Charlotte, NC 
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: You have a left or right choice from the tee. Web and original layouts share this hole.



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.4 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Perfect course. Beautiful all year long. Great variety. Friendly enough locals.
Also - a bonus hole after 9 and 18. Web 18 is a super shortie out of the woods on the left, as you walk back to the parking lot. Plays to the practice basket. A nice tie-breaker ace-run
Cons: ?
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 4.5/5 - The only thing it's lacking are those severe up/downhill holes. I'm not a big fan of those (I suck at them). Front 9 is more open, back 9 is woodsy.

Variety (length) 5/5 - The nest is 17/18 ridiculously long, the original has a few ace runs sprinkled in and some otherwise short but tight shots (10, 14)

Beauty - 5/5 - all year

Trackability - 4/5 signs everywhere, and 1 and 10 both start out of the parking lot. It could be tricky after 9 (follow trail out then walk back to lot) and after 1 (past the bmx track on your right, then basketball court also on your right)

Lost Disc Hazard - 3.5/5 - Woods everywhere on the back 9 but it's not as undergrown as Nevin. Just don't throw green discs in the spring and you're fine.

Vibe - 5/5 - Locals are nice. Secluded manicured hike on back 9. It's sketchy when you drive in and there are a million people barbecuing, but they stay mostly out of your way and they're only really around when it's a perfect weather weekend afternoon.

Safety - 4/5 - Again, sometimes it feels sketchy as you drive in or as you park, but you never feel anything out of place while you're playing.

31/35 = 4.42 = 4.5

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 So close to perfect

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are so many things going for this course. From Big to small:

The park itself is a treat. There are clean public restrooms available, along with drinking fountains. Parking is plentiful. The park is fairly clean, with some trash cans visible on the holes that are in the shared spaces of the park. The terrain on the course is good, with enough soil compaction to expose roots, but not make them a tripping hazard for the most part.

The overall course layout is well thought out, with a variety of terrain, elevation, and use of woods. 1, 10, and 18 all play within a short walk of the parking lot/restrooms. There are some tighter, more technical holes, and some "grip it and rip it" wide open fairways. There are a few holes with "artificially" elevated baskets that add a unique challenge to play. I especially enjoyed the back half of the course, and I thought the holes were challenging without being ludicrously so.

I really appreciated the though that went into the dog-leg holes, with 250' or so to the bend, and then a strong mid-range shot to the tee. These distances just felt 'right' to me, and i felt like I was left with a good "golf" shot on every hole.

The tee pads are in great shape, as are the baskets.

The presence of benches on many holes was a plus, as were the bag hooks at the tees.

I found the players to be very polite and respectful to each other. I showed up alone and grabbed a tag-along spot with a few others. On several instances, we had a two-some catch up to our (admittedly too large) group, and there was no hesitation on letting the others play through. This is important because it's obvious based on the crowd that the word is out on how good of a course this is.


Cons: Fairly long walk between 1 and 2. I'd love to see arrow signs in the area of the baskets directing players to the next tee.(apologies if it's there and I missed it.) The map and my local guides made navigation less painful than it would have otherwise been.

I know this is a matter of personal preference, but to me the elevated basket thing gets old pretty fast. I would prefer a dogleg or distance instead of a short hole to a basket that plays 12' higher than the fairway in front of it. (#9 I believe?)

There are a few holes that play along the park roads on one side, and as noted in other reviews, the park is quite busy. One needs to stay aware of the traffic to avoid mishaps.


I've love to see more trash cans in the woods. There are quite a few cans and bottles thrown about, and I'm happy to help clean up if there's an obvious receptacle to put these in. The trash cans that were there were heaped and overflowing in some cases.


Other Thoughts: I love the fact that this course and Nevin are only a few miles apart. While Nevin is challenging and forces your best on nearly every throw, Hornet's Nest is a bit more forgiving, allowing a poor throw here and there to be saved by taking a chance. The two courses are fantastic counterparts to one another. Add in Renny, and you just might have the perfect disc golf weekend. If I only have time to play one of them, Hornet's Nest will be my choice.

I had a fantastic experience and enjoyed every throw today. I find myself wishing I could pack this course up and take it back to PA with me. Since I cant, I'm putting this course on my must play list for my next trip to the Charlotte area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Charlotte's Web and the Nest

5+    2/20/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety is on offer both in terms of length and direction of fairways and shots, there are also two layouts, offering a very challenging experience (The Web) and one that, while it's still challenging (Original), doesn't just beat you down. Quality golf shots abound. If you throw well here, you will be rewarded, if you don't execute quality shots, you will be punished.

The front nine plays through the more open parts of the park, while the back plays more in the woods. Terrific use of the available land and terrain has been made, and the course flows well from hole to hole. You don't look around and wonder, why didn't they put a basket (or tee) over there?

Holes 7 and 9 stand out in my mind as signature holes on the front nine, along with 12 and 14 on the back nine, Hole 7 is a par 4 beauty which runs alongside the park road, which is OB, while hole 9 offers a Stan McDaniel signature elevated basket, creating real risk/reward decisions to be made. Hole 12 is a wonderful multi-throw hole with well defined landing zones, and hole 14 is the infamous Gauntlet, which is as tight as its name implies, yet still offering fair lines to hit.

Another thing I like about the Nest is that there are almost always other folks out playing, but the course itself (unlike the park in general) never seems too crowded. You can almost always show up and find somebody that wants company for a round.
Cons: Not a lot, but here goes, the Nest can get crowded. Not the disc golf course so much, but the park in general, especially on weekends, and on the front nine. There are many things going on in Hornet's Nest park, and consequently, lots of folks around. If you're road tripping, I would recommend not playing the Nest on a nice weekend afternoon, because the park will be crowded between tennis players, BMX racers, and pic-nic'ers. Weekdays and mornings are the best times to play here to avoid crowds of park goers.

Some folks won't like the elevated baskets. I personally enjoy the scoring challenge they provide, and the risk/reward of do I go for it or do I play it safe.

Navigation (for the Web, mainly) can be little difficult for the navigationally challenged, so if there's any chance that's you, print out a map for your first trip here.

The back nine can get pretty muddy and slick after a bout of wet weather.
Other Thoughts: There are trash cans and benches, and even a few pic-nic tables, all around the course. There is a restroom facility by the parking lot, adjacent to holes 1, 10, and 18 (Web). There is a water fountain next to the restrooms.

There are basketball courts, tennis courts, a BMX track, lots of pic-nic shelters, softball fields, and a playground at Hornet's Nest to go along with the disc golf course.

There are multiple stores and restaurants along Sunset Road, about a mile south of the park.

All the tees are concrete, all the baskets are DISCatchers. The white baskets are for the Web layout, and the yellow ones are for the shorter original Nest layout, while some holes share a yellow basket. Some of the holes share a tee, but use different baskets, while some share a basket and use different tees, and some are exactly the same for both layouts, while one hole (#11) is completely different for the two layouts. So again, I'll say, it may be a good idea to print a map, or recruit a guide for your first trip here, but it's not really that bad to navigate.

This is a great course, and truly destination worthy, especially when combined with all the other great courses in the Charlotte metro area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/26/2010   2/26/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely great! Every hole I feel had it's own challenges. For playing a lot of courses this one just absolutely rocked me! The fairways were tight and technical. Some baskets were raised in interesting places. I loved all the distance.
Cons: Obviously since I've only played this once navigation was a bit of a problem for me. I had read that there were 24 holes here and I don't know if I played all of them of missed some. I wish I would've had a guide, but I was one of the only people out playing that day.
Other Thoughts: Would love another chance to play here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Two Courses in one

1    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 172  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love both layouts - long and short

Balanced angles and length's

Sexy park

Unique pin placements

Nice concrete pads and amenities
Cons: A little monotonous at times

Some minor backtracking involved
Other Thoughts: Good times had by all.

One of the best attributes of this course is that you can choose what you are into each round. If you are with beginners or just want a quick or casual round then the Hornets Nest layout is for you. If you are advanced or want to push your skills, the Web layout will test you.

The original layout, though somewhat short, has plenty of style. I played the Charlottes Web layout, and I can say without doubt, it was challenging and demanding. This was my first time in Charlotte and I came from Nevin to this course. Nevin truly beat me down. I was hoping the Web layout here was going to be more fair. It was. I felt that while the layout called for precision and length, there were clear and achievable fairways.

Some of the holes are joint Nest and Web holes. The Web baskets, with the exception of 17/18 I believe, are white, while the Nest pins are typical yellow Innova. Many of the pins are perched on hills or pedistals to create risk/reward shots either off the tee or in the putting circle. There is a sweet hole in the back nine that can easily be reached with a putter, yet it is pearched on a mound and then elevated another 4 feet by a post. You want to run at it, but if over thrown even slightly, you have a challenging come back putt. Sweet.

I found hole 18 to be totally out of place for the Web. It is a very short hole placed within a grass circle of probably 25 foot diameter. If you miss the circle, re-drive. If you miss your second attempt at the circle, you putt from a drop zone for a 5. I guess in theory that makes up for the ease of the hole, but I would argue that most folks playing this layout could easily land the circle. I almost aced it. Its really just a long putt.

Folks in Charlotte clearly like it long and tight. This course calls for precision and length. You have to be able to control a driver, or you have no chance at par on most holes. I say that because using mids to compensate for fade, wont generally get you the 600+ feet you need for par.

I will be back for this one. It is a true destination course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent job!

2-4    1/23/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course was great! All the things you could want on a course such as tee signs, concrete pads, nice baskets, well manicured fairways and tee areas.

The two sets of tees separate the newer plays from the more skilled players and the course plays well for both. This is one of the most fun disc golf experiences I have had in a long time.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: Great job guys! Best course in Charlotte!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Nest

5+    1/19/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is for the regular Hornet's Nest layout. Most of this review could be correct for the longer Charlotte's Web layout, but not for sure.

Hornet's Nest Park DGC offers quite the challange. A technical course with length, the Nest forces accurate shots, leaving distance in the dust.

The course is equipped with DisCatchers, two layers of chains and deep basket trays. Yellows for the Nest, White for the web. There are a couple of exceptions where a basket is shared by both layouts, and will be colored yellow.

Tee pads are brushed concrete, and of sufficient size. Grippy, even when damp.

Tee signs do a very good job depicting the hole, along with distance and par. Web tee signs are a little more thrown together, hand drawn on plain white board(probably years ago) and are fading. Signs are quite accurate. Hole 12s tee sign has two pin placements, make sure you are shooting at the long basket, and not the one straight ahead as this placement is no longer used.

There is no lack of variety on this course. Elevation is used quite well to add difficulty to most of the course, along with a few level ones. Holes also have a varying degree of difficulty when it comes to tightness of fairways. Most are fair, maybe two holes are extremely tight, but offer a unique look. The back 9 contends with alot of woods, where most of the front 9 is more open with use of OB.

This course does a figure 8. Front 9 and back 9 both start and finish at the parking lot, making it very easy to just play 9 on a work break, or play some additional holes after a round. This also helps on busier days when it can be easier to begin on the back 9.

Navigation isn't too difficult. The hardest hole to find is hole 2, use walking path to walk beyond BMX track, hole 2 is about 200' passed track. Hole 17 treks beyond Web #17 tee box. Tee signs seem to be mixmatched here, Nest uses the white faded sign and the Web uses the nice sign.
Cons: There are a few cons, which are not always cons, but worth noting.

With the overlay of two courses-in-one its always good to be aware of other groups behind and in front of you. There is slight crossover with Nest #17 and Web #16, Nest #18 and Web #17. Courteous play and proper ettiquite will keep this from being an issue.

No practice basket, although Web #18 basket is close enough to use if its not interfering with players.

Hornet's Nest Park is fairly croweded on most weekends in the warmer season. BMX track by hole 1, and tennis courts by hole 9 keep the parking lot busy. Field used for hole 2 is usually occupied by some sort of team sport practice which will come into play.

Course gets mightly slick after a rain on the back 9. The front 9 floods easily.

A few blind holes(typical to this area) make it a good idea to walk up and make sure you aren't driving up on others.
Other Thoughts: Hornet's Nest's pros way outweigh the cons. I would suggest playing this course during the week to avoid a crowded course and park.

This course offers something for many experience levels and can be fun for a vast amount of DGers. Not exactly the "beginner" course.

I'm not a huge fan of the front 9. The back 9 is significantly more wooded than the front 9. I prefer playing natural holes which can be punishing because of landscape or trees, rather than open holes with OB in the way of roadways.

Favorite Holes: 12, 15

Least favorite: 7, 4, 2

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Lot's of Stings but Plenty of Honey

1    1/2/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An absolute test of skill from beginning to end. Requiring different aspects of a complete game to endure. Combines tight wooded fairway golf with open placement golf in a variety of lengths and looks. The combination of line shaping and strategic landing zones combine to make a cerebral test as much as skills challenge. I played the Web layout and it truly was a world class course that provided a variety of difficulties with an astounding mixture of unique looks. Forces precision due to the impenetratable NC woods which do not allow cut throughs or recovery shots. Requires length as it plays over 9000 ft. OOB will mitigate the temptation to go reckless on many of the more open holes.
Has some interesting short holes like #9 ace run to an extreme high boy basket with a flat elevated green to land if you miss(one of the funnest holes I've seen and strategy seems to be to aim for the bank and skip up and play for the 2 as ace runs will most likely require a risky comeback putt/even though short I could see 2s and 6s on this same hole on a card) 14s tight tree hallway (including a tree planted in concrete to thwart cheap flicks LOL...as if there were not enough trees out here) and the finishing skip shot off the access road to an island green. (Old School and fun)
I also really enjoyed the bigness of the course and the chance to drive multiple times on each hole. The long horseshoe of hole #3, the strategic placement shots especially on #1(miss the initial gap and theres no way into the woods but to backtrack), #12 (punitive false fairway and all), The fast but fair greens of 4,5,and 16 which allow for lay-ups or conservative misses with an extra stroke rather than forcing a multitude of difficult putts and cheaply inflating your score like another infamous Charlotte course.
I encountered challenge from true doglegs, long alleys through forrests, subtle elevation. water, OOB, and pure distance but none of these in any obnoxious overkill. A very good blend that never felt repetitve. I loved the more secluded wooded back 9. I was in awe at the huge grassy fairways on parts of hole 12 and 17 that were like super highways through the woods. I can see why this course was the one most recommended to me by locals. The challenge is derived by long line shaping skill and strategy rather than just Big D and luck around the greens.
Friendly locals, solid tees, and bathrooms in a big clean park.
Cons: It's not perfect. #8 is quite an elevated basket and not as much fun as 9 as your not really ace running for it off the tee. I am not a fan of playing near or over roads and there are 4 holes (5,6,7,18) that actually use the busy access road as an obstacle and in play.These same areas are in a very public area of the park that seemed to promote conflicts with picnic areas, barbecue pits, parking lots, baseball field, tennis courts etc. The shots are incredible in these areas it's just that you can't hide the fact that cars and people come into play too often. Luckily after hole 7 youre basically done with this mess. These more open holes balance out an otherwise very woodsy course but at a certain cost to safety and enjoyment. A few navigation issues but a map along with some patience and a first timer should be OK. It's a challenging course expect to shoot well over par especially if you are unfamiliar with basket locations your first time around. On a course this difficult I don't understand the need for so much manufactured OOB and Mandos but perhaps theres reasons I am not aware of. (seasonal flooding on #3?, safety concerns etc.)
Other Thoughts: Provides enough fun to keep the grind at bay. One of the better courses I've played and a notch below Nevin in challenge and a Notch above Renny in fairness of play.
The web layout baskets are white and have a web on them. A few holes share baskets with different tees, a few have different baskets, a few play the same in both layouts. A few play completely different. A local guide is probably your best bet.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Jewel in the Queen City

1    1/1/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (this review is based primarily on the original course layout)
- Great variety of holes and shots required. Several extremely difficult technical shots through wooded fairways with tight lines, sometimes requiring precise placement in preparation for a second shot. But the course also has some longer, more open holes that allow you air it out a little. There's also a great mix of left and right turning holes, so the course doesn't favor any one particular style or skill set.
- Several memorable holes that would be a "signature hole" on any other course.  I especially liked holes 12-17 - an amazing stretch of tough, technical holes. There are also many picturesque greens, with several customized elevated baskets.
- Excellent use of the land. There are holes in the woods, holes that run along roads, a pin placed right in front of a pond and a variety of subtle elevation changes.
- Good tee signs, benches near most tees, and trash cans throughout the course. You can tell that the parks department and the local club invest lots of time to keep this course in great shape.
Cons: - The overlaid course (the Web layout) can sometimes confuse first-timers because there are often multiple tees and baskets in play for each hole. But the course flow and signage are MUCH clearer than Rennaissance/Renny Gold.
- A couple of the gaps that you need to throw through are almost unfair (you have to throw through 6 foot gaps on back to back holes).
- Even with the nice elevated basket, hole 9 just seems too short and straight. It seems a little out of place on this course.
Other Thoughts: After just one play, it's already one of my favorite courses ever. I can't wait to come back and play the Web layout (which looks incredibly difficult). It's an easy course to find in a large public park, so this course is a must play if you are in the Charlotte metro area.  

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: one of the reasons my friends and i take a trip to charlotte every year. fun course, but very challenging for me. i shoot better on renny gold than charlottes web for some reason. i still love to play it.
Cons: it kicks my butt every time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center