Bakersfield, CA 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: MacDreezy Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Stands In The Middle Of The Bakersfield Courses!

1    6/20/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an older course is an older part of town. There are, NOT TOO obviously, two sets of tees, making for a full 18. The tear drop shape tee pads are the pro or more difficult tees. They are cleverly marked with a big arrow and number. The regular concrete tees seem to be the regular tees. I guess some tees were used twice and some pads were marked on the sidewalk. The baskets are old and the fiberglass tee signs have long ago fell victim to the local teen's rocks and bricks.
The course starts in the corner (RF of the baseball field) and basically plays around the outfield fence to the LF corner and then back again?
The course plays at a recreational/intermediate level. There are some ACE runs here and more than a few low tunnel shots below the tree branches.
Cons: There was no-one else around when I tackled the course so navigating it was an adventure. I think got through the front 9 alright but kinda called it quits trying to figure out the back 9.
Everything here feels kinda old and grungy. The baskets, the neighborhood, the park itself, the horses in the nearby pens, the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure if I had had Scooby Dew around to lead me through this course, I would have appreciated it more. As it is, I'll probably just think of it as one more older, REC course, soon to be lost in the cloudy depths of my brain.

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course!

5+    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Plastic-addict
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: Most of the holes are short to medium length and good to practice accuracy. It is a cool environment once you get to know people. Lots of shade.
Cons: There are some sketchy people that roll through, but they keep to themselves usually.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course for a reasonably quick game!

Moderately Wooded Fun 9

1    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of cement tees on every hole. Moderately wooded with mature trees throughout the course. Medium length holes with some technical shots required. Slight elevation change on a few holes. Can easily shoot a round in under 30 minutes.
Cons: No signs remaining. Not all the baskets are labeled. 2 sets of tees are used twice. There is a zig-zag pattern to holes 3-7 which is a little boring and could be dangerous if multiple groups were playing. Not the greatest neighborhood. The layout is not easy to navigate, especially with 2 sets of tees being used twice. The pro and am tees are not very far apart from one-another and really don't change your shots much besides making them a bit longer or shorter. Hole 9 does not end where hole 1 begins, and in fact, ends in an inconvenient spot for walking off the course or starting another round should anyone else be playing the course.
Other Thoughts: When entering the park, drive forward towards the baseball field and go into the parking lot on the right, down the 1st base line of the baseball diamond. Hole 1's tees are in the back right corner of the park, not far from that parking lot, and the basket is down in the trees near the baseball field fence. From there the course is fairly simple to navigate once you understand that you throw from the same tee to two different baskets (see below). Some of the tees look standard, and some are odd teardrop shapes. The teardrops are the pro tees, and the standard rectangle tees are the ams for most holes (obviously the pros are behind the ams). Holes 3 and 5 share the same tee (along the fence near the picnic table), and holes 4 and 6 share the same pro tee (large triangle shaped one), but I believe they may have separate amateur tees (not sure; I shot from the pros). Also, some holes do throw from the sidewalk, but the tee areas are marked off with white paint. I'm glad some friendly fellow disc golfers were there to show me the layout; I was out of there in under 20 minutes. Would play again if ever in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty Fun Course

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: MacDreezy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like coming here to play a quick round. With the trees, it's a good challenge. Great place to work on your accuracy. There is plenty of shade to play on very hot days.
Cons: People sitting on the benches that are basically in the fairway of hole #7. Beware! Sometimes there are packs of wild dogs running about. Most tees need to be repainted, and most of the baskets need their numbers replaced. No signs to give you a sense of direction when you play the course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice and improve your game!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  fun course

5+    1/2/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Gabrience
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of variety. fun to meet friends and just play.
Cons: doesnt have enough markers. actual pads arent that great to play from but local club marks are pretty fun.
Other Thoughts: overall fun course. will be returning often.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: Yehosha
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although a short course, has some very technical holes through the trees. Accuracy is a must here if you want a 2. While the course only has 9 baskets, each basket has an alternate teepad that makes you switch up your shot on your second time through.
Cons: Each hole has several two tee boxes, but very few are marked, and since all the holes are crammed together, it's very hard to tell which tee to throw from, and what basket you are throwing to. Once you play there a few times this is a non-factor though.
Other Thoughts: Is located in a sketchy part of town, but the park is nice. Local players are friendly and willing to help you navigate the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 looking good

5+    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Zone_Dog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
Pros: i think its a nice course not too long not too short some tough shots.nice shade, baskets are now cemented in course is looking good still
Cons: none that i can think of
Other Thoughts: just got my first ace there today(6-4-13) on # 5 with a star wraith

 Short Armers and Side Flickers

5+    11/15/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Efficient use of wooded area of the park. Compact design allows for a quick round of 9. Good place to work on your short game, accuracy, and side-arm shots. Only 2 or 3 elevation changes but are used well.
Cons: Only a couple of the holes are long enough to test your power.
The park is in a somewhat sketchy part of town.
Older course that is showing wear and tear. Only a couple of tee signs still exist.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course. Too bad it seems like the parks department isn't interested in revamping it a little (new signs, repainting the tee boxes etc)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.