Medina, OH 
Roscoe Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 195ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Steady Ed in Your Backyard

1    9/12/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roscoe Ewing offers the player a fun par 3, Steady Ed style of disc golf. I was a little disappointed when I realized that only one tee at one hole (4) was originally designed by Steady Ed here, but the entire course presents this same fun style throughout the course.

I was intrigued by the course's setting, being right in the middle of a residential area. This is your standard suburban Eastern OH neighborhood littered with houses and out of nowhere pops this fun course. The road to the park isn't initially obvious, so I appreciate the huge disc golf sign that they put up. There is plenty of parking, a practice basket, bulletin board with club info, and a porta-potty near hole 1.

The course is set in a picturesque park that is very well maintained. Not many chances to lose discs here. Because the creek water is clear, sunken discs are easy the spot. The park itself (minus the walkers) does a nice job of helping you forget that you are in the backyard of this huge neighborhood.

I'd label the course as standard par 3 style, but it is designed very well to still be interesting. There are some unique holes here with some great elevation changes and the creek. The designers really made good use of the land here, being tightly packed in this smaller park. Hole 2 is a unique hole and the only real multi-stage hole on the course playing uphill through the woods with a drop-off and dogleg left to a well-protected pin. Hole 12 is another unique hole that stood out to me with its technical approach up the steep hill and to the pin.

There is some great risk/reward play here with the ever-present creek and some sketchy pin positions. Holes 2-5 and 16 offer death-putt scenarios either being near a steep drop-off or near the creek. Hole 4 is a fun one that forces you to attack the basket by throwing a spike hyzer down a steep hill. It's a true do-or-die hole, well done Steady Ed. The creek is also just a bad tree kick away on many of the holes. O.B. is even marked on a few holes, creating more of an island green on holes 5 and 8.

Being in such a flat area, elevation is found here in a surprising way, with uphill shots on holes 2, 10, and 12 and downhill shots on 4, 11, and 14. The designers did a great job incorporating this elevation.

Navigation flowed well and the course does a fine job of circling back to the parking lot after hole 16. There are many signs that point you in the right direction.
Cons: The course offers a very similar style of play throughout the round. While par 3 is done well here, the course doesn't offer much variety in lengths and pars. This left me wanting more multi-staged holes that put more emphasis on each shot's placement.

I don't have a big arm but I would have liked to air out a disc more here. There are a few holes over 400 feet, but with tight fairways, the creek, and sharp angles, I felt that I didn't get many opportunities to throw as far as I would have liked.

The course covers a pretty small piece of land, which creates some issues with other park goers and players. The running path plays dangerously close to a lot of the middle holes - close to the point where throwing isn't an option if people are on the path. There are also some close fairways, particularly holes 10 and 14.

Some of the holes are straight-forward and open, not offering any real challenge or risk.

Some of the tees could be longer.

I honestly thought that some of the fairways rewarded luck more than skill by being super tight and having randomly placed trees.
Other Thoughts: For some reason, I am one of the few people to rate this course lower than a 4.0 and I am not one to lowball a course. This is probably a style preference thing, as Roscoe Ewing is a fun-filled course that combines many elements of course design. I would recommend playing here, as the positives definitely outweigh the negatives and I can see players of all skill levels having fun here with the course having some basic holes and then a few holes that are very tight.

Being originally designed by Steady Ed and redesigned by the Jenkins family, this course offers some disc golf history and could not have been better designed with the land given.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Roscoe-Ewing is Worth Doing

1    8/25/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is something about the old school courses that is always fun to see. I like Roscoe Ewing disc golf course, where lids have been flying since the disco era. There have been changes over the years, current layout is only 16 holes. The quality of the holes is pretty good on most. There are two sets of concrete tee boxes, and a sign on each hole. Baskets work nicely. The layout is not hard to follow, and all basic elements of fun disc golf courses: elevation, water, woods and open air. Alternate pin positions on multiple holes may vary the look a bit, and are generally well placed. Not too easy, not too difficult, fun for most disc golfers. A nice stream runs through the park, and is strategically in play on many of the holes, so try to keep em' dry. The elevation is not overwhelming but is significant on a few holes. My favorite holes were 2, 4, 5, 11-13, 15 and 16. 11 and 13 the best. There are a couple of benches available if you need a break periodically. Park was clean and grass was cut. Nice conditions without mud or bugs when I was there.
Cons: There are walking trails very close to the course, and several people were using them when I played on a Monday morning. Not 18 holes, unfortunately, but a good layout for the space available.
Other Thoughts: Wanted to see some Steady Ed courses, even if the layout here has been altered from the old school days. A good quality course. Left a neon yellow champion Valkyrie on the last hole, but worth the sacrifice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic, Classy Course (with Punishing OB)

1    8/16/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Long / Short Tees.
- Well Mapped and Maintained.
- Challenging Environment
- History
- Elevation and Distance Balanced to Perfection
- Good shots are amply rewarded (which is rarer than might be expected).
Cons: - Water in Play on Many, Many Holes (Creek)
- Impenetrable Brush / Mini-Swamp
- Known Course w/ Good Rep. = Some Crowding
- Walking Path Meanders Through Course
- Disaster lurks
Other Thoughts: The course is beautiful. The holes are well designed. But...

The OB on this course is serious business. Yes, the creek is shallow, but it can run muddy, and be impossible to see into (as we found out). Yes, those railroad tracks are OB, but the dense, dense thicket that borders them can be nearly impossible to find an errant disc in (as we found out).

In my opinion, this just is not a beginner-friendly course. Adjust accordingly...

OTOH, the locals are nice. The course is beautiful, and the challenging nature of the wooded layout means that every shot counts!

This course was a blast to play...but some of our party were out-of-the-running and frustrated early.

Maybe work up to it...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Roscoe Ewing: An awesome course!

1    7/28/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: TysonDoesDG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Roscoe Ewing is an awesome course with a fantastic design. There are many unique holes, with plenty of elevation changes and hazards. It is a really nice park with a playground for the kids. The signage around the course Is nice, so you shouldn't have a problem with navigation. Locals seem to be very friendly, and they seem to care about the park, as well as the course.
Cons: There is only one bathroom, and it is kind of out of the way. There is also a walking trail that winds through the course, but I didn't have any issues with people not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, and a must play if you live in the area!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A barrel of monkeys

5+    10/2/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quality baskets, with bright pink tape on the center pole and tape on the bottom rungs pointing to each next tee; also with big orange and blue 'lollipop' tops that indicate hole # - which you can see from a good distance away

-Variety of shots needed, good mix of right and left leaning holes as well as many changes in elevation and terrain

-Nicely broken in (I mean that in a good way) concrete tee pads

-Signs for most holes, with posts to hang bags on

-Multiple tees for majority of holes, multiple pin locations as well that usually change 1-2 times a year

-Plenty of trash cans
Cons: -The walking path hasn't always been here, but it sure can be a bummer. What a stupid idea by the city. Probably part of the reason they took 8 and 9 out. Plenty of people will stop and wait if you're obviously ready to throw into them, but just as many ignore you. It can get busy, but it usually doesn't interrupt play for more than 1-2 minutes at a time. The path comes into play for half of the holes

-Finding the course parking lot might be hard for some, especially with two different parking lots aside the course. You want the one that says 'DISC GOLF COURSE,' not just 'Roscoe Ewing Park.'

-Only one bathroom, and it's where the deceased holes 8 and 9 were, which is kind of out of the way

-Hole 7 in particular can be hard for some to find, the amateur teepad was paved over to build a bridge a number of years ago (for the aforementioned walking path - can you tell I despise it?) so now the amateur 'tee' is right where the pavement meets the bridge. Could be confusing for first-timers
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun courses to play in NE Ohio without a doubt. It has water holes, but the water (a meandering stream referred to as 'Champion Creek') is rarely high enough to warrant concern about losing a disc. The course makes some great use of elevation, especially on holes 2, 4, 11, 12, and signature hole 13 - where you have to throw through a tight tree gap off of a huge hill, then way right, then over the river and back into the woods where the pin sits in a guarded circle. Some tighter lines, some wide open shots, a couple of roller opportunities.

The course is beautiful, especially with the creek running through it, and the big wooded hills on the second half. Hole 5 is particularly picturesque during the fall, where fallen apples cover the fairway and bees buzz around them (they're too drunk to be a threat, just step over them). Smells pretty good too.

A lot of pins that are tucked away in a little alcove of trees or bushes. A number of pins with steeps drops or water hazards directly behind them so you have to be smart with your approaches. In all one of the absolute best courses in NE Ohio, probably the best if the city had never put that walking path right through the middle of it or forced it down to 16 holes.

Keep an eye out for an expansion: rumors have been circulating that 7 more holes are going to be put in by Team Jenkins about a 5 minute walk from hole 7. Timeline unknown, but that's been the word on the street for a while now.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Roscoe Ewing

5+    8/3/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course with several different challenging tees and elevations.
Cons: Walking path goes through the middle of half the course and two holes have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Nice winding creek goes through the course and it is typically well maintained. Waiting for the park to hopefully become a 27 hole course with the rumors I'm hearing!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sweet!

1    7/6/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply a great setting for a course - charming, scenic, quiet, friendly, neighborhood park.
• Concrete pads were sufficient: two tees (blue and white) on most holes, with a few sharing a combined pad. Some tees offer completely different looks, some primarily add distance, changing the line minimally.
• Nice shot variety, with a good mix of left/right/straight, up/downhill, short/long, wooded/open.
• Good use of natural elements: elevation, creek, trees, combine nicely to provide a fun round that's well suited to most skill levels.
• Quite well treed with many technical holes, and just enough semi- open holes to provide some welcome breaks from playing lumberjack - but all the tees give you something to think about. Does a good job of rewarding distance only if it's reasonably controlled.
• Creek is an OB factor on several holes. You might have to get wet to retrieve a disc, but it's not wide or deep enough to present a serious threat of disc loss.
• Numerous elevation changes from tee to pin keeps things interesting, and a few baskets placed on or near slopes (or with other obstacles behind them) make you think about laying up vs. running the basket on approach shots. Also mixes in a few holes that play pretty flat, to provide an exceptionally well balanced round.
• Orange DGA lollipops help you find the target (especially walking up fairways on blind holes).
• Current layout allows you to start at hole 1 or hole 6 and play 'em all with no backtracking.
• Close to civilization should you want to eat, drink or need snacks before/after/between rounds.
• Tee posts and next tee signs to help keep you moving in the right direction and know when you get there.
Cons: • Walking/bike path winds through several of the holes: plastic hitting/sliding on asphalt is a pet peeve of mine, and as with any multi-use area, caution is warranted (but people here seemed to be well aware of what else was going on). Could mean some waiting during peak park hours.
• Course lies primarily in a gulley/valley with a creek at the bottom. Bugs were a bit of a nuisance, and it was a bit muddy and slippery in spots... I'm sure it retains water for a few days after a hard rain and is likely to be flooded/unplayable several times a year.
• Pros won't find the desired level of challenge here, but this course wasn't designed with National Tour events in mind.
• Pin positions and signs led to some confusion.
• Navigation was a bit of an issue in a few spots (particularly where you have to ford the creek after hole 15 I think … what are you supposed to do when the water level is high?), but not too bad on the whole. Course map needs to be redone to reflect current layout and is a bit confusing to read (would help to indicate which way is north ).
• No running water or bathrooms at the course.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for its location - what it lacks in terms of epic, championship caliber challenge, it makes up for with fun factor and is the kind of course you want to return to. I really think this is an excellent course that's so much fun to play, it's flaws are easily dismissed.

Appears to have undergone several changes over the years, including the loss of two holes, hence its current 16-hole layout. Lollipops on all baskets have been appropriately renumbered. Has aged quite well for such an old course (probably through the TLC of many locals - thanks for your efforts)!

Just a chill course in a peaceful, serene neighborhood park that butts up to people's backyards. Seldom have I seen so many able to enjoy the same piece of land at the same time. During our round, a doe and 2 fawns crossed one of the fairways while feeding, as well as several walkers, joggers, dog walkers, and rabbits… all enjoying this little chunk of leisure habitat for all. :)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Love this Course !

2-4    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Diverse holes. Not Too many woods, with water hazards! Good training course- in my "newly Disc Golf "Opinion.
Cons: There are no really long T's, no bathrooms, kinda busy.
Other Thoughts: nice park setting, residential area

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

5+    6/26/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: erocker
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an excellent disc golf course. Roscoe Ewing has a lot of variety in the holes, from flat to very hilly, from wooded to open, and with some water coming into play. Also, the front nine were supposedly designed by "Steady Ed" himself, which is pretty cool. There are double cement tees for each hole, as well as a practice basket next to the parking lot for additional putting practice.
Cons: I couldn't find any water fountains or bathrooms. Also the course is hard to follow, as there are not a lot of adequate signs pointing to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Ewing is definitely the best course in the Cleveland area. It is well designed, and can be played by pros and ametures alike with equal satisfaction.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home-town love.

5+    11/10/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home town course and definitely on my top 5 favorite. Roscoe Ewing is located in a beautiful semi-wooded park setting with a very nice creek coming into play on 7 holes. Although most of the time its just a basket being placed close to the creek. #15 long basket is the only one where you'll need to shoot over the creek. Two tee pads on every hole but 4 of them. Elevation here is moderate but still a lot of fun. Especially #15, #13, #4 and #2. Multiple pin positions on 9 holes. They will usually have them in longs during summer and in the shorts during winter. A good amount of nice benches and trash cans through out whole course. Course has two separate parking lots. The main is off Berkshire and was just recently re-paved. And the other is off of Guilford, you can start here on #9 and play the back first and end on #8. Roscoe is relatively short from shorts. Almost every hole is a birdie hole if you have good placement. But from longs course isn't too much longer, but plays way more technical. And all those birds start turning into hard pars. Course has a good variety of back-hand and side-arm throws. I've actually been able to play the whole course with just one throwing style and it will still reward me. Multiple lines of path provided on every hole makes this course fun to play every time I come.
Cons: Very busy park all year round especially during summer. They installed a walking trail that runs through the back nine about 6 years ago. And everybody really does take advantage of this. During summer expect to wait on walkers and bikers.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course in Ohio. Its practically historic being the oldest 18 hole course in Ohio. And has really grown into itself. I am very fortunate to live so close to something so amazing. The park also offers a small playground at the parking lot of Guilford. A very nice pavilion with picnic tables and a BBQ pit. As well as a small bathroom in that same parking lot. Which you will cross when playing #8.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.