Pennsville, NJ 
Riverview DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brian1973psu Hole #9
3 / 225ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 High Fun Factor

1    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pitch and putt course. All the holes are very open but a few have protected pins making ace tries impossible. Pretty much every hole has birdie potential if you have a good throw off the tee.
I was surprised at how short some of these holes were. I definitely don't have a big arm but I kept my max distance driver in my bag the whole day. There were even a few instances where my fairway driver went past the basket. It is always a let down to two putt back to the basket.
This is a great place to do some safari golf. I did this by mistake on the first run through.
This course is located in a great park. It has everything that a family could want: playground, trails, picnic areas and even fishing. There is an awesome breeze off the water, which is very refreshing on a warm day.
Cons: The tee pads are just worn dirt patches with small rubber blocks set in the ground to mark the hole number. Most of them are uneven and many have roots growing throw them making footing a problem. Navigation of the first 4 holes is also a problem. With nothing to mark the tee pad but a worn patch of dirt and a small flat rubber square it is hard to find until you are right on top of it. I just walked around looking for bare patches to find the tee pads. Simple wooden posts with hole numbers would go a long way to fixing this problem. Tee signs would be great too but I understand the expense with this and they are not really as needed here as they are on other courses.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to bring a couple of beginner friends to try out their new discs. At the same time it would be interesting for more advanced players because of the ace and birdie possibilities. It is also a great place to bring the family so they have something to do while you are playing.
The directions on the front page from DE direct you to take I-95 N, you should take I-95 N initially then merge onto I-295 N to NJ/NY. Other than that the directions are perfect. I also want to emphasize how accessible this course is from DE. It is literally right across the bridge and a short drive from northern DE. While there is no park fee there is a $3 toll coming back over the bridge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Take a Break!

1    11/26/2007   6/23/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy, quick access from I-295.
Wide open and on the short side.
Extra Ammenities to keep the family busy whilst you throw.
Small lake to trow across! Nice. The peninsula tee is worth a stop by.
Cons: Only nine holes and not a true challenge.
Lots of geese when I played.
(Not the Birdie you are looking for)
Other Thoughts: Nice little park to stop at if you are passing through and need a break. Nice to throw a forgiving course when you need a pick-me-up.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Easy Course

1    3/20/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a pure pleasure to play here. Relaxing course with wonderful views of Bridge over the Delaware River, The river, an immaculate pretty lake, lush mowed green grass and sprinkled hardwoods here and there. The course is mostly flat and offers no real challenge but the setting is just so peaceful here and there is enough to keep you mildly interested in your round. This is what a community park should be, a place to unwind and relax. There are only 9 holes but none of them are terribly boring or short holes and they have 2 tees per basket. What I really love about this course is you can safari all day here and never get bored. The lake comes into play on 3 of the holes. You even throw off the peninsula over the lake to a basket out on a point with the lake behind the basket, thats the long tee for hole #2. That is a remarkable hole. Hole 1 and 5 have the lake as a backdrop and with the openness here you can easily overthrow into the lake. Holes 8 and 9 utilize a shuleless grove of trees well. This course is not difficult at all but the ambience and mood here really make it a lot of fun. Perfect place to take your wife or girlfriend. I played 9 and then backtracked a safari 9 back to the start and was amazed at how many fun options there were to play. Thats the benefit of primarily open courses....easy and fun to safari. The course area is isolated from other park activities. Long Ace opportunities here.
Cons: It's not on the caliber of whats across the river in Delaware. The tees are natural and somewhat hard to find due to just being a flat marker in the ground. I would guess it could get windy here.
Other Thoughts: I think theres a place in disc golf for a course like this. The kind of course thats just pleasant and relaxing. I think after a group who lives to the north of Delaware just finished getting their egos destroyed at nearby Iron Hill that this course which is the first exit after the Bridge into Jersey and only 2 minutes off of 95 would be the perfect stop to rejuvenate the soul and heal before heading back to New York, New England, or wherever they may be headed. If you doubt this place is pretty take a minute on the long tee pad of hole 2 and look at the river, the bridge and the lake that surrounds you and ask yourself if you'd really rather be somewhere else.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 under average

4/21/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: nice park
few obstacles get in the way
Cons: windy
too wet
no tee signs
only bricks in the ground act as tees

2 baskets are too close to the next tee
Other Thoughts: only 9 holes
I won't be going back to this course
how can someone rate this course 3+ ?


2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Open Beginner/Fun Course

6/1/2007   11/14/2007
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Baskets. Inside a nice park without too many picnicers in the way. Great for beginners, as holes are short & wide open. 2 sets of tees, with plenty of options to make your own 3rd set.
Cons: Tees are flush to the ground, making them difficult to find. No signage. Probably too easy for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Great place to bring the family. There's a playground & a nice walking trail along the river if the spouse/kids/dog gets bored.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.