North Augusta, SC 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
course needs some work

1    12/5/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: ridesbrd
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well balanced, has a few par 4's and longer holes, beautiful park and woods area, goes along the river but you will never lose discs in the water
Cons: Mosquito heaven, course is quite overgrown lately, needs lots of work and some redesign, course is about to lose a few holes due to new park construction
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that needs some work due to city projects and overgrowth.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Park along the Savannah

1    9/24/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Online map and teesigns next to the concrete teepads made course navigation fairly easy for a first-time visitor.

Parking lot and practice basket near tee-1, as is the activities center with restrooms and vending machines. Basket-18 located on the opposite side of the parking lot.

Benches and trashcans scattered about. Park appeared to be very well maintained.
Cons:
The day I played, the main entrance was closed due to construction, so had to park with all the soccer minivans down the road to the left. Fortunately, basket-12 was near the closed entrance, so it was easy enough to start at tee-13.

Steep slope when nearing basket-2, although the newly-built steps helped.

Basket-18 missing.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the open space and along broad paths cut through the buffer of woods separating the multi-purpose park from the river. The river doesn't come into play, although a small, shallow stream running down to it does. Being near the river, the landscape is fairly flat, as are the holes, although about 1/3rd of them bring what elevation changes are available into play.

The first 2/3rds of the course plays in the woods, but only a few of these holes are tight/technical/sharp-turning. Most simply require a straight shot down a wide-and-tall "tunnel", with a bit of right or left fade as the disc nears the basket.

The last 1/3rd of the course is quite open, with an edge of woods or the odd tree near the basket to avoid, so there are chances to let your discs fly.

Distance-wise, there are four holes ~200', two holes 500'+, the remainder falling into a typical distance of 240'-340', with an overall average of 300'.

Favourite hole: #11. 300'. Plays in the midst of a small patch of woods, not tight, not wide, just right! Downhill initially, across a small stream as the fairway tightens a bit, then gently uphill to find the basket slightly to the left.

Overall, a solid course, one which should appeal to a variety of skill levels.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient to Highway

1    6/16/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was a practice tee at the beginning of the course that was nice to have and warm up with. I loved the diversity of the course! The first section was very tight and wooded, while the last half opened up lets you break out the bigger drives. Many of the holes provided multiple throwing lanes, which makes the game even more fun.
Cons: I had to walk 75% of the way down a handful of holes to figure out where the basket was hiding. I enjoyed the course even though the first few holes made it feel like I was in the wilderness with the narrow trails and steep inclines.

The signage wasn't very helpful in finding the next hole, so print a map or have access to the web while you play to help steer you in the right direction. I didn't see any trash cans that weren't on the street, so be a good citizen and bring a trash bag so you can carry it out (or to the next trash can). Since there weren't many options to put trash, I saw more garbage than I'm used to on courses.
Other Thoughts: I chose this course over the other ones in Augusta because of the relative proximity to the highway. I got to this course within 5 minutes of getting off the highway, which was exactly what I hoped for. There is even a gas station to get something to drink just before the park entrance.
The last two holes were especially fun because they ran parallel to each other, so I was able to play them a few times to get in some extra practice.

Not a lot of disc golf players on this course when I was there, but the park and trails seemed busy.

You may want to wear shoes with good traction because the first 5-6 holes made for some challenging climbs up and down hills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Varied Course On The River!

1    7/16/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riverview is a large multi-use park although the DG course mostly utilizes a part of the unused park. The teepads and signs at the pads are top notch. The course offers a nice variety of tight in the woods holes with some tricky doglegs to open field grip it and rip it shots. It'll challenge most players and frustrate quite a few as the rough can be downright ugly at times. There are benches at many of the holes. # 13 was my favorite hole; around 320' to a hidden basket set down in this mowed ravine. Putts and approaches on this hole could get exciting real quickly.
Cons: I found this course a little trick to follow. After playing 1-3, I never did find the # 4 pad. A couple of next tee signs nailed to some trees would've have helped or how about hanging a metal "Next Tee" sign on the spokes of the basket pointing players to the next tee. I was also fairly lost after # 14.
Other Thoughts: I think the designers should think about putting a teepad up on the hill (next to the soocer field) and allow you to tee off to that basket visible in the woods below. Would this be # 15. Would have been a fun tee off point. I'm not quite as enamored of this course as everyone else. While I think it's a nice course with a couple of wonderful holes, I don't see it as destination type course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.