North Augusta, SC 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice walk in the park

5+    10/30/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Siege
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverview is the closest course to my house, so I may be a little partial, but I really enjoy playing here. It has multiple tees so you can bring the family to play, but is also a tough enough course to challenge you. The front nine will make you pay for a bad shot. #2 and #4 both have huge hills if you throw too far to the right. While this course is in a multi-use park you are separated from traffic most of the time. The course is well maintained and flow is good for the most part. Multiple pin positions on many holes.
Cons: Riverview can get pretty muddy after a good rain, so wear your boots if that is the case. It is easy to get lost between holes #3 & #4, and again between #7 & #8. Next tee signs would be great. Currently #18 is missing due to a traffic circle being built.
Other Thoughts: I have heard that a new hole is being put in place soon to replace the missing one. Most of the locals tee off from the 18th tee pad and play to the hole on #15 for a nice little par three to finish the course. I love to play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Park along the Savannah

1    9/24/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Online map and teesigns next to the concrete teepads made course navigation fairly easy for a first-time visitor.

Parking lot and practice basket near tee-1, as is the activities center with restrooms and vending machines. Basket-18 located on the opposite side of the parking lot.

Benches and trashcans scattered about. Park appeared to be very well maintained.
Cons:
The day I played, the main entrance was closed due to construction, so had to park with all the soccer minivans down the road to the left. Fortunately, basket-12 was near the closed entrance, so it was easy enough to start at tee-13.

Steep slope when nearing basket-2, although the newly-built steps helped.

Basket-18 missing.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the open space and along broad paths cut through the buffer of woods separating the multi-purpose park from the river. The river doesn't come into play, although a small, shallow stream running down to it does. Being near the river, the landscape is fairly flat, as are the holes, although about 1/3rd of them bring what elevation changes are available into play.

The first 2/3rds of the course plays in the woods, but only a few of these holes are tight/technical/sharp-turning. Most simply require a straight shot down a wide-and-tall "tunnel", with a bit of right or left fade as the disc nears the basket.

The last 1/3rd of the course is quite open, with an edge of woods or the odd tree near the basket to avoid, so there are chances to let your discs fly.

Distance-wise, there are four holes ~200', two holes 500'+, the remainder falling into a typical distance of 240'-340', with an overall average of 300'.

Favourite hole: #11. 300'. Plays in the midst of a small patch of woods, not tight, not wide, just right! Downhill initially, across a small stream as the fairway tightens a bit, then gently uphill to find the basket slightly to the left.

Overall, a solid course, one which should appeal to a variety of skill levels.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient to Highway

1    6/16/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was a practice tee at the beginning of the course that was nice to have and warm up with. I loved the diversity of the course! The first section was very tight and wooded, while the last half opened up lets you break out the bigger drives. Many of the holes provided multiple throwing lanes, which makes the game even more fun.
Cons: I had to walk 75% of the way down a handful of holes to figure out where the basket was hiding. I enjoyed the course even though the first few holes made it feel like I was in the wilderness with the narrow trails and steep inclines.

The signage wasn't very helpful in finding the next hole, so print a map or have access to the web while you play to help steer you in the right direction. I didn't see any trash cans that weren't on the street, so be a good citizen and bring a trash bag so you can carry it out (or to the next trash can). Since there weren't many options to put trash, I saw more garbage than I'm used to on courses.
Other Thoughts: I chose this course over the other ones in Augusta because of the relative proximity to the highway. I got to this course within 5 minutes of getting off the highway, which was exactly what I hoped for. There is even a gas station to get something to drink just before the park entrance.
The last two holes were especially fun because they ran parallel to each other, so I was able to play them a few times to get in some extra practice.

Not a lot of disc golf players on this course when I was there, but the park and trails seemed busy.

You may want to wear shoes with good traction because the first 5-6 holes made for some challenging climbs up and down hills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and open

1    5/3/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 38.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good mix of open and wooded holes. The first half of the course is all wooded, while most of the second half has more wide open holes. There is a good variety of lengths, with the wooded holes playing shorter than the open holes.

There is a small creek that runs through the front nine and is in play on several holes. Elevation, of some degree, comes into play on most holes.

Each hole has a very informative tee sign and nice concrete tee pad. There are benches and trash cans spread through out. There are multiple pin locations on some holes, and a couple alternate tees.

The course and park are well maintained, with short grass and very clean. There are bathrooms and water fountains in the activities center, and plenty of parking.
Cons: Not many. There is a good chance of losing a disc on the wooded holes. In the warm weather, it is very thick.

Some steep inclines sloping towards the river, on the holes that play near it.

A little tricky navigating from 10 to 11 and 14 to 15.
Other Thoughts: With so many courses to choose from in the Augusta area, this is definitely one of the better courses to play. It's very well designed and takes advantage of the land that it's on. Whether you like wooded or open course, you get a good compromise here.

Very nice multi use park, with plenty of activities for non disc golfers to do. Has beautiful views of the Savannah river, but not as easy to see during the summer.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun, some blah

1    4/20/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts out in pretty thick woods. The lines are fair, but very tight with plenty of rough to punish an errant shot when you miss your line. The wooded holes are pretty short overall, but offer a nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need several different shots in your bag to be successful here. There are a few holes with some nice elevation changes to add some challenge and fun.

The second half of the course plays through grassy fields with some trees in play. There are some longer holes here that let you open up and throw a few drives. There are good concrete tees and good signage with hole distance and layout.
Cons: There are a couple spots where the flow of the course isn't obvious, and it's a little hard to find the next tee. There are some holes that are blind and have multiple pin positions marked on the sign, it would be nice to have a way of marking the current location.

The course isn't all that challenging, all the holes in the woods can be birdied with an accurate shot, and on the open holes there aren't enough obstacles to keep a few of the holes from feeling like filler. There are some safety issues, with roads and walking paths in play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, and definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. I liked the wooded section a lot better than the open holes, but many will like the mix. Beginners will find some punishment in the woods due to the narrow fairways and thick rough, but it's pretty accessible for new players. More experienced throwers won't find it too challenging, but there are definitely some fun shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Riverview

2-4    1/2/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right next to the Savannah River, this course offers some of the better scenery holes that I have come across thus far, as well as some of the more creative holes as well. The first nine or so holes play throughout the woods and run alongside tremendous views of the Savannah. With a nice mixture of short holes that need more precision, and wide open shots that let you really rip a drive, this course pushes your game to the limit. An open putting space by the first tee is really a treat at any course, and Riverview has one has well.
Cons: A few of the holes on the first nine play up, down, and throughout some hilly terrain which can be difficult to play after a storm. Really big rain storms can cause some drainage and flooding problems on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that should be near the top of an Augusta Disc Golf tour, along with Wildwood, Patriots, PK and the Hippo.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park by the Savannah

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another great multi-use facility in the Augusta area. When I got the course I noticed that we were tremendously close to the Savannah River. As you get deeper into the course you notice just how close you are. The course is setup in a more traditional way, with the first nine holes playing through the woods and next to the river and the final nine playing through open fields. There is a putting green before the first tee. Every hole is equipped with concrete tee pads, benches, and a sign showing the distance and the hole structure. Most holes also have trash cans.
The layout of the course is pretty diverse. There are some elevation changes, but they don't really serve as a characteristic of the course. The front nine are shorter with creeks running through most holes. The back nine are much longer and give you a chance to rip some drives. A lot of the holes are characterized by blind pins. I specifically loved hole 3 at this course. This is where you play adjacent to the Savannah River and the view is pretty breathtaking.
Cons: I loved how many creeks and streams ran through the course adding water hazards, but this park was really lacking adequate bridges. I'm pretty agile, and I was struggling to cross with my bag on some holes. There were also some drainage problems on some holes, but it wasn't very bad when I played.
Other Thoughts: There were so many things to do in this park that I wouldn't be surprised if the complex got pretty crowded on some days. It was clear when I played, but I would be wary of this. This was definitely the only course I've ever played that had a BMX track in between two holes. I would suggest playing with a guide if possible. Even though there was good signage on the course, there are some situations on the back nine where the first basket you see isn't the actual basket you're throwing to.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Riverview Park, North Augusta, GA.

1    8/23/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: martinb
Played: 166  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course variety, in wooded area and grassy fields, bathrooms, plenty of parking. Doesn't conflict with other activities. Dogs allowed.
Cons: Summer time play is not recommended (humidity and heat).
Other Thoughts: This course looks to be designed for the beginner through advanced players in mind, though pro level players would enjoy it just as well. The front nine plays mostly in wooded areas with elevation changes on holes 2, 3, 6, and 7. The back nine has some holes in the woods but is mostly played out on grassy fields where there is more length to the holes compared to the front nine, with only minor elevation changes, holes 12, 14, 17, 18. The entire course has 80% blind tee shots, course knowledge is important so you know where to place your drive down the fairways. The typical hole length is shorter than what a pro player would care for on the average, but this doesn't detract from the overall appeal this course has. Technical aspects are higher because of the shorter pin placements. On the front nine you will need to pay attention to technical details and place your drives down the fairways, and on the back nine you will need to air out your drives as far as you can without worrying about hitting trees like on the front nine. Every fairway has a dedicated route to the pin, no teeshot is unfair with respect to the foliage or obstacles.
Overall I liked this course because of the diversity it offers. Technical wooded holes and open grip-n-rip holes that will test many abilities a player will need to enjoy this course. I played this course in august though and it was a sweat fest for me, this does not detract from the course as weather conditions are temporary. I imagine during the winter this would be a great place to play. This course is well designed with concrete teepads, teesigns and very well maintained fairways. Some garbage cans for trash are on the course, and some benches at teepads were available, not all teepads however. I would recommend a course map for first time players, once you play it though you wont need a map. You need to cross the road between pin 14 and teepad 15, that was the trickiest part to navigate, and even that was not a problem as common sense dictates that is where the course continues. The level of difficulty for this course wasn't too high I didn't think. A pro level player should be able to shoot anywhere from 5 to 12 down if you know the course. Beginner or advanced players will be closer to even par but should easily have several birdie attempts, especially on the front nine. The course design has taken into account other activities in the area, so it doesn't interfere with high use areas, which to me is very important in having an enjoyable round. Because of that, I would give this course consideration over the Lake Olmstead course, though the two courses are highly recommended to play if you are in Augusta.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still the one

5+    8/8/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 262  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverview is a great course in well manicured park. It offers a good challenge for most players, but birdies are not out of the question on most holes. Great combinations of distance, elevation change, directional changes, wooded and open holes. Amenities are nice, including signs, concrete tee pads, and benches on each hole, and trash cans on most holes. Water fountains are near the practice basket, and across the road from the sixteenth tee box. Fairways are well established through the woods on the first eleven holes, many of them changing elevation. The rough will cost you shots if you make mistakes. Alternate pin positions on several holes change the looks every few weeks.
Cons: Transitions between holes may be hard to navigate for those unfamiliar to the course. Rain makes some of the eroded hillsides and tees very muddy and slick. Rarely, events at the Rec Center will cause overflow parking to encroach onto the disc golf course. Lately construction has displaced the basket on 18, hopefully soon it will find a new home.
Other Thoughts: Augusta is lucky to have multiple quality disc golf courses. Riverview was the first course I played here and still my favorite. I have played Riverview at least once a week for most of the five years I have lived in the area. I have shot a 50 twice, and have seen others shoot as low as 44. Here is a hole by hole break down.

1. 300" Fairway is open down the middle, with trees and a walking path on the left (high side) and a creek and trees on the right (low side). The basket close to the left side atop a hill rolling down to the right and behind it. A long RHBH hyzer can give you an ace run or a hard skip/roll. Crossing the walking path and a bike trail leads to next tee.

2. 190" Tee is elevated about 15" higher than the basket. Halfway down the fairway is a zig zag to the right that drops down the hill, with trees on both sides. RHBH throws must start to the right, stabilizing as altitude drops to park it under the basket. Too far to the left and you putt down a steep hill, or down onto or across the fairway. Too far to the right, and you risk rolling down a steep hill with heavy woods.

3. 200" Tee box is 20" below the spot where the pin is located. A RHBH hyzer can get you right under the basket, but many trees wait to knock down drives that are too short or long, and again, rolling down the hill into heavy rough is not hard to do. Walking back to the trail and turning right past the dumpsters leads you behind the Rec Center to the next tee.

4. 500" The hole that gives Riverview Park its name. Tee is elevated about 15" above a long fairway that bends to the left and continues to pin locations on the left (high side, 485') or longer back to the right. Threes are possible, but only if you stay in the fairway, rough is heavy on both sides.

5. 240" Fairway is straight and open until approaching the basket sharply left and uphill. A RHBH hyzer can get you close, if the distance is just right and the shot sticks to the hillside.

6. 285" Tee shot is taken at the top of a hill and drops maybe 35' before crossing a creek with two blind pin positions on the right side. Shorter pin is across the creek, very close to the water. The long pin is tucked a little further back into a niche with a couple more trees. RHBH turnover works, but sometimes I use a RHFH hyzer. A tough deuce, either way. I think the long pin is actually easier, and have an ace on it, inexplicably. Tree love was involved. Next tee is on the other side of the creek.

7. 285" Seven is an uphill tee shot back over the creek. The short pin is to the left at about 240" in my estimation. RHBH hyzer can put you under the basket. The long pin is way uphill, crushing a RHBH hyzer still leaves me with a long putt. Past the long pin, there is a pavilion and a small bicycle track. Walk past these and keep to the right to find the eighth tee.

8. 260" A straight, clear fairway lined on both sides by woods. Short pin is at right down the middle. The longer pin is at the same distance, but out of view 30" to the right.

9. 285' The fairway makes a hard right turn at the end toward the pins. Short is at the top of the hill, and there is a longer pin 25" down, and a third position across the creek at the bottom of the hill. A birdie is possible, but the longest pin will require a strong drive just to get a 120" approach down a 35" hill to the pin across the creek at the bottom (400"). Last time out the longest position was moved to the middle spot, and this could be a permanent change, I don't know.

10. 260" Drive up a hill with trees lining both sides of the fairway. Hill levels out two thirds of the way up the fairway approaching the pin. RHBH must have some turnover and flex out to the left beneath the canopy of tree limbs at the top of the hill in order to be close to the pin. Walking up the hill to your left and a right across the walking path gets you to the next tee.

11. 300' Another birdie opportunity if you can make a long RHBH hyzer throw accurately. Fairway goes downhill out of the box, across a stream, and back uphill and to the left. There is a bridge over the creek, but storms wash it out of place sometimes. It has been jacked for the last few weeks.

12. 285" Drive takes a short corridor out of the woods and the basket is out of view on the right side. A RHBH anhyzer with a nice glide and flex can reach the pin.

13. 345" A long drive over an grassy,open field. The short pin is about 305", and the long is down the hill a bit further.

14. 190" A short hole near the top of a 35" hill. The tee box has throwing lanes to the left or right of a cluster of trees and shrubs in the middle. of the fairway. RHBH hyzer will get you close if you hug the trees. Plays longer than it seems because of the hill. After 14, the next tee box is across the road, and to the right, but some like to tee off at the top of the hill and over the road, next to the soccer field.

15. 550" Another long hole (par 4 officially), that requires a long drive and very accurate approach for a putt at a three. Road on the left is O.B., and the rough on the right is heavy, but the fairway is wide enough that you can really go for it. The basket is tucked in the trees on the right at the end of the fairway. Cross the walking trail and turn a bit left to the next tee pad.

16. 290" A wide open fairway (except for one telephone pole) slightly uphill to the basket surrounded by a ring of small trees. Another big hyzer on a RHBH can get you close to the pin for a birdie putt. Walk directly to the right from the basket and you'll see the next tee.

17. 280" The tee is about the same elevation as the pin, but the fairway swings to the left, up and down a good sized hill. I go for a RHBH turnover shot, that needs height to clear the hill, but stay under the canopy of leaves. The basket is among a few large trees on the right. Next tee is up the hill and back to the left.

18. 320' Downhill drive with a few trees and a road on the right side of the fairway. A long RHBH hyzer can get you under the basket, as long as it is high enough to clear the line of crape myrtle trees.

If you can throw for good distance with consistent accuracy, you should get some birdies here. This is one of many very good courses in the Augusta area. I would be happy to guide here and elsewhere in Augusta, if it is needed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dont Play Just After Rain

5+    7/26/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads, courses that curve both left and right. Woods and open holes. Course is easy to follow, great signs. Challenging par, but not crazy hard. I love this course and play it every couple of weeks.
Cons: Just don't play it right after a rain, give it a couple days.
Other Thoughts: Great course, glad I live near it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.