Davenport, IA 
Eastern Avenue Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
5 / 338ft.   5 / 488ft.   5 / --   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Am Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Very Nice Course

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Found it a good course if your looking for a quick round. It may not be the hardest course but I was able to try every disc in my bag and see what each can do in different situations.
Cons: On hole, I think it is 10, the weeds are so tall that it is very difficult to make the shot across the creek.
At times, since it was my first time there, I had to break out my map to keep on the right path since there is nothing that i saw telling you where the next hole was.
Other Thoughts: All in all very enjoyable course, and I look forward to playing it many times. And using it to help hone all my different shots.

Good Practice Course

5+    10/4/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: alcstradamus
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Multiple concrete teepads on most holes

--Open fairways with lots of length (also a con) so you can get here and really work on perfecting your form on long drives, as well as 100 ft. upshots

--Creek running through several holes provides a bit of challenge and excitement. Shallow enough to retrieve discs out of easily which is a good thing

--Back nine is usually dead, so if you want to avoid the riff raff just skip the front nine

Cons: --Very wide open, so you are not punished by poor throws. Good for beginners and casual players, but not good for providing scenery or challenge

--Probably the busiest course in the Quad Cities and due to the length and openness it attracts a lot of drunk chuckers. Don't be surprised if you have discs flying by your head or a group of 6 holding you up and not letting you play through
Other Thoughts: --I use the term "Eastern Par" to describe a hole where your drive is absolutely horrible, not even near on line to the basket, but a wide open 150 ft. up and down for 3 saves par every time. This course just does not provide much opportunity for scoring spread, and "Eastern Par" is the norm for an intermediate level player. Advanced players will be upset with 3's on the majority of holes, there is just no punishment opportunity or challenge on the vast majority of holes (I am speaking in regards to the Am tees, the Pro tees are almost never used because they are insanely long and only provide cooler lines on a couple holes. No one that I know plays them).

--That being said, there are still a few great ones here and you can have fun in your round mixing distance practice with scoring opportunities.

#3) Tricky little 280 ft. hole due to the tree branch cutting through the middle of the fairway 3/4 of the way down.

#7) Short little anny with a drop off to the creek about 20 ft behind the pin making for some seriously precise placement needed in order to prevent a scary putt

#10) 300 ft with the pin tucked about 10 ft. away from the creek dropoff. It is almost impossible to park this hole because there are two staggered trees blocking the path. It is possible to throw an anny that cuts through the trees, but if it doesn't S curve it might wind up in the creek! The only safe bet is to drive to the left of the trees, but if you do that you are looking at a 60 ft. putt with a creek 10 ft. behind the basket and are basically forced to lay up. A two on this hole is a fist-pumper even though it looks simple enough from the teepad

#12) Best hole on the course. 500 ft. or so down a tunnel with the creek to the left and woods to the right. The pin is tucked off to the left around a small dogleg, fairly close to the creek and guarded by disc eating long grass. If you are not extremely straight off the tee you can kiss a 3 goodbye. As a matter of fact, you better hope you can even save a 5 after an errant tee shot here

Most of the other holes are long, flat, open bombers with only the occassional hazard or difficult line.

--Like I stated, this is a great course to work on distance and 100 ft. upshots. If you want to better yourself as a disc golfer go somewhere else. If you want to have a competitive round with your friends go somewhere else as well. A similar Quad Cities course to this one only with a few more challenging lines to hit is Credit Island, I would recommend that one over Eastern if visiting the area (although neither are near the top of my list).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 51  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Challenging holes on the back 9 where water comes into play regularly - makes the fairways feel even narrower.
Cons: An errant throw on the back 9 makes for lost time searching in THICK undergrowth and lost discs

 Eastern Avenue

1    5/28/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: The amount of water that comes into play for so many holes makes this course a very challenging play. With nice distance on every hole it made for a great play. I really enjoyed the variety of shots that came into play.
Cons: The only downside to this course is that it is very flat. The front nine wasn't as challenging as the back nine. It was a lot more wide open and didn't have as much water that came into play.
Other Thoughts: Lost my champ Roadrunner on hole 12. It has a Jigglypuff dyed on it. One of my favorite discs sad day.

ea

5+    9/9/2010   5/9/2011
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice in town setting with a lot of space.
- well kept grounds, nicely manicured grass
- tee signs are sufficient for the majority of holes
- Offers concrete for both pro and amateur tees.
- trashcans through out course
-water fountain, bathrooms, pop and gatorade machines.
-picnic tables.
- a fair variety of holes
Cons: - often crowded
- most holes are long, but not necessarily challenging
- Seems to often be vandalism to tee signs
Other Thoughts: HOME COURSE, my favorite in the quad cities. This course stretches pretty far and the holes are laid out so you are at the parking lot at the end of hole 9 and at the end of hole 18.
There isn't anything close to what I would consider a heavily wooded area on the course, the real obstacle is the creek that winds through, which is shallower on the front 9, and much deeper on the back, but often very flooded in all areas at the start of the season.
This creek plays heaviest on hole 12 which hooks to left along the steep banks. Hole #3 has been recently been re-imagined and the water hazard is less of a problem now.
When in the QC I always play this course first, It is changing all the time for the better and is a good course that can be played leisurely without climbing hills all day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and open

5+    10/2/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park setting type course. Very nice paved walkbike path. Some open areas that occasionally get used for other activities. Bathrooms and soda machine near parking lot. Exercise area by 18. Park is maintained well.

Duel concrete tees. Tee signs on both the Am and Pro tees with hole # and distance information. Trash cans at almost every Am tee. A few benches to rest on through the course, but usually just becomes some place to put my bag.

Creek used as water hazards on multiple holes.

Besides distance, it is a fairly beginner friendly course as there isn't many obstacles.
Cons: Course is pretty flat, maybe a couple of mounds here and there but not much else.

Tee signs didn't have any layouts on them. Honestly it wasn't needed on most of the holes, but still would have been nice.

Course is a little broke up, almost like a few separate courses. One point crossing a bridge to get to 10 and 11, then crossing the road to get to 12 - 18.

Many parts of the course can have standing water. This is very noticeable during the spring, as 12 - 15 are usually under water.

Most holes feel like the last one you just threw. Not much for variation here.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the Am tees: 13 holes over 300', 3 of those being over 400' and 1 over 500'.
Playing from the Pro tees: 15 holes over 400', 4 of those being over 500', and 2 over 600'.
By far not the longest in the area, but with that said, as flat and open as the course is, it's still pretty long for newbies or youngsters.

A couple of holes worth discussing: Hole 3 is left to right hole with the creek on the right. There is a grouping of trees with a window that you have to either play short and lie up or try to get through the window. The drop off to the creek is straight up and down, so be careful. If I was brave, I'd throw right to left hyzer over the creek for the deuce, but I'm not that confident in my shot placement. I also like hole 5, because I tell myself if I can land on the mound with the big tree, I'm sitting good with a deuce chance.

Although the course can get sort of repetitive, I still don't mind playing it. Especially if I am in the area and don't want to play a wooded or hilly course (example: family goes shopping and I don't want to look at wife and kids clothing, I go disc golfing instead, but I can't get super sweaty or dirty).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eastern Average

1    8/29/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly but still exposes to newbies to challenge in their basket locations, length, and even a little bit of water risk/reward.

2) Dual Concrete tees are in good condition and fairly large.

3) Signs are nice with distance and course par listed as well as hole #. They are nice and big and fairly large. A couple had some vandalism on them but all in all not bad for the busiest course in the Quad Cities.

4) Garbage cans available multiple places through the course. I don't remember if they were every hole or not but I do remember multiple baskets.

5) The creek is used well on a few holes to bring it slightly into play. Hole #3, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15. It isn't in play from both tees all the time but some of the short tees still have the water in play.

6) Practice basket is available and they even have it set up as a practice hole on the map. I didnt even look for the tee but maybe I should have played it.

7) Bathrooms, water, and soda machine available at the parking lot.

8) Nice park overall with some walking trails, but fortunately the course stays away from the other areas of the park where non disc golfers might be. This is always appreciated in a well designed course.
Cons: 1) Very busy, can be good can be bad, but it is all prety casual players as it appeared to me. That seemed wierd becuase it was freaking hot like 90-95 and humid. I wouldnt expect so many casual players out in that heat and humidity. We had to wait many times for people in front of us. One of them was a little ADD kid plying with what looked to be his older brother and girlfriend and man this kid was throwing stuff at the baskets, hitting the basket with a branch, throwing 15 putts from 20 feet away at full speed trying to hit the chains. Thankfully he missed them all or he might have done damage. He didnt even care his group went ahead and played the last hole without him nor did he care at all that I was sitting there waiting for him to move out of the way. He did see me and didnt care that I was waiting.

2) Very flat and wide open for the most part. This is the con of this course I think because there is plenty of property just not enough obstacles. I wish there were more trees planted to create some more obstacles.

3) Segmented park broken into like 4 sections. There is a long walk from 1 to 2, 4 to 5 crosses the railroad tracks, 8 to 9 goes across a bridge and is a fair walk, 9 to 10 is a long walk across the parking lot and bridge that crosses the creek. 11 to 12 you actually might need to go to the stoplight because that road was super busy. Then you have to walk back to the lot from 18. I assume this is why someone came up with the practice basket being the 19th hole. It gets you closer to your car.

4) No Diagram on the teesigns. It isnt a huge deal because there aren't really many blind holes where you couldnt figure out the tree, but I do like a diagram on the signs.

5) I don't remember any holes where an anhyzer was needed. I threw one on #4 only because I had the wind there, but a hyzer was a good shot still. I like a little more variety in shot selection on a given course.

6) Almost completely flat. I don't think you go up or down more than 5-10 feet on any given hole.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course but it was super busy. It didn't really challenge much except for distance. There was not a lot of variety in shot selection but it did have some good basket placement. I would go back if I wanted to work on my driving because you certainly can learn a thing or two on the openness of his course. The amenities are decent. I played with a nice local guy but got stuck behind a couple inconsiderate locals too. Overall i say this course is just average, but there is enough fun to be had here for me to give it a 3 disc rating. I just can't lump it in with my other 2.5 discers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open

1    4/10/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a well-maintained city park with little interference from other park users. The course is mostly open with a couple holes that play through more wooded areas. A creek and small pond come into play on several holes adding some nice elements of risk.

There are very nice dual concrete tees on all holes, a few of which totally change the hole, especially when the short tee is out in the open but the long tee has to shoot out of the woods. Some of the long tees bring water into play that isn't a factor from the short tee. Both sets of tees have nice signs with hole layout and distance, and are color coded and easily visible from a distance. The baskets are in good shape and catch well.
Cons: The course gets very repetitive from either set of tees. Just about every hole is long and pretty much wide open. Most are a distance where 2s only happen with a lucky upshot that goes in, and there isn't all that much risk of messing up badly enough to get a 4, so it doesn't produce any real scoring spread, and won't separate different skill levels of players.

The idea of having a tee shooting back to the practice basket for an extra hole is cool, especially to fill the walk back from 18 (and it's one of the most interesting holes on the course), but it's blind so you may be throwing on people warming up or practicing their putting. The course is broken up by walks across train tracks and a road, and a couple other long walks, which ruins the flow of the course a bit. The path can come into play on some holes, so on a nice day you may have to wait on pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: This was not my favorite course in the area, it just felt very repetitive and boring. It would be a good place to work on drives, most holes are basically open fields with a basket a ways away to aim for. Beginners will find the course very long, and will likely be frustrated. More experienced players won't find much variety or challenge other than distance.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open, Enjoyable Course

5+    11/20/2009   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open course, decent tees and pads. Has a lot of long holes to let your drivers loose. Also has some shorter holes to shoot for aces. Follows scenic Duck Creek and adds to the challenge.
Cons: Can be a little too open at times. Creek can be a bad thing, especially when it floods. Front 9 more enjoyable than the back. Not enough short holes, too little ace opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very enjoyable course. I have played it many times and I almost always have a fun time. It is open enough to be fun, but it is also long enough to make it challenging. Probably the best course in Davenport.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course

5+    3/19/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: sting2387
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly easy course, the front 9 is fairly straight and open, the back 9 a little tougher with some tighter holes and water coming into play. Great location right off of the bike path. Usually not too crowded.
Cons: Do not play this course after a hard rain. It's not too bad on the front 9, but most of the back 9 will be incredibly sloppy if not underwater if the creek is high enough. I wish some of the holes were a little shorter, the realistic ace chances are few and far between at this course.
Other Thoughts: This is the default course in the Quad Cities if me and my friends want to play a quick 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.