Corbett, OR
Rooster Rock - East Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #9
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Anything But A Typical State Park Course!

7/6/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of most uniquely, designed courses I've played. With that said, I agree with most of what all previous reviewers had to say about it. Start with the risk/reward factor. Playing by myself, I passed over #'s 3, 8 & 9 simply because I didn't want to chance the risk of losing a disc or spending a large amount of time searching over the endless banks. On the other hand, # 4 is a classic hole, 201' almost straight downhill. I really enjoyed the five holes I played. All were short technical throws. The teepads are great. I had no troubling navigating the course by myself.
Cons: The nettles were about five feet tall, they were ugly! # 3, is a 287' ridiculously tight fairway all the way to the hole with ugly rough on a steep drop off on the left side. # 2 is 254' luckout throw through the trees. I got a 2 but could have just as easily gotten a 4. gwillim sums these holes up pretty well with one word, unrealistic! # 8 is a 334' foot hole with a deep, dark rough on the left all the way down just waiting to gobble up your disc.
Other Thoughts: Rooster Rock East reminds me a lot of Dabney. A fairly good shot could hit a tree, carom left never to be seen again. I'm not a huge fan of disc eating courses and this is one of the most discyist eating courses I've seen. It should come with a warning label, "WARNING-PLAYING THIS COURSE CAN BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR DISCS." And to once again agree with the renowed reviewer, gwillim, this is not a course I would choose to compete in a tournament on.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

12/13/2007   5/24/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a good variety of shots needed.
A straight down hole (#4) that is very unique.
Well maintained tees and holes.
Not too hard to navigate with the maps found at the course.
Along with Rosster Rock West (only 30 seconds away) they make a good 18 hole course.
Good practice for your technical game.
Cons: Decent chance of a lost disc during a round.
Excessive brush and nettles at times.
No real opportunity to air out drives.
There's a decent amount of luck involved in the forest.
Other Thoughts: There tends to be a lot of debate about this course, I like it better than Rooster Rock West, which I find a bit bland, if you can simply except that you're not going to shoot well, that 4 can be a very good score on a hole that's under 300 feet and that luck comes into play, then you can enjoy this course. I think that if there wasn't a 9 hole course on the other end of the park it wouldn't be as good a trip but with the two contrasting 9's that I think really compliment each other it makes it a good day trip and a solid 18 holes of golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5/3/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hole 4 is a 200 foot drop down to the tee. All you have to do is clear the first bush and watch it go. A disc that starts out left usually goes left and vise versa. It is a fun hole.
Cons: Very tight course, the trees tend to bat down your disc unless you have a straight drive.
People tend to loose their discs on this course.
Other Thoughts: Put a spotter out on every hole to make the experience more enjoyable.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good luck!

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in good shape
-Good teepads
-Course maps available at hole one
-Fun elevation on a couple holes
-Um, challenge?
Cons:
-Unrealistic fairways on holes two, three, and eight.
-LOTS of stinging nettles!!!!
-Underbrush unmanageable during certain seasons (very hard to find discs)
-Unrealistic idea of risk/reward
-Perverts hanging out in their cars by hole one, waiting for people to head down to the nude beach.
-Teepad for fourth hole can be difficult to find for newcomers.
Other Thoughts:
Rooster Rock east is pretty ridiculous! There are a few fun holes, namely holes four through six. The rest of the holes are pretty unrealistic. For instance, hole three is over 400 feet long, and the fairway through the trees is about eight feet wide, the whole way there. Getting a four on that hole is pretty awesome, getting a five or a six, pretty normal. Also, hole eight is kind of stupid, especially during the summer when the stinging nettles are five feet tall, and are everywhere off of the fairway. Actually, the nettles are everywhere all over the last five holes of this course. Hole two is another hole without a fairway. For hole two, you drive into a grove of trees with no reasonable gaps, while the basket is about 100 on the other side. You can throw a seemingly great drive and get stopped in front of the trees. Meanwhile, another player can throw the ugliest shot imaginable, and park the hole. Not good design.

Rooster Rock East can be a fun course in winter when the underbrush is held back, you just have to expect to take some HIGH scores and accept it before you start. I will not play it in summer or early fall, and I'll never consider competing on the course.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.