Pennsville, NJ 
Riverview DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brian1973psu Hole #9
3 / 225ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
the wind and water make it

1    9/8/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: tommyp
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery is beautiful, a pond a disc's throw from the Delaware river. The wind is what made it fom me. The local climate near the water made for a challenging invisable obstacle that could suddenly pop your putt 4 feet over the catcher or keep your drive in the air, hovering much longer than you would expect. There are multiple jungle gym's in case you are a parent with a dg tolerant toddler in tow.
Cons: So I think 3, 6 and 8 are the only numbered baskets. Also, finding tees for 8 and 9, I tried but literally had no inkling of where they could be after ten minutes of searching.
Other Thoughts: Im a real newbie, but after reading the reviews and expecting the worst, I was pleasantly surprised. I believe I may return regularly as I pass close by on my long commute home from work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

meh

1    6/13/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: PhillyPhan69
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: It is located in a beautiful park, and if not on a budget the Riverview Inn has pretty good food, although I prefer Hudock's (foot long hotdogs) on my way into town. I guess a pro would be it is the only course within about 30 minutes of here.
Cons: Tees are not easily identifiable, and eve finding worn grass spots is not an easy project. Baskets not numbered, to make the hole layout identifiable.
Other Thoughts: I probably won't return anytime soon, which is a shame because it is 15 minutes from my in laws and it could have potential.

Where's the tee?

1    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: MattElwell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Manageable distance with lots of open play. (I'm a beginner, and this course allowed be to focus on drives without having to constantly fish disks out of hazards. While there is a lot of water on the course, it didn't steal any discs.
Cons: The thing that made this course really frustrating was the complete lack of signage. One sign acknowledging the benefactor turns out to be the general area where you're supposed to tee off. I only found two actual tees. (Cement blocks painted yellow, and near flush with the grass.) No posts to indicate where the next tee area was. The baskets themselves no longer had their numbers. (For some, when you went up to them, you could see the outline of where the number had been.)
Other Thoughts: In fairness, I played the course out of season. For all I know it's much better kept up Spring-Fall.

Riverview dgc

1    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a reasonable course, not good by any standard but alright to come out and have some fun every once in a while. If you have the chance i would meet up with a local and play the alt tees, they incorporate more distance, variety and water and are overall probably about a three rating, but they are quite hard to find.

2 tees pee hole, although most dont create much of a different shot they make for a quick 18 hole round.

Not much variety, mostly open anywhere from 225-350. The wind ca. Pick up and reak havock on lightweight discs.
1- left to right, turn it over too much and your in the drink.
2 play the long tee on the island for an intersting shot over water about 350.
3- ace potential, straight, 225
4- tee off on a slightly elevated tee, left to right 325. Play alt tee back and to the right.
5 straight 275' water if you fade out early. Wlk farther back to find the alt tee
6 split two trees to an open fairway with a ditch to avoid on right. Alt tee on Other side of lake makes this a solid and challenging hole.
7 go left or right of a large tree and find yourself near the basket,
8 you can go left or right under a low ceiling to a protected basket. Ace potential
9 go right or left of a group of trees to get to. The basket 250 ace potential. Play back to 4s basket to avoid the walk.
Cons: Open

Can get flooded, low lying spots can develop puddles after any rain.

Natural tees, the tees are on brick in the ground and the only way to find them is by looking for the worn in spots on the ground. Tee signs and next tee arrows would definately be helpful at this course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round at pennsville its an nice stop right off the high way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My First Jersey Course Did Not Impress!

1    7/15/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm kind of baffled by who the Riverview DGC is designed for? It's way too long to be considered a beginner or family type course but too easy and boring to be considered a solid recreational course? So who was it designed for?

The park is a large sprawling expanse next to the Delaware river with views of the Delaware Memorial Bridge and whatever river traffic is currently sailing or floating by. I found the river traffic more entertaining than the course itself.

The holes were all eerily similar, about 300', open with maybe a hardwood tree or two in the way and a fairway with geese and plenty of their droppings. There was very little in the way of variety. It was drive, a short pitch and an easy putt for par. That also shows what a weiney arm I have!

The tee pads were natural and some were worn enough to find after a time spent looking. I don't think the course gets a lot of use.

There was one interesting tee pad throwing from between two large trees although the hole was basically the same as all the others as the basket was sitting in the middle of the field.
Cons: For the middle of summer, the lawns were quite saturated with water. I had to detour around standing water in numerous places....floods? sprinklers? run-off from the Delaware River?

Long open 300 foot holes with unprotected baskets.

No tee signs of any type.

Tee pads are difficult to find.






Other Thoughts: Because of the flat, unimaginative terrain here, I think a short beginner/family course would have been the way to go. I'm talking a course with 125'-200' holes all located in one small section of the park close to the parking lot. Somewhere to take the kiddies to or the girlfriend. I'm not sure what demographic this course reaches.

It's such a pretty park sitting here by the river. Although not great terrain for a course, I'd like to see a course here that get used and appreciated.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Simple start, Great for beginner like me.

5+    4/14/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: zirex007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Friendly atmosphere and scenery right on the river. Almost no chance to lose a disc (unless you are me - but i did get it back 2 weeks later). Not very crowded.
Cons: Tee markers are flat bricks in the ground, not all baskets are numbered.
Other Thoughts: Not too much i can say that is not already posted here but do have to say i am just starting to learn the sport and this is a great course to do it on. Most shots are nice and straight but of varying distances from 250-330ft to give you a feel for what you need to throw, plus almost every hole is wide open so you can make those beginner mistakes without trudging through the woods or water to get your disc back on course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice and easy short course
- Makes for a great lunch hour course
- Room to air out your shots
- Course is fairly clean from garbage

Cons: - finding the tees is a bit tricky (look for worn out spots in the grass)
- baskets are not numbered
- Hard to navigate the first time without a map

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 new 18 is awesome

2-4    9/1/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is usually in excellent shape except for trash which is not from disc golfers anyways. theres a good group of locals that play here and are really pushing for course improvements. the original 9 is a fairly easy and short round. one of my favorite aspects of this course is its proximity to the delaware river....thats a REAL water hazard. if your disc goes in there, its irretrievable. also, during the summer theres singles events every tuesday, and during the winter there are glow events
Cons: -trash
-water is nasty
-not exactly in the nicest area of town
-you WILL lose discs if you are a true am
-if you're coming from across the delaware memorial bridge you will have to pay a $4 toll on your way back

-biggest con: natural teepads with no signage
Other Thoughts: currently I am not a fan of the 9 hole layout at all. however, on tuesday nights john henry kane has been running events that feature the new 18 hole layout. unfourtunately that layout is not permanent - yet. however...once the extra baskets are put in permanently this course will be MUCH better. probably around 3-3.5 as far as ratings go. good things are happening at pennsville and the future is bright....just be patient.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What they said

1    1/27/2010   1/28/2010
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wind is a challenge, and you'll get hit from all directions during your round. Lots of room to air out those drives. Decent distance on the holes. Well manicured park, quite pretty. Baskets are in fine shape. Park seems designed to keep the citizens away from the disc throwers.
Cons: Would like to see more variety in the hole lengths. Tees not easy to find, and there is no signage. Never found tees 2B, 6B or 8B... though I know where I would have put them. Hole 9 finishes far from tee 1. Course gets very wet after rains.
Other Thoughts: Not too much to add to what everyone else said. It's a reasonable recreational course, and a decent place to warm up on the way to the serious courses in Delaware. Bathroom was closed for the season.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 AB Negative

1    9/7/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Dual tees, the 'B' tees being a bit farther and adding some additional obstacles. Bathroom at park, amenities nearby.
Cons:
Dirt tee locations. Tee markers small yellow ground-level blocks w/o any distance information. Perfectly flat. Lots of dog doo-doo and goose-poop about. #9 leaves you a bit far from the parking lot. Couldn't find #6's B-tee.
Other Thoughts:
Plays in a multi-purpose park near the river, so you have a constant breeze for which to account. Holes are mostly open, with a mid-sized tree or two coming into play, moreso on the latter holes. Most holes played as neutral-turning, long drive followed by short approach/long putt types. Overthrowing #2 or #5 could find water. Online map proved useful in following the course.

Decent enough course to introduce people to the game, and the alternate tees do provide a method to play eighteen. Also a good course for practicing new shots, since the chance to lose a wayward disc is low.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.