North Augusta, SC 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 550ft.   4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Another Good Course Near Augusta

1    5/8/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverview is a nice park for Disc Golf. The variety of the tougher lines with tree obstacles on the front nine combined with the open grassy field holes in the back make the course fun and challenging in many different aspects, your old buddy beat you on the tight lined front but you know you can get him in the back nine with the big armed holes coming up. Once we found the start of the course it was fairly obvious where you needed to walk to next to find your way around which was nice for us being our first time playing courses in and around Augusta.
Cons: Although I like a variety of very treed holes and open holes (with treed holes winning the majority) the tight woods front with the back nine open was a little strange; I would have liked more of two holes in a row with trees and then an open hole and then a another hole with trees. Putting all of the open holes in a row is tiresome but considering what they have to go around you have almost no other options.

The front nine gets very muddy in a couple of places and I actually lost my first battle with Georgia Clay on hole three walking down a very red colored, muddy hill when I slipped, did a barrel roll and got up just fine with not a scratch on me but the entire hillside worth of mud from head to toe. That experience although funny wasn't much fun for me to go the rest of course with. Not really the courses fault just a warning for you after it rains.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a bit as it is a nice addition to the already good to great courses in and around Augusta and this one is just a little bit different. This was probably the most fun course around town in my opinion - maybe not the best but the most fun for me. Obviously if you're around Augusta you're going to check out IDGC but this maybe the first play you should go to in town along with Patriot's Park which was surprisingly very good.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and open

1    5/3/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 38.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good mix of open and wooded holes. The first half of the course is all wooded, while most of the second half has more wide open holes. There is a good variety of lengths, with the wooded holes playing shorter than the open holes.

There is a small creek that runs through the front nine and is in play on several holes. Elevation, of some degree, comes into play on most holes.

Each hole has a very informative tee sign and nice concrete tee pad. There are benches and trash cans spread through out. There are multiple pin locations on some holes, and a couple alternate tees.

The course and park are well maintained, with short grass and very clean. There are bathrooms and water fountains in the activities center, and plenty of parking.
Cons: Not many. There is a good chance of losing a disc on the wooded holes. In the warm weather, it is very thick.

Some steep inclines sloping towards the river, on the holes that play near it.

A little tricky navigating from 10 to 11 and 14 to 15.
Other Thoughts: With so many courses to choose from in the Augusta area, this is definitely one of the better courses to play. It's very well designed and takes advantage of the land that it's on. Whether you like wooded or open course, you get a good compromise here.

Very nice multi use park, with plenty of activities for non disc golfers to do. Has beautiful views of the Savannah river, but not as easy to see during the summer.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun, some blah

1    4/20/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts out in pretty thick woods. The lines are fair, but very tight with plenty of rough to punish an errant shot when you miss your line. The wooded holes are pretty short overall, but offer a nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need several different shots in your bag to be successful here. There are a few holes with some nice elevation changes to add some challenge and fun.

The second half of the course plays through grassy fields with some trees in play. There are some longer holes here that let you open up and throw a few drives. There are good concrete tees and good signage with hole distance and layout.
Cons: There are a couple spots where the flow of the course isn't obvious, and it's a little hard to find the next tee. There are some holes that are blind and have multiple pin positions marked on the sign, it would be nice to have a way of marking the current location.

The course isn't all that challenging, all the holes in the woods can be birdied with an accurate shot, and on the open holes there aren't enough obstacles to keep a few of the holes from feeling like filler. There are some safety issues, with roads and walking paths in play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, and definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. I liked the wooded section a lot better than the open holes, but many will like the mix. Beginners will find some punishment in the woods due to the narrow fairways and thick rough, but it's pretty accessible for new players. More experienced throwers won't find it too challenging, but there are definitely some fun shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Print a MAP!

1    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1... Very very very demanding of multiple shots.
2... Well manicured course.
3... Beautiful scenery and location.
4... Definately designed with disc flight in mind.
5... Just a real fun course. Not too hard. Not easy.
6... Well marked pins and fairways on signs at tee pads.
7... Very clean concrete pads.
8... Really cool hole layouts. Challenges the mind and body.
9... Practice chain set up before hole #1. But, Hole #1 is a very good "Get your bearings straight" hole.
10... One of the most fun courses i've played!
Cons: 1... Very poor next hole markings. If you don't get a map of the course either at the front office or online, you will be guessing the whole course. Might even miss a hole or two.
2... BRING YOUR HIKING BOOTS! Woods are a big factor through the first 12 or so. some holes require a bit of adventure hiking to get to the pins.
3... Make sure to investigate possible hazards on the fairways. A couple holes run adjacent to some pretty steep drop offs into thick brush.
4... Have to walk out some fairways to see pins prior to driving. Some pins were set closer than anticipated.

****Don't let the cons discourage you to play. They might be some major factors, but the excitement and adventure while playing heavily out weighs the negative. Play it once, and you will be immediately start planning your next trip to Riverview.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a sunday, so the front desk was closed. I did not have a map, and definatley had to be a modern day Columbus trying to find the next hole. I was excited to hone my RHBH shots and even my Flicks throughout the course. Great Course!!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 interesting course

1    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting use of terrain on the slopes, nice shade and wide fairways thru the woods on the first 11 holes. variety with open field shots on the last 7. I didn't play that well, but it was my own fault. this course gives you lots of chances to excel or blow it.
Cons: easy to lose a disc on the first few holes by the bluff, lost an orange sidewinder on 3, met another guy looking for his disc on 2. Had a local tell me where to go before i started or i would not have made the connections:
after hole 3, go behind the rec building for tee 4. after hole 6, go thru the pavilion for tee 7
after hole 10, go uphill across the path for tee 11 after hole 14 cross the road for tee 15.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Traditional Course

5+    6/19/2006   5/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, nice park. Elevation on many holes with techinal shots required. Steep drop-offs overlooking Savannah River. Some very cool holes on this course. A great challenge for all skill levels. Well kept and one of the better courses in Augusta.
Cons: Errant shots near steep drop-offs can be hazardous for your disc.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.