Willmar, MN 
Robbin's Island DGC Share
Uploaded By: Hal_Beauvais Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Course with potential that is unfulfilled

2-4    1/5/2016   1/5/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2016
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Some individual holes are really great and the signage is excellent. The landscape is exceptional and simply needs to be better used.
Cons: The designer is clearly a rookie who had no idea what he's doing.
The back nine is not worth playing at all and is a grave hazard going over roads and parking lots, which could cause property damage or injury. Many of those holes are simply long, boring, open holes that only reward distance champs.

While many holes have decent design, the greens are horribly placed and don't take advantage of the mature trees to create guarded greens.

The tee signs are actually planted in the concrete tee pads at the back left, which is not only dangerous, but it prevents a player from starting his run up from the legal 3 meters off the pad (which blocks lines a player might take through the sign).

While one reviewer called it short, the course is actually quite long and plays much longer than the posted distance because of the elevation.

The overall layout is somewhat poor, as there are often very long walks to the next tee or there are more than one basket in view from a tee.

Almost every hole is a very long driver hole or a midrange hole that requires a driver due to elevation. There should be a few holes that can be driven with a putter.

The sad truth is that you could EASILY redesign this course and put 18 holes in the back area where the first 9 holes now reside. EASILY. I walked through and came up with an exceptional layout that would retain most of the holes but alter a few slightly to resolve ALL of the problems listed above (and still manage to squeeze in a few of the needed shorter holes and bring it up to a full 18).

It's a beautiful piece of land that is shamefully wasted by its poor design. I'll be living in the region for a while and I won't be back (unless the city will hire me as a design consultant and make all the changes I would suggest; they do have some liability issues on their hands that I could fix as well).
Other Thoughts: It's a huge shame that I got a PM telling me to "stay the f away from Willmar".
I guess some people are too sensitive to take constructive criticism for this really terrible course (I've already gotten 4 marks for my review not being helpful; it's damn helpful to point out a bad course that could be fixed with a proper redesign).

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Multi-purpose park

5+    10/13/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: todd9500
Played: 179  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 33.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs/large map by hole #1: excellent
Tee-pads: cement
Benches on holes 1-9
Practice basket: yes
Hazards: The entire park is mowed. Only a few places to lose discs in the woods. Need spotters to protect soccer players if they are out of their soccer area. Be patient with car traffic - many people like to drive through this beautiful park.


Robbins Island was installed in 2008 and was a big boost for Disc Golf in the west central area of Minnesota. Course Designer Andrew Bjur started out by designing a wonderful nine holes skillfully utilizing the hills and trees. It was designed to introduce beginner disc golfers to the sport. Alternate tee-pads and baskets for holes 1-9 were added to make the course more challenging.

The Willmar Area disc golfers, working with the Willmar Park and Recreation department, have been making improvements since the course was put in by raising funds through league play and tournaments.

Holes 10-18 were added in 2013 (see review by andrewbjur). Andrew had the challenge of working with a wide open space. These holes are in need of many new trees and other obstacles to make it more challenging and attractive to disc golfers.

Overall, the course would be considered a short easy course. I would give holes 1-9 a 3.5 rating because it's a wonderful nine hole design. I give holes 10-18 a 2.0 rating because of its openness.

The holes that stand out are #3, #5, and #8. Hole #3 shoots from the peninsula with water on both sides of the tee-box through trees. It's something that you won't easily forget.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Snowbound, but still nice

1    12/4/2014   12/4/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is moderately sized multi use park situated on a picturesque penninaula, with soccer fields, picnic areas and plenty of walking paths.

The disc golf course is sort of central and very near one of the mIn parking areas.

There is a practice basket right in by the front, and since it plays in a modified figure 8 pattern you can hit it after 9 of you so desire.

The biggest pro to me is its got a pretty good layout with two sets of big concrete tee pads and baskets for each hole.


The teepads are probably great in the summer and actually most had been cleared of snow even now as well. Thank you to the reaponsible parties!

It offers a diverse layout that I really liked.

Baskets are Dga, Mark 3s I think, not now but balanced well and they catch pretty well. They were set a little low, but no big deal.

It's not a huge space but they make great use of the elevation changes offered as well have the nice old growth trees that make every hole at least somewhat technical.

Signage is very good. Every tee has the layout and reccomended lines, and distances for each both pins, and the numbers and distances were painted on the pads as well.

You have some really cool blind upshots and downhill s curve shots that make it really fun to play.

The landscape is really nice and the use of a not massive space to put together a course it's good is pretty cool also.

Cons:
The course play a bit short from any configuration, not too many bomber holes.

The layout isn't perfect, some te then fairways go close to other tee boxes but I doubt that could be avoided.

Some of the grills and picnic areas are so close to the baskets I have to imagine that can be a hazard in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I really lien this course, and will try to play it again and write an update on how it played without the snow.

It's not a course you drive 5 hours to play, but if your close its a great spot for a round.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun but short course

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: DiscGolfKing7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes on each hole
Great signage on front nine
Would be a challenge to lose a disc
Cons: Every hole is a par 3
Could lose a disc in the woods or lake.
No signage whatsoever on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Had a ton of fun here. Perfect spot for a DGC.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course Worth A Play

2-4    6/20/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 60  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great signage.
-Nice elevation on the front 9.
-Great hole layouts....on the front 9.
-Nice park with water surrounding it.
-well-maintained
-Requires technical skill on the front 9.
-Beach on the property so after you sweat out a round you can take it straight into the water.
Cons: -Back 9 is almost entirely in an open soccer field area, requiring no variation in skill from one hole to the next. These holes hardly add anything desirable to the course besides a legit 18 hole score i guess.
-I could see heavy mosquito traffic in this area at the right times of year and day.
-Throughout the course there are several areas that you are potentially throwing at or near cars, near soccer players, general park goers and at points hanging shots over park paths to make a line at the pin. I would like to assume I always have laser-like precision, but unfortunately i did have to apologize on a few occasions. .
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of this course is definately a great 9 hole course. As far as the Willmar area goes, would have to imagine this is the best option within 45 minutes. If in the area i would definately swing by for another round. I have updated my rating on this course to a 3.5 because the back 9 now has poured concrete pads and signs. My initial rating involved a back 9 that did not have signs or pads. Much better 18 hole course now.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2012 review

5+    5/9/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: andrewbjur
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of Trees
Interesting and fun shots
Long and short tees - concrete
New signs
Alternate pins are installed
18 Holes as of June 2013
Practice basket
Benches at holes 1-9 longs and shorts
Active local club - Willmar Area Disc Golfers
New Signs holes 10-18 2014
New tee pads are in holes 10-18
Cons: Bugs
Holes 10-18 need a few more trees
Other Thoughts: Local Club Keeps improving this course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cute Course

5+    9/12/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The expansion of new tee boxes finally brings some variety to the course. Tree placement makes this course. Holes are not very long but the tree placement makes this course extremely fun. Baskets and paved tee boxes are well maintained.
Cons: with no other courses near by and only having 9 holes can make it very crowded. It it still a public park and you have to watch out for kids. Bugs mid summer are at a constant annoyance level of EXTREME.
Other Thoughts: Lost 3 discs total (2 star bosses and 1 champion ape) on hole 2 going for the basket but over-threw into the lake. Be wary.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Keeps Improving

5+    5/4/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: Hal_Beauvais
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mature trees and many elevation changes make this a very fun course. Tee pads are concrete and large. The local disc golf club does a good job of keeping the course clean.
Cons: It is only 9 holes and could use a good drinking fountain somewhere along the way.
Other Thoughts: ******COURSE IMPROVEMENTS in 2011*****

"Pro" tee pads and alternate pin locations for all 9 holes have been laid out and approved by the city. The work will be completed this spring. These modifications were put in place to give players the option to up the difficulty of the course. The local club has two leagues that play on Wednesday nights. One Pro and one Rec.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Oasis

5+    6/20/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Milk Man X
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great long shot opportunities
-Cement tee pads
-Very Well Kept Grounds
-Very Secluded; the entire Island area has become primarily a disc golf course
-Hole 2 can be played from the parking lot dirt spot, making it a very entertaining long drive over the road
-Very large mature trees, which give the course a whole new dimension
-Friendly locals (When you run in to people)
-Virtually no wait ever
-Chains are very well kept
Cons: -Only 9 holes long
-The bugs can get heavy in the more woody and shaded areas.
-Trash cans are usually full as they get a good deal of use (which is why the course is so clean)
Other Thoughts: -BRING BUG SPRAY! or move fast
-Driving 2 from the parking lot is a must
-Police drive through the area occasionally so be wary of the white cruisers if you plan to indulge
-2 Also brings water in to play if you lack distance control

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in a Nice Park

5+    7/18/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Signs tell length
-Lots of elevation changes, play a part in almost every hole.
-No 2 holes are the same.
-Not too busy so you wont have to wait.
-Public beach right next to course.
-Minimal chances of a lost disc.
-Baskets all in good shape.
-Easy to know which basket you are aiming for and easy to find next hole.
-Park is well kept and clean.
-This area of park is used solely for disc golfing purposes.
-Large, mature trees and interesting pin placements make this course very challenging. More than it would seem.
Cons: -Dirt tee boxes may get muddy when wet.
-Tee boxes are basically holes in the ground where people have decided to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Challenging and interesting. One of my favorite 9 hole courses. Could possibly be expanded into 18 holes but that would probably interfere with the rest of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.