Roan Mountain, TN 
Roan Mountain DGC Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Poor Course, Beautiful Surroundings

2-4    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: The previous review is correct. There's really not much here. It's a wide open field with baskets on it. Hard to say this is really a course. But I will add my two cents and list a few of the reasons I actually enjoyed playing here (not versus other courses, but the alternative of doing something other than play disc golf).

Pros:
- Far and away, the best, maybe the only pro here is that the surroundings are just beautiful. The course is at the foot of Roan Mountain, close to the state park and all of its amenities. If you are staying at Roan Mountain, which I HIGHLY recommend as a family getaway (not because of the disc golf, but because of everything else the park and the mountains have to offer), then it's well worth your time to spend an hour or two practicing on the disc golf course or playing a kid-friendly round. While the course is just a boring, flat field, it's still beautiful, with a nice mountain stream bordering the course.
- Good place to get in real field work: practice throws, especially drives, and testing out anything you need to work on for your game. You could keep score here, if you want, but I think the best use of this course is for practice or playing with kids who won't mind the obstacle-free layout.
Cons: Others have mentioned the cons, so I won't beat a dead horse. This isn't a challenging course. It's just a field. That's it. If you're looking for an above average course in this area, there are other alternatives. But if you are in Roan Mountain for any other reason, and you've just gotta get out and throw your discs, might as well go here.

 Too open and flat. That sums it up.

1    5/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 201  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roan Mountain is the ultimate course for a casual disc golfer. Hey, I'm trying to be positive.
- Nice, clean park. It actually seems less like a park and more like a big greenway area. There's also a nice creek that runs alongside #1 & 9.
- Holes have dual tee pads and tee signs.
- This is a great course to practice throwing. There's plenty of room for unleashing some serious drives.
- One downhill hole and one uphill hole. Both are decent, and present the most fun on the course.
- Course is conveniently located along main road (19E) in Roan Mountain. You're also close to the North Carolina border.
Cons: This isn't the fault of the course designers, but there's just nothing to work with to create a fun, challenging course. When you have a flat piece of land, and minimal trees, or any other obstacles, you get too many wide-open, boring holes.
- Seven holes are flat. Most are wide open and straight. The exceptions are: #2 - dogleg left, 3 & 4 - both have basket near a tree.
- Tee pads are too short. Not a problem on the flat holes, but a serious issue on #7, the downhill hole. The tee pad is cut out of the hill, so you can't start your run-up behind the tee. I saw a near slip-up due to the short tee pad.
Other Thoughts: For anyone who has read any of my reviews, you know I try to be as thorough as possible, listing as much as I can about the course. That's virtually impossible with this course because there's simply nothing here to talk about. 7 flat holes, 1 uphill, 1 downhill + lack of challenge and obstacles = ultimate blandness. It's like trying to describe the flavor of a rice cake.
- The reality is that there's really no way to improve the course. Sure, you could possibly move a basket or two closer to the rough, or behind a tree, to add some challenge, but that wouldn't change the big picture.
- I wouldn't recommend people going of of their out of my way to play here, meaning unless you're on 19E, it's not worth the visit. You can play the 9 holes in 20 - 25 minutes, so at least you're not wasting too much time stopping here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: not bad for a 9 hole and the land they had to work with. great beginner course. a couple of long holes. used to take my son up there because you can easily navigate with a stroller.
Cons: it is what it is. a short 9 hole course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: dano92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great well kept course that's located next to the road. The majority of it is located in a large field next to the river but there are some hills and trees to keep things interesting. If you are in the area it is well worth stopping by and playing the 9 holes once or twice.
Cons: Majority of holes are in a large field so there is a lack of hazards.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2009   5/19/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 233  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roan Mountain is a nice, well-kept 9-hole course in a small park right off the highway. There are concrete tees, excellent signs, and solid baskets. (However, the previous reviewer has mentioned some vandalism of the signs that occurred just after I played it.) The course offers 2 sets of tees (but these are basically a long and a short, they do not provide and alternate angles to the hole.)

The course has 7 holes that are very flat, 1 steep uphill hole that is challenging, and 1 elevated tee back downhill that is fun to air one out on. There is a small river along 8 and 9, which adds beauty without being too much of a hazard.

This is an excellent course for beginners, families, or if want to have a quick, relaxing round with the chance to score very low. It is relatively open and mowed with a handful of trees as obstacles, so there is little chance to lose a disc.
Cons: This course will be really simple for most experienced players and pros as there are few hazards or obstacles. The alternate tees are nice, but they only add a little length, not any other challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course, I enjoyed playing it despite its simplicity. There was nobody else playing it that day making for a nice peaceful round. It is perfect for beginner level players. However, it is probably not worth the drive from Kingsport which does have some excellent courses. If you are driving by or are in the area then go ahead and check it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course has been vandalized

1    7/11/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tee pads, really flat and open
Cons: Some of the signs are unreadable now due to vandalism, it took me a while to figure out which hole was hole number 1
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the back nine because it started to rain, but I will try to go back and play it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where Mountain Means Flat

2-4    7/1/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee positions per hole, both with very nice signs, long-n-wide concrete teepads, many with benches.

Minimal chance to lose a disc - unless you overthrow #6 to the right, which I did. :-(
Cons:
Singe basket position, almost completely flat.

Most alternate tee positions merely added distance because, other than a row of trees on #2 and a couple large but mostly easily avoidable large trees on #3-4, the course is WIDE open.
Other Thoughts:
Average distance is 250' from the shorts, 325' from the longs.

Beginner friendly course in a nice location.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 105  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just a few miles from Roan Mountain State Park, this is a nice, easy, beginner-friendly course on the way to Bob's Dairyland. Open course with a few scattered trees. Nice concrete T-pads great baskets and signage. Not crowded and easy to find.
The local community did a good job of pulling this course together with hole sponsorship.
Cons: Not a very challenging layout, but you can only do so much with a small, flat piece of ground and a few trees.
The dual tees don't change things much, since the holes are open and straight.
It's a 9 holer.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the name, this course is flat as a pancake. Roan Mountain is a destination state park for a family vacation, but the nearby DG course is not, for a serious player. It is however a really nice introductory course for new players. Since disc golf does not have much of an experienced player base in this area, the course serves it's purpose.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.