Davenport, IA 
Eastern Avenue Park Share
Uploaded By: xsjunkie Hole #18 (Taken 4/2010)
5 / 331ft.   5 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Hometown Course

5+    9/8/2015   9/17/2015
Review By: cmax25
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
Pros: The park is full of amenities that make your disc golfing experience more pleasurable: pertaining to restrooms, bike racks, signage indicating hole location, distance, etc, amateur and pro tee concrete pads present, benches, shaded areas to relax, pop machines, water fountains. The course itself is fairly open specifically, the back nine considered to be more difficult because of the length when comparing all 18 holes. Skill levels of varying degrees should find this course appealing. Certain holes do require a forehand shot such as hole #7, # 12 but most holes can be reached by an adequate backhand. Duck Creek does plays as a hazard on holes #2, specifically #3 (lost numerous discs), #6,#7,#8. The recently planted prairie grass has settled in nicely by providing plenty of color and complements the mowed fairways. Trash cans are present at most holes so garbage is not a problem. Certain to find a group or two present to converse with so the atmosphere is friendly by all accounts.
Cons: When the course is busy- waiting can take away from the playing experience as most people prefer playing the front nine over the back nine. Parking can get a bit hectic when their are no spots available; generally around evening and weekends. The hole locations remain virtually unchanged since the course was first put in. I would like to see those changed but other than that not much to critique here.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that I have ever played on. I have fond memories from the very first time me and my friends ventured into the world of disc golfing at Eastern Avenue Park. Times when we would carry around five discs, used a driver in place of a putter, and would frequently use the "tomahawk" as our primary throwing style. How times have changed! That being said, this course is surely a 3 or 4 star rated course but will never achieve an epic status. Check out if you are in the area as you will not be disappointed.

Very Nice Course

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Found it a good course if your looking for a quick round. It may not be the hardest course but I was able to try every disc in my bag and see what each can do in different situations.
Cons: On hole, I think it is 10, the weeds are so tall that it is very difficult to make the shot across the creek.
At times, since it was my first time there, I had to break out my map to keep on the right path since there is nothing that i saw telling you where the next hole was.
Other Thoughts: All in all very enjoyable course, and I look forward to playing it many times. And using it to help hone all my different shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 64  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Challenging holes on the back 9 where water comes into play regularly - makes the fairways feel even narrower.
Cons: An errant throw on the back 9 makes for lost time searching in THICK undergrowth and lost discs

 Open, Enjoyable Course

5+    11/20/2009   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open course, decent tees and pads. Has a lot of long holes to let your drivers loose. Also has some shorter holes to shoot for aces. Follows scenic Duck Creek and adds to the challenge.
Cons: Can be a little too open at times. Creek can be a bad thing, especially when it floods. Front 9 more enjoyable than the back. Not enough short holes, too little ace opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very enjoyable course. I have played it many times and I almost always have a fun time. It is open enough to be fun, but it is also long enough to make it challenging. Probably the best course in Davenport.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course

5+    3/19/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: sting2387
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly easy course, the front 9 is fairly straight and open, the back 9 a little tougher with some tighter holes and water coming into play. Great location right off of the bike path. Usually not too crowded.
Cons: Do not play this course after a hard rain. It's not too bad on the front 9, but most of the back 9 will be incredibly sloppy if not underwater if the creek is high enough. I wish some of the holes were a little shorter, the realistic ace chances are few and far between at this course.
Other Thoughts: This is the default course in the Quad Cities if me and my friends want to play a quick 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Flavourful.

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, open course with everything marked and easy to follow. Nice layout through a giant park with some challenging shots. Hole #10 over Duck Creek. Trash cans everywhere, well kept up, nice people, good location.
Cons: First few holes are about as open as can be with no shade to speak of. After the first six or so they become very nicely designed (by Houck). Almost completely flat, which was surprising considering all the other courses I played in the Quad Cities took elevation changes to heart. Holes might be viewed as very similar, but I think they did what they could with the land and maximized its potential.
Other Thoughts: The back nine is across a road and almost becomes another course entirely. A nice change of pace after playing the front. I shot amazing on this course, so maybe I'm giving it too high of a rating, but I had a really great time out here. I would play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/6/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: robthepope
Played: 38  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily found
-Maps at Tees
-Multiple Tees
-Maintained well
-Plenty of trash cans
-Easily Navigated (except 9-10)
-Holes begin and end near parking lot
-Good scenery; mostly along a creek
-Vending machines by parking lot
-Hole variety: Chalenge, Risk, Dog-legs long/short, obstacles, and all Rewarding.
Cons: -Almost completely flat
-Poor drainage (strange with the creeks) so don't go after it's rained.
-Crossing Highway to get to back 9
-Possibility of lost discs to creek for several holes
-Watch for runners and bikers on cement trail.
Other Thoughts: Bring water retrievers if you have them, or don't throw risky shots. Too flat and open for my liking, but ther were enough trees and creeks and twists to make it worth it. I played the short tees, I'll have to try the long ones next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eastern Ave. Park

5+    11/18/2006   4/18/2009
Review By: djmcgaffey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a flat course, but has very challenging holse tucked into some trees and some very tough holes near deep creek embankments.
Cons: Can loose disc's easy in the creeks, but that adds to the challenge to the course as well.
Other Thoughts: Long holes with challenging basket placements. Is a great course to learn on as well as a great course for the seasoned player. Usually a ton of people out on it playing.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.