Gresham, OR 
Rockwood Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #3
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good for mid-range practice

2-4    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.6 Years
Pros: I played this course for the first time today, and went around 3 times (-6, -3, -5). I hooked up for the last round with some very friendly locals.
--Cement tees, very long and narrow, great for this course.
--Mowed grass, highly manicured
--9 baskets in good shape
--A few mature trees and some light poles in key locations add the need to shape some shots
--Usually 2-3 ways to attack each hole, hyzer and anhyzer, so good for RHBH and LHBH throwers
--Helpful locals to show you the layout
--Simple layout, not confusing and a good use of available space
--Parking along road is free, and bathrooms on site
Cons: --No tee signs
--Multiple user park, so beware of non-disc golfers when throwing
--Some fairways are very close, and given the level of many players, it is likely you'll have some discs whizzing by you
--No on-site 'board' with a map on it of the course, also letting people know simple rules, etc.
Other Thoughts: Fairly open, although a few holes are tricky due to trees. I had a very good time. There were kids, families, disc golfers, and the usual colorful array of people that gravitate to urban parks. I never felt unsafe, and the local players I met were very nice and helpful.

I scored it low due to the short distances, but it is good for a par 9 'beginner' course.

 Nice, Easy Course

1    3/19/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to in Portland.
Cons: Not much in the way of interesting holes, not much elbow room between holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy course (flat ground, few trees, mostly straight shots), a decent course if you just want to get a quick game in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun, Ace runs, short
Cons: Deep in the heart of the GHETTO!!! Very crappy baskets they were good at one point but just very old and like I saind in the ghetto so was vandalized... easy for a disc to come out...

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park
Good cement tees
Easy to navigate (didn't even need to use the map we downloaded) since you can see all the baskets easily from the tees
Good use of limited space
Requires accurate execution and surprisingly challanging for a flat, short course due to good use of trees and basket placement
Great course to introduce people to the sport
Good course to work on various shots, ie, play the whole course forehand, etc
Cons: Baskets are older and some need repair--had a couple of putts pop out due to missing chains
Could have better signage (though not a challenge to navigate at all)
Other Thoughts: For a small city park type of course, this course offers a fun round of golf...it is more than an open pitch and putt course and is a great way to practice your approach game.
Even with so many great courses within driving distance of Portland, this course is a good warm-up course...we played it and Vance (basically across the street) in the morning in prep for Milo McIver and Pier in the afternoon

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ghetto Fab

1    6/5/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice grounds. Medium difficulty with distance and obstacles.
Cons: Baskets are little old and unforgiving. The course is fairly tight so each subsequent tee pad is fairly easy to find from the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: Kind of bad part of Portland. When I played, there were some thugs on the course just loitering. One tried to sell me a CD player. Kind of sketchy. If I went again I'd make sure and go in a group.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little 9 hole!

1    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Mid range game for big arms.
Great for newbies
Nice tee pads
lights.....night golf!!!
Cons: Park gets a lot of use from parties
and the language flows so don't bring minors!

Other Thoughts: small course with little challange if you game, great for newbies!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 respectful deception

2-4    2/24/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockwood Central Park is set in a mostly flat surrounding, offering deceptive holes, as they look basic but offer some mild challenge to them.

the park was very clean and easily navigational. it flowed very well, the locals were very cool and friendly.

it seems to be a well used park/course. it also offers a practice putting basket. all except 1 or 2 baskets were numbered and easily viewable.

it had very decent tee boxes and O.B.'s (walking paths and anything right of the main path is out of bounds)

it offers many ace and birdie ops on the basic unguarded baskets, but you have to throw around a few trees/obstacles to get that opportunity.

i thought hole #9 was the most challenging as its somewhat of a wall of trees that sits 20 feet or so in front of the tee box.

another thing i found cool is i was told by one local that the park lights are on through out the nite and offers a decent game of nite golf. (that sounds like a fun time and hopefully i'll get a chance soon to experience that factor)
Cons: the cons of the course were, no hole signs or course map provided. the basket areas were very muddy and held puddles of standing water at the base of the baskets.

the baskets were a combination of mach 3's and 5's and all but 3 were in extremely poor condition, with them being held up by welded structure bar mounts and it seemed that they have seen many years of abuse. (the chains are fine but the catch baskets are fu*ked up)
Other Thoughts: there are uni-sex toilets, trash cans, many picnic tables and other sport related activities provided... making it a family orientated friendly courses for non discgolfers. Vance park is located 3 blocks away allowing a two course playable day w/in walking distance of each other.

this course needs a lot of TLC basket wise, but its convenient for vance. in my opinion it's worth playing rockwood-c and to show it some love and TLC. otherwise it's a neat course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/2/2008   2/2/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very rudimentary at first glance but the people who swear by it know it can be a fun course that offers a good tune up to your short game. Unlike many courses made in the early years of disc golf (1980 for this one) where the average hole length is about 240, not all the holes are simple and straight forward.
Also it's only 3 blocks from another shorter 9 hole course, so it's really an 18 course.
Vance is only 3 blocks away turning a trip to Rockwood into a nice 18 hole experience.
Fun winter tournament series running every other saturday with a large local following.
Cons: Short, only one hole with a full 330' drive.
flat, no real elevation change.
not a particularly challenging course.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Portland area definitely check it out. If you're coming from out of town, your probably better off playing Pier or Dabney or Milo Mciver


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.