Corbett, OR 
Rooster Rock - East Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #9 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
both ends of bell curve(2)

1    6/27/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.2 Years
Pros: This is the other 9 hole course in Rooster Rock State park and they couldn't be more different! This nine also has a sign at the beginning showing the whole 9 but that is only sign. Pads are well done and course is fairly well worn in so not too hard to follow.
Variety of shots are needed and there are quite a few elevation changes with a couple shots across a ravine. Blind shots with lots of vegetation add to challenge.
Cons: Vegetation on blind shots ups chance of losing disc higher than I like. Fortunately my wife was along and played spotter for me. I wouldn't play this course without one.
Elevation change, while cool, here it means you are going up and down very steep dirt/clay paths w/o steps of any kind. It was raining when we were out and more dangerous than I would have liked.
Know what poison oak looks like, the odds of ending up in some are fairly high.
Other Thoughts: While this was a neat course, especially when contrasted with west course, for price of entry there are other courses close that give a similar experience but better done.
Rating is with caveat that this is a very tough hilly wooded course. Player beware. :-)

East end is for me!

1    1/31/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging and technical. Hole 4 has been reviewed but my two cents worth is- this hole is too fun. Hole 3 very long and tight. Eight holes have their own challenge, Number 1 is pretty straight forward.
Cons: It is winter so some baskets have been moved (well I'm guessing it is because of winter.) My map helped except for where Hole 1's basket was and how to get to Hole 2's pad after that it was okay. Huge tree blocking the path to Hole 4's basket...it makes it tough for older players...crawling is not my thing.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing this end after I had played the west end. Night and day different courses. Would I play this one twice and say that is my 18? No...I liked the two together. Hole 4 was fun! Steep path down to it and then a very large tree to crawl or climb over. :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Technical

1    6/15/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical and challenging.

This is a nice hike that would be worth checking out even if there wasn't a course on it.

Hole 4. The tee is on a cliff the basket is at the bottom. Very interesting to throw.
Cons: Unforgiving. If you mess up a throw your disc is going to be in some thick rough.

Even though they aren't super far you can't see the baskets from most of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Get your fairway drivers out. You won't be ripping it off the tee at any point. If you want to rip it you can head over to the other 9 which is open and basically the polar opposite of this 9 making for an interesting overall 18.

Use a spotter if possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in the Woods

1    11/6/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: CraigInPortland
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A typical hiking path based course layout with very tight lines from tee to basket. A fun quick hike by itself, it has well maintained trails with cement tees. Heavily wooded paths and low ceilings, plus the sometimes major elevation changes define this style of trail based course. The underbrush on the hills can also eat up discs that miss the fairway by as little as a foot. Technical lines force different throwing styles. Highly enjoyable for the finesse player with occasional need for a spotter and those who like beautiful hikes and views of the Columbia River gorge.
Cons: Requires tight controlled shots in heavily wooded trails and thick underbrush that can eat up stray discs. Spotter recommended.
Other Thoughts: When combined with the beginner friendly and mostly wide open west course, this makes for a quick and beautiful 18 holes. The technical challenges may be too intimidating for new players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.