Watertown, WI 
Rock River DGC Share
Uploaded By: imoser_me Hole #12 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 378ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ok front 9, back 9 is a joke

1    5/20/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads on holes 1-11 at least.

Multiple tee pad locations.

Tee signs on front 9 labeled with tee numbers
Cons: LACK OF ADEQUATE SIGNAGE!!!!!!

Most of the holes I played were straight ahead aside from hole 6 where there is a random basket placed in the middle of a thicket of trees without a clear line of getting to it.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of this course is ok, I looked around for hole 1 and was directed by the reincarnate of Jeff Spicoli to behind the tennis courts and found holes 8 and 9 instead. I found hole 1 after playing 9 and the rest of the front half played ok. Tee signs simply giving the hole number were there, but distances would've been nice.

No signage from 9's basket to where hole 10 was, but I manged to find it after wandering around a bit. Holes 10 and 11 had concrete pads but no signs indicating them as holes 10 and 11 with no stickers on their respective baskets indicating them as such. Wanna play hole 12? Go wander across the street and find a patch of mud to throw from and assume it's hole 12. I played what I thought was hole 13, got to the basket and the sticker on the center pole said 18...decided I wasn't going to waste another moment on this course any longer.

I came up to Wisconsin with the intent of playing as many quality courses as time would allow. Luckily I'm hitting the big 3 in Madison tomorrow. I was severely disappointed with the general sense of flow in this course and was not willing to wander around to figure it out. I would have much rather played another 9 at Ripley and Firemen's than here.

This course could potentially be a nice course, but rated separately I'd give 1-9 a 3 disc rating and 10-whatever a 1 disc rating. As a first timer I couldn't get past the random baskets of the back 9 with no indication of where the tees and general course flow were. I guess that money went towards one of the many unnecessary roundabouts in Watertown.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: ljcblink182
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: -2 Seperate 9 Hole Setups
-Front 9 Concrete pads
-Good Variety of Hole Lengths
-Good Variety of hole opsticles
-Great course design
Cons: -Back 9 grass tees (the property is owned by the school district and no permant style tees will ever be there. They are planning on gravel tees though)

-Back 9 no signs (there coming this summer)
-Some of the holes tend to retain water around them after it rains so it can geet soupy some times.
-Wish they would have different basket placements (not there fault)
-Wish there was an actual water hazard.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course for both amatures and experienced players.
The Front 9 offer a fun and enjoyable course for players of all caliber.
The Back 9 is still fun and has a few really really long and tricky holes. But its more for people who have a few months under there belt.
All in all this is a good course and a fun one.
Plans are in the works from what I hear to add an additional 21 holes in the not too distant future, which means the Rock River DGC could be one of the premier courses in the state. But as of now I am happy with the 18.

  New Pads!

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: BudDanger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The tee pads are in on about half of the front nine and will be completed soon! There are a wide variety of shots, easy, hard, technical, long, etc... Members of the local club are very knowledgeable and willing to assist players unfamilier with the course or sport.
Cons: Poor markings for pads on the back nine. This should be resolved when the concrete pads are completed.
Other Thoughts: A great course to check out if you are in the area. Once the tee pads are completed this will be a course worth driving a distance to shoot.

 Was good course but could be much better

1    7/2/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: The course contained both easier hole layouts for the beginners out there and tougher layouts for the more experienced players. The buggs were not TOO bad on the course for playing at dusk. The fairways were well maintained and the hazzards were placed in good spots too keep a challenge.
Cons: The course was not marked well and was hard too find the tee box for some holes.
Other Thoughts: There was open spots near the course too practice ur throwing and there was a bathroom and drink machine nearby.

  Prepare for mosquitos

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Byteme62
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Variety of course layout means rarely the same shot twice. Decent location. The Beauty (front 9) and the Beast (back 9) really provides variety.
Cons: Back 9 drastically needs hole markings. Even after downloading the photos, it was challenging to find the holes without giving up too much blood to mosquitos.
Really could use improvement on the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Seriously consider printing out the photos for the back 9 or you may find yourself spending time wondering.
Note that the photos are identified as 1 to 18, but they renumber the back 9 starting at 1 again.

 Could be better

5+    7/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These two courses should really be reviewed as separate 9's because they are completely separate and very different, but I'll do them as an 18 to save space. Most of the holes have 2 tees. Good mix of short and long, between 213 and 455 from long tees. Most of the front nine are open, while the back nine are either on the edge of the woods or go right through. Slight elevation change on front nine, more on back nine. The back nine are definitely the more interesting of the two halves, and the riskier as far as losing a disc in the woods--much underbrush. About half a dozen holes require a forehand or anny. Hole 15 is the best hole of the bunch -- a long, left turning dogleg in the middle of the woods. Some benches and trash cans scattered around. There is a practice basket also.
Cons: The gravel tee pads are not good. They are prone to getting churned up from the planting and pivoting of feet and some of them are currently washing away because they are not bordered by anything. Tee 1 is absolutely horrible. Holes 1-3 are currently very soggy, with standing water on hole 1. The back nine still has no signs, only small stakes in the ground, and some of those are still missing. If it's your first time there, you might have a hard time navigating
Other Thoughts:
This course is in the same shape it was in when I first played it last September. There have been no improvements since then, other than second tee pads on 3 of the holes. I keep hearing about a big expansion here, but no sign of it, and the maintenance of what is already here is somewhat lacking, mainly in the tee pads and signage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: guitar_freak_159
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The "Beauty" course is great. It is nice and open, holes are clearly visible. The "Beast" course is also a great course. It is challenging, yet tasteful. The holes are longer and many of them favor a righty like me.
Cons: As of now, the "Beast" is basically unmarked. If you go now, i suggest taking a picture of the course from the sign with your phone so that you can see the basic direction of everything.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good, could be great

5+    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Tradisc
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads on most holes.
Different hole types.
Great club that runs the course.
Cons: Dirt tee pads.
No signs.
Back 9 still needs some trimming to open up the lines a bit. (hole 6 could be the best hole in the area with some trimming)
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I really think that it can be a great course and rival anything in madison with some work. THe watertown park and rec havent been much help to us most of the work has been done by the rock river disc club.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: Omnibot
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ 18 holes on a course that's nicely set up
~ Front 9 and Back 9 are two far different courses
~ Good mix of hole sizes and types
~ Gravel tees on front 9 (pro tees included on most holes)
~ Easy to find and access
~ The club and leagues are great here!
Cons: ~ Needs concrete or pads for all holes
~ Back 9 is a bit of a challenge on a hole or two to navigate if you are new to the course and solo
~ A bit of a walk between 7 and where the back 9 starts, easier to play that first then hit 8 & 9
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very nice. Once they have more cash i'm sure more will be done but since this is club run they need people to show up for leagues to help the funds grow. More members = better things!

League Info:
~ Thursdays 5:30pm & Sunday Noon
~ Random doubles, ace pool - Great for novice players since you have a chance to cash

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

1    4/16/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.