Davenport, IA 
Eastern Avenue Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 381ft.   4 / 453ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 450 ft hole repeat...repeat...repeat

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees at both long and short tees
-lots of trashcans
-some benches
-good signs at short tees
-bathrooms and water accessible at 1,9
-good navigation except for a couple spots (see cons)
-course makes you develop an excellent mid game especially from the longs
-good use of creek, it comes into play on 3, 6,7,8,10,12,13,14,15 (6, 13, 14 only on truly errant throws)
-hole 3 is a cute hole with possiblities for big shot over the creek for possible 2
-19 is a fun hole: it's a tight rhbh slow anhyzer about 320' with a pond on the right
-overall well maintained course
Cons: -the course gets boring pretty fast from the longs, you pretty much throw as long as you can on every hole, approach and then putt. The entire course is flat with very little tree obstacles, except for holes like 16 from the longs which has a tight fairway for 200 ft before opening up.
-Holes 12-14 were in terrible shape when I played (2 days after some typical rainshowers), the green for 14 was entirely submerged up to the ankles, and there were many puddles throughout 13,14
-there was some sort of construction going on by the creek on above holes making it fairly ugly (hopefully they were installing drainage structures)
-navigation from 9-10 (cross creek by parking lot, 11-12 (cross Eastern Ave.) and the longs on 16 (walk back from the shorts into the woods) is pretty bad.
-More benches would be nice
-Signs from longs only display hole number and length, maps would be nice
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was very challenging but also very boring, with very little variety. It seems like there were a lot of filler holes between good holes like 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 16, 17.
-I was fairly disappointed after playing this again, as some of the issues with drinage haven't been addressed since I played it last (8 yrs ago)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Flavourful.

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, open course with everything marked and easy to follow. Nice layout through a giant park with some challenging shots. Hole #10 over Duck Creek. Trash cans everywhere, well kept up, nice people, good location.
Cons: First few holes are about as open as can be with no shade to speak of. After the first six or so they become very nicely designed (by Houck). Almost completely flat, which was surprising considering all the other courses I played in the Quad Cities took elevation changes to heart. Holes might be viewed as very similar, but I think they did what they could with the land and maximized its potential.
Other Thoughts: The back nine is across a road and almost becomes another course entirely. A nice change of pace after playing the front. I shot amazing on this course, so maybe I'm giving it too high of a rating, but I had a really great time out here. I would play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily found
-Maps at Tees
-Multiple Tees
-Maintained well
-Plenty of trash cans
-Easily Navigated (except 9-10)
-Holes begin and end near parking lot
-Good scenery; mostly along a creek
-Vending machines by parking lot
-Hole variety: Chalenge, Risk, Dog-legs long/short, obstacles, and all Rewarding.
Cons: -Almost completely flat
-Poor drainage (strange with the creeks) so don't go after it's rained.
-Crossing Highway to get to back 9
-Possibility of lost discs to creek for several holes
-Watch for runners and bikers on cement trail.
Other Thoughts: Bring water retrievers if you have them, or don't throw risky shots. Too flat and open for my liking, but ther were enough trees and creeks and twists to make it worth it. I played the short tees, I'll have to try the long ones next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eastern Ave. Park

5+    11/18/2006   4/18/2009
Review By: djmcgaffey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a flat course, but has very challenging holse tucked into some trees and some very tough holes near deep creek embankments.
Cons: Can loose disc's easy in the creeks, but that adds to the challenge to the course as well.
Other Thoughts: Long holes with challenging basket placements. Is a great course to learn on as well as a great course for the seasoned player. Usually a ton of people out on it playing.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.