Valparaiso, IN 
Rogers Lakewood Park Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 NW Indiana Goodness!!!

5+    12/9/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Rogers Lakewood plays through a busy multi-use park. Many terrain types come into play, giving RLW a wealth of variety from start to finish. A small lake, heavily wooded (yet well-defined) fairways, open prairie, over-the-gorge type shots, long downhill and uphill shots, artificial OB (in the form of park roads, sidewalks, and old un-trafficked roads), and neatly manicured park-style holes with scattered mature trees all come into play. A good variety of distances, as well as lines. Enough variety to challenge all but the very best discers. Twenty-four holes of NW Indiana disc golf goodness!!!
- Dual pin placements on #'s 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, and 23. Dual tees on 7 and 12. Pins are switched up fairly regularly. In short positions the course takes on more of a deuce or die feel. In longs, expect a beat down unless you're an advanced player or better. The different pin positions often give a completely different look to the holes and don't just add distance (except in a few cases). #'s 10 and 13 in long position are especially sweet (and brutal). #13 forces an uphill hyzer (RHBH) shot to a defined landing zone with heavy woods on both sides. The fairway then bends at a 45-degree angle back to the right, with trees blocking a good line to the basket if you miss the landing zone. The pin sits on a narrow strip of land with rollaway chances to both sides. On windy days, an opening in the trees near the basket creates a wind tunnel effect making approaches extremely tricky, with little room for error to either the right or left of the green.
- Water comes into play nicely on #'s 1, 2 and 24. The first hole has a small water carry that, while easily makeable with plenty of room for a safety shot, definitely can be a challenge right out of the car for less experienced players. #2's long pin position is slightly elevated, with the pond directly behind it. On #24, a hanging basket with a drop-off and slope behind it brings the pond back into play on rollaways or
errant anhyzer ace runs (RHBH).
- Every scrap of elevation is implemented to its utmost potential. Seriously, the course designers deserve a gold star sticker for their use of every conceivable up and down. Probably the best course I've played in regards to elevation in the mid-west. Some courses have more spectacular elevation in play, but none with every last scrap coming into play as nicely as RLW. #13's elevation is just sick, and #14's long downhill bomb will have you emptying your bag.
- Crazy amounts of risk/reward, especially in the long positions. Lots of punishing areas that will (fairly) destroy you if you miss a line. Thick scrubby underbrush in areas will piss you off, but only if you horribly shank your shot. You know you deserve the punishment. Tall, skinny, densely populated tree prisons on #8 and #18 will outright rape you if you're unable to accomplish the (RHBH) hyzer shot off the tee. Often you'll find yourself pushing for the perfect drive instead of the safe one, and it can often ruin your score for the round.
- Above average amenities. Accurate signage with bag hooks upon which to hang your bag, trashcans, plenty of benches, next tee signs, etc. Tall poles with American flags top the baskets that are out of sight, allowing a visual on the pin placement, which is a very nice touch. Practice basket with measured distances by the parking lot. The course is always well-maintained, with the local club always keeping things trimmed, mulched, and upkept. Interesting and unique touches such as the fallen tree in front of #12's tee spice things up. It forces you to throw over it or under it, and is held up with a nice bit of lattice work. #24's hanging basket (and the drop-off behind it) is a fun and risky way to end the round. #18's tee has a map of the hole actually IN the tee, which is very cool.
Cons: - Unfortunately, the major con to RLW is the inconsistent tees. Many are very nice brushed concrete tees that are long, level, and flat. These comprise the majority of tees, and are quite nice; however, the rest are a hodge podge of brick, rubber, and faux grass carpeting. #11's glazed brick tee is especially slick and dangerous in wet or snowy conditions.
- The flow can get a bit tricky in one or two spots the first time through. After playing #20, locate #21's tee by crossing the road. After #23, walk back down the road (recrossing it) to find #24's tee. Nothing egregious, but first-timers might get a bit confused initially.
- Some might find the holes along the sidewalks and park roads a bit unnerving, but I've never had it be a problem after many many rounds. #2 plays along a fenced-in skate park, which can get unnerving for less experienced players, but most experienced players shouldn't have any problems with this.
- In the winter, the baskets on #'s 15 and 16 are pulled for sledders. I usually play #14 downhill, and then replay #13 back up to the tee for #17.
- Naturey things like scattered poison ivy, thorns, thick underbrush, and bugs (mostly mosquitoes...I've yet to get a tick at RLW) in the summer. Man up, bring some tall socks and some bug spray and enjoy this course regardless.
Other Thoughts: - Rogers Lakewood is obviously an extremely well-designed, well-maintained, and well-loved course. A lot of thought, effort, and money has been put up by the local club (of which I'm not a part, so, no bias here). If you see someone trimming the fairway or moving pin positions be sure to take the time to thank them for their hard work and effort.
- Although there are several sections of the course that play through busier parts of the park, enough of the course is secluded to give off a really nice nature vibe. In the summer months, I often find myself chilling at some of the tee pads, relaxing and taking in the beautiful scenery.
- Pay-to-play from Memorial to Labor Day. $5 entry fee is an amazing deal. Free the rest of the year. Park open until 10pm, which makes glow rounds possible in the fall/winter/spring.
- When you enter the park, go to the first stop sign, hang a right, then a left immediately into the parking lot. The first tee is between the lake and pavillion.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 stranger in a strange land

2-4    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: long drive for me, worth every bit of it
absolutely beatiful course, wish it was closer to me
challenging enough for pros, easy enough to enjoy at an am level, great variety of different shots from multiple tees
very clean, well kept course locals there are doing somthin right
Cons: you will be punished for stray shots, easy to end up 2ft off fairway and look for an hour in the grass/rough
i'm not accurate enough to stay in faiways, but these fairways are way more "fair" than my local courses
coulda used a guide on this course, and i dont think bout that often, but its tough playing it without knowing it
Other Thoughts: worth the drive, love the variety, possibly the best i've played on, yet i haven't been to any "great " course either, would get much better rating if it wasn't for the rough, i turned in 4 discs to club members playin a round that i found while looking for mine, had i been local i woulda called on em, but i felt the group was trustworthy

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great course

2-4    11/19/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 833  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom Julio and Windycityrocer tell the story well. I'll add my two cents.
#1 across the pond scares you a bit from the start.
#2 I was in the skate park for o.b., one round.
Lots of great holes, I'm not gonna go through the list. I did deuce #3 after o.b. on #2.
Comments about the schule/rough are right on. Get off the fairway here and you're into the thorny stuff. Take a shot to get out; and apply pressure to stop the bleeding (just kidding).
I enjoyed the variable tees. Some rubber, a couple outdoor carpet, a lot of nice brick tees.
Designer(s) do a nice job of forcing the shots they want you to take.
Some very tough anheisers (rhbh)
Some very small tees, allowing less run up on drives the designer(s) want you to have less run up. These were perfectly used.
24 holes of enjoyment.
Any part of this course can chew you up. One round here, I was par on holes 1-12, and +1 holes 19 -24, but 13-18 had me at +8!!!
Cons: Not really any cons unless you consider the mixed tees a con; or the short ones; which I liked from a design standpoint.
It's a con that this course will not be used for the world's in 2010. It was suggested by one or more of the main designers at Lemon Lake; but vetoed, in order to keep everyone at one site. Which will be nice.
Other Thoughts: When coming to play Lemon; play here as well. This course is comparable to the best at Lemon.
This course has been loved and improved over a long period. Give a hand shake to any club member you meet here.
I have not given a five yet; pending playing the top five. (I have played all courses at High Bridge, and don't even consider Blueberry my favorite). The 4.5 scores I've given, had more water in play than Rogers Lakewood. It is a very strong 4 rated course though, and I may come back later and add .5.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 suprise Indiana!!!

1    9/24/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.5 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -groomed and manicured park
-variety
-elevation used where possible
-great pin placement
-practice putting w/markers
-signs with lines and distance.
-some very awesome brick tee pads!
-right off of the 94/80 freeways
-local disc golf hut on site that sells discs
-water hazards(right off the start!)
-multiple basket placements.
-a few elevated baskets with creative rocks and landscaping.
Cons: -some baskets kind of rusty
-course flow, next pin location kind of tough
-the rough in the woods can be super unforgiving, downright painful
-elevation there, but not a grand scale. I love me that elevation.
-a couple throw away holes.
-inconsistent tee pad styles
Other Thoughts: The talk of Indiana was the Lemon Lake courses(and rightfully so) but I kept hearing a buzzz about this little course in Valparaiso so I had to play. This was last year but rain prevented me from any Indiana course...till recently.

You drive in to this cute little city park and think "how cool, some baskets in an old tree park"...then you find tee one and see that you now have to drive over a pond, far, and to the right of it to even get to the basket, COUNT ME IN!

This is not your local neighborhood disc golf course...in any way.

Hole one has you up and over that pond right from the start, hole 2 takes you to the back side of the park, and hole 3 up a hill to what is waiting for you.

This is where there were two holes, 4 and 5 I believe, that felt kind of blah, but were obviously used as a transition into hole 6 and beyond. THIS is where the course shined in my opinion. rolling lush holes manicured nicely. The bushes that line the fairways make for some obvious looking lines, BUT are also the super thick ones with skin piercing thorns. A few misplaced shots and I felt like I was auditioning for "Passion of the Christ Part 2/ Jesus Takes Manhattan".

There is a huge sledding hill in this park which makes for a super huge downhill bomb shot either over trees, through a gap, or well, any way you want to get down. The basket placement is superb here too. Not just at the bottom but set back so your bomb has to be precise. The next two holes make you go right back up what you just bombed.

You finish in the front of the park you drove in from and there are those huge oak trees waiting for you.

I had a great time on this course playing with locals (highly suggested) and would highly recommend this course. It is a 45 minute drive between Lemon Lakes and Valpo either way. Take that time and play em all.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Played (so Far)

2-4    9/14/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course! I had heard terms like "scenic" and "championship caliber" used to describe this course, and to be prepared to get destroyed by this monster course... well, it's ALL TRUE....

Nestled in the middle of nowhere, Rogers Lakewood is a gorgeous multi use park, with great terrain, making disc golf a no-brainer. The course is phenomenally maintained by the parks dept. and local DG clubs. As for the course being championship caliber, it is, a monster, it's not.... that hard.

Bring EVERY shot/disc in your bag, you will need them.... The course requires long accurate drives, long L>R and R>L, pinpoint accuracy through the woods, uphill, downhill... Water only comes into play on the 1st hole, you can bail to the left, but it's probably a 250' carry off the front tee... (ie don't throw your fav. disc, if you turn it over it's wet). Aside from 1,4,5,9 the first 13 holes play through the woods... or a beautifully mowed fairway with floor to ceiling shule on each side. Bad drives are punished by the shule, where most likely you will be flinging a disc back out to the fairway, rather than finding an "advancing" line out of trouble.

Note: for floor to ceiling shule/deep rough, it's the nicest I've seen, LOTS of trails throughout, so you're never really searching an area much larger than a kitchen table...

Holes 4 and 5 play in a little open field plateau main obstacles being high grass off of the fairway, 2 great holes to air it out...

My personal fav, 9 is a shot over a Gorgeous valley requiring a huge anhyzer/FH to the right/far basket. (Left/short pin is pretty much beeline to the otherside of the valley)

After 13 holes of wooded hell (in a good way) it's time to tee off on the N/S continental divide... Hole 14 is an awesome 590ft hole that plays down a sledhill with shule tightening up the last 200' or so... Definately one of those holes that will make you want to empty your whole bag going for that super drive.

The rest of the course plays through more of a traditional park area, while not as thrilling as the first half of the course, it still has some great elevation changes and superb use of the land.

Most tee areas have a bench, all have garbage cans, and GOOD signs... most signs even have hooks to hang your bag on...
Cons: I never thought I would say this, but bring bug spray.... seriously. The woods get really thick, and covered in sweat, with bugs swarming you makes throwing a little annoying to say the least.

Unfortunately, for a well funded park, there doesn't seem to be restrooms/water anywhere near/on the course itself. (*1 apparently there are bathrooms by hole #1, the "boathouse/old pro shop) New proshop is the small building on the hill between the 2 practice baskets. The building on top of the sledhill (#14,15,16) seems to be a bathroom, but alas, it's always locked up tight.. These are the only real cons that I can think of.. it's going to be a long grueling round.
Other Thoughts: This is a PRELIMINARY review, I could write a book on this place, and will comeback with more in depth hole descriptions...

This course is an absolute MUST PLAY if you are in the area... depending on which exit you take off of 90/94, it's really only about 15-20 min off the expressway. For anyone playing in worlds at Lemon, you must stop here, I haven't played silver/gold yet at Lemon, but this course easily beats the other 3...

This course is a workout, LOTS of up/downhill hiking, not a lot of breeze in the woods... be sure to bring enough water, as there really isn't a convenient place to take a break until the 14th hole, aside from benches by most tees.
(*1) 10/7/09 edit... I needed to re-evaluate the course after playing Winter Park.. gave the course the last .5 star, as there are bathrooms by 1st tee

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A+ = Top Shelf!

1    8/2/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
10 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (or more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A
(The rough is very dense and punishing, so in a lot of areas a pitch out is all you get when you miss the fairway. The fariway widths are pretty generous almost everywhere, so punishment is only for bad shots. If there was a little more punishment for so-so shots and a few more fairways with multiple paths to the basket I would have given this an A+.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A+
(This course sets up perfectly for me - and others of my skill level. Of course there are a few holes that are easy birdies or hard threes, but there are a ton of holes that feel great to bag. Much fun to be had....or frustration if you do not bring your A game.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A+
(Not wooded in the classic sense, but mainly tree-lined fairways with dense underbrush. When these fairways bend you usually have no choice but to be forced into making the shot the designer wanted you to make. Great variety and an amazing use of terrain!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(With grassy fairways throughout and lush woods all around it is as beautiful and secluded as can be. The first few holes and the last ones are more in civilization, but it is a beautiful park, so very few demerit points there.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C
(There are only 2 par 4's, but #14 is way cool! Huge bomb off a sledding hill necking down and then opening up to a sloping green. #10 is a 2 throw hole that is a pretty easy par 4 but is very interesting nonetheless - probably my favorite hole on the course design-wise.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

10 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, worth the drive

5+    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of holes starting with a drive over water off the first tee, then continuing with varying types of through trees, uphill and downhill shots, as well as some elevated and over ravine shots. This course is definitely not for the faint of heart with some holes going through tight shurb guarded fairways and others with long elevated drives off a snow tubing hill.
Cons: There really aren't many cons to this course other than a lack of markings, I would suggest grabbing a course map on the way in to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: As always bring bugspray, if you get lost don't get discouraged, I think everyone does the first time.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: bunk'g
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Water, thick woods, and elevation changes all come into play. There are some open holes, but most have tight fairways. Thick woods make it easy to lose a disc, I would recommend a spotter, or playing it safe your first time out. You need to bring your long and short game, some holes reach over 500'.
Cons: Not necessarily a con, but there is a $5.00 Park Fee for non-Porter County residents and $3.00 Fee for residents. Some tee pads are nicer than others, nothing that should really effect your round.
Other Thoughts: Get your hands on a scorecard if you can to help navigate. There are now 24 holes.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  eahuber

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: eahuber
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Rogers has much to offer in the variety of contextual sensations and empirical doubts. Its well designed course lay out as well as its impeccable variety of shots turns this course into a 24 hole blunder of fun! Typically for rather experienced players, a challenge is always waiting along the horizons of this high caliber course.
Cons: Not to many, watch out for your discs and they're easy to find. I dont know what those kids are saying about expect to lose at least 2, its not that hard to watch your disc and pick it out of the shrubbery.
Other Thoughts: A worthwhile investment in an unfavorable economic crisis.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Indiana's Best

5+    8/21/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Spurlocm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Favorite course I have played and one of the toughest. Very well maintained. Alot of elevation changes, alot of extremely hard shots and a good variety of mid range to long drives. This is the course I learned to play on and have played it 100's of times and it is still a challange every time I go out. The course is nicely laid out and shout not present any problems in that respect. Nice area, nice people, and great course.
Cons: YOU WILL LOSE DISCS ON THIS COURSE! Ha, there are alot of woods in play that are pretty thick, watch your discs carefully and a spotter is recomended if you're not use to the terrain. Also some tees are better then others ranging from brick to mulch but no major problems
Other Thoughts: Have played with several people from different states and they all enjoy this course. If I could have a course in my back yard this is what it would look like. Different pin placements changes the difficulty of this course but overall a right hook is extremely important on several holes. ALSO the numbers on the photos are not correct there are 24 holes now.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.