Gresham, OR 
Rockwood Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #2
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beginner

1    9/14/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small city park, that has some walking paths and a basketball court. Definitely could see some interference from other park users, though it might just mean waiting a little bit.
- Decent amount of trees here to force some line shaping. #3 has a big pine tree in the fairway that forces a RHFH flex line or a super wide hyzer, and #4 offers a similar shot as well. #6 is a low straight shot or a wide hyzer, while holes #2 and #7 have trees to block the simple RHBH hyzer shot. At least, they take away the easiest ace run hyzer. #9 is the tightest; either a super skinny window directly off the tee, or very wide shots around the clump of trees.
- A couple holes are on the longer side... two at 270' and another at 330'. Nothing too crazy by today's standards, but it helps to offset the two 180' holes.
- Good teepads and baskets. Sign by hole #1 to aid in navigation helps, but it's pretty goofy in spots. Definitely want to take a good look.
Cons: - Definitely a shorter course, with the average hole length a little under 240'. Maybe a spot or two for a driver, even for those without a big arm.
- Layout here is jacked up. The hyzer line on #4 shoots over #9's basket, #6's teepad is situated in between the baskets of #5 and #8, and the baskets of #6 and #9 are kinda close. Heads up!
- Land is dead flat, except for a little hill on #6.
Other Thoughts: - Not the most exciting course, but there are holes that force interesting lines. Some allow for the wide shots to go around everything, but also have a skinnier direct route to the basket. #9 is unique with a thick cluster of trees directly off the teepad.
- Definitely best suited to beginners; hopefully they don't hit anybody.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for mid-range practice

2-4    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.5 Years
Pros: I played this course for the first time today, and went around 3 times (-6, -3, -5). I hooked up for the last round with some very friendly locals.
--Cement tees, very long and narrow, great for this course.
--Mowed grass, highly manicured
--9 baskets in good shape
--A few mature trees and some light poles in key locations add the need to shape some shots
--Usually 2-3 ways to attack each hole, hyzer and anhyzer, so good for RHBH and LHBH throwers
--Helpful locals to show you the layout
--Simple layout, not confusing and a good use of available space
--Parking along road is free, and bathrooms on site
Cons: --No tee signs
--Multiple user park, so beware of non-disc golfers when throwing
--Some fairways are very close, and given the level of many players, it is likely you'll have some discs whizzing by you
--No on-site 'board' with a map on it of the course, also letting people know simple rules, etc.
Other Thoughts: Fairly open, although a few holes are tricky due to trees. I had a very good time. There were kids, families, disc golfers, and the usual colorful array of people that gravitate to urban parks. I never felt unsafe, and the local players I met were very nice and helpful.

I scored it low due to the short distances, but it is good for a par 9 'beginner' course.

 Review

5+    7/3/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will have to say this is a fun technical little course. It is perfect for new players yet technical enough to practice your short game/ putting. There are enough trees to make shots tricky but not difficult. The replay factor is great. The park itself is nice during off hours. The grass is mowed and kept up. Nice addition of bathrooms.
Cons: Because of the tiny nature of this course some of the holes overlap. Most errant shots can get in the way of other holes. Most players are cool and will hold up. Best with two to three players per hole. Big groups will be slow and miserable.
Other Thoughts: This is a rough neighborhood. Drug deals and gangs might be a problem. Community is trying to fix this and there are many police drive by. Couple this course with Vance for a good warm up to play some of the nicer courses in the Portland/Troutdale area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rockwood Review

5+    10/16/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: Corey D
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice baskets , nice tee pads , lots of trees , easy to follow nice flowing course, lots of cool people hang out there. bathrooms onsite , free , lots of parking
Cons: lots of traffic , gets crowded its a city park , broken glass and trash all over, some rough looking groups of teens hanging out.
Other Thoughts: great course for glow discs at night

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well...

1    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The teepads are concrete and the baskets are spectacular. The course is decently designed, with many of the trees in the park coming into play.
Cons: There is zero elevation change here. The "hill" on hole 6 doesn't count. I only saw one sign, which was on hole 1. The holes were laughably short. Although I may not be considered a "beginner" anymore, scoring birdies on three of the holes is unheard of for someone with my range. The other park users seemed to all be drug addicts, and were absolutely offended that a disc might come within 20 yards of them.
Other Thoughts: I was unimpressed with this course. I'd only thrown a par round once in my life, and threw this course to a -3 with a mediocre round. Being told by a park user that my disc "could have killed" them was a huge turnoff when they were sitting in a fairway. If I lived in Gresham I would play Vance through 18 before I would move on to this park, but if I were in a rush I would hit this one. This just seemed like a typical beginner 9 hole, which just isn't challenging enough for a player who is visiting. Hole 9 was worth a look due to the trees directly facing the teepad, but so short that I nearly aced it. I was able to leave my bag in my car and play through with just two discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Over all a fun course

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: samsung3384
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is by far one of my favorite courses, fairly good hole length, not too long not too short. This is a good course if you are a beginning player. Works for all skill types. Some trees but nothing too sinister. Perfect course for a casual day of playing.
Cons: On a saturday this course can be very crowded. Watch out! Also there can be a lot of people walking the paths in the area too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Easy Course

1    3/19/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to in Portland.
Cons: Not much in the way of interesting holes, not much elbow room between holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy course (flat ground, few trees, mostly straight shots), a decent course if you just want to get a quick game in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sup, Hommies!

1    7/2/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Flushing toilets (free)
-Course is free to all
-It has baskets (a few questionably wonky ones)
-Decent pitch-and-putt. Leave your drivers at home.
-Locals are ever-present from what I understand. Would probably be pretty easy to recruit a guide if you're mapless.
-Safe course design. No criss-crossing fairways or other glaring safety issues.
Cons: -Slick, swampy tee pads
-No tee signs or hole numbers on the baskets
-Unremarkable piece of land. Flat as a board. Relatively open fairways.
-Short short short. Too short and monotonous for my tastes. And only nine holes.:(
-Safari-playing locals with the expectation that they have the right-of-way. Watch your back...we about got nailed by the safari golfers
Other Thoughts: Rockwood Central Park houses an older pitch-and-putt that gets quite a lot of use by the locals. They seemed like nice enough guys (even though I noticed they got quiet when we walked by and sent a distinctive stink-eye glare when we got close to their table), but they like their safari golf. I don't blame them...this course would become redundant quick. But it would be nice to be able to shoot a round without fear of being clocked in the head from a completely unexpected direction.
The layout is straight forward. All baskets visible from their respective tees. Hole 9 is the signature hole. It asks golfers to thread a narrow-ish gap between some large trees right in front of the tee. Fun stuff.
If you're itching to golf and are in the area, hit it up (and hit up Vance Park for another quick nine while you're at it), but understand that this is a locals course with a palpable locals-only vibe.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/30/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket, concrete tee pads, restrooms, H2O and FREE!
Cons: Usually crowded with locals everyday all day! Residents that border the course may not return or even allow you in their yard to retrieve it. Tagging along side the fence and tee pad signs have been vandalized or missing. Some holes have multiple baskets in view from the tee pad giving uncertainty on which one to shoot for.
Other Thoughts: A small neighborhood park making the most of what they have! One block away is Vance Park (another 9 hole course) can easily do both to make it an 18 hole outing. Good place to learn or just hone your skills. Lack of signs on this course isn't really a problem since there is always a local that can aim you in the right direction. This is a great course to play if you have to get your fix in a short time.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Rockwood

1    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockwood is a great park in the middle of Gresham that not only holds disc golf but basket ball courts and a soccer field and has a running bathroom as well. The course is fairly short and open and nothing magical but it is still a fun place to play and challenge your short game at. Navigation is fairly easy though with so many baskets being visible from the pads it is possible to play to the wrong basket. This is a great place to break in and learn a new disc playing with just one.
Cons: There is nothing here to challenge advanced players and no hole that you need anything bigger than a mid. While I was there it was very busy and it was cold and had been raining all day, it was a bit shocking to see the large groups of people. This doesn't seem like the greatest neighborhood in the world. Some of the baskets and tee pads get close to each other and since the park gets busy this can become a problem.
Other Thoughts: It's pretty cool that you have this course and Vance Park so close to each other, I bet a lot of locals play nine here and then make their way over to Vance to get in the local 18 holes. I could envision a tournament played that way, I think it would be pretty cool.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.