Valparaiso, IN 
Rogers Lakewood Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 227ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Put on your big boy pants. It's disc golf time!

1    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Sweet Monkey Gods is this a great course! However, be prepared to be worn out, beaten, sucked dry and spit back out. This is a course for big boys. Quick list of what I liked, and then a more detailed breakdown in other thoughts.

24 holes.
Amazing Elevation.
Championship Caliber course.
Amazing park.
Great tee pads.
Cons: It's Three hours from my house.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 plays sort of over the water, It shouldn't come in to play, but I saw a couple of folks pansy out and toss one in the drink. Really, you shouldn't drown one here. But if the bigness of the course gets in your dome, you might be going swimming.

Hole 2 plays next to a skate park and by the pond. On the plus side, I got to see a little kid do a drop in for the first time on a half pipe. The down side is that he was immediately smashed in the noggin by an errant throw. The basket on this one sits next to the water. Go long, get wet. That's what she said.

Hole 3 goes WAY up hill. Like...WAY up the dang hill.

Holes 4 and 5 Play in a field that is covered in the thickest, gnarliest, toughest rough that I have ever seen. For the love of all that is holy; STAY IN THE FAIRWAY.

Hole 6 is literally one of the rings of hell. Sure, there is a fairway. Sure there is. If that's what they want you to believe...then fine.

7 has two different tee pads, and I found the Am pad to be much harder than the Pro pad. But then again, I can screw up a one man parade.

Hole 8 is jail from start to finish and has a neigh impossible line around a zillion skinny lil' trees. Throw right, you are OK. get left and just jump in front of a bus. You'll feel better.

9 goes over a road and back up hill. Cool little hole, and a bit of a respite from the rest of the course that destroys you like a Styrofoam cup.

Hole 10 is long, long, and long. Also, the fairway is narrower than a 10 year old's ass. Just jail from tee pad to pin. hit the gap, and you are good to go. That's what she said.

Hole 11 is a sweet little hyzer hole that makes you think that you can play disc golf.

Hole 12 has two tee pads and are probably my favorite holes on the course. the am pad plays underneath a log from the tee pad. Just an amazing view. Also, I birdied both pads, so of course I loved it.

Hole 13 can die in a house fire. Uphill, long, jail the entire way down, and the pin sits on a cliff in the long position. I'd rather get taken to jail and made a large man's girlfriend than to play this hole again.

Hole 14 is 4598409584095 feet downhill with woods all the way down and a HUGE right hand turn. Hang glide to the bottom. It'll be MUCH faster.

Hole 15 is a super long hole back across this huge hill. Trees sit in front of the box, and this 500 ft hole can turn into 5 drives REAL fast if you hit one of those trees. It ain't good.

Hole 16 goes UP the huge hill and it's a giant killer. I can't tell you how long this hole plays when the wind is blowing in your face. I almost hired a courier service to take my disc to the basket instead of throwing it.

Hole 17 is a LOOOONG, TIGHT left turn of a hole that will eat your discs. I saw no less than 12 discs get eaten in 96 holes of golf out there. Devil hole.

Hole 18 is Satan's playground. Long, uphill, 2 foot wide fairway and a huge left turn after it gets out of the woods with trees completely surrounding the hole. Bring a chainsaw.

Hole 19 is downhill and open. That''s about it. Not all of them can be perfect! This was fine though.

Hole 20 was a big uphill shot and kind of wide open.

Hole 21 is a cool little shot that sits behind an entire grove of mature trees. I also liked this hole, as I birdied it twice.

Hole 22 is super sick. OB all the way down on the right, mature trees all the way down to the pin and an elevated pin that sits in a landscaped box. Sick to death hole that demands precision and distance.

Hole 23 is a LONG hole with OB all the way down the right, behind the basket and to the left of the basket. Mature trees spot the fairway, and hills will eat your lunch.

Hole 24 is a sweeping right hand turn with trees lining both sides of the fairway. The shot is tough and the putt is harder, as it ends in a hanging basket, suspended over a mulch bed. Amazing hole!

Seriously people, forget any negative reviews. If there is a down side to this course, it's that beginners will get destroyed out there. Not even close.

Also, out of 24 holes, there are literally 22 different kinds of tee pads. Concrete, brick, rubber, wood, astroturf, etc. But they all worked out well.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place For A Little Fun

1    7/7/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation
Nice tee signs
24 holes
Well kept
Practice basket
Nice long concrete tee pads
Nice use of water
Offers a variety of different shots
Cons: A bit tough to navigate
Old and a bit rusted DisCatchers
Some holes too close to pedestrians
It is pay to play
Other Thoughts: Now this course was my first ever course played in Indiana. Not gonna lie but I was a bit surprised. It is a very nice and very well kept course. You can tell the take slot of pride in their course. Came here on vacation, and not one bit disappointed. The one thing I recommend is bug spray. I came here in the beginning of July and they were EVERYWHERE!!! Never the less it doesn't take away from the experience. It will definitely make you throw every shot in your bag. It utilizes the area. I would have to say that hole #14 was my favorite. You throw down a monster of a hill. Then a few holes later you come right back up. It will use the land. This course isn't extremely tough, but it is a bit of a challenge. If I am in the area again I will for sure play again. I loved it. Hole #2 plays along a skatepark. It is very easy to actually go into the skatepark. It can definitely be dangerous. Just beware of this. Besides that it was an awesome course. If I'm up here again I will stop by for another great round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Valpo

2-4    7/6/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: ertai
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful with almost every hole presenting a new challenge
- Great use of elevation
- Great risk/reward (maybe too much on some holes? - more on that later)
- The fairways were recently mowed
- Clean with signs and bag hooks at every tee and some benches at almost every tee
- There are restrooms and vending machines near the park entrance
- Very nice tee pads (some looked newly installed)
- 3$ to play all day is a great price (just mention that you're a Porter county resident)
Cons: - Hole 2 is a bit too technical with the pond within only a few feet of the basket - even a little risk on this hole may cost you a disc or two
- The rough on some holes was a little too thick for my taste (Holes 8 and 17 come to mind) and I ended up loosing a disc on Hole 8 and almost again on Hole 17
- Some short tee pads (Hole 12 comes to mind)
- Several holes with multiple baskets were missing a basket, which was very deceiving since most of the holes were blind shots to begin with
- Holes 21-24 were a little more boring than the rest of the course but was a relaxing finish after the grueling first half of the course (so not much of a con)
- I don't recall seeing a sign at the entrance of the park pointing towards Hole 1 (after you enter the park and pay the fee, turn right (south) at the stop sign and immediately turn left (east) into a parking lot - Hole 1 begins by the pond to your northeast
Other Thoughts: - Most memorable hole - Hole 10 because of the beautiful scenery and long drive to the hole
- Least favorite hole - Hole 2 because of the technicality with the OB on the left and OB/pond on the right and next to the basket
This is an extremely challenging course that becomes less technical after Hole 15. This course is not for beginners, unless they cut down the course to 18 holes and skip many of the more technical holes. Be prepared to lose discs in water/very rough, rough that surrounds some of the fairways. Early spring or late fall may be the best time to visit this course, because of the thickness of the rough and the swarms of mosquitoes during the warm season.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Every state should have a course like this!

1    7/3/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 169  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Magnificent course in a clean, scenic, pleasant, well maintained suburban park, offering far more than just disc golf. Starts right out of the box with a scenic and inviting hole that has you driving over water, but not to the point where you need to throw 300' to clear it.

23 more holes provide a great mix of tight, moderately tight, some-what open and a couple of wide open fairways. Splendid use of numerous elevation changes off the tee as well as some sloped greens. Throw in a nice mix of distances and the result is: all the variety you could ask for. Unique hole after unique hole - never comes close to feeling boring or repetitive. Keeps you engaged and entertained the entire round, with diversity that utilizes your entire shot making repertoire. Certainly a challenging course, which can punish you for straying far from the fairway, but not overly harsh in doing so.

Baskets seemed fine to me, and there's a flag to help you locate the blind basket on one hole (5, perhaps?). Looks like they change pin placements occasionally to keep things fresh. Signage is pretty good, and course flows reasonably well. Navigation can be tricky in a few spots, but overall, not much of an issue considering it was my first visit.

Real restrooms (reasonably clean with running water) located an upshot away from 1st tee.
Cons: • Hole 2 features a raised basket with the lake looming just behind it - talk about risk/reward! You have to aim high to have a shot at getting a deuce, but if you don't hit the chains pretty solidly, you could lose your putter as it sails past the basket…and into the drink. Call me a wimp, but that's a little too ballsy for my taste.
• Some holes play across or near asphalt paths which can be harsh on plastic should you land on, or skip off them. A few holes have other unnatural obstacles that could come into play should a shot get away from you. Other park users could be an issue on high traffic days.
• Fairway for 12 was flooded, and it was beautiful weather when I played. I can see how some holes would be nasty the day after a good soaking.
• Jerks have broken off many of the bag hooks on most of the tee posts.
Other Thoughts: This is what disc golf should be: FUN!!
Standout holes were 1 (over the lake), 12 (mando under the arched tree), 14's huge sweeping downhill bomb… I could go on.

Perhaps a con for some, but I can't complain about the park admission fee - park and course are obviously well maintained in pretty much every way, and worth the price in my opinion. Didn't mention I wasn't a resident and they didn't ask; paid the local admission.

Others have bagged on them, but personally, I actually liked the hodgepodge of tee pads and didn't not find them to be an issue. The mix of brick pavers, the map on 18, the asphalt tee box on 12, concrete on some… all of it just added to the novelty for me. Many (if not most) of the basket posts are mounted through a hole cut in the middle an old disc… just adds flavor... this place is simply cool.

Maybe I just came at the right time of year, but the lush foliage and green fairways just added to the overall appeal of this course - the place looked fabulous. Considering RLP's only about an hour or so from Lemon Lake, they'd make a great couple of days worth of disc golf. If you're a DG road tripper, you gotta work northwest Indiana into one of your excursions.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whitman’s Sampler

1    6/13/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Twenty-four holes, representing a broad variety of hole-types. Two tee locations per hole, concrete, signage, benches at the longs, toeboards at the shorts. Practice basket.
Cons:
Paid park personnel hardly knew a thing about the course, such as where it started, or how to obtain a map.
Other Thoughts:
This course appears to be the pride and enjoy of an alien discoursologist - visit a course, remove a few typical holes, visit a different type of course, extract a few more holes, repeat several times, then proudly put them altogether in a single, albeit large, display case. Want to throw over water? Welcome to hole-1. Like the novelty of playing to a hanging basket? The final hole will provide that opportunity. In-between, you'll find: Flat holes playing in the shade of extremely tall hardwoods; Downhill bombs followed by their corresponding uphill shots; A plethora of sharp left- and right-turning shots required to reach baskets up/down/across wooded ridges; Longer holes with mid-distance chokepoints that need to be hit in order to have reasonable approaches to the basket; Other long holes requiring you to miss an obstacle early and/or late, but leave the majority of the flightpath unmolested.

The tee locations are nearly as eclectic as the holes themselves - while most tees are brick, there were a variety of other surfaces, too. Benches, baghooks, teesigns, trashcans - all the amenities a tee location needs.

Favourite holes: I really liked the 7-9 combination. #7, starting in open, on a ridge, ending amongst tall trees, basket on a ridge of equal elevation, requiring a gentle right-turner upon entering the wooded valley; #8 requires a dead-straight throw about 200', then a very hard left to park the basket - turn too early, or late, and get knocked down by one of the many small trees defining the obvious flight path; #9, similar to number 7, except you start in the woods, with the basket in the open, in a slightly higher location. A sharp right turn is needed to reach the basket, with one large tree knocking down any disc which turns too early, and large bushes in the background that'll catch any disc which begins turning too late.

Least favourite: The short, but dreaded #2, with the fence running the entire length of the left-side, guarding an ob-skatepark, and trees/water running along the right-side.

If you prefer your courses to have a theme/be a bit homogeneous, you might not enjoy the entire course (although you'll find some holes you'll like), but if variety-is-the-spice-of-life is more your motto, come here and have all the variety you can handle!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Find Love at Valpo!

2-4    3/5/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Let me preface this by saying Rogers Lakewood Park is one of the best courses I have ever played.

-This course has some of the best shot variety I've seen anywhere. Every hole of the 24 feels unique. And these holes didn't feel like any hole elsewhere either.

-This course has really great signage, all the distances seemed accurate to me. Also, the addition of bag hooks on every tee sign are a very welcomed small detail.

-This course is excellently maintained, all the fairways were well cleared, and even the rough wasn't terrible.

-Several holes were very unique. I personally couldn't pick a signature hole for this course, between 10, 13, 14, 15, and 17, this course has some holes unlike any others.

-The baskets are in good shape and catch very well.

-The flow of the course was excellent, it was never a huge struggle to find the next tee.
Cons: -The biggest con to this course, keeping it from a 5 in my opinion, are the crap tee pads. While the tees are not dirt anymore, the rubber tees are poorly laid out on several holes, and a few of the brick tees leave a lot to be desired. Hole 2's tee is brick, but it's extremely small. Hole 11's tee is made from a different set of bricks than the rest of the course, and they're extremely slick.

-A much smaller downside to the course is the fact that the park is used by many others. Several holes play near areas where non-discers would be in nice weather. Hole 2 in particular has you throwing virtually over a skatepark, which leaves an embarrassing walk if you fail to make it over.
Other Thoughts: While the tees were a bit of a headache for me in some places, this course is still phenomenal. The only course I've played that can hold a candle to this one is Flip City.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Challenging, and Beautiful

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roger's Lakewood is one of my all-time favorite courses for plain ol' fun. Due to the massive variety in hole-types and distances, Lakewood overall is accessible to a wide range of skill-levels. On the most difficult holes, newer players will have to patiently find creative ways to make par but will be rewarded now and then with a fun, tightly wooded shot where anyone who hits the line will have a putt for birdie. Pro players aren't going to find too many 'gimme's' though and will be on their toes trying to collect '2's.

While some of the very front and very back holes can sometimes be crowded with non-discers, most of the wooded central section of the course is located in disc golf only areas where you are more likely to see wildlife like foxes, raccoons, and frogs than pedestrians.

Finally, there are a couple of really memorable holes, mostly mentioned in previous reviews (such as 14 & 15) which will stick with you. 14, while not as long as other top of the world shots, remains one of my all-time favorites because of the beautiful view and the very real possibility of landing in monster shule!

From the start, the course designer and the local club have done an excellent job of keeping Lakewood in stellar condition. You'll almost always find fresh woodchips, clean fairways, and all of the little improvements that make the course shine.
Cons: The main drawback of the course at Roger's Lakewood is the lack of any multiple shot holes which require a drive to a landing zone and then a second well executed drive or long approach to the pin. Nearly every hole at Lakewood can be achieved in '3' with a 'just okay' drive and approach shot. There are several holes indeed which are very unlikely birdie '2's from the long tees such as hole 16 which plays straight up a tubing hill. The length and large elevation change prevents most players from reaching the putting green, but at the same time, a bogey is a rare event because of the (too short) distance for par 4 and the lack of any punishing features such as OB. Nearly all players with great, good, and just okay drives will get the par and move on.

Hole 10 approaches the qualification of a hole with a defined 'landing zone' but, again, because of the too short distance, does not give adequate reward to those who card the '3'. Add another 150' or so to this fairway and you've got a great par 4 hole with a well-defined landing area, punishing rough, and a tricky approach shot. As it stands now, players can bomb a hyzer or big flex over the trees to try for the '2' and if they don't hit the fairway, are usually close enough to get up and down for a boring par.

To get a little picky, some of the tees can be slippery when it rains - take care especially on the faux grass astroturf tees!
Other Thoughts: Lakewood definitely makes my best-of list of courses which are a blast to play and are accessible to a large range of players from AMII's to average pro's. There is a little bit of everything out here which gives it broad appeal and a well-rounded feel - you likely won't be disappointed!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun,must play

2-4    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course that has a very high fun factor. I had a great time playing with a dgcr member (jukeshoe) that showed me the course. The course is set in a very scenic park that has playgrounds,fishing,skate park and most importantly DISC GOLF. The course has a large variety of shots that need to be executed, long,short,uphill,downhill,left,right,tight fairway and open bombs. Also has O.B. and water to contend with on several holes. Has great teepads that are grippy and level, even though most are different materials( Some people may think its a con but i think it adds character). Each hole has a very nice sign of the hole with yardage and alternate pin locations,as well as hooks to hang your bag on. Also there are alot of benches around the course to take in nature. The course seemed well groomed and clean and that the locals really love and take care of this course. Thanx guys. The baskets are not all the same but are in good shape. There is a port-a-john next to the parking lot which is nice. Alternate basket placements for most holes are a plus !!

All in all , i really liked this course and i love to see that the locals are extremely involved. It looks as if they made the best course they could with the land they had( great job and great course). I will definitely play this course in the summer when the rough grows in, which looks like it will add a great challenge.
Cons: Navigation- Im glad i got a local to help me navigate this course,im sure i would of had a little trouble. Print a map and that should solve that problem.
Hole 7- not a big deal but after u throw ur shot u have to walk down a steep downgrade thats mainly dirt and could cause a fall or slip,steps would be nice..no biggie though
Hole 2- Its a nice hole but it is way to easy for someone to accidentally throw into the skate park and not only hurt there ego/disc but possibly injure a skater.
Hole 19- You have to throw towards the skate park parking lot and the basket is way to close to cars in that lot,its asking for trouble imo.
The park also looks as if it can get very crowded with not only disc golfers but people fishing,biking, and walking and may cause a risk of hitting someone because alot of holes play near these areas.
Side note- The rough was pretty "narley" and i played before spring. I can only imagine what its like in the summer. Not a major deal
Other Thoughts: This course got a half a disc higher score because of the local efforts. U can see the local efforts on every hole. There are many courses that get installed and left unkept,not this one. It will definitely make for a extremely fun round with plenty of reachable holes for everyone and great challenge if u miss ur line. Go play this course cause if you dont you will miss a gem. This course is a prime example of how good a course can be, with the dedication of locals willing to do what it takes to make a stellar course. Thx to you all

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Indiana DG!!

1    9/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set in a big beautiful park with a wide range of terrain.
-Some big elevation changes.
-Most holes have mature trees as obsticles.
- Tight windows, and length on many holes.
- A great mix of left, right, and straight shots.
-A good mix of hazards
-Mix of tall and skinny trees, short and wide trees, shrubbery, and dense rough to make things challenging.
-Challenging pin placements.
-Water on multiple holes. Hole #1 is directly over the pond.
-Basket are in good shape.
-Tee signs are good.
-Pads are made of different materials but all in descent shape.
Cons: -Pay to play during the summer may be a con to some.
-slightly confusing layout for first time players.
-Inconsistant teepads may be a con to some.
-Being a multi-use park some holes are too close to where people congrigate and play tennis and other things.
Other Thoughts: I found this park very enjoyable to play. It was challenging yet still had a definite fun factor to it. I believe its one of the best courses in its area. I would definitely recomend it, Im looking forward to playing it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

2-4    10/3/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a big, multi-use city park with a pretty wide range of terrain. A great setting for disc golf.
- There are three different sections to the park, which have different types of holes. Majority of the holes are in a dense forest with significant slopes, some are on flatter ground with mature trees, and a few are more open with extreme elevation changes. The holes with mature trees are typical to the midwest, but have added challenge with water, tight windows, and length. Definitely none of these are throwaway holes. A great mix of left, right, and straight shots, with a good amount of elevation changes and hazards.
- One section of the park plays on the side of a big hill, which has a monster downhill bomber shot [watch out for the forest(s)!], and another good uphill shot. These holes are much more wide open, with absolutely nothing in the fairway, but have very extreme slopes. A great change of pace from the rest of the course, and right in the middle to break the round up nicely.
- The rest of the course is in dense, tight forest, with lots of elevation changes. Many tight windows to hit immediately off the tee, in the fairway, on approach shots, and near the basket. Mix of tall and skinny trees, short and wide trees, shrubbery, and dense rough to make things very difficult. Although the terrain itself was very similar, the holes were very different. Extreme curves in all directions, some softer ones in all directions, a few where a OH shot is highly recommended, really a complete mix of all kinds of shots. Throw in some elevation changes, and shot selection and line shaping become do-or-die from the beginning to end. How each shot starts, the path it takes, and how it ends, are all very important to score well.
- Lots of protected, sloping, or elevated greens make every shot count. Lots of approach shots and putts require a solid game plan; getting it close can be a real challenge, even from close in.
- Very good use of water on multiple holes; there is real danger of going in. #1 is directly over the pond, #2 is a right-curving hole with the pond on the right, and #24 has a huge slope to the left that eventually meets the water. Definitely a big enough factor to influence the shot selection.
- Basket are in good shape, though rusted. Tee signs are generally good, even with the multiple pin positions. Navigation can be a little tricky, but not impossible.
Cons: - One of my biggest cons is present here - concrete. Multiple holes play next to or over an old scraggly road, which really hurts the atmosphere and possibly your discs.
- Some of the teepads were in abysmal shape, to the point where I was worried about slipping right off. Can't imagine what they would be like in the rain, mud or snow.
- A few other park activities interfere with the disc golf, like a skate park next to #2's fairway, but it's not too bad. Only a factor on a couple holes.
- Some holes are kind of close to each other, and there is a chance of errant shots finding other holes. #15 comes to mind, where discs from #14's tee can end up in #15's fairway.
Other Thoughts: - This is a very punishing course that will make you throw almost every shot in your arsenal, and make you throw them well. Sure, there are some easier holes, but that is only in comparison to the tougher ones. #10 and #13 are serious brutes, with long, curving, tree-filled, uphill fairways, bordered by very thick rough. #13 even has a "turtle-shell" green to top it off. Definitely some professional-caliber disc golf to be found here. Make sure to score well on the front nine; things get serious starting with #10.
- I had to go 4.5 discs with this review, but would put it closer to a 4 than a 5. The teepads are really bad (dirt would be better at times), and there are a lot of shorter holes that don't have much of a "wow factor". Other than that, not much to nitpick, and definitely put this on a different level than all of my other 4-discers.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.