Valparaiso, IN 
Rogers Lakewood Park Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #7 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 227ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Pro Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 my god my golf

1    7/28/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic scenery throughout a massive park maintained by a $5/car fee. Signage fresh and a majourity of holes had hooks on which to hang your bag (a very unique feature!)

Start out shooting over a lilypad-filled pond, then around the skate park and into a field. Holes 6-11 are a gauntlet of tightly-wound tunnel shots - lines must be hit or you will not be happy. Beautiful ravine shot on #7, with a tight entrance. #9 is a wicked right hook over a small road. Blind holes aplenty. #10 almost made me quit - punishing rough that you cannot recover from. The course opens up quite a bit after that. HUGE hill comes into play for holes #13-16. Massive bomb down #14 might be the signature hole on this course. The last six were my favourite, under a canopy of mature trees, with a few birdie ops. I enjoyed the brick tees; a nice touch.
Cons: However several tees were just dirt or the brick had been pulled up a bit. #12s tee was a spray-painted box on a concrete path. You can get lost after #10; I ended up at #14. It took me quite a while to locate the next tees...
Other Thoughts: This was first Indiana experience, and I came away impressed. It is obvious that a lot of care is put into the course and the park as a whole. 24 holes is sometimes a chore but the layout maximizes the variety of terrain the park has to offer. I did walk into a few summer camp activities, which was a surprise. This course is extremely challenging and I would not recommend it for a first-timer. I will definitely play through again and bring others.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

2-4    7/7/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very challenging course.
- Great distance variety.
- Good elevation.
- Well defined fairways.
- A lot of options on what to throw, does not favor a particular throwing style.
- Very scenic and beautiful.
- Interesting water hazard on hole #1 and hole #2.
- Very friendly locals that maintain a solid disc golf community.
- Small pro shop that also manages a lost and found for discs.
- Solid tee pads.
- Solid baskets.
- Solid tee signs
- Two pin positions on every hole to keep the course interesting.
- No navigation issues.
- There are hooks for your bag on every tee sign.
Cons: - Very thick rough.
- I'll say it again, the rough is thick.
- Rough has thorns.
- It is easy to lose a disc in the rough. I got careless and lost 3 in one round.
- Very few teepads were not cement or cobblestone, those could use updating.
Other Thoughts: Roger's Lakewood is a gem of a disc golf course that plays through lightly to moderately wooded terrain with some nice rolling hills. It forces you to hit lines and punishes you when you don't. It is super challenging so bring your A game if you wish to tackle this monster. The terrain is used brilliantly to make this course challenging and fun. The only drawback for me about this course is the amount of rough. It is thick and swallows discs. You can tell the local clubs have made the effort to cut trails in through it to help out the searches, but it still needs more trimming IMO. I believe going off the fairway should result in a tough next shot, but it doesn't need to be impossible to shoot and/or find your disc. Overall, I believe Roger's Lakewood is an excellent course and definitely a destination course. The only things it needs for me to push it to a 5/5 would be some major rough clearing and an indicator as to what position the basket is in on the tee signs. If you are in the area you have to hit it. With Lemon Lake only 30 minutes away you can make a great week or weekend of disc golf. It does cost $3-5 to get into the park, but nothing to play the course which helps keep the course from being swamped with people. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: agent_peebody
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A wide variety of hole types (open field, tight, doglegs, monster downhills, uphill). Very improved with the addition of a few holes and most of the tees are now concrete. Never the same shot from hole to hole (exception on 4 & 5). Trashcans at almost every hole, along with a place to hang bags, and a bench.
Cons: Pretty hilly, and can get rough when it's super hot. Poison ivy in the summer (AHHHH!!!).
Other Thoughts: Great course, I learned how to play on this course and I can't find one that rivals it to this day.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rogers Lakewood Park

2-4    11/10/2008   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The tees are of good quality, with convenient hooks on which to hang your bag at every tee. Very scenic and provides a lot of challenging shots.
Cons: I'd say this course is geared more towards the experienced thrower who doesn't mind destroying a few discs when lumberjacking the many, many trees that riddle these fairways.
Other Thoughts: To me the course is at its most enjoyable in the winter. Call me crazy, but I've played it more times trudging through snow than I have in the summer or spring.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 On the way to Lemon Lake

1    5/14/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: HuntingtonHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout.
Plenty of trashcans.
Seemed like everyhole was a different shot.
Loved the shot under the overhanging tree as well as the long sweeping downhill shot.
Local at the little shack/clubhouse, marked a map helping us find a few of the tees.
Punishes errant shots,due to very thick woods off the fairways.This can also be a con.
Also...they had hooks to hang your bags, at every tee station. With the wet conditions this was a MAJOR plus in my book.

Cons: Without assistance a few of the tees would have been difficult to find.
Lots of wet areas. We have had lots of rain, so this may not be a fair con.
Mixed teepads are ok, but some were slippery do to the rain/mud.
Other Thoughts: We played this course on the way to our weekend trip at lemon lake, and i am so glad we did. Its worth the drive. Course allows you to try every shot in your arsenal, but its not too demanding to take away the fun of the game. Will be making many more trips in the upcoming years to Rogers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/28/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diversity of holes. The only two that are similar are #4 and #5, but different pin placements create enough variety for these two holes. ***Update: Hole 4 has had clearing and a new pin placement added making it entirely different from hole 5.
Elevation changes from hole to hole. And only 5 holes that don't have elevation change within them.
Great variety of shots from tight tunnels, long uphill/downhill, a blind 90. I love it. Well thought out, and well executed course. Alternate pin placements "shake-up" this already versatile course.
Great use of natural landscape and disasters as well. Hole 12 has you tee off under a fallen tree. Hole 14 plays down the winter sledding run so have fun airring it out.
Cons: While most of the course is playable year round they yank #15's basket during the winter for tube runs.

Other Thoughts: Nothing like starting the day off throwing over water. A first shot in the drink is a pleasant way to start any round. If you dont feel like losing a disc there is a short tee in front of the tree on the left.
It doesnt matter much for me but the only restrooms are just off of the first tee box and locked between Labor and Memorial day. This might pose a problem if you play with ladies or shy guys.
The pay to park from Memorial to labor day may seem a tad costly, considering its not a state park, but this course is well maintained and manicured so grab some buddies, pony up the cash and enjoy a few rounds of some challenging disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    9/24/2009   2/24/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large sprawling park with lots of nice hills. Many holes play up, down or across the hills, making your drives more challenging, and several with sloped greens to add some risk to your short game. The elevation was used brilliantly here to make you think about how much risk to take, and a great balance between the tough uphill shots and the fun downhill bombers. There is enough room in the park for a few longer holes to stretch out your drives, along with some fun ace runs and lots of good variety in between.

Much of the course plays on grassy fairways with trees and brush lining them to catch and punish errant drives. There is a nice mix of really tight fairways and some that offer more room to work different lines. There are a few more open holes and a few that play through mature trees with no underbrush to add a little more variety. The first hole makes you work right off the bat throwing over the pond, I love a course that challenges you that way the second you step on the first tee.

The signage here is plenty adequate to follow the course, especially with good flow throughout and a course map at the beginning of the course. The baskets were in good shape. The tees were a mix of surfaces but were all in good shape and level. There is a great practice area at the first tee with a putting basket and distance markers. There is a hut with disc sales, it wasn't open when I played but the friendly locals told me they have a decent selection when it is.
Cons: Though all the tees were level and in good shape, the mix of surfaces made it feel a little inconsistent. There were a few that were a little short, though it seems like several were under construction so the locals may be working on this.

There were a few holes, especially some at the end of the course that really felt like filler. There were some fantastic holes here, and that made the mediocre ones really stand out by contrast. The end of the course also played near the park roads several times, and that took away from the solitude that was nice deeper into the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course, with some excellent and fun holes. Beginners will probably be a little overwhelmed here with some tough shots and harsh punishment on several holes for errant shots. More experienced players will love the different challenges this course presents, there's all kinds of holes that offer lots of chances to make great or horrible shots.

I definitely recommend this course, it's one of the most fun I've played. If you have the chance, it's definitely worth a drive to play, especially if you're in town playing the nearby lemon lake courses.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 NW Indiana Goodness!!!

5+    12/9/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Rogers Lakewood plays through a busy multi-use park. Many terrain types come into play, giving RLW a wealth of variety from start to finish. A small lake, heavily wooded (yet well-defined) fairways, open prairie, over-the-gorge type shots, long downhill and uphill shots, artificial OB (in the form of park roads, sidewalks, and old un-trafficked roads), and neatly manicured park-style holes with scattered mature trees all come into play. A good variety of distances, as well as lines. Enough variety to challenge all but the very best discers. Twenty-four holes of NW Indiana disc golf goodness!!!
- Dual pin placements on #'s 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, and 23. Dual tees on 7 and 12. Pins are switched up fairly regularly. In short positions the course takes on more of a deuce or die feel. In longs, expect a beat down unless you're an advanced player or better. The different pin positions often give a completely different look to the holes and don't just add distance (except in a few cases). #'s 10 and 13 in long position are especially sweet (and brutal). #13 forces an uphill hyzer (RHBH) shot to a defined landing zone with heavy woods on both sides. The fairway then bends at a 45-degree angle back to the right, with trees blocking a good line to the basket if you miss the landing zone. The pin sits on a narrow strip of land with rollaway chances to both sides. On windy days, an opening in the trees near the basket creates a wind tunnel effect making approaches extremely tricky, with little room for error to either the right or left of the green.
- Water comes into play nicely on #'s 1, 2 and 24. The first hole has a small water carry that, while easily makeable with plenty of room for a safety shot, definitely can be a challenge right out of the car for less experienced players. #2's long pin position is slightly elevated, with the pond directly behind it. On #24, a hanging basket with a drop-off and slope behind it brings the pond back into play on rollaways or
errant anhyzer ace runs (RHBH).
- Every scrap of elevation is implemented to its utmost potential. Seriously, the course designers deserve a gold star sticker for their use of every conceivable up and down. Probably the best course I've played in regards to elevation in the mid-west. Some courses have more spectacular elevation in play, but none with every last scrap coming into play as nicely as RLW. #13's elevation is just sick, and #14's long downhill bomb will have you emptying your bag.
- Crazy amounts of risk/reward, especially in the long positions. Lots of punishing areas that will (fairly) destroy you if you miss a line. Thick scrubby underbrush in areas will piss you off, but only if you horribly shank your shot. You know you deserve the punishment. Tall, skinny, densely populated tree prisons on #8 and #18 will outright rape you if you're unable to accomplish the (RHBH) hyzer shot off the tee. Often you'll find yourself pushing for the perfect drive instead of the safe one, and it can often ruin your score for the round.
- Above average amenities. Accurate signage with bag hooks upon which to hang your bag, trashcans, plenty of benches, next tee signs, etc. Tall poles with American flags top the baskets that are out of sight, allowing a visual on the pin placement, which is a very nice touch. Practice basket with measured distances by the parking lot. The course is always well-maintained, with the local club always keeping things trimmed, mulched, and upkept. Interesting and unique touches such as the fallen tree in front of #12's tee spice things up. It forces you to throw over it or under it, and is held up with a nice bit of lattice work. #24's hanging basket (and the drop-off behind it) is a fun and risky way to end the round. #18's tee has a map of the hole actually IN the tee, which is very cool.
Cons: - Unfortunately, the major con to RLW is the inconsistent tees. Many are very nice brushed concrete tees that are long, level, and flat. These comprise the majority of tees, and are quite nice; however, the rest are a hodge podge of brick, rubber, and faux grass carpeting. #11's glazed brick tee is especially slick and dangerous in wet or snowy conditions.
- The flow can get a bit tricky in one or two spots the first time through. After playing #20, locate #21's tee by crossing the road. After #23, walk back down the road (recrossing it) to find #24's tee. Nothing egregious, but first-timers might get a bit confused initially.
- Some might find the holes along the sidewalks and park roads a bit unnerving, but I've never had it be a problem after many many rounds. #2 plays along a fenced-in skate park, which can get unnerving for less experienced players, but most experienced players shouldn't have any problems with this.
- In the winter, the baskets on #'s 15 and 16 are pulled for sledders. I usually play #14 downhill, and then replay #13 back up to the tee for #17.
- Naturey things like scattered poison ivy, thorns, thick underbrush, and bugs (mostly mosquitoes...I've yet to get a tick at RLW) in the summer. Man up, bring some tall socks and some bug spray and enjoy this course regardless.
Other Thoughts: - Rogers Lakewood is obviously an extremely well-designed, well-maintained, and well-loved course. A lot of thought, effort, and money has been put up by the local club (of which I'm not a part, so, no bias here). If you see someone trimming the fairway or moving pin positions be sure to take the time to thank them for their hard work and effort.
- Although there are several sections of the course that play through busier parts of the park, enough of the course is secluded to give off a really nice nature vibe. In the summer months, I often find myself chilling at some of the tee pads, relaxing and taking in the beautiful scenery.
- Pay-to-play from Memorial to Labor Day. $5 entry fee is an amazing deal. Free the rest of the year. Park open until 10pm, which makes glow rounds possible in the fall/winter/spring.
- When you enter the park, go to the first stop sign, hang a right, then a left immediately into the parking lot. The first tee is between the lake and pavillion.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 stranger in a strange land

2-4    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: long drive for me, worth every bit of it
absolutely beatiful course, wish it was closer to me
challenging enough for pros, easy enough to enjoy at an am level, great variety of different shots from multiple tees
very clean, well kept course locals there are doing somthin right
Cons: you will be punished for stray shots, easy to end up 2ft off fairway and look for an hour in the grass/rough
i'm not accurate enough to stay in faiways, but these fairways are way more "fair" than my local courses
coulda used a guide on this course, and i dont think bout that often, but its tough playing it without knowing it
Other Thoughts: worth the drive, love the variety, possibly the best i've played on, yet i haven't been to any "great " course either, would get much better rating if it wasn't for the rough, i turned in 4 discs to club members playin a round that i found while looking for mine, had i been local i woulda called on em, but i felt the group was trustworthy

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great course

2-4    11/19/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 702  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom Julio and Windycityrocer tell the story well. I'll add my two cents.
#1 across the pond scares you a bit from the start.
#2 I was in the skate park for o.b., one round.
Lots of great holes, I'm not gonna go through the list. I did deuce #3 after o.b. on #2.
Comments about the schule/rough are right on. Get off the fairway here and you're into the thorny stuff. Take a shot to get out; and apply pressure to stop the bleeding (just kidding).
I enjoyed the variable tees. Some rubber, a couple outdoor carpet, a lot of nice brick tees.
Designer(s) do a nice job of forcing the shots they want you to take.
Some very tough anheisers (rhbh)
Some very small tees, allowing less run up on drives the designer(s) want you to have less run up. These were perfectly used.
24 holes of enjoyment.
Any part of this course can chew you up. One round here, I was par on holes 1-12, and +1 holes 19 -24, but 13-18 had me at +8!!!
Cons: Not really any cons unless you consider the mixed tees a con; or the short ones; which I liked from a design standpoint.
It's a con that this course will not be used for the world's in 2010. It was suggested by one or more of the main designers at Lemon Lake; but vetoed, in order to keep everyone at one site. Which will be nice.
Other Thoughts: When coming to play Lemon; play here as well. This course is comparable to the best at Lemon.
This course has been loved and improved over a long period. Give a hand shake to any club member you meet here.
I have not given a five yet; pending playing the top five. (I have played all courses at High Bridge, and don't even consider Blueberry my favorite). The 4.5 scores I've given, had more water in play than Rogers Lakewood. It is a very strong 4 rated course though, and I may come back later and add .5.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.