Medina, OH 
Roscoe Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 300ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Steady Ed in Your Backyard

1    9/12/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roscoe Ewing offers the player a fun par 3, Steady Ed style of disc golf. I was a little disappointed when I realized that only one tee at one hole (4) was originally designed by Steady Ed here, but the entire course presents this same fun style throughout the course.

I was intrigued by the course's setting, being right in the middle of a residential area. This is your standard suburban Eastern OH neighborhood littered with houses and out of nowhere pops this fun course. The road to the park isn't initially obvious, so I appreciate the huge disc golf sign that they put up. There is plenty of parking, a practice basket, bulletin board with club info, and a porta-potty near hole 1.

The course is set in a picturesque park that is very well maintained. Not many chances to lose discs here. Because the creek water is clear, sunken discs are easy the spot. The park itself (minus the walkers) does a nice job of helping you forget that you are in the backyard of this huge neighborhood.

I'd label the course as standard par 3 style, but it is designed very well to still be interesting. There are some unique holes here with some great elevation changes and the creek. The designers really made good use of the land here, being tightly packed in this smaller park. Hole 2 is a unique hole and the only real multi-stage hole on the course playing uphill through the woods with a drop-off and dogleg left to a well-protected pin. Hole 12 is another unique hole that stood out to me with its technical approach up the steep hill and to the pin.

There is some great risk/reward play here with the ever-present creek and some sketchy pin positions. Holes 2-5 and 16 offer death-putt scenarios either being near a steep drop-off or near the creek. Hole 4 is a fun one that forces you to attack the basket by throwing a spike hyzer down a steep hill. It's a true do-or-die hole, well done Steady Ed. The creek is also just a bad tree kick away on many of the holes. O.B. is even marked on a few holes, creating more of an island green on holes 5 and 8.

Being in such a flat area, elevation is found here in a surprising way, with uphill shots on holes 2, 10, and 12 and downhill shots on 4, 11, and 14. The designers did a great job incorporating this elevation.

Navigation flowed well and the course does a fine job of circling back to the parking lot after hole 16. There are many signs that point you in the right direction.
Cons: The course offers a very similar style of play throughout the round. While par 3 is done well here, the course doesn't offer much variety in lengths and pars. This left me wanting more multi-staged holes that put more emphasis on each shot's placement.

I don't have a big arm but I would have liked to air out a disc more here. There are a few holes over 400 feet, but with tight fairways, the creek, and sharp angles, I felt that I didn't get many opportunities to throw as far as I would have liked.

The course covers a pretty small piece of land, which creates some issues with other park goers and players. The running path plays dangerously close to a lot of the middle holes - close to the point where throwing isn't an option if people are on the path. There are also some close fairways, particularly holes 10 and 14.

Some of the holes are straight-forward and open, not offering any real challenge or risk.

Some of the tees could be longer.

I honestly thought that some of the fairways rewarded luck more than skill by being super tight and having randomly placed trees.
Other Thoughts: For some reason, I am one of the few people to rate this course lower than a 4.0 and I am not one to lowball a course. This is probably a style preference thing, as Roscoe Ewing is a fun-filled course that combines many elements of course design. I would recommend playing here, as the positives definitely outweigh the negatives and I can see players of all skill levels having fun here with the course having some basic holes and then a few holes that are very tight.

Being originally designed by Steady Ed and redesigned by the Jenkins family, this course offers some disc golf history and could not have been better designed with the land given.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix

1    8/9/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through nice woods with some open clearings sprinkled in. This makes for some nice variety, with a few longer park style holes and some shorter more technical shots with enough rough to punish errant shots. There are two tees on most of the holes that add some more variety, most of the shorts are pretty beginner accessible while the longs provide some more interesting challenges. There is a sign at one of the tees on all holes that shows distance and a basic hole layout.

There are some nice elevation changes, including a couple fun downhill shots from elevated tees and a tricky uphill shot with a very steep slope leading up to the basket. The course was well maintained with nicely mowed grass and trimmed and cleaned fairways. A few holes bring a shallow stream into play, making a nice ob without too much risk of lost discs.
Cons: The course plays mostly straight, there aren't enough interesting hole shapes to provide a full range of challenges for better players. There is enough room here to be just a little more creative in my opinion. It's inconsistent if the sign is at the long or short tee, making for some extra walking to play either set. There are some long walks between holes that aren't all that obvious, navigation is tricky at times. A walking path is in play on many holes, definitely a potential safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some nice challenges. Even the short tees might be a little technical for some beginners, but it's not too terribly long or punishing. More experienced players will find many parts of their game tested here, with enough technical shots to put accuracy at a premium.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Epic fun

5+    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro and Amateur tees at nearly every hole
Perfect use of elevation
Every hole a challenge, with few nightmare holes
Clever, clever course design
You might need every shot you have learned to play this course.
Scenery is top notch
Great use of the area's natural features
Cons: Train tracks come perilously close on a couple of holes.
I ripped my pants. (seriously, now that's a stretch as a "con")
Other Thoughts: After playing this course a couple more times my enthusiasm for it has dampened, though I still love it. The two biggest issues I see are 1: The walking path the bisects the course on numerous holes, and 2: Some of the fairways come very close to criss - crossing each other. There are some blind shots off of hills and over the walking path (15 comes to mind) that while they are epically fun for the thrower, are nearly blind as to if someone is crossing on the path, leading to potential injury. I little bit of tree trimming would be in order here. Getting to the tees for 16 kind of breaks the flow of the game up. You have to cross a bridge to get to hole 15, then cross right back over to get to tee 16. Don't get me wrong, it's marked and you can find it rather easily, but there is enough real estate on the side of the creek that 15's hole is on that I believe the 16th tees could have been placed there while leaving the pin right where it was. Maybe that's just me, though.

Beautiful hilltop shots, over water shots, at least 3 holes that are right on the shore, (and I mean RIGHT on the shore) or hill side. This course can easily make you use every shot in your arsenal, and is great for working on / testing out your rarely used shots. There are two tees per most holes, and the opportunity to play through on each (pro and amateur) add immediate replay value each visit. If you are near Cleveland or Akron, play this course!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Smart and Efficient

2-4    7/1/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tees per (most) holes. Tall wooden posts with distance information and place to hang bag. Benches. trash cans scattered about. Practice basket. Appears to be well maintained.
Cons:
From basket-15 to tee-16, need to walk past basket-13. Many holes play along/near walking/bike path. Elevated #15, a blind shot high over or through some trees, potentially bring the path and a couple tees/fairways into play.
Other Thoughts:
Tight-n-technical? Long-n-open? This well-thought out and designed course doesn't fall into either extreme. Overall length and tightness are moderate, but this course does a great job of taking a few open areas sprinkled between small bands of hardwoods and clusters of trees to create a very pleasant course requiring a blend of both length and accuracy. Most shots off the tee will be straight/S-shots, with the left-turns being more prevalent than the rights. A good portion of the holes are rather flat , although the early holes bring some moderate elevation into play, and numbers 13/15 have elevated tees up on a ridge, with in-between #14 having you re-obtain this elevation by going up a (seemingly) near-vertical bank. A very shallow, but not disc-stealing, stream plays near much of the last half of the course.

Holes 5, 14, 15, and 18 are single tee, although it appears 14 & 15 have two different pin positions. Sign at short tee for numbers 1, 4, 8, 10, 12, and at long tees for numbers 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 16, 17, no sign for #6, but it was easy enough to figure out.

Favourite holes: liked so many, but 3 & 4 stand out. Number-3 requires you go straight for a very long time before bending right around a couple rows of trees to find the basket slightly down a slope. #4 is an absolute classic to a blind basket. Starts off gently down a slope, then requires a sharp-left between two rows of trees, just as the land drops off steeply to a basket with a few trees behind, but the slope continuing down, too. Hit the gap just right, at the correct height, and you might hear the chains, but turning too early, too late, or being too long will certainly be a bit of a bummer!

A lot of fun to play from either tee location. Suitable for a wide range of players. Certainly worth a visit, and not too far of I71.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hope I don't get poison ivy

2-4    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: For our first time disc golfing EVER, it was a great pic, and perfect matchup with some dinner and trivia at BW3. Very woodsy and scenic, but unfortunately, we spent a lot of time looking for our discs. Lost One disc!
Other Thoughts: We played this again and with more experience, we enjoyed it much more. We met a really helpful fella named Nick who helped us to get around this course. We also had the distinct pleasure of meeting Nate Doss while we were playing, and he was gracious enough to sign our discs! He was accompanied the course designers, and Valerie Jenkins, another champion.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course

1    5/23/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Multiple Tees on Most Holes
Very Technical
Great Variety
Good Use of Elevation
Stream Comes into Play on Several Holes
Fairly Easy To Navigate
Both Open and Tight Shots
Great Layout for the Land They Have
Benches Throughout The Course
Concrete Tee Pads
Practice Basket Neat Parking Lot
Well-Maintained
Cons:
Tee Signs Could Use Work
Course Can Be Hard to Find
Course and Park Both Can Be Crowded
Walking Path/Other Park Users Can Interfere
Some Tee Pads Could Use Work (Cracking)
Other Thoughts:
This course, overall, is pretty good. Definitely worth playing for its history alone, but also is great use of the land. Course isn't exactly a pitch and putt, but its pretty short, and very technical. The designers have made great use of the obstacles that they had to work with. There are some really good elevation changes, especially on 4 and 14. They also made pretty good use of the little stream that runs along most of the course.

There are short and long tees on most holes, and while the long tees are, well longer, they sometimes turn out to be the easier shot. On hole 7 and 10 I believe the long tees are the bridge of the walking path, which again was great use of what they have to work with in this small area. I think anyone who enjoys the game will love playing this course, like I said if not for the techinicality, for its great history.

A couple of other things are locating the course itself. When you come into the neighborhood on Guilford Blvd. you will see a sign for Roscoe Ewing Park and Disc Golf Course. This is not where the course starts. You can get to the course here, but would probably want to start on hole nine. If you want to start at one, continue past the sign and make a left on Berkshire. Now the directions say that it looks just like another driveway with no house, this is partly true. What you want to do is just drive slow and you can see that the driveway to the park is the one that has the gate that can be closed. None of the other driveways, obviously, have gates on them. The first tee is over the hill in the back right corner of the parking lot. Have fun and enjoy the course.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A trip of nostalgia and fun.

1    5/28/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great place to enjoy a good game and enjoy some nostalgia.

Since Ed had a part in the design of this course anyone who loves the game needs to play here.

With the new Mach 3 baskets and the new directional arrows this course has stepped up its game. With the arrows I was able to navigate the entire park without the map expect for basket 4 and 10 could use another arrow once you cross under the train tracks.

It is more technical than I expected. Especially in its use of the stream and some elevation with lots of trees.

Great use of elevation. Especially on 14.

Some benches are available to sit on and trash cans seemed plentiful.

While there are no true wide open grip and rip baskets their use of the land here is phenomenal.

One is straight down the fairway with the stream on your right.

Two is a right to left into a pocket and up through the trees. It does not follow the path. If you can get one to "S" than that is the throw to use.

Three is blind to the right into a pocket of trees with a hill behind it.

Four is deceptive if you use the map. The tees are actually where it shows the basket as being located. The long tee is easier. The short is a hard hyzer down a slope along some thick trees. The basket is actually by the number 5 tee down the hill. The map is wrong.

Five is the first one you come to that does not have dual tees. The throw is a down hill hyzer in some tough trees.

Six long is from the parking lot and is a blind hyzer. The short is difficult in its own right because the trees do not give you an easy throw. It is definitely doable but accuracy is a must.The stream is also on your right.

Seven long is very difficult and somewhat dangerous. You are throwing a dogleg left and the break on the trees ahead of you is a walking path that is heavily used. There are signs to warn the path users but beware. The short is actually thrown from the path and is a blind right to left into the trees.

Eight was just fun and accuracy is needed. Just beware of the parking lot.

Nine is a bear if you get off to the left. The stream is there and is lined with trees. If the stream is up you will loose your disc. I lost a good Valkyrie here because of that.

Ten was a bit hard to find but once you do it is a nice toss through some trees.

Eleven goes parallel to the path and needs a very straight throw. There is raised ground on your left that is covered in low but thick growth. The raised mound is for train tracks and are used.

Twelve you throw across the path into some trees.

Thirteen will give no quarter if you do not go straight and is back over the path.

Fourteen was fun. It is through some tough trees and up a steep hill.

Fifteen is from the top of the hill and over some trees. Over the top of the path.

Sixteen is a slow turn to the left with the stream real close.

Seventeen is through some tough trees and heavy brush on each side. I know I lost a Beast in the stuff to the right.

Eighteen is a great finish with a straight throw needed.

This is a beautiful place to play and from a technical standpoint it will give you fits.

There is a practice tee at the parking area.

It is well maintained and fun.
Cons: The variety of baskets is limited to technical with no true grip and drip.

The walking path can be worrisome but the people who use it seem to be well aware of the course.

The basket signs at each tee are either useless or non-existent. Bring the map but be aware of the issue on 4 and 10 that I mentioned above.

The entrance to the parking area by the first tee is tricky to find. If you use a GPS or map to find the course keep the parking lot on the main road on your left. Make the first left turn then count the fire hydrants. At the third one turn left between 2 houses and you will be where you need to be.

NO bathrooms.

The foliage was very thick on most of the back 9.

When you finish, to get to the parking lot you either have to cross the stream and get up a short but steep hill or walk down to the bridge and cross.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the new baskets and the directional arrows this course is fun to play.

If they placed new tee signs and could do something with some of the thicker foliage this would be a terrific course. Probably no more than a 3.5 but a very strong 3.5.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.