North Augusta, SC 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Riverview

2-4    1/2/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right next to the Savannah River, this course offers some of the better scenery holes that I have come across thus far, as well as some of the more creative holes as well. The first nine or so holes play throughout the woods and run alongside tremendous views of the Savannah. With a nice mixture of short holes that need more precision, and wide open shots that let you really rip a drive, this course pushes your game to the limit. An open putting space by the first tee is really a treat at any course, and Riverview has one has well.
Cons: A few of the holes on the first nine play up, down, and throughout some hilly terrain which can be difficult to play after a storm. Really big rain storms can cause some drainage and flooding problems on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that should be near the top of an Augusta Disc Golf tour, along with Wildwood, Patriots, PK and the Hippo.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park by the Savannah

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another great multi-use facility in the Augusta area. When I got the course I noticed that we were tremendously close to the Savannah River. As you get deeper into the course you notice just how close you are. The course is setup in a more traditional way, with the first nine holes playing through the woods and next to the river and the final nine playing through open fields. There is a putting green before the first tee. Every hole is equipped with concrete tee pads, benches, and a sign showing the distance and the hole structure. Most holes also have trash cans.
The layout of the course is pretty diverse. There are some elevation changes, but they don't really serve as a characteristic of the course. The front nine are shorter with creeks running through most holes. The back nine are much longer and give you a chance to rip some drives. A lot of the holes are characterized by blind pins. I specifically loved hole 3 at this course. This is where you play adjacent to the Savannah River and the view is pretty breathtaking.
Cons: I loved how many creeks and streams ran through the course adding water hazards, but this park was really lacking adequate bridges. I'm pretty agile, and I was struggling to cross with my bag on some holes. There were also some drainage problems on some holes, but it wasn't very bad when I played.
Other Thoughts: There were so many things to do in this park that I wouldn't be surprised if the complex got pretty crowded on some days. It was clear when I played, but I would be wary of this. This was definitely the only course I've ever played that had a BMX track in between two holes. I would suggest playing with a guide if possible. Even though there was good signage on the course, there are some situations on the back nine where the first basket you see isn't the actual basket you're throwing to.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Riverview Park, North Augusta, GA.

1    8/23/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course variety, in wooded area and grassy fields, bathrooms, plenty of parking. Doesn't conflict with other activities. Dogs allowed.
Cons: Summer time play is not recommended (humidity and heat).
Other Thoughts: This course looks to be designed for the beginner through advanced players in mind, though pro level players would enjoy it just as well. The front nine plays mostly in wooded areas with elevation changes on holes 2, 3, 6, and 7. The back nine has some holes in the woods but is mostly played out on grassy fields where there is more length to the holes compared to the front nine, with only minor elevation changes, holes 12, 14, 17, 18. The entire course has 80% blind tee shots, course knowledge is important so you know where to place your drive down the fairways. The typical hole length is shorter than what a pro player would care for on the average, but this doesn't detract from the overall appeal this course has. Technical aspects are higher because of the shorter pin placements. On the front nine you will need to pay attention to technical details and place your drives down the fairways, and on the back nine you will need to air out your drives as far as you can without worrying about hitting trees like on the front nine. Every fairway has a dedicated route to the pin, no teeshot is unfair with respect to the foliage or obstacles.
Overall I liked this course because of the diversity it offers. Technical wooded holes and open grip-n-rip holes that will test many abilities a player will need to enjoy this course. I played this course in august though and it was a sweat fest for me, this does not detract from the course as weather conditions are temporary. I imagine during the winter this would be a great place to play. This course is well designed with concrete teepads, teesigns and very well maintained fairways. Some garbage cans for trash are on the course, and some benches at teepads were available, not all teepads however. I would recommend a course map for first time players, once you play it though you wont need a map. You need to cross the road between pin 14 and teepad 15, that was the trickiest part to navigate, and even that was not a problem as common sense dictates that is where the course continues. The level of difficulty for this course wasn't too high I didn't think. A pro level player should be able to shoot anywhere from 5 to 12 down if you know the course. Beginner or advanced players will be closer to even par but should easily have several birdie attempts, especially on the front nine. The course design has taken into account other activities in the area, so it doesn't interfere with high use areas, which to me is very important in having an enjoyable round. Because of that, I would give this course consideration over the Lake Olmstead course, though the two courses are highly recommended to play if you are in Augusta.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still the one

5+    8/8/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverview is a great course in well manicured park. It offers a good challenge for most players, but birdies are not out of the question on most holes. Great combinations of distance, elevation change, directional changes, wooded and open holes. Amenities are nice, including signs, concrete tee pads, and benches on each hole, and trash cans on most holes. Water fountains are near the practice basket, and across the road from the sixteenth tee box. Fairways are well established through the woods on the first eleven holes, many of them changing elevation. The rough will cost you shots if you make mistakes. Alternate pin positions on several holes change the looks every few weeks.
Cons: Transitions between holes may be hard to navigate for those unfamiliar to the course. Rain makes some of the eroded hillsides and tees very muddy and slick. Rarely, events at the Rec Center will cause overflow parking to encroach onto the disc golf course. Lately construction has displaced the basket on 18, hopefully soon it will find a new home.
Other Thoughts: Augusta is lucky to have multiple quality disc golf courses. Riverview was the first course I played here and still my favorite. I have played Riverview at least once a week for most of the five years I have lived in the area. I have shot a 50 twice, and have seen others shoot as low as 44. Here is a hole by hole break down.

1. 300" Fairway is open down the middle, with trees and a walking path on the left (high side) and a creek and trees on the right (low side). The basket close to the left side atop a hill rolling down to the right and behind it. A long RHBH hyzer can give you an ace run or a hard skip/roll. Crossing the walking path and a bike trail leads to next tee.

2. 190" Tee is elevated about 15" higher than the basket. Halfway down the fairway is a zig zag to the right that drops down the hill, with trees on both sides. RHBH throws must start to the right, stabilizing as altitude drops to park it under the basket. Too far to the left and you putt down a steep hill, or down onto or across the fairway. Too far to the right, and you risk rolling down a steep hill with heavy woods.

3. 200" Tee box is 20" below the spot where the pin is located. A RHBH hyzer can get you right under the basket, but many trees wait to knock down drives that are too short or long, and again, rolling down the hill into heavy rough is not hard to do. Walking back to the trail and turning right past the dumpsters leads you behind the Rec Center to the next tee.

4. 500" The hole that gives Riverview Park its name. Tee is elevated about 15" above a long fairway that bends to the left and continues to pin locations on the left (high side, 485') or longer back to the right. Threes are possible, but only if you stay in the fairway, rough is heavy on both sides.

5. 240" Fairway is straight and open until approaching the basket sharply left and uphill. A RHBH hyzer can get you close, if the distance is just right and the shot sticks to the hillside.

6. 285" Tee shot is taken at the top of a hill and drops maybe 35' before crossing a creek with two blind pin positions on the right side. Shorter pin is across the creek, very close to the water. The long pin is tucked a little further back into a niche with a couple more trees. RHBH turnover works, but sometimes I use a RHFH hyzer. A tough deuce, either way. I think the long pin is actually easier, and have an ace on it, inexplicably. Tree love was involved. Next tee is on the other side of the creek.

7. 285" Seven is an uphill tee shot back over the creek. The short pin is to the left at about 240" in my estimation. RHBH hyzer can put you under the basket. The long pin is way uphill, crushing a RHBH hyzer still leaves me with a long putt. Past the long pin, there is a pavilion and a small bicycle track. Walk past these and keep to the right to find the eighth tee.

8. 260" A straight, clear fairway lined on both sides by woods. Short pin is at right down the middle. The longer pin is at the same distance, but out of view 30" to the right.

9. 285' The fairway makes a hard right turn at the end toward the pins. Short is at the top of the hill, and there is a longer pin 25" down, and a third position across the creek at the bottom of the hill. A birdie is possible, but the longest pin will require a strong drive just to get a 120" approach down a 35" hill to the pin across the creek at the bottom (400"). Last time out the longest position was moved to the middle spot, and this could be a permanent change, I don't know.

10. 260" Drive up a hill with trees lining both sides of the fairway. Hill levels out two thirds of the way up the fairway approaching the pin. RHBH must have some turnover and flex out to the left beneath the canopy of tree limbs at the top of the hill in order to be close to the pin. Walking up the hill to your left and a right across the walking path gets you to the next tee.

11. 300' Another birdie opportunity if you can make a long RHBH hyzer throw accurately. Fairway goes downhill out of the box, across a stream, and back uphill and to the left. There is a bridge over the creek, but storms wash it out of place sometimes. It has been jacked for the last few weeks.

12. 285" Drive takes a short corridor out of the woods and the basket is out of view on the right side. A RHBH anhyzer with a nice glide and flex can reach the pin.

13. 345" A long drive over an grassy,open field. The short pin is about 305", and the long is down the hill a bit further.

14. 190" A short hole near the top of a 35" hill. The tee box has throwing lanes to the left or right of a cluster of trees and shrubs in the middle. of the fairway. RHBH hyzer will get you close if you hug the trees. Plays longer than it seems because of the hill. After 14, the next tee box is across the road, and to the right, but some like to tee off at the top of the hill and over the road, next to the soccer field.

15. 550" Another long hole (par 4 officially), that requires a long drive and very accurate approach for a putt at a three. Road on the left is O.B., and the rough on the right is heavy, but the fairway is wide enough that you can really go for it. The basket is tucked in the trees on the right at the end of the fairway. Cross the walking trail and turn a bit left to the next tee pad.

16. 290" A wide open fairway (except for one telephone pole) slightly uphill to the basket surrounded by a ring of small trees. Another big hyzer on a RHBH can get you close to the pin for a birdie putt. Walk directly to the right from the basket and you'll see the next tee.

17. 280" The tee is about the same elevation as the pin, but the fairway swings to the left, up and down a good sized hill. I go for a RHBH turnover shot, that needs height to clear the hill, but stay under the canopy of leaves. The basket is among a few large trees on the right. Next tee is up the hill and back to the left.

18. 320' Downhill drive with a few trees and a road on the right side of the fairway. A long RHBH hyzer can get you under the basket, as long as it is high enough to clear the line of crape myrtle trees.

If you can throw for good distance with consistent accuracy, you should get some birdies here. This is one of many very good courses in the Augusta area. I would be happy to guide here and elsewhere in Augusta, if it is needed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dont Play Just After Rain

5+    7/26/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads, courses that curve both left and right. Woods and open holes. Course is easy to follow, great signs. Challenging par, but not crazy hard. I love this course and play it every couple of weeks.
Cons: Just don't play it right after a rain, give it a couple days.
Other Thoughts: Great course, glad I live near it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Riverview Park

1    4/8/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Teepads were in excellent condition which include:Cement Tees, Good Signage, and Garbage Cans
-Practice Basket at the start
-Good pin placement, and course design
-Bathrooms inside rec center
-Big "Fun Factor" for me.
-Plenty of parking
-Clean and well landscaped
-Two 500ft holes; Most of the holes are 250-350ft; leaving a couple of holes that are less than 250ft.
-Variety of terrain, allowing for a variety of hole types: Tight wooded, Open field, Steep hills up/down, and Multiple, as well as interesting, dogleg holes
-This course is beginner friendly, yet challenging enough for advanced players. Professionals, maybe not, but I think they would still have fun playing here. IMO
-One could introduce Disc Golf to a friend at Riverview, and/or have a fun casual round with friends.
-One could also have a competition rounds here as well. The long drives, and the holes that wind through the trees will offer a healthy challenge to a competitive round.
-For the most part, the course doesn't interfere with any of the other recreational activities going on at the rec center.
-From what I've seen, a scorecard and map are available inside rec-center. (I printed a map & scorecard, off of our own DGCR website! :D)
-Great scenic view of the river along the front nine!
-Flows nicely around the perimeter of the rec center, back to the parking lot.
-FWIW: Other activities are available here as well.
i.e. Bike and walking trails..
Cons: -The front 9 can swallow your discs; really watch the tree lines along the front nine. The ground is covered in a thick clover like plant. I lost my flick somewhere on this hole, I could have stepped on it for all I know! Oh, and there are "No trespassing" signs along this tree line as well. So I would say, use discretion, have a look out, or play dumb. …which was my plan! lol

-Continuity does get broken up on between some holes. I found myself hunting for the next tee a couple of times and I had a map. Mainly holes #4, #8, &#15. (First timers will want to use a map, remember you can print the map off this page as well. (Links/files tab))

-The bike trail runs along side hole #1, a good shot could fade back to the bike trail. There is also a walking path that runs alongside 17, and the road runs along 18.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing Riverview park. It's one I wished I had more time to play another round. I like the varying terrain, I also enjoy a scenic lookout. The view of the river on a couple of these holes was just amazing! Hole #2 has joined my list of favorite scenic holes. I also enjoyed the Doglegs on this course. #4 especially, to bad I lost my Flick. It's a 500ft dogleg left, which S's back to the right.

A person would probably be fine wearing tennis shoes, but I was glad I wore my Merrells. Just for the steep hill climbs on #7 and #9. I wouldn't be surprised if this place gets slick and sloppy after a rain.

If you are in Augusta, I would recommend Riverview as a "Must stop". It's well laid out and is challenging, but it's not overly challenging. You will have fun here! Riverview is also centrally located between Hippodrome and Lake Olmstead. So one could make an afternoon of hitting all three courses. ...If one were so inclined!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Print a MAP!

1    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1... Very very very demanding of multiple shots.
2... Well manicured course.
3... Beautiful scenery and location.
4... Definately designed with disc flight in mind.
5... Just a real fun course. Not too hard. Not easy.
6... Well marked pins and fairways on signs at tee pads.
7... Very clean concrete pads.
8... Really cool hole layouts. Challenges the mind and body.
9... Practice chain set up before hole #1. But, Hole #1 is a very good "Get your bearings straight" hole.
10... One of the most fun courses i've played!
Cons: 1... Very poor next hole markings. If you don't get a map of the course either at the front office or online, you will be guessing the whole course. Might even miss a hole or two.
2... BRING YOUR HIKING BOOTS! Woods are a big factor through the first 12 or so. some holes require a bit of adventure hiking to get to the pins.
3... Make sure to investigate possible hazards on the fairways. A couple holes run adjacent to some pretty steep drop offs into thick brush.
4... Have to walk out some fairways to see pins prior to driving. Some pins were set closer than anticipated.

****Don't let the cons discourage you to play. They might be some major factors, but the excitement and adventure while playing heavily out weighs the negative. Play it once, and you will be immediately start planning your next trip to Riverview.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a sunday, so the front desk was closed. I did not have a map, and definatley had to be a modern day Columbus trying to find the next hole. I was excited to hone my RHBH shots and even my Flicks throughout the course. Great Course!!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 interesting course

1    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting use of terrain on the slopes, nice shade and wide fairways thru the woods on the first 11 holes. variety with open field shots on the last 7. I didn't play that well, but it was my own fault. this course gives you lots of chances to excel or blow it.
Cons: easy to lose a disc on the first few holes by the bluff, lost an orange sidewinder on 3, met another guy looking for his disc on 2. Had a local tell me where to go before i started or i would not have made the connections:
after hole 3, go behind the rec building for tee 4. after hole 6, go thru the pavilion for tee 7
after hole 10, go uphill across the path for tee 11 after hole 14 cross the road for tee 15.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Across the River

5+    9/23/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: btucker11
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical course utilizing many different types of shots to reach the pins. Nice tees, and good pins. Not left/right favorable.
Cons: can get a little muddy at times and a few holes run along large drop offs that can be tricky to navigate in order to retrieve errant shots.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner i have found that this is a fairly challenging, but very fun course. The terrain is constantly changing and the variety of shots needed in your repertoire is high. This course is in very good condition and is my favorite to play on in the area so far. Patriots, Pendelton, and Olmstead are the only basis for comparison. However I wish to play the IDGC's soon. I rank my courses according to the other courses in the immediate area, because I have a young family and don't get to travel.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Varied Course On The River!

1    7/16/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 668  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riverview is a large multi-use park although the DG course mostly utilizes a part of the unused park. The teepads and signs at the pads are top notch. The course offers a nice variety of tight in the woods holes with some tricky doglegs to open field grip it and rip it shots. It'll challenge most players and frustrate quite a few as the rough can be downright ugly at times. There are benches at many of the holes. # 13 was my favorite hole; around 320' to a hidden basket set down in this mowed ravine. Putts and approaches on this hole could get exciting real quickly.
Cons: I found this course a little trick to follow. After playing 1-3, I never did find the # 4 pad. A couple of next tee signs nailed to some trees would've have helped or how about hanging a metal "Next Tee" sign on the spokes of the basket pointing players to the next tee. I was also fairly lost after # 14.
Other Thoughts: I think the designers should think about putting a teepad up on the hill (next to the soocer field) and allow you to tee off to that basket visible in the woods below. Would this be # 15. Would have been a fun tee off point. I'm not quite as enamored of this course as everyone else. While I think it's a nice course with a couple of wonderful holes, I don't see it as destination type course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.