Bakersfield, CA 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: MacDreezy Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
What the heck is here?

1    3/22/2015   5/22/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 313  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 31.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverview Park is an older park located in the Oildale area of Bakersfield. The park is 20.9 acres and includes a community center with activities room, a gymnasium, a gymnastics room, a rock climbing gym, a lighted baseball field, a multi-purpose field, one basketball court, one volleyball court, horseshoe pits, picnic areas, playgrounds, open play area, water play area, community learning center, restrooms, and of course a disc golf course, maybe. It is an older, kind of sketchy park, more on that later. The park is well shaded with only a few of the holes playing out in the open sun. The park is apparently well lit at night. When I first arrived I found hole 1 and thought I had it figured out, from what it looked on arrival, it looked like a 9 hole layout with 18 dual tees, but upon further inspection it became obvious that there were a lot more baskets and tees than that. MattDabbs claims theres 18 baskets and I would believe it although I only found 16 on quick count but there are a heck of a lot more tees. I definitely didn't find the course intuitive as he did. There are long walks behind buildings to get to other tees and no real way of knowing those holes are even there let alone what order they play in.
Cons: Navigation to the tenth power. This was the most confusing layout I've ever encountered. There were plenty of disc golfers there playing but talking to them didn't really help because they were all just making up their own layout too. Literally everybody seemed to have a different opinion on the layout and how it went and none of them had it quite right. Someone in the Bakersfield area needs to post a map of this course and how it should be layed out, oh and maybe install tee signs and navigation aids while you at it.
Safety issues. Several holes play across the jogging path that winds its way the park. A couple of holes play too close to the street, others play close to the community building, and still others play too close to picnic areas, ball parks, and playground. Carrying will probably be required when other activities are in play.
Sketchy Individuals. This course is located in an older park and neighborhood along the river and it seems to have a very sketchy population. There were a lot of people at the park when we played both disc golfers and non-disc golfers. Most of the non-golfers seemed liked transients and homeless. There was one old junker car parked in the middle of the parking lot back by the playground with literally a man and a woman tying off and shooting up right in the middle of the parking lot in full view. There was also a large group of people located at the picnic areas smoking pot, no longer that big a deal in CA, but it is also right next to the kids playground. I talked too a lot of the disc golfers and everybody seemed quite friendly enough. It was getting late when we arrived and I really wasn't keen to be in the park at night, though. Had a little to do with leaving without playing everything.
Other Thoughts: . I don't know if I caught this course during the middle of the redesign or what, but this was one of the most confusing layouts I've ever encountered, up there with trying to figure out Oak Park in Pasadenas layout without a guide. There are lots of concrete tee pads and lots of baskets and you can easily make up all kinds of options. I have never walked away from a course without figuring out a layout, I'm a glutton for punishment that way, but even I surrendered to the fact that this one was out of my reach. Theres obviously a mix of old and new layout and everything is jumbled with no real way of telling what is going on. I can easily see this course being a fun play but like I said if you're serious about playing this course you're going to need a guide or a map, or be willing to play safari. If someone could figure out the navigation I could easily see this course rated a solid 3 or higher.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

5+    4/23/2015   4/23/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: This course has undergone some renovations that have vastly improved its quality over when the previous reviews were made. The course has been updated from 9 baskets/18 pads to 18/18 utilizing far more of the park than before.

This park has some great elevation changes that make you play up and down some hills but still plenty of holes that you are going to have a look at an easy birdie. There is also good use of OB with some roads in play on a few holes that will challenge your accuracy as well as some mandos along the backside to keep you on the property. Apparently they had problems with discs hitting some cows and injuring them on an adjacent property.

Nice island hole in the middle of the course near the pavillion and the course finishes with an island hole that you can play a fun skip shot off the road to the right if you want to chance it. Just watch out because the cops park their cars there and you don't want to hit one of guys disc skipped under the cop car and out the other side...close call!

Last, this course is very shady (a huge plus here in Bakersfield) and pretty easy to navigate. It needs signs in a couple of places to help with the flow but overall pretty obvious.
Cons: The facilities aren't all that great and the park can feel a bit questionable at times in regard to safety. I haven't ever run into any problems but if you were just passing through it might feel a bit rough.

There is one hole that has you throwing dangerously close to a building with windows in it and a few holes that have fairways that are just too close together to be safe when lots of people are playing.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course...definitely one to try out if you are in the area after you have played Sharktooth and the flats. This is probably the next best course in town.

Stands In The Middle Of The Bakersfield Courses!

1    6/20/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an older course is an older part of town. There are, NOT TOO obviously, two sets of tees, making for a full 18. The tear drop shape tee pads are the pro or more difficult tees. They are cleverly marked with a big arrow and number. The regular concrete tees seem to be the regular tees. I guess some tees were used twice and some pads were marked on the sidewalk. The baskets are old and the fiberglass tee signs have long ago fell victim to the local teen's rocks and bricks.
The course starts in the corner (RF of the baseball field) and basically plays around the outfield fence to the LF corner and then back again?
The course plays at a recreational/intermediate level. There are some ACE runs here and more than a few low tunnel shots below the tree branches.
Cons: There was no-one else around when I tackled the course so navigating it was an adventure. I think got through the front 9 alright but kinda called it quits trying to figure out the back 9.
Everything here feels kinda old and grungy. The baskets, the neighborhood, the park itself, the horses in the nearby pens, the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure if I had had Scooby Dew around to lead me through this course, I would have appreciated it more. As it is, I'll probably just think of it as one more older, REC course, soon to be lost in the cloudy depths of my brain.

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course!

5+    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Plastic-addict
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are short to medium length and good to practice accuracy. It is a cool environment once you get to know people. Lots of shade.
Cons: There are some sketchy people that roll through, but they keep to themselves usually.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course for a reasonably quick game!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Moderately Wooded Fun 9

1    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 152  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of cement tees on every hole. Moderately wooded with mature trees throughout the course. Medium length holes with some technical shots required. Slight elevation change on a few holes. Can easily shoot a round in under 30 minutes.
Cons: No signs remaining. Not all the baskets are labeled. 2 sets of tees are used twice. There is a zig-zag pattern to holes 3-7 which is a little boring and could be dangerous if multiple groups were playing. Not the greatest neighborhood. The layout is not easy to navigate, especially with 2 sets of tees being used twice. The pro and am tees are not very far apart from one-another and really don't change your shots much besides making them a bit longer or shorter. Hole 9 does not end where hole 1 begins, and in fact, ends in an inconvenient spot for walking off the course or starting another round should anyone else be playing the course.
Other Thoughts: When entering the park, drive forward towards the baseball field and go into the parking lot on the right, down the 1st base line of the baseball diamond. Hole 1's tees are in the back right corner of the park, not far from that parking lot, and the basket is down in the trees near the baseball field fence. From there the course is fairly simple to navigate once you understand that you throw from the same tee to two different baskets (see below). Some of the tees look standard, and some are odd teardrop shapes. The teardrops are the pro tees, and the standard rectangle tees are the ams for most holes (obviously the pros are behind the ams). Holes 3 and 5 share the same tee (along the fence near the picnic table), and holes 4 and 6 share the same pro tee (large triangle shaped one), but I believe they may have separate amateur tees (not sure; I shot from the pros). Also, some holes do throw from the sidewalk, but the tee areas are marked off with white paint. I'm glad some friendly fellow disc golfers were there to show me the layout; I was out of there in under 20 minutes. Would play again if ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty Fun Course

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: MacDreezy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like coming here to play a quick round. With the trees, it's a good challenge. Great place to work on your accuracy. There is plenty of shade to play on very hot days.
Cons: People sitting on the benches that are basically in the fairway of hole #7. Beware! Sometimes there are packs of wild dogs running about. Most tees need to be repainted, and most of the baskets need their numbers replaced. No signs to give you a sense of direction when you play the course for the first time.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice and improve your game!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  fun course

5+    1/2/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Gabrience
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of variety. fun to meet friends and just play.
Cons: doesnt have enough markers. actual pads arent that great to play from but local club marks are pretty fun.
Other Thoughts: overall fun course. will be returning often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: Yehosha
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Although a short course, has some very technical holes through the trees. Accuracy is a must here if you want a 2. While the course only has 9 baskets, each basket has an alternate teepad that makes you switch up your shot on your second time through.
Cons: Each hole has several two tee boxes, but very few are marked, and since all the holes are crammed together, it's very hard to tell which tee to throw from, and what basket you are throwing to. Once you play there a few times this is a non-factor though.
Other Thoughts: Is located in a sketchy part of town, but the park is nice. Local players are friendly and willing to help you navigate the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  looking good

5+    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Zone_Dog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i think its a nice course not too long not too short some tough shots.nice shade, baskets are now cemented in course is looking good still
Cons: none that i can think of
Other Thoughts: just got my first ace there today(6-4-13) on # 5 with a star wraith

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Armers and Side Flickers

5+    11/15/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Efficient use of wooded area of the park. Compact design allows for a quick round of 9. Good place to work on your short game, accuracy, and side-arm shots. Only 2 or 3 elevation changes but are used well.
Cons: Only a couple of the holes are long enough to test your power.
The park is in a somewhat sketchy part of town.
Older course that is showing wear and tear. Only a couple of tee signs still exist.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course. Too bad it seems like the parks department isn't interested in revamping it a little (new signs, repainting the tee boxes etc)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.