Disc Golf Store
Gresham, OR 
Rockwood Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #4
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

2-4    3/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun, Ace runs, short
Cons: Deep in the heart of the GHETTO!!! Very crappy baskets they were good at one point but just very old and like I saind in the ghetto so was vandalized... easy for a disc to come out...

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park
Good cement tees
Easy to navigate (didn't even need to use the map we downloaded) since you can see all the baskets easily from the tees
Good use of limited space
Requires accurate execution and surprisingly challanging for a flat, short course due to good use of trees and basket placement
Great course to introduce people to the sport
Good course to work on various shots, ie, play the whole course forehand, etc
Cons: Baskets are older and some need repair--had a couple of putts pop out due to missing chains
Could have better signage (though not a challenge to navigate at all)
Other Thoughts: For a small city park type of course, this course offers a fun round of golf...it is more than an open pitch and putt course and is a great way to practice your approach game.
Even with so many great courses within driving distance of Portland, this course is a good warm-up course...we played it and Vance (basically across the street) in the morning in prep for Milo McIver and Pier in the afternoon

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ghetto Fab

1    6/5/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice grounds. Medium difficulty with distance and obstacles.
Cons: Baskets are little old and unforgiving. The course is fairly tight so each subsequent tee pad is fairly easy to find from the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: Kind of bad part of Portland. When I played, there were some thugs on the course just loitering. One tried to sell me a CD player. Kind of sketchy. If I went again I'd make sure and go in a group.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little 9 hole!

1    5/16/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Mid range game for big arms.
Great for newbies
Nice tee pads
lights.....night golf!!!
Cons: Park gets a lot of use from parties
and the language flows so don't bring minors!

Other Thoughts: small course with little challange if you game, great for newbies!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 respectful deception

2-4    2/24/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockwood Central Park is set in a mostly flat surrounding, offering deceptive holes, as they look basic but offer some mild challenge to them.

the park was very clean and easily navigational. it flowed very well, the locals were very cool and friendly.

it seems to be a well used park/course. it also offers a practice putting basket. all except 1 or 2 baskets were numbered and easily viewable.

it had very decent tee boxes and O.B.'s (walking paths and anything right of the main path is out of bounds)

it offers many ace and birdie ops on the basic unguarded baskets, but you have to throw around a few trees/obstacles to get that opportunity.

i thought hole #9 was the most challenging as its somewhat of a wall of trees that sits 20 feet or so in front of the tee box.

another thing i found cool is i was told by one local that the park lights are on through out the nite and offers a decent game of nite golf. (that sounds like a fun time and hopefully i'll get a chance soon to experience that factor)
Cons: the cons of the course were, no hole signs or course map provided. the basket areas were very muddy and held puddles of standing water at the base of the baskets.

the baskets were a combination of mach 3's and 5's and all but 3 were in extremely poor condition, with them being held up by welded structure bar mounts and it seemed that they have seen many years of abuse. (the chains are fine but the catch baskets are fu*ked up)
Other Thoughts: there are uni-sex toilets, trash cans, many picnic tables and other sport related activities provided... making it a family orientated friendly courses for non discgolfers. Vance park is located 3 blocks away allowing a two course playable day w/in walking distance of each other.

this course needs a lot of TLC basket wise, but its convenient for vance. in my opinion it's worth playing rockwood-c and to show it some love and TLC. otherwise it's a neat course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rockwood

5+    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: snlphillips
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good fun course. I have played this course a ton in the last 5+ years and have only shot one -9. It's great for putting. A lot of the players that frequent this course putt well for their skill level.
Cons: Short, very populated
Other Thoughts: I'm probably a little bias for this course. I live 300ft from it.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/2/2008   2/2/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very rudimentary at first glance but the people who swear by it know it can be a fun course that offers a good tune up to your short game. Unlike many courses made in the early years of disc golf (1980 for this one) where the average hole length is about 240, not all the holes are simple and straight forward.
Also it's only 3 blocks from another shorter 9 hole course, so it's really an 18 course.
Vance is only 3 blocks away turning a trip to Rockwood into a nice 18 hole experience.
Fun winter tournament series running every other saturday with a large local following.
Cons: Short, only one hole with a full 330' drive.
flat, no real elevation change.
not a particularly challenging course.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Portland area definitely check it out. If you're coming from out of town, your probably better off playing Pier or Dabney or Milo Mciver


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Time to play

7/28/2007   12/5/2007
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great for a lunch break round.
Cons: Basket are old. Very small park. Short holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice new course two blocks down the street.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.