chance that's you, print out a map for your first trip here.

The back nine can get pretty muddy and slick after a bout of wet weather.
Other Thoughts: There are trash cans and benches, and even a few pic-nic tables, all around the course. There is a restroom facility by the parking lot, adjacent to holes 1, 10, and 18 (Web). There is a water fountain next to the restrooms.

There are basketball courts, tennis courts, a BMX track, lots of pic-nic shelters, softball fields, and a playground at Hornet's Nest to go along with the disc golf course.

There are multiple stores and restaurants along Sunset Road, about a mile south of the park.

All the tees are concrete, all the baskets are DISCatchers. The white baskets are for the Web layout, and the yellow ones are for the shorter original Nest layout, while some holes share a yellow basket. Some of the holes share a tee, but use different baskets, while some share a basket and use different tees, and some are exactly the same for both layouts, while one hole (#11) is completely different for the two layouts. So again, I'll say, it may be a good idea to print a map, or recruit a guide for your first trip here, but it's not really that bad to navigate.

This is a great course, and truly destination worthy, especially when combined with all the other great courses in the Charlotte metro area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/26/2010   2/26/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely great! Every hole I feel had it's own challenges. For playing a lot of courses this one just absolutely rocked me! The fairways were tight and technical. Some baskets were raised in interesting places. I loved all the distance.
Cons: Obviously since I've only played this once navigation was a bit of a problem for me. I had read that there were 24 holes here and I don't know if I played all of them of missed some. I wish I would've had a guide, but I was one of the only people out playing that day.
Other Thoughts: Would love another chance to play here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.