Medina, OH
Roscoe Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 279ft.   4 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Basket Location



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Roscoe Ewing

5+    8/3/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course with several different challenging tees and elevations.
Cons: Walking path goes through the middle of half the course and two holes have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Nice winding creek goes through the course and it is typically well maintained. Waiting for the park to hopefully become a 27 hole course with the rumors I'm hearing!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home-town love.

5+    11/10/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 61  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home town course and definitely on my top 5 favorite. Roscoe Ewing is located in a beautiful semi-wooded park setting with a very nice creek coming into play on 7 holes. Although most of the time its just a basket being placed close to the creek. #15 long basket is the only one where you'll need to shoot over the creek. Two tee pads on every hole but 4 of them. Elevation here is moderate but still a lot of fun. Especially #15, #13, #4 and #2. Multiple pin positions on 9 holes. They will usually have them in longs during summer and in the shorts during winter. A good amount of nice benches and trash cans through out whole course. Course has two separate parking lots. The main is off Berkshire and was just recently re-paved. And the other is off of Guilford, you can start here on #9 and play the back first and end on #8. Roscoe is relatively short from shorts. Almost every hole is a birdie hole if you have good placement. But from longs course isn't too much longer, but plays way more technical. And all those birds start turning into hard pars. Course has a good variety of back-hand and side-arm throws. I've actually been able to play the whole course with just one throwing style and it will still reward me. Multiple lines of path provided on every hole makes this course fun to play every time I come.
Cons: Very busy park all year round especially during summer. They installed a walking trail that runs through the back nine about 6 years ago. And everybody really does take advantage of this. During summer expect to wait on walkers and bikers.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course in Ohio. Its practically historic being the oldest 18 hole course in Ohio. And has really grown into itself. I am very fortunate to live so close to something so amazing. The park also offers a small playground at the parking lot of Guilford. A very nice pavilion with picnic tables and a BBQ pit. As well as a small bathroom in that same parking lot. Which you will cross when playing #8.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Roscoe

5+    5/6/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: vinmoe73
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Other Thoughts: I find myself wanting to go to Roscoe more than any other course in North East Ohio. Basket positions seem to be changed frequently. The course is always well maintained, free of litter and debris. The locals really cherish this park, as well they should.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Course in Great Shape Now

1    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fantastic course! Well maintained with most of the features and challenges you could want on a disc golf course (primarily lacking only a couple real bomber holes). To start there's a course info board with a large picture of the course map. The practice basket has a lot of marker stones indicating a wide variety of practice putt distances. The multi-chain DGA Mach-V baskets are in great shape and have bright orange number plates on top for enhanced visibility. The concrete tee pads are of sufficient size and most holes have dual tees. The ends of the concrete tee pads are painted with white or blue to indicate short or long respectively. The wooden tee posts are tall and easily visible and have mostly accurate distances posted on them. There are older metal tee signs that look to now be used primarily for hole sponsorship. Many of the wooden tee signs also have a small course map affixed to them (see the picture gallery for a sample of this and many other of the course amenities). There are excellent "next tee" signs in the ground pointing you in the right direction for every hole. There are warning notices painted on the walking/jogging/biking trails leading into the course. The fairways here are real, some are wide, some are narrower, a very good mix of distances. The shot variety is excellent too with hyzer and anny shots well balanced and some nice uphill and downhill throws too. There are trash cans and benches on many of the holes.
Cons:
With all the other well done features of this course what it needs now is a nice quality map showing the different tees and different pin positions will all the appropriate distances. The walking/jogging/biking trails can be hazardous, specifically on #16 where bikers coming around the turn are likely to get a facefull of plastic, that's just not good for the course, park, sport or bikers. There a decent bit of poison ivy on this course. The probable hyzer line for #13's long tee has you throwing almost directly at #16's tee box, another safety issue. Apparently the pin position on basket #3 changed recently and I must concur with the locals that it's not presently in a very fair spot. No restroom facilities and the parking lot is somewhat small. UPDATE: a local PM'ed me and let me know there's an "outhouse" by the playground left of hole #8.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course after the A-Tier event so the course was in pristine condition, you could still see the paint on the ground from the 10M circles and the OB lines. I also had the benefit of a couple local kids (Nick & Ian) showing me around. It's pretty clear that this course got or gets a lot of attention and care, according to what I've read and heard a big thanks goes out the the Jenkins family for a significant amount of work on this course. I didn't think this course was too hard... shooting a 54 my first time out from the long tees. There are a couple what appear to be throw-and-pray holes (#5? or #15 through the trees), but in general this is a solid course and worth playing as a destination course if you're close to the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course!

5+    7/11/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Ok, I am a homer here as this is the course I was introduced to the game on and have played hundreds of times. Some holes are open; well not compared to the course in Canton but to me, hole 1 is pretty open. Mostly though, it gets technical. That becomes very evident on the 2nd hole with a path up a hill; dog legging to the right with the basket back 50+ feet to the left after you get around the trees on the left side of the path. until you get up that far, there is a hill going down to nowhere on the left side, so use caution.

I could go on and on about each hole here but i wont; you just have to try it. Especially check out hole 4, 6, 13 and 15 as my favorite holes
Cons: The walking path makes you have to keep an eye open and then there are some people who will not watch their children who might run out and try to grap your discs. I have always seen courtesy from other golfers here but the walkers and people who chose to picknik outside of the picnic area dead in the center of a fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love the course and, while I absh non-golfers a bit there, most of them I will say will just give you a nod and a kind gesture in passing, its just the few that are not curteous that I have seen were not golfers.

Its technical, but not because it isnt fairly well kept; which makes the challenge fun and not frustrating.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/28/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Livin4Life
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: They just remodeled the course... moved a ton of baskets, and weeded out much of the disc stealing brush! Better then Ever!!!
Cons: The walkway running through the middle of the course... some of the blind holes place your disc on/near the path... where people could get hit, or pick up your discs
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for many years... It still remains one of the more difficult courses around here... with the new upgrades and maintenance, the course is a blast... if you don't mind dense trees =D

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/28/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Practice basket
Bridges for crossing the river
Trash cans located through out the park
Grass is very well maintained


Cons: Some Tees are damaged
Some holes can be really muddy
Walking path through the back of the park can be a hold up drives .
Other Thoughts: Very fun course , one of ohio's oldest. Definitely the one, that if your in the area, you must stop and play . Will test every shot

2 Concrete tees for each hole (most). Start at hole 1 or 6. Either way the course wraps around very nicely .

Several Ace run holes .. Several crap shoot holes .
Alt tee for 7 is on the bridge i believe.

16 is really cool . Blind shot over the trees from 60 ft , cross the path into the fairway, only to shoot across the creek to a basket nestled in the woods.

1,8,9 ,11,18 Are your best ace runs.
Alot of technical holes in between, with trees in play. Creek really only comes into play 1 10. But errant shots and over throws can get you there quicker.

15 is a bit intimidating . shoot tru a very small window of trees, trees and more trees. up a 40 ft cliff to a basket that is back in the woods


4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.