Roan Mountain, TN 
Roan Mountain DGC Share

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Poor Course, Beautiful Surroundings

2-4    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 53  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: The previous review is correct. There's really not much here. It's a wide open field with baskets on it. Hard to say this is really a course. But I will add my two cents and list a few of the reasons I actually enjoyed playing here (not versus other courses, but the alternative of doing something other than play disc golf).

- Far and away, the best, maybe the only pro here is that the surroundings are just beautiful. The course is at the foot of Roan Mountain, close to the state park and all of its amenities. If you are staying at Roan Mountain, which I HIGHLY recommend as a family getaway (not because of the disc golf, but because of everything else the park and the mountains have to offer), then it's well worth your time to spend an hour or two practicing on the disc golf course or playing a kid-friendly round. While the course is just a boring, flat field, it's still beautiful, with a nice mountain stream bordering the course.
- Good place to get in real field work: practice throws, especially drives, and testing out anything you need to work on for your game. You could keep score here, if you want, but I think the best use of this course is for practice or playing with kids who won't mind the obstacle-free layout.
Cons: Others have mentioned the cons, so I won't beat a dead horse. This isn't a challenging course. It's just a field. That's it. If you're looking for an above average course in this area, there are other alternatives. But if you are in Roan Mountain for any other reason, and you've just gotta get out and throw your discs, might as well go here.


1    6/18/2009   5/19/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roan Mountain is a nice, well-kept 9-hole course in a small park right off the highway. There are concrete tees, excellent signs, and solid baskets. (However, the previous reviewer has mentioned some vandalism of the signs that occurred just after I played it.) The course offers 2 sets of tees (but these are basically a long and a short, they do not provide and alternate angles to the hole.)

The course has 7 holes that are very flat, 1 steep uphill hole that is challenging, and 1 elevated tee back downhill that is fun to air one out on. There is a small river along 8 and 9, which adds beauty without being too much of a hazard.

This is an excellent course for beginners, families, or if want to have a quick, relaxing round with the chance to score very low. It is relatively open and mowed with a handful of trees as obstacles, so there is little chance to lose a disc.
Cons: This course will be really simple for most experienced players and pros as there are few hazards or obstacles. The alternate tees are nice, but they only add a little length, not any other challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course, I enjoyed playing it despite its simplicity. There was nobody else playing it that day making for a nice peaceful round. It is perfect for beginner level players. However, it is probably not worth the drive from Kingsport which does have some excellent courses. If you are driving by or are in the area then go ahead and check it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course has been vandalized

1    7/11/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, really flat and open
Cons: Some of the signs are unreadable now due to vandalism, it took me a while to figure out which hole was hole number 1
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the back nine because it started to rain, but I will try to go back and play it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where Mountain Means Flat

2-4    7/1/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Two tee positions per hole, both with very nice signs, long-n-wide concrete teepads, many with benches.

Minimal chance to lose a disc - unless you overthrow #6 to the right, which I did. :-(
Singe basket position, almost completely flat.

Most alternate tee positions merely added distance because, other than a row of trees on #2 and a couple large but mostly easily avoidable large trees on #3-4, the course is WIDE open.
Other Thoughts:
Average distance is 250' from the shorts, 325' from the longs.

Beginner friendly course in a nice location.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.