Disc Golf Store
Pella, IA 
Roberts Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign / Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nothing to write home about

1    5/17/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: atomtan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.7 Years
Pros: It's an excellent place to go if you're trying to work on tighter flight control of your discs.
It has a nice view for visitors to the area.
I would play this course to limber myself up at the beginning of the season.
Cons: The only Con that sticks out for me are the ticks. Today I picked off 2 or 3 at every hole. They are not only in the rough but also along the fairways.
On a day like today I wouldn't have been comfortable wearing long pants and long sleeves. But doing so would be advised.
Other Thoughts: The holes along the lake had some pretty surprising wind. The weeds make for a good wind break, but if your disc gets above them it will go on a pretty wild ride.

 Good course

1    7/19/2011   3/13/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the concrete pads. The baskets are good. Signs are pretty good. The course flows well.
Cons: It's not my favorite setting due to all the weeds; they get very thick during summer days. The pathways to the holes are very small. It was a little hard for me to find the course at first.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't my favorite course. Maybe someone else will like it more than I did. If your close I suggest you go, its frisbee golf, I wouldn't suggest traveling long distances for this small 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A new use for an old facility

1    7/25/2008   10/28/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newish baskets.
-Logical flow
-Descriptive signs
-concrete tees
Cons: -A bit unimaginative layout
-Very tall rough along narrow fairways
-a single set of tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: The course is located at what appears to be an old beach area. There are old beachhouse/shower buildings set back from the old beach area that is now overgrown with weeds and grass. The course actually is carved out of the tall grass on the periphery of the waterfront area. The course ducks in and out of medium-to-large trees.

A single set of tees and permanent basket placements limit options for playing the course, or modifying for different types of players. It's not a championship caliber course to be sure, but it fills a need for courses in this part of the state. Unfortunately, the type of player it's geared toward, the recreational player, will likely be frustrated by having to continuously search for errant discs in the tall rough.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just Another 9 Holes

2-4    9/15/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees and signs are fine. It flows fine. Baskets are good. It plays alongside a nice little lake and is in a nice park. They've also beat back some of the brush that made a couple fairways a little too tight.
Cons: There's nothing particularly wrong. It's relatively short and all par 3s. The rough alongside the holes is just that....rough, so you'll be punished for some misses.
Other Thoughts: Completely unremarkable course. It's your classic small town 9-hole that somebody who clearly had no idea what they were doing designed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.