Charlotte, NC
Hornets Nest Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 324ft.   5 / 710ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee (original layout)



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >
 charlottes web

1    3/19/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Myers
Played: 93  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course (the web layout) is one of the most beautiful and well designed courses I have played. Every shot in my bag was used. backhand forehand, thumber, anyhyzer, stalls. you name it. Elevated pins also add to the challenge and beauty of the course. a great mix of mostly open holes and shorter technical holes. The holes were fair with a designated fairway with risk reward on most holes. Mandos are in place on some holes to ensure you use the fairway. there is plenty to do in the park besides disc golf. The course has 2 loops that start and finish next to the parking lot... 1-9 and 10-18 which makes a half round an option if you don't have enough time. I left this course on cloud nine.
Cons: almost none. the only issue i had was a bit of confusion with it being my first time. The baskets being shared by the nest and web course can make you unsure where to throw. i can only guess that the holes shared will back up during busy times but when i played it flowed nicely
Other Thoughts: This course immediately went to the top of my list. There is only one other course I have played that when I left I was in awe. This course left me nothing but ecstatic. I was passing thru from Ohio on a 12 hour trip and it was well worth every minute that it delayed my trip. simply awesome

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Review of Hornets Nest (Original & Web)

2-4    3/7/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good challenge with open & wooded shots. Clean multi-use wooded park setting. Clean bathrooms. Practice basket. Drinking fountains. Benches on most holes. Hole #9 finishes at the parking lot. Extra "web" holes add to the experience & challenges the pro throwers in the group.
Cons: Some foot traffic on holes 5, 6 & 7. These holes also play along the main road into the park so auto traffic could be a problem on busy days.
Other Thoughts: With two courses in one place this park offers a lot of variety for all who visit.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: the front nine is fun and kinda open, a lil water on one hole, and creative.
Cons: the back nine is just stupid, i think very poorly designed and lazy, i also think its so challenging on some holes you cant throw with out hitting a tree like 12.
Other Thoughts: the front nine makes me wanna go and the back makes me never wanna go back

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful challenging course

5+    2/6/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: THORNBURG
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: One of the best courses you will step on 1)Its maintained magnificently
2)Its very big
3)Very challenging
4)Not many give me birdies
Cons: My only gripe i have is that you never no how well you'll play you'll be having a great day but get tree raped numerous of times AND THE TOURNEMENTS IN CHARLOTTE DON'T OFFER ANYTHING FOR PRIZES
Other Thoughts: MUST PLAY COURSE

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2006   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic course, I especially love the look of the front- lush fairways, nice trees. Great tee signs. Challenging course with good variety. This is one of the more famed courses around and a must play for any serious disc golfer if you get a chance.
Cons: Some holes are spread by a longer walk and hard to spot the next tee- use the map. Road comes into play a couple of times- watch for cars and scuffed up discs!
Other Thoughts: I was unaware of the Web layout when I played here. I just played the Nest and it alone made for an excellent round of DG. I would definitely come back and play the Nest again, as well as giving the Web a try!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    12/23/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course,especiallly when you factor in Web, gives you every variety of shot you would want. There is long turnover shots, technical placement shots, hyzers, deuce or die holes and several air it out oppurtunities. Nest/Web is one of the best designed courses in Charlotte and designed by one of the best course designers in Stan McDaniel. Add all of this with the fact that the course is extremely well maintained and it has two bathrooms and water fountains throughout the front nine gives the course a good argument of being the best in Charlotte.
Cons: Webs layout could be difficult for first time players. A course map can be found here:

http://charlottedgc.com/image...st_Aerial.jpg


Other Thoughts: Either one of the two courses here are worth the drive if your coming from out of town, if your local to the area and haven't played its and absolute must.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging, heavily wooded course

1    11/4/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.1 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played the "Charlotte's Web" layout, and let me tell you, it was one heck of a challenge. I am a novice at best, throwing less than one year, but I like to play the tougher courses, even though I don't score well.

This course is a very good combination of the "natural" feel as well as being well laid out and having clear, well-defined fairways.

Facilities are very good, with restrooms, water fountains, trash cans, etc readily available.

There are some open holes, but most are fairly heavily wooded with tight fairways, which I really like.

My favorites on the course:
1 - Love the tight mando off the tee, really forces you to throw accurately, then hard dogleg left and back into the woods to the pin.
2 - Mostly open, but DO NOT go way left, the foliage is MAJOR pain to get through to find and errant disc (ask me how I know), and be careful shooting at the pin, the water is just behind it.
3 - Major distance through the woods around a huge horseshoe to the right, then into the open.
4 - Nice open hole throwing from the woods out into the open.
8 - Tight wooded fairway, with basket on an elevated bank at the end.
9 - Seemingly simple, but a tree across the fairway keeps you from skipping up close to the basket, then the pin is on a 5-foot mound, THEN elevated several feet on a pole. Tough putt!
14 - You have to hit an approximately 4 foot gap about 100 feet out to stay in the fairway, NOT easy, then shoot UP at the basket.

I really like how the front and back 9 both play back to the parking lot. The baskets are all in excellent condition, very nice Innova's.

I loved playing this course, I just wish I had gotten to play when the weather was better, and that I hadn't lost my First Run Boss on hole 11 (luckily it was just returned to me by a very nice local that found it).
Cons: Sometimes course navigation is tough, but the course map helps tremendously. The only ones I had trouble finding was the route from hole 1 basket to hole 2 tee, and took me a bit to find the hole 3 tee back in the woods, to the left of the pavillion.
Other Thoughts: This course should be a must-play if you're in the charlotte area, just watch the water, and i'm sure in the summer you would need liberal amounts of bug spray, but the terrain is not too difficult to traverse. Also bring plenty of water, if you're not that great a player (like me) it will take you a few hours to get through the Web layout.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The Ole Bee Sting

2-4    11/13/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: governmentthief
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park. One of the best maintained courses Ive played. The front nine is mostly open and gives a chance for some good scoring early. Holes 1 through 6 are fairly easy, nothing crazy although hole 2 has some length for a par 3. Hole 7 is a long open hole dogleg right. Need a strong arm for that one. Once you hit hole 8 though, things get interesting. Trees, trees, trees. 8 requires some good accuracy and has a crazy basket placement on a treacherous plateau. 9 is a short straight shot but has an elevated basket that will kill you if you miss a putt. The back nine are pretty much all tight wooded holes. 12 is a beast that requires a good accurate throw to find the opening to a 90 degree turn to the right which still needs another 250+ to reach the basket. 14 is just mean. A short hole with a ridiculously tight alleyway to throw through. 15 is a blind shot with two openings (one for sidearm and one for backhand) over and down a hill. 18 is probably the only open hole on the back nine requiring a good annie/sidearm shot to a basket near the parking lot. Well setup course fairly easy to navigate with the exception of a couple for holes (print a map just in case). Overall my favorite course in Charlotte. It's a beautiful course in a beautiful park.
Cons: Not much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on holes5, 6 and 7, and watch for cars before you throw. Nice bathrooms near the beginning of the course.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    5/6/2008   5/7/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hornets Nest is a great course that's both challenging and fun. It has a great variety of holes that test all aspects of your game.
- Hornets has the best variety of hole layouts anywhere in Charlotte. There are enough open holes to please that type of DGer, as well as plenty of wooded holes to please that type as well. Both the open and wooded holes give you a mix of birdie chances and earn-your-par level of holes.
- More birdie chances on the front 9 than the back 9. It gets more difficult in the woods, so par is a good score on many of the holes.
- First 7 holes are pretty open, so you can really let it rip. The rest of the course is heavily wooded so accuracy is key.
- Individual fairways for each hole, no overlap. Only have to pay attention to people playing both course layouts (Nest & Web)
- If you can throw it straight, course is much easier. Throw tee shots into the woods, and you'll struggle to make a good score.
- Signs are aplenty making the course easy to navigate. Lots of baskets and trash cans on the course.
- Course is clean and well maintained. The local DGers put in lots of work to keep the course in top shape.
Cons: Nothing major, only small things:
- A long walk between a couple holes, mainly from 1st hole to 2nd tee, and 9th hole to 10th tee.
- Some people aren't fans of the raised baskets on #8 & 9. The issue is that they probably shouldn't be on back-to-back holes, plus #8 is a good enough layout without the raised basket. Just a side note that these holes were put in to place several years ago, after park construction eliminated 2 old holes. #8 & 9 were added into the limited space that was available, so you can tell they tried to add a little extra challenge by raising the baskets.
- 2nd tee can be hard to find for first timers. Make sure to use map. 2nd tee is past bike course.
- No restrooms or water fountains on back 9, so plan accordingly.
- On wooded holes, can spend time in the woods looking for errant throws
- Watch out for geese and droppings on holes near the pond, mainly holes 3 - 6.
- Road/parking lot come into play on holes #1, 5 - 7 & 18(Charlotte's Web).
Other Thoughts: Hornets Nest is a top course by itself. Throw in Charlotte's Web, and it's a challenge for even the top players. The two layouts give enough variety that you don't just feel you're playing the same hole with the tee pad moved 100 feet back.
- With Nevin Park only 5 minutes away, this gives you a great chance to play two top-notch Charlotte courses. This is easily the best 1-2 punch in Charlotte, and probably one of the anywhere in the region.
- #2 is a wide-open field, so it's a good hole to empty the bag and practice throwing drives.
- Water comes into play on 3 and 5; also on 2 & 6 for Charlotte's Web.
- Don't let your drive on #4 sail too far to the left, or have fun scaling the outfield fence to retrieve your disc.
- Front 9 can be crowded by other people using the park- picnic areas, playground, walking trails all near by. Back 9 is for DGers only.
- #12 is the signature hole at this course. 638 foot dogleg right. First part of hole is 280 foot shot to setup yourself up for dogleg fairway opening in the woods. Go too far or too short with your tee shot and you'll miss the fairway for the second part of the hole, greatly reducing your chance to advance with your second shot. The second part of the hole is a much tighter/wooded fairway. Birdies are in play with several good shots. Get off the fairway, and your score is going to suffer.
- It may not be the toughest course in town (Nevin & Renny can fight for that title), but it has that something special that keeps players coming back. It's one of those challenging, but fair, type of courses that most DGers seem to relish, myself included.
- Hosting the World Champs in '97 just further proof it's a must play.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Charlotte, NC is a Disc Golfers Dream!

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Get your bidies (2's) early because the back nine is a killer. First nine is pretty much in the open and the back 9 is pretty much in the woods. The course kicked my butt hard when I played, but I enjoyed every minute of it. One of the best I have played. Must be accurate with your discs as well as have a bit of distance to get a good score. Placement can be key.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.