Disc Golf Center
Charlotte, NC 
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 247ft.   4 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee (web layout)



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course With Variety

5+    10/17/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course in the Charlotte area IMO. It will require all of the shots that you know to play it well (forehand, backhand, tomahawk...). There are open shots on most of the front 9 and fairly tight wooded shots on most of the back 9. Hole 12 is a signature hole (love it or hate it) that requires 2 great shots to have a chance at par.
Cons: As mentioned before, the two elevated baskets on 8 & 9 should be resolved by making 9 longer, without the elevated basket.

The park can also be crowded with visitors getting in the way by playing soccer, cooking out and having kids playing on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I tend to play this course more than any other in Charlotte, due to the variety and fairness (it is somewhat difficult but more fair than Nevin or Reny). With the possible exception of Bracket's Bluff this is my favorite course that I have played.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 good back 9 blah

1    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course has great manicured feilds and an array of open an tight holes. I like the front 9 more than the back just because of how tight it is.
Cons: the back 9 had to many trees and it was very long.
Other Thoughts: they need to put a new tee sign on hole 12 because there is only one pin.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/14/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: philman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course with a variety of shots. I thought this was one of the funnest courses I have played in a long time.
Cons: Signage was better but somewhat confusing. Biggest cons was all of the elevated baskets. I think it's cool to do that once or twice but there were numerous holes where this was the case and it became rather gimmicky.
Other Thoughts: Really had a blast here. North Carolina is a great place for Vacation Golf and my friends and I are glad we came.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 New Design

5+    7/28/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: awesome course, everything has been said before, just wanted to give a review, the new design is hard to adapt to because I loved the old course just as much
Cons: could use more signs, I hope to change this review to a 4 or higher very soon!

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has a variety of open and wooded shots. The course is set up to be two courses in one - The original Hornets Nest and Charlotte's Web. My review focuses primarily on the Hornets Nest layout. The course is clean and trash free. The front nine holes are mostly open while the back nine are wooded and a few have narrow tree gaps which can turn an obvious par 3 into 5 real fast. Several of the holes have elevated baskets. Fairly good signage directing you from hole to hole. The overall course appears maintained well with excessive brush cut back.
Cons: The course can be a bit confusing until familiar with it. Especially around holes 16, 17 and 18. To me, the Charlotte's Web basket for 18 just doesn't make any sense. The course is pretty soggy after rain so be forewarned if going to play after a rainstorm.
Other Thoughts: We ended up playing a hybrid of the original course and the Charlotte's Web course. I think a mix of the two would be challenging for any amateur. All in all it was fun and we plan on returning.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play the Web

1    4/1/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: harpsm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Web layout is long and challenging.
- Variety of tight and (somewhat) open holes.
- Diversity of course - you start in the middle of the park, but end up in the woods, feeling like you're a long ways from civilzation.
Cons: - Difficult to navigate and find tees/pins without a map. If you've never played the course before, you NEED a map to play the Web layout.
- Much of the course was muddy or had standing water when I played it.
- Original layout is a bit tame for experienced players.
- Elevation changes are minimal, though some elevated baskets add challenge.
- The fairways and baskets for holes 16/17/18 overlap strangely - be careful of conflicts with other groups.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable course, though as a first timer without a map, I found it very frustrating to throw in what I thought was the right direction, but find the basket in a different location. Download the (excellent) course map from this site before you go.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 RAW

1    8/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I PLAYED THE WEB AND IT WAS GREAT. MORE THAN I EXPECTED WITH THE LONGNESS OF THE HOLE AND THE VARITEY OF SHOTS. I can fully under stand why all the top pros love this course. it is like an actual golf course. me and 2 of my friends tied at 58 on the web. a great ending to a great day
Cons: that i dont live here
Other Thoughts: play longer holes to expand your game

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 classic

5+    3/8/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concrete pads , 2 layouts, some open holes , some wooded holes. the first 7 holes aer relatively open, but not easy by any means. good distance and accuracy are required for the whole course. elevated baskets, down hill shots, up hill shots. this course has everything.
Cons: its kind of muddy after a good days rain, but its to be expected any where you go. in the summer there are alot of picnics and gatherings along holes3-7. none of these are really cons.
Other Thoughts: the original course is a challenge for most, but if you think your hot shit then try the web. it will more than likely humble you. one of charlottes better courses and a must play when passing through town. nevin park is across the highway off the same exit, and it is a real test for any golfer.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: Daan Muller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The back 9 was a decent layout and well placed baskets and tee pads. Good fun and challenging.

Technical shots required
Cons: However the front 9 very easy to forget, boring no challenge or fun. Very confusing to find tee pads or the basket unless you have a map.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - I really like the variety of open holes to wooded holes on this course. My favorite kind of shot is one that isn't quite wooded, by isn't quite open, with large mature tries defining the fairway.

- They take good care of this course, as well as all the Charlotte area courses.

- There are 2 tee's and 2 baskets per hole, so you can play the course twice and play two completely different courses.

- There were a few water hazards, but nothing too difficult from the regular tee's (didn't get a chance to play the Web layout).

- Some people may not like them, but I thought the elevated baskets were used tastefully and not too much. They added some extra variety to the course.

- The wooded holes were challenging but not annoyingly tight. And they required different types of shots to navigate them.

- For me, the holes lengths were fair from the original layout, forcing me out of my comfortable driving range for most throws, but not ridiculously long either.

- Though the baskets appear worn, they are still in good condition and have a cool little custom logo on them. They catch well and still have that vibrant yellow which is key to locating baskets in the woods you haven't played before.

- There is good use of elevation.

- I had a ton of fun at this course, and that's key to a good course.
Cons: - There are a few holes that just feel like filler, and aren't very memorable at all. Holes 5 and 18 come to mind.

- The course is susceptible to puddles and mud after a storm.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, and was my second favorite in my 5 course trip around Charlotte. The only course I had more fun on was Renny Gold.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.