Disc Golf Store
Medina, OH 
Roscoe Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 300ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Short/White



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Epic fun

5+    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro and Amateur tees at nearly every hole
Perfect use of elevation
Every hole a challenge, with few nightmare holes
Clever, clever course design
You might need every shot you have learned to play this course.
Scenery is top notch
Great use of the area's natural features
Cons: Train tracks come perilously close on a couple of holes.
I ripped my pants. (seriously, now that's a stretch as a "con")
Other Thoughts: After playing this course a couple more times my enthusiasm for it has dampened, though I still love it. The two biggest issues I see are 1: The walking path the bisects the course on numerous holes, and 2: Some of the fairways come very close to criss - crossing each other. There are some blind shots off of hills and over the walking path (15 comes to mind) that while they are epically fun for the thrower, are nearly blind as to if someone is crossing on the path, leading to potential injury. I little bit of tree trimming would be in order here. Getting to the tees for 16 kind of breaks the flow of the game up. You have to cross a bridge to get to hole 15, then cross right back over to get to tee 16. Don't get me wrong, it's marked and you can find it rather easily, but there is enough real estate on the side of the creek that 15's hole is on that I believe the 16th tees could have been placed there while leaving the pin right where it was. Maybe that's just me, though.

Beautiful hilltop shots, over water shots, at least 3 holes that are right on the shore, (and I mean RIGHT on the shore) or hill side. This course can easily make you use every shot in your arsenal, and is great for working on / testing out your rarely used shots. There are two tees per most holes, and the opportunity to play through on each (pro and amateur) add immediate replay value each visit. If you are near Cleveland or Akron, play this course!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Smart and Efficient

2-4    7/1/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tees per (most) holes. Tall wooden posts with distance information and place to hang bag. Benches. trash cans scattered about. Practice basket. Appears to be well maintained.
Cons:
From basket-15 to tee-16, need to walk past basket-13. Many holes play along/near walking/bike path. Elevated #15, a blind shot high over or through some trees, potentially bring the path and a couple tees/fairways into play.
Other Thoughts:
Tight-n-technical? Long-n-open? This well-thought out and designed course doesn't fall into either extreme. Overall length and tightness are moderate, but this course does a great job of taking a few open areas sprinkled between small bands of hardwoods and clusters of trees to create a very pleasant course requiring a blend of both length and accuracy. Most shots off the tee will be straight/S-shots, with the left-turns being more prevalent than the rights. A good portion of the holes are rather flat , although the early holes bring some moderate elevation into play, and numbers 13/15 have elevated tees up on a ridge, with in-between #14 having you re-obtain this elevation by going up a (seemingly) near-vertical bank. A very shallow, but not disc-stealing, stream plays near much of the last half of the course.

Holes 5, 14, 15, and 18 are single tee, although it appears 14 & 15 have two different pin positions. Sign at short tee for numbers 1, 4, 8, 10, 12, and at long tees for numbers 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 16, 17, no sign for #6, but it was easy enough to figure out.

Favourite holes: liked so many, but 3 & 4 stand out. Number-3 requires you go straight for a very long time before bending right around a couple rows of trees to find the basket slightly down a slope. #4 is an absolute classic to a blind basket. Starts off gently down a slope, then requires a sharp-left between two rows of trees, just as the land drops off steeply to a basket with a few trees behind, but the slope continuing down, too. Hit the gap just right, at the correct height, and you might hear the chains, but turning too early, too late, or being too long will certainly be a bit of a bummer!

A lot of fun to play from either tee location. Suitable for a wide range of players. Certainly worth a visit, and not too far of I71.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hope I don't get poison ivy

2-4    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: For our first time disc golfing EVER, it was a great pic, and perfect matchup with some dinner and trivia at BW3. Very woodsy and scenic, but unfortunately, we spent a lot of time looking for our discs. Lost One disc!
Other Thoughts: We played this again and with more experience, we enjoyed it much more. We met a really helpful fella named Nick who helped us to get around this course. We also had the distinct pleasure of meeting Nate Doss while we were playing, and he was gracious enough to sign our discs! He was accompanied the course designers, and Valerie Jenkins, another champion.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: charkboy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course! Challenging and picturesqe. Good variety of holes with elevation changes, relatively open to tight fairways, interesting pin placements and well kept grounds.
Cons: No really long, open "air-it-out" holes but that's ok.
The little maps on the tee signs could have been drawn a bit more accurately but they are still helpful for getting your bearings the first time out on this course.
Other Thoughts: This was our first time playing this course and it really is everything people say it is! And I'm not just saying that because I scored well or something. Acutally I didn't, but I found the course fun to play and challenging. It's also a pretty place to play. The creek is nice, most of the holes are wooded or at least somewhat so and it's very relaxing.

Great park!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Roscoe's Revenge

5+    6/5/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A fairly challenging short technical course. There is some good use of elavation change. Double cement pads is nice. It was cool to play a course the Steady Ed originally designed even if only 9 of the original holes remain. While its not in the woods the course is pretty tight.
Cons: Nothing major, I guess if it had been a double loop that would have been nice. No water or bathrooms that I saw on site.
Other Thoughts: Played this during roscoes revenge and it was really a great tourney put on by the Jenkins family.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 roscoes revenge gets me every time

2-4    10/12/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall great layout. Can't pin point any hole i really dislike here. Very challenging. Technical course with good changes in elevation. Will test your short game and drive accuracy. Challenging pin locations require an excellent first drive.
Multiple pin locations for nearly every hole.
Two tee's for different levels of players.
Signs are sufficient.
Easy to find.
Easy to navigate.
Practice basket with distance stones.
One of the first disc golf courses.
Cons: Make sure you park in the big parking lot by Roscoe Ewing DGC sign and putting basket. The other parking area will stick you back in the middle of the course, not by the first tee.

Normally busy with lots of disc golfers. No shots over water. No real grip and rip holes. Walkers on path sometimes oblivious to "beware of flying disc" signs painted on path.
Other Thoughts: Small river will eat up discs and comes into play on many holes. All par 3's.

Update: After playing more courses i increased my rating from a 3 1/2 to a 4. This course has it all, and in my opinion is the best Northeast Ohio has to offer.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio's First as well as mine

5+    11/26/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all the qualities of a fun course. It is not too easy and not too difficult. You will need to bring almost all of the shots in your bag for this course. You will use hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, backhand, maybe a roller or two, tomahawks, and thumbers. The variety that this course offers is tremendous; short, long, over, under, right, left, open, wooded.
There are alternate teepads for almost everyhole with the ends painted designating short/long tees. Distances were well marked as well with wooden signs on the posts near the teepads. In addition, a small block of wood on each tee post was painted with the layout of the hole.
The baskets are all in great shape. There is a practice basket near the parking lot with different markers at different distances.
Navigation has greatly been improved since I had last played. Little wooden stakes are all around the course after each hole pointing in the direction to the next tee; without these, navigating the course would be very difficult.
There are benches and trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: There is a walking path that runs through the course, there are a few holes that play along the path that could pose a problem if the walking path is busy. However, I believe the path was added to the park sometime after it had been an established DG course. There are warning signs to walkers that flying discs may be present.
There are no really long open holes to air it out.
Parking lot is small.
Other Thoughts: I may be biased as this is the course I played growing up as a kid. My grandfather, who lived in Medina, would always take me and my cousins when we were kids to this course to play. Of course, we used frisbees. Anyhow, I really do love this course for that reason and all the pros that I listed.

This course is a must play if you are in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Course in Great Shape Now

1    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fantastic course! Well maintained with most of the features and challenges you could want on a disc golf course (primarily lacking only a couple real bomber holes). To start there's a course info board with a large picture of the course map. The practice basket has a lot of marker stones indicating a wide variety of practice putt distances. The multi-chain DGA Mach-V baskets are in great shape and have bright orange number plates on top for enhanced visibility. The concrete tee pads are of sufficient size and most holes have dual tees. The ends of the concrete tee pads are painted with white or blue to indicate short or long respectively. The wooden tee posts are tall and easily visible and have mostly accurate distances posted on them. There are older metal tee signs that look to now be used primarily for hole sponsorship. Many of the wooden tee signs also have a small course map affixed to them (see the picture gallery for a sample of this and many other of the course amenities). There are excellent "next tee" signs in the ground pointing you in the right direction for every hole. There are warning notices painted on the walking/jogging/biking trails leading into the course. The fairways here are real, some are wide, some are narrower, a very good mix of distances. The shot variety is excellent too with hyzer and anny shots well balanced and some nice uphill and downhill throws too. There are trash cans and benches on many of the holes.
Cons:
With all the other well done features of this course what it needs now is a nice quality map showing the different tees and different pin positions will all the appropriate distances. The walking/jogging/biking trails can be hazardous, specifically on #16 where bikers coming around the turn are likely to get a facefull of plastic, that's just not good for the course, park, sport or bikers. There a decent bit of poison ivy on this course. The probable hyzer line for #13's long tee has you throwing almost directly at #16's tee box, another safety issue. Apparently the pin position on basket #3 changed recently and I must concur with the locals that it's not presently in a very fair spot. No restroom facilities and the parking lot is somewhat small. UPDATE: a local PM'ed me and let me know there's an "outhouse" by the playground left of hole #8.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course after the A-Tier event so the course was in pristine condition, you could still see the paint on the ground from the 10M circles and the OB lines. I also had the benefit of a couple local kids (Nick & Ian) showing me around. It's pretty clear that this course got or gets a lot of attention and care, according to what I've read and heard a big thanks goes out the the Jenkins family for a significant amount of work on this course. I didn't think this course was too hard... shooting a 54 my first time out from the long tees. There are a couple what appear to be throw-and-pray holes (#5? or #15 through the trees), but in general this is a solid course and worth playing as a destination course if you're close to the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course!

5+    7/11/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Ok, I am a homer here as this is the course I was introduced to the game on and have played hundreds of times. Some holes are open; well not compared to the course in Canton but to me, hole 1 is pretty open. Mostly though, it gets technical. That becomes very evident on the 2nd hole with a path up a hill; dog legging to the right with the basket back 50+ feet to the left after you get around the trees on the left side of the path. until you get up that far, there is a hill going down to nowhere on the left side, so use caution.

I could go on and on about each hole here but i wont; you just have to try it. Especially check out hole 4, 6, 13 and 15 as my favorite holes
Cons: The walking path makes you have to keep an eye open and then there are some people who will not watch their children who might run out and try to grap your discs. I have always seen courtesy from other golfers here but the walkers and people who chose to picknik outside of the picnic area dead in the center of a fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love the course and, while I absh non-golfers a bit there, most of them I will say will just give you a nod and a kind gesture in passing, its just the few that are not curteous that I have seen were not golfers.

Its technical, but not because it isnt fairly well kept; which makes the challenge fun and not frustrating.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/28/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Livin4Life
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: They just remodeled the course... moved a ton of baskets, and weeded out much of the disc stealing brush! Better then Ever!!!
Cons: The walkway running through the middle of the course... some of the blind holes place your disc on/near the path... where people could get hit, or pick up your discs
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for many years... It still remains one of the more difficult courses around here... with the new upgrades and maintenance, the course is a blast... if you don't mind dense trees =D

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.