Corbett, OR
Rooster Rock - West Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #2 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket To Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice walk in a park

1    1/31/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, plenty of parking. Great place for a new thrower (if it's not windy). Hole 4 has a great placement for the basket. Hole 6 plays around the end of a body of water and with a few small tree patches makes it the most fun hole on the west course.
Cons: Signs are not the best, so download a map from this site it will help EXcept number 9 which was moved at least 90 degrees to the right from where the map had the basket. If it's windy you need to go play Dabney unless you want the wind challenge. In the winter the park is a mess...after the wind storms it had down branches everywhere...but it is winter.
Other Thoughts: This course the west end of Rooster Park is a good warm up for the east end course. They are totally different and that makes for a fun 18. It would be nice if the Parks Dept. cleaned up the wind mess at least every couple of weeks in the winter.
One more thought...this course in the summer could be very crowded making it harder to play with people everywhere!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/8/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly open. Good practice course. Great place to try new discs.

There are some trees to help make it interesting.

Great tees and baskets

Nice mowed fairway. No rough.

Great place to take beginners.

Easy to navigate once you find the first tee.
Cons: Boring. There are some trees, but it feels like a small step up from playing in a field.
Other Thoughts: This course is the exact opposite of the other course. It makes for an interesting 18.

No matter what you like Rooster is worth checking out because there are two very different 9s.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

West Is Best

1    4/8/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic Beauty - There is a lot to look at that makes this place pleasing to play. There is the wonderful mountains with their beautiful waterfalls flowing down right in view of the course as well as the Columbia River if you look North. There is also a little lake I guess you could call it that has a boat ramp and leads into the river.

The Course - The course has a lot of different holes lengths and different kind of challenges. Some of the holes get technical with tree obstacles, hole two comes to mind where it looks like there is no line to the basket and when you get there you realize it's bigger than you thought, a great vision obstacle. Some holes like four, five and six have the basket placed near the little lake with the boat launch near the basket so an errant throw can make you go swimming.
Cons: The main con that I found was finding hole number one and then after that navigation got a lot better though I would say bringing a map helped me out quite a bit and I recommend that you do the same. It plays right next to the freeway and there is a great deal of noise coming from that which can be distracting especially with all of the visual beauty. Those are the only the only cons that come to mind, this is a solid all around disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite by far of the two courses on site. The west course is everything I like about disc golf and the east course I wouldn't even play again. This area is prime for a disc golfing course bagger trip like the one I made just make sure you check out Dabney State Park right up the road.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Typical State Park Course!

7/6/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays from the middle of the park to the far west end. It's flat and the water comes into play on # 5 & 6. It's a pretty state park on the mighty Columbia River with some awesome views. There's a map at the first hole. It's easy to follow with 5 holes down and four coming back. Just a nice relaxing throw, not a particularily easy course though. There are benches to sit on. Nice concrete teepads.
Cons: # 6 basket sits down maybe 25' from the end of a spit/slough ( I don't know what the hell the proper term is for this chunk of water here ?) It was muddy on July 6, what would it be like in winter? I'd move the basket to a spot a little less flood prone.
Other Thoughts: Play here for your casual, relaxing round, then drive to the other end for your challenging, disc hunting experience. The two combined compliment each other rather nicely.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Waterfall

5/3/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice distance practice course.
Cons: Most pins are hidden by one small tree making it a simple course for the most part.
Other Thoughts: The view of the gorge up above is awesome all the time, including the waterfall.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.