Medina, OH 
Roscoe Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 406ft.   3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A barrel of monkeys

5+    10/2/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quality baskets, with bright pink tape on the center pole and tape on the bottom rungs pointing to each next tee; also with big orange and blue 'lollipop' tops that indicate hole # - which you can see from a good distance away

-Variety of shots needed, good mix of right and left leaning holes as well as many changes in elevation and terrain

-Nicely broken in (I mean that in a good way) concrete tee pads

-Signs for most holes, with posts to hang bags on

-Multiple tees for majority of holes, multiple pin locations as well that usually change 1-2 times a year

-Plenty of trash cans
Cons: -The walking path hasn't always been here, but it sure can be a bummer. What a stupid idea by the city. Probably part of the reason they took 8 and 9 out. Plenty of people will stop and wait if you're obviously ready to throw into them, but just as many ignore you. It can get busy, but it usually doesn't interrupt play for more than 1-2 minutes at a time. The path comes into play for half of the holes

-Finding the course parking lot might be hard for some, especially with two different parking lots aside the course. You want the one that says 'DISC GOLF COURSE,' not just 'Roscoe Ewing Park.'

-Only one bathroom, and it's where the deceased holes 8 and 9 were, which is kind of out of the way

-Hole 7 in particular can be hard for some to find, the amateur teepad was paved over to build a bridge a number of years ago (for the aforementioned walking path - can you tell I despise it?) so now the amateur 'tee' is right where the pavement meets the bridge. Could be confusing for first-timers
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun courses to play in NE Ohio without a doubt. It has water holes, but the water (a meandering stream referred to as 'Champion Creek') is rarely high enough to warrant concern about losing a disc. The course makes some great use of elevation, especially on holes 2, 4, 11, 12, and signature hole 13 - where you have to throw through a tight tree gap off of a huge hill, then way right, then over the river and back into the woods where the pin sits in a guarded circle. Some tighter lines, some wide open shots, a couple of roller opportunities.

The course is beautiful, especially with the creek running through it, and the big wooded hills on the second half. Hole 5 is particularly picturesque during the fall, where fallen apples cover the fairway and bees buzz around them (they're too drunk to be a threat, just step over them). Smells pretty good too.

A lot of pins that are tucked away in a little alcove of trees or bushes. A number of pins with steeps drops or water hazards directly behind them so you have to be smart with your approaches. In all one of the absolute best courses in NE Ohio, probably the best if the city had never put that walking path right through the middle of it or forced it down to 16 holes.

Keep an eye out for an expansion: rumors have been circulating that 7 more holes are going to be put in by Team Jenkins about a 5 minute walk from hole 7. Timeline unknown, but that's been the word on the street for a while now.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet!

1    7/6/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply a great setting for a course - charming, scenic, quiet, friendly, neighborhood park.
• Concrete pads were sufficient: two tees (blue and white) on most holes, with a few sharing a combined pad. Some tees offer completely different looks, some primarily add distance, changing the line minimally.
• Nice shot variety, with a good mix of left/right/straight, up/downhill, short/long, wooded/open.
• Good use of natural elements: elevation, creek, trees, combine nicely to provide a fun round that's well suited to most skill levels.
• Quite well treed with many technical holes, and just enough semi- open holes to provide some welcome breaks from playing lumberjack - but all the tees give you something to think about. Does a good job of rewarding distance only if it's reasonably controlled.
• Creek is an OB factor on several holes. You might have to get wet to retrieve a disc, but it's not wide or deep enough to present a serious threat of disc loss.
• Numerous elevation changes from tee to pin keeps things interesting, and a few baskets placed on or near slopes (or with other obstacles behind them) make you think about laying up vs. running the basket on approach shots. Also mixes in a few holes that play pretty flat, to provide an exceptionally well balanced round.
• Orange DGA lollipops help you find the target (especially walking up fairways on blind holes).
• Current layout allows you to start at hole 1 or hole 6 and play 'em all with no backtracking.
• Close to civilization should you want to eat, drink or need snacks before/after/between rounds.
• Tee posts and next tee signs to help keep you moving in the right direction and know when you get there.
Cons:
• Walking/bike path winds through several of the holes: plastic hitting/sliding on asphalt is a pet peeve of mine, and as with any multi-use area, caution is warranted (but people here seemed to be well aware of what else was going on). Could mean some waiting during peak park hours.
• Course lies primarily in a gulley/valley with a creek at the bottom. Bugs were a bit of a nuisance, and it was a bit muddy and slippery in spots, but I'm sure it retains water for a few days after a hard rain and is likely to be flooded/unplayable several times a year.
• Pros won't find the desired level of challenge here, but I doubt this course was designed with National Tour events in mind.
• Pin positions and signs led to some confusion.
• Navigation was a bit of an issue in a few spots (particularly where you have to ford the creek after hole 15 I think … what are you supposed to do when the water level is high?), but not too bad on the whole. Course map needs to be redone to reflect current layout and is a bit confusing to read (would help to indicate which way is north ).
• No running water or bathrooms at the course.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for its location - what it lacks in terms of epic, championship caliber challenge, it makes up for with fun factor and is the kind of course you want to return to. I really think this is an excellent course that's so much fun to play, it's flaws are easily dismissed.

Appears to have undergone several changes over the years, including the loss of two holes, hence its current 16-hole layout. Lollipops on all baskets have been appropriately renumbered. Has aged quite well for such an old course (probably through the TLC of many locals - thanks for your efforts)!

Just a chill course in a peaceful, serene city park course that butts up to people's backyards. Seldom have I seen so many able to enjoy the same piece of land at the same time. During our round, a doe and 2 fawns crossed one of the fairways while feeding, as well as several walkers, joggers, dog walkers, and several rabbits… all enjoying this little chunk of leisure habitat for all. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

I Love this Course !

2-4    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Diverse holes. Not Too many woods, with water hazards! Good training course- in my "newly Disc Golf "Opinion.
Cons: There are no really long T's, no bathrooms, kinda busy.
Other Thoughts: nice park setting, residential area

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Natural Beauty

1    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
~Wonderful course layout
~Good mix of throws required
~Multiple concrete tees on all but a few holes
~Baskets are in nice condition
~Gentle elevation changes
~Fairly open and tight wooded holes are intermixed
~Not overly long, but rather technical
~Plenty of benches & trash cans throughout
~Good signage
Cons:
~Random bikers, joggers and walkers along the intersecting paths
~Some minor tee to hole navigation at a few sections
~No restroom or picnic table at the parking lot area
Other Thoughts:
Overall I am pleasantly impressed by this course. My round consisted of a mixture of long and short tees based on which I wanted to play on each hole. It's a challenging course from either set. Lots of shot variety along with a medley of hole conditions, the layout is great. Wonderful natural setting with plenty of elevation changes, wooded and open areas, a small creek and multiple walking paths intertwine throughout the course. Pleasant hike with lots of bridges to go over. For me it was primarily a long mid range and fairway driver off the tee with a couple more good throws to attempt saves at par. Concrete pads are nice and the baskets are in good shape. Course is clean and well maintained. Some very memorable holes, and I drove away hoping to make it back over some day soon.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!!!

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Mavrix
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great Course, very well maintained and easy to navigate. Great course for all the discs in your bag, lots of great holes for both your back hand and flick! All and all I look forward to playing a few more times while I'm in town.
Cons: Can't think of any!
Other Thoughts: Had a blast, built very well!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Volunteers

1    6/5/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I liked the little extras the volunteers have added to the course.
Good variety that forces you to use allot of the discs in your bag.
The stream that goes through the course is beautiful and easy to retrieve discs from.
Cons: Could not find any water fountains.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet, classic course

2-4    3/14/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of shots. I did not feel this course favored anything. It was technical and diverse. There was a nice blend of open and tight shots as well as hyzers, anny's and darts.

Respectable elevation. There were some really nice swings. Holes 13 - 15 may have been my favorite holes on the course. You climb to a small hill top and shoot down, through a narrow gap, to a pin poised next to a creek. Also, you shoot up a steep ledge to a pin appox 15-20ft above the tee.

Concrete pads. Long and short. The pads are of the two block style. They are on the short side.

The hazards were balanced. There were a few early trouble holes, starting on hole 1, a few late trouble holes and some nice flex lines through technical fairways. There were multiple pins near water.

The park was very well utilized. I can't see how a better course could have been laid out on this lot.

Cons: This course has pretty much everything you look for, save true distance. There are only 2 holes that crack 400ft. Ten holes are in the 300+ range and six are in the 200+ range - and this is from the long tee's. The shorts are really short. The thing with long distance though, is it can alienate players. I understand this course was designed to be approachable to the recreational player.

There were a few breaks in the flow of navigation. You should bring a map your first time out. Holes 6 & 7 are somewhat seperated. You need to walk back across the parking lot to get to pad 6. Then holes 8 & 9 are across the rail road tracks. You cross back over these tracks to get to hole 10.

Other Thoughts: Fun. Fun. Fun.

I had overlooked this course when seeking road trips 'cause I generally look for at least a 4.0 rating. This course is currently sitting at a 3.5. Hopefully this review helps push it to the next benchmark, I think it deserves it. It has too much diversity to be considered less than excellent.

I wish this was my local course. You can work on just about every aspect of your game here. Good times...

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 An Excellent Course

2-4    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent shot variety. Some very fun elevation changes and a good variety of lines. Some holes will be tough to deuce while others are ace runs. Except for an oddly large amount of straight, short ace run holes this course features excellent variety hole to hole.

-Very easy to navigate without a map. Plenty of markers spread throughout the course telling you where to go, and all the baskets have highly visible numbers on top.

-Well done short and long tee placements.

-The course seems well maintained and frequently played, which is good to see.

-Nice baskets, plus a practice basket right by the parking lot.

-The most benches I've ever seen on a single course.
Cons: -Some of the teepads could use a touch-up, as they're beginning to crack.

-Not very many long shots.

-Could be a bit tougher, the difficulty level is moderate. I had to shoot decent to make par, but I didn't feel like I was being tested too hard.

-The walking path can lead to interference during warmer parts of the year.

-While in general it's easy to stay off the rough, there are some parts way off the fairway that are very rough if you manage to land there.
Other Thoughts: Roscoe Ewing is a great disc golf course that I don't play as often as I'd like. It seems well loved by the locals based on what I can see. The holes are enjoyable and offer good variety, though the entire course isn't too demanding of skills and shot placement.

This course doesn't have the wow factor other courses I've played do, but it's a very solid course and I recommend anyone living within an hour or two make a point to play it at least once. I've had a great time every round I've thrown here.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but Goodie

1    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice land and it was used to perfection
Well Maintained
I heard this course has been changed around a lot over the years. You can tell that a lot of thought goes into it and that the course just continues too get better and better
Great mix of shots
Wooded but not to Densely
Very high Fun Factor but also challenging with out being frustrating
Some really cool elevation changes
Easy to Navigate
Plenty of bridges and obstacles to throw over and around
Cons: I've heard it can be crowded but I was there on a Saturday afternoon and while there were other people there none of them were directly in front of me holding me up or behind me pressuring me to pick up the pace. I got no complaints
Other Thoughts: I was told this was Ohio's oldest Disc Golf course and the home course of Avery and Valarie Jenkins. It's a great course and I'm sorry it took me so long to get to it. It's probably in my Ohio top 10.

It has it all, open shots, wooded shots, elevation changes, pretty good distances and ace opportunities. It's wooded but your not in the woods. It's in a nice neighborhood and also well maintained. I had to skip a hole because some crews were working on it.

I'm a sucker for elevation changes and this one has some really good ones. 13 and 15 stand out. I having trouble saying exactly why I loved this course so much but I think it's because it has a really high Fun Factor but still remains challenging without become frustrating. It's hard to find a course that pulls that combination off, especially as well as this one does.

If you like Disc Golf and live anywhere near Cleveland then I imagine you already know about this place. If you live anywhere in Ohio and you share my love for Disc Golf road trips then this one is a can't miss.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 WOOT!!

5+    7/5/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2011
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent overall course design! Beginners and Pro's are here.
- Very well maintained grounds. Nicely defined fairways.
- Wooden posts at the tees show distance w/map and have a place to hang your bags.
- Nicely placed next tee markers.
- Bring your entire repertoire of throws. Excellent mix of hyzer and anhyzer. I consider this a technical and fun course.
- Nicely sized concrete tees.
- Pro and Amateur tees on most holes.
- Baskets are labeled and in excellent shape.
- Nice elevation. Enough to add some fun difficulty.
- Benches at #2, #5, #7, #11, #12, #14, #15, & #16.
- Trashcans scattered around.
- Multiple pin locations on #2, #3, #6, #10, #12, #14, #15 & #16
- Very nice practice basket with stone markers at different distances. Play you at horse!
- Flows nicely. #18 ends at #1.
- Parking lots at #1 & #9.
- Slightly scary bathroom at #9 in the woodshed. (I'm just happy they have one)
- Playground at #9 parking area.
- Shallow creek that provides a good obstacle. Been in it a lot! Haven't lost a disc in it yet.
- A variety of DG events take place here.
- Nice DGC sign at the driveway, otherwise the turn could be missed to the hidden parking lot at #1.
- Beautiful bridge across the creek from #18 to #1.
- Friendliest locals I've ever meet.
- Near I71, easy to get to.
- Near lots of places to eat and a short drive to downtown Medina.
- #2 is a very testing right curve/up hill! Then the pin is far back and to the left around the tree. Very challenging hole but the reward is awesome to land a RHBH anhyzer bomb drive just right.
- #4 birdie time. Short hole so do not bomb a straight glider or you'll be swimming in the creek.
- #8 Ace race hole. Even says so in the concrete of the tee. Check out the wounded trees. Watch your hyzers, playground is to the left.
- #12 is an easy birdie when the pin is moved low. When the pin is high it takes luck to get through the pinball tree wall.
- #14 has a tough elevation change going up hill. Look for the basket location because when that changes, so does the path you want to take up the hill.
- Par 4 holes? Here's a list of Long Tee to Long Basket holes that even a good player may have a tough time getting a 3 on: #2, #12 & #15.
Cons: - Busy. Lots of golfers, lots of path walkers. More civilians than any DGC I've been to.
- The tee maps are great to have but could surely be more accurate.
- Need a sign for the bathroom. It's difficult for visitors to find.
- #3 requires you to anhyzer or be in someone's yard but is still a FUN hole.
- #5, during apple season it's a pain. Rotten fruit everywhere but at least it smells good.
- #6 & #10 could use something other than spray-paint to mark the pro tee's.
- #15 drive is at the path but its' view is blocked and is potentially dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Established in 1978, one of the very first disc golf courses. This is a must play course. Add it to your wishlist, worth the travel from other states.

Because of the age of this course, you will get a chuckle from the intensely knotted trees that have taken abuse from discs for so many years.

The water hazard is the creek but the only shot that actually goes 'over' it is #15 when the pin is in the rear/wooded position. There is a nice bridge to get you there.

There is no hole I dislike. Although #5 & #15 I just rip it and pray you get through the trees. There should be a forum just about how people choose to drive at #15.

Favorite hole: #4. It is so gratifying to drop a hyzer just over the lip of the hill and have it blindly land for a 10' putt. Don't turn early, don't turn late. It's a narrow margin of error that's easy to miss. This could be your Ace hole!

Edit on 09-23-10: #10 basket was just moved so that it is not so close to #18 basket. Thanks maint crew!

Edit on 09-30-10: #4 is definitely ace-able. Just landed my first ace and only ace on it.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.