Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Top Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Doin ok in KCK!

1    11/11/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout all over Rosedale Park! I didn't leave feeling like they could have done more with the land they had. It snaked nicely between woods and open spaces, with more emphasis on open. Nothing ridiculously long, but lots of interesting holes to keep the game moving.

Several of the fairways and approaches have steep dropoffs that will severely punish a bad drive. There's a good amount of risk/reward and I thought the elevation changes were used very well.

Benches and concrete teepads at every hole, which is nice. Frequent trash cans and there were bathrooms at the beginning of the course.

Very pretty scenery for most of the course. With the exception of a few holes that play very close to Mission Road and some backyards, it was a very pretty play this fall.

This course makes good use of the land it has. I didn't feel it was lacking in any way, or that the designers could have done anything better really.

While this course is one of KC's oldest (I believe second oldest, built in 1984), it didn't feel too terribly dated or anything. I think the local club has done a good job adding pin positions and the like to keep things interesting.

I never got bored on this course. While it's fairly open in most parts, there are some tight shots, and the elevation changes mean you have to be careful with your drives or you'll end up having your disc roll down a hill.

Nicely spread out for the most part, only a couple holes play close to each other and even then it's not a huge deal (10-11 come to mind). Nothing like fellow older course Swope Park.

There is a whole other course you can play here -- more on that later, but it exists and is also 18 holes.

The navigation generally makes sense and isn't hard to follow. On 9, watch for the staircase on the right that leads you down to 10. On 3, you have a tiny path near the fairway you can take to get to 4. That's about all as far as tricky areas go if I remember right.

I tend to grade courses partly by how memorable the holes are the night after I've played. 3, 4, 8, 10, 11, and 15 all stood out to me, especially 3 -- might be my favorite hole on the course. That's a tight shot done right.

Very few blind shots. You have to shoot well on most shots, but if you're a beginner, just take it easy and focus on throwing straight, and you'll do just fine.

Multiple pin positions keep things very interesting, sometimes changing the par of the hole -- more on these later though.

I read multiple reviews complaining about the trash level on the course, but it seemed under control when I was there in mid November. Might not always be like this, of course.
Cons: What is up with the GRAFFITI everywhere?! Seriously, it's on everything. Benches, trash cans, baskets, tees, signs, everywhere. Not sure if it's from fellow DGers who think it's cool (it's not) or those in the surrounding area. This isn't really that bad of an area in relative terms so I'm not sure what's going on.

The course sees a ton of use; while it was fairly slow when I was there on an overcast Monday in November, I could tell it's well traveled. Not that the grass is all trampled or anything, but you can definitely tell it sees some use and you might have to be patient on a weekend or a sunny day.

The signs are getting a bit faded and could use an update. Also, there's no markers for which pin position is active. That's an issue because...

...okay, the pin positions on this course are a bit ridiculous. I saw a couple holes with 7 or even 8 pin placements. I mean, I like having two or maybe three, but it gets a little pointless when they're literally a few feet away from each other. There's not a lot of blind shots in the current positions, but some of the others could get irritating.

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the fact that 16 and 17 play right along fenced yards, many of which have either unfriendly dogs or huge "NO TRESSPASSING" signs. Clearly the neighbors are not amused at DGers traipsing into their yards to get discs. Granted you would have to hit a pretty bad shot for this to be an issue, but it happens and it definitely made me play these holes more conservatively than I'd have liked.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is very centrally located and easy to get to from almost anywhere in the Metro. Take I-35 south of downtown (or north of Johnson County) to the Mission Road/Southwest Blvd exit, and head south on Mission Road. The park is on your right after about a mile.

I was surprised to see so many reviewers mention the neighborhood. I mean, the Rosedale neighborhood of KCK isn't fantastic or upscale by any means, but it's no war zone and don't forget, it's just a few blocks north of Johnson County. Besides, it's an urban park. I wouldn't want to wander around ANY urban park after nightfall. Maybe I'm wrong, but I think if you lock up your car you should be fine. If you won't play here due to the "neighborhood", that totally cuts out Swope, Blue Valley, and Kessler park too. Keep your head on a swivel (as you should do in ANY large city), and enjoy the game. You should be fine.

Overall, this is a very fun course that players of all skill levels can enjoy for different reasons. Good maintenance (minus graffiti) and a good layout are key here. Beginners can enjoy an established course they won't totally bomb at; experts can enjoy a trip down memory lane seeing how the game has progressed since the 80s. Happy discing in KCK!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love the course, love the people

5+    9/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: constantlyej
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: It is a fun course, easy to locate. The holes are very well laid out and finding your line is pretty easy once you get a feel for the course.

When the course is recently mowed, it is beautiful. There is a lot of variety on this course. I have found that every hole has potential for par, birdies are attainable with great drives. Ace runs on about 3-4 holes depending on pin placement.
Cons: Sometimes it gets kind of busy, but I have never found that to be a real problem. Other than that, I really wish that people would pick up their trash and keep the course a little cleaner- but I don't blame this all on disc golfers. The park is fairly busy by many people in the area
Other Thoughts: I love the people. There is always a great group of guys to sit and visit with around hole one. This is by far the most social course in the entire city, which makes it one of the greatest courses to play in the city. It makes taking a little bit of an extra drive worth while when you can sit and visit with Charlie and Gabby.

Lock the Doors

5+    2/16/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Offers a variety of pin locations, distances, hole types, and shot selections. The course is well kept and maintained. It is in a multi-use park, but the course works around that quite well. Tee boxes are cement and there are hole signs and benches at each.
Cons: OB here can be very unforgiving on most holes, you'll either go down a giant hill in the woods or into someone's back yard. I suppose you could risk the attack dog and getting shot at to retrieve your disc from the yards, but let's face it man, that disc is gone. That being said, the neighborhood around the park isn't the greatest, so go during the day and not at 2:30 in the morning.
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course after work and never had a problem while I was there. Aside from 1 lost disc, I enjoy my experience everytime I go there. This is a tournament-worthy course and hosts them every year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open, wooded, short and long holes. Well marked and easy to navigate
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Incomplete

1    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mapping
Tee Maps
Clear path to each tee/basket
Great layout/course plan
Cons: Looks a little older but well kept
Some of the tee maps are faded - expected over time
Some tees have all the marked baskets and others have one of many, unclear
Other Thoughts: I admit that I only played this top course and didn't have time to finish yet. Though I have a hard time finding any negatives for this course. Impressed with the level of deatail and the great layout to cover 18+ baskets (x2+). I can't wait to go back and finish this course and play the lower course as well. So far, the upper course is impressivly balanced and flexible for just about all types of play and ranges. Proximity to Oakie Joes is great too, and they sell discs!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I Love Rosedale

2-4    8/9/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.8 Years
Pros: Hole 3: Fun tunnel shot through the woods. Great for right handed golfers with one of the hole placement.

Hole 5: Another fun tunnel shot. The elevation change is fun to throw low on. There's a nice drop off after about 50 feet.

Hole 7: If you want to practice your distance, this hole is the one for you. At the long basket, this is a perfect driving hole for the average player.

Hole 10: This is a fun hole to play with right handed anhyzer shots. Fun to play with those understable discs (there's never too much wind down there either - lots of protection by the trees)

Hole 13: Good elevation change. Easy to overdrive the hole.

Hole 14: If you have an overstable fairway driver, excellent opportunity to practice.
Cons: Hole 9: The island landing is fun to mess with, but why one pin is par 4 and the pin 30 feet in front of it is a par 3, i have no idea...

Hole 13: Open, not many trees.


Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It's very playable for the average dolfer. There's a few birdie opportunities too. There's plenty of wooded areas that aren't too difficult to play through also. If you're in the area, you gotta play this course.

 Rosey Rosedale

5+    6/29/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: jlherrmann
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rosedale has a very good mix of open and wooded holes. Some that can be done in two, or even aced, and some that border on needing a par 4 rating. It is well worn, well laid out, well marked. Some of the elevation changes can be trickier than they look. Cement tee pads are in good shape, and the park is well maintained.
Cons: There are a couple of long walks between holes, and a couple of others where an errant toss can whack the party in front of you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school, but still a lot of fun

5+    10/3/2011   2/20/2012
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixed skill course with multiple pin positions that make this course very adaptable from pitch and putt to championship caliber. Pin position changes (up to 8 on some holes) offers great variety. Shorter pin positions are good for beginner and intermediate players. Longer ones are good for more advanced players. Good signage. Even better sister course in the wooded bottoms.
Cons: A bit run down due to its age. Inconsistent maintenance can mean looking for discs in plain ol' grass if you come here at the wrong part of the mowing cycle. Big, crowds, (being centrally located and rec friendly, this is easily the most crowded course in the KC metro). Get here before 10 AM on a weekday if you want to play. Hole 18 can be very dangerous. I see short pin setups here more than I would like when I visit. Orientation can be a bit confusing for first timers. No multiple tees, so you're kind of stuck with whatever layout is offered.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is your general 1980's era park golf. The park has a wooded perimeter with a mostly open center. Given Rosedale's age and spotty maintenance, this course has kept up well with the times, as its popularity with local players shows. Not the best in town, but you can park here and play two courses. Easily accessible from I-35.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My new KC favorite

1    11/12/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: marteh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course for without being discouraging to a fairly new player. Good variety of right & left drives, some wide open & some technical. Played quickly in spite of a lot of groups on the course. Nice terrain changes and some risk/ reward holes with pins near the edge of the bluffs. A lot of trees but the leaves were not too deep to find discs and the grass in the open was not too deep. Benches on the tees and good signs showing fairways and possible pin locations
Cons: On a couple of holes I had a hard time seeing which basket was in use the basket from the tee, but I'm only 5'6 and the guys in my group who were 6' could see them. a couple of rocky fairways would be pretty hard on cheaper plastic, but I was warned about that & a Champion disc showed no damage.
Other Thoughts: I have played several KC courses one or two times and Swope several, but Rosedale is my new favorite. I'm looking forward to playing "Down Under" on my next trip!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/20/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mfrench
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of great holes with multiple placements. Great variety, offers a challenge. Plenty of benches, trashcans, a water fountain. An active park that includes other activites.
Cons: Can be very busy, in parking and on the course. Holes can get backed up. Might be a little tough to navigate on the first trip. A few places where the woods are unforgiving to finding skew discs.
Other Thoughts: A great course that offers a fun experience.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.