Watertown, WI 
Rock River DGC Share
Uploaded By: imoser_me Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
One of the best in the area

1    6/23/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 231  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a nice, quiet and well manicured park. There are multiple concrete tees on the first 11 holes with solid sized rubber mats on the last 10. The baskets are chainstars that are all in great condition and catch fantastic. The tee signs are now present on every hole. These are some of the best I've seen. They have a a nice hole map with distances from both sets of tees and an arrow showing the direction to the next tee on each one. The course is free to play which is always nice. There is a nice kiosk with the hole course map on it. There is a decent amount of elevation in play here, especially on the back half of the course. The back half is also pretty heavily wooded requiring more technical shots. There are also some tough lines to hit on the first half too but not as drastic as the back. The course is permanent which I always consider a bonus. This would be a fun tough round in the winter for sure too.
Cons: Not many. The rough is extremely thick in a few spots so be sure to really pay attention to your shots. Found a putter on hole 12 today in a pretty rough area off the fairway. A few of the holes are kind of bland. Especially the last hole. I understand it is just there to get you close to hole 1 again but it is not really necessary. It would just kind of be cooler to finish your round after the awesome 20th hole.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course to go out of your way to play. Almost all of the negative things in the earlier reviews have been addressed. With concrete on all holes I'd probably bump this up to a 4. It's only about 15 minutes off of I-94 so well worth the drive and not too far out of your way. Definitely worth checking out at least once and if it's been a few years since you last played I'd recommend giving it another try, you'll like the improvements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/12/2015   1/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 83  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The original 9 holes is open but has enough elevation and foliage to make for challenging shots (unless you are a huge bomber who can reach them easily).

The new holes are where the excitement begins. Three of these holes are mere connecting holes to the original 9, but and they are simply longer versions of those more open holes.

The holes that wind through a huge wooded hill are among the best in the state. The first is a deceptive hole with a deeply guarded green that makes the second shot a tricky challenge. The following hole is a manageable distance that can't be reached because of the elevation and a left to right slope (making it even harder for this lefty). This is followed by tunnel shots and technical holes that are easily reached with a putter, though you rarely find yourself on the green.
There is one magnificent double dogleg downhill monster of a hole that is always gratifying to make a 3. The 17th comes out of the woods, but winds uphill nearly 400 feet and is as difficult to make 3 as the previous hole. The downhill 18th can be reached, but there seems always to be huge wind out there and one is often in the soybeans.
Cons: The tees and the lack of signage.
Other Thoughts: It's still one of my favorite destinations in South Central WI during the thaw when my locals are closed.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Needs a current review

5+    4/30/2015   4/30/2015
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Other Thoughts: I just saw there hasn't been a review in a few years so I wanted to offer a few updates from the past reviews. Also a little background on me, this is the course where I learned to play. I was rated up to 975 at one point before a back injury but just got the bug to start playing again and I was very critical of the course.

When the back 9 went in, I hated it. It was confusing, there were no teepads, and no lines on half the holes. In addition to that, THORNS everywhere. It was not a pleasant experience and I avoided the newer 9 at all costs.

A few years later and living back in town, I gave it another shot. The club here has done a TON of work. First, there are 21 holes now. They added 3 connector holes to have a better flow between the two 9's. Next, they added rubber pads to all of the back 9's pads. Additionally, they cut down a few trees to actually make the holes playable and have removed the thorns.

I still think the course would be confusing for someone new to the course playing alone, but they have made attempts to put some additional signage out on the course apart from the teesigns.

The front is still a 2 or die kind of course and the back is much more challenging with only a few birdie options unless you have a cannon. For those of you who have had a rough experience, come give it another chance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ok front 9, back 9 is a joke

1    5/20/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads on holes 1-11 at least.

Multiple tee pad locations.

Tee signs on front 9 labeled with tee numbers
Cons: LACK OF ADEQUATE SIGNAGE!!!!!!

Most of the holes I played were straight ahead aside from hole 6 where there is a random basket placed in the middle of a thicket of trees without a clear line of getting to it.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of this course is ok, I looked around for hole 1 and was directed by the reincarnate of Jeff Spicoli to behind the tennis courts and found holes 8 and 9 instead. I found hole 1 after playing 9 and the rest of the front half played ok. Tee signs simply giving the hole number were there, but distances would've been nice.

No signage from 9's basket to where hole 10 was, but I manged to find it after wandering around a bit. Holes 10 and 11 had concrete pads but no signs indicating them as holes 10 and 11 with no stickers on their respective baskets indicating them as such. Wanna play hole 12? Go wander across the street and find a patch of mud to throw from and assume it's hole 12. I played what I thought was hole 13, got to the basket and the sticker on the center pole said 18...decided I wasn't going to waste another moment on this course any longer.

I came up to Wisconsin with the intent of playing as many quality courses as time would allow. Luckily I'm hitting the big 3 in Madison tomorrow. I was severely disappointed with the general sense of flow in this course and was not willing to wander around to figure it out. I would have much rather played another 9 at Ripley and Firemen's than here.

This course could potentially be a nice course, but rated separately I'd give 1-9 a 3 disc rating and 10-whatever a 1 disc rating. As a first timer I couldn't get past the random baskets of the back 9 with no indication of where the tees and general course flow were. I guess that money went towards one of the many unnecessary roundabouts in Watertown.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: ljcblink182
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: -2 Seperate 9 Hole Setups
-Front 9 Concrete pads
-Good Variety of Hole Lengths
-Good Variety of hole opsticles
-Great course design
Cons: -Back 9 grass tees (the property is owned by the school district and no permant style tees will ever be there. They are planning on gravel tees though)

-Back 9 no signs (there coming this summer)
-Some of the holes tend to retain water around them after it rains so it can geet soupy some times.
-Wish they would have different basket placements (not there fault)
-Wish there was an actual water hazard.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course for both amatures and experienced players.
The Front 9 offer a fun and enjoyable course for players of all caliber.
The Back 9 is still fun and has a few really really long and tricky holes. But its more for people who have a few months under there belt.
All in all this is a good course and a fun one.
Plans are in the works from what I hear to add an additional 21 holes in the not too distant future, which means the Rock River DGC could be one of the premier courses in the state. But as of now I am happy with the 18.

  New Pads!

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: BudDanger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The tee pads are in on about half of the front nine and will be completed soon! There are a wide variety of shots, easy, hard, technical, long, etc... Members of the local club are very knowledgeable and willing to assist players unfamilier with the course or sport.
Cons: Poor markings for pads on the back nine. This should be resolved when the concrete pads are completed.
Other Thoughts: A great course to check out if you are in the area. Once the tee pads are completed this will be a course worth driving a distance to shoot.

 Was good course but could be much better

1    7/2/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: The course contained both easier hole layouts for the beginners out there and tougher layouts for the more experienced players. The buggs were not TOO bad on the course for playing at dusk. The fairways were well maintained and the hazzards were placed in good spots too keep a challenge.
Cons: The course was not marked well and was hard too find the tee box for some holes.
Other Thoughts: There was open spots near the course too practice ur throwing and there was a bathroom and drink machine nearby.

  Prepare for mosquitos

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Byteme62
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Variety of course layout means rarely the same shot twice. Decent location. The Beauty (front 9) and the Beast (back 9) really provides variety.
Cons: Back 9 drastically needs hole markings. Even after downloading the photos, it was challenging to find the holes without giving up too much blood to mosquitos.
Really could use improvement on the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Seriously consider printing out the photos for the back 9 or you may find yourself spending time wondering.
Note that the photos are identified as 1 to 18, but they renumber the back 9 starting at 1 again.

 Could be better

5+    7/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 116  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These two courses should really be reviewed as separate 9's because they are completely separate and very different, but I'll do them as an 18 to save space. Most of the holes have 2 tees. Good mix of short and long, between 213 and 455 from long tees. Most of the front nine are open, while the back nine are either on the edge of the woods or go right through. Slight elevation change on front nine, more on back nine. The back nine are definitely the more interesting of the two halves, and the riskier as far as losing a disc in the woods--much underbrush. About half a dozen holes require a forehand or anny. Hole 15 is the best hole of the bunch -- a long, left turning dogleg in the middle of the woods. Some benches and trash cans scattered around. There is a practice basket also.
Cons: The gravel tee pads are not good. They are prone to getting churned up from the planting and pivoting of feet and some of them are currently washing away because they are not bordered by anything. Tee 1 is absolutely horrible. Holes 1-3 are currently very soggy, with standing water on hole 1. The back nine still has no signs, only small stakes in the ground, and some of those are still missing. If it's your first time there, you might have a hard time navigating
Other Thoughts:
This course is in the same shape it was in when I first played it last September. There have been no improvements since then, other than second tee pads on 3 of the holes. I keep hearing about a big expansion here, but no sign of it, and the maintenance of what is already here is somewhat lacking, mainly in the tee pads and signage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: guitar_freak_159
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The "Beauty" course is great. It is nice and open, holes are clearly visible. The "Beast" course is also a great course. It is challenging, yet tasteful. The holes are longer and many of them favor a righty like me.
Cons: As of now, the "Beast" is basically unmarked. If you go now, i suggest taking a picture of the course from the sign with your phone so that you can see the basic direction of everything.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.