Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Top Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #10 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    1/28/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 64  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Benches on most tees
-very long tee pads
-very mature trees and lots of elevation changes
-mix of technical shots and distance shots
-mutliple pin locations
-full color signs
-easy to navigate
Cons: -one fairway parallel with a busy road (only separated by thin treeline)
-one fairway next to fenced in backyards

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rosedale

5+    10/8/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The most centrally located and busiest course in KC. Offers several dogleg shots and tough approaches with baskets usually surrounded by trees. Plays left, so it forces RHBH players to adjust their game. Easy to meet other players.
Cons: Dirty and poorly maintained. Busy with regular, slow playing lines. Lots of riff raff getting high at every bench, especially down under. Built on top of a steep rocky bluff, so errant throws are extra punishing and difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Although this park is busy, its only due to its location. Its one of the oldest DG parks in KC, but needs a serious overhaul to be family friendly. Worthwhile to play for shot variety and meeting new people.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My new KC favorite

1    11/12/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: marteh
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course for without being discouraging to a fairly new player. Good variety of right & left drives, some wide open & some technical. Played quickly in spite of a lot of groups on the course. Nice terrain changes and some risk/ reward holes with pins near the edge of the bluffs. A lot of trees but the leaves were not too deep to find discs and the grass in the open was not too deep. Benches on the tees and good signs showing fairways and possible pin locations
Cons: On a couple of holes I had a hard time seeing which basket was in use the basket from the tee, but I'm only 5'6 and the guys in my group who were 6' could see them. a couple of rocky fairways would be pretty hard on cheaper plastic, but I was warned about that & a Champion disc showed no damage.
Other Thoughts: I have played several KC courses one or two times and Swope several, but Rosedale is my new favorite. I'm looking forward to playing "Down Under" on my next trip!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/20/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mfrench
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of great holes with multiple placements. Great variety, offers a challenge. Plenty of benches, trashcans, a water fountain. An active park that includes other activites.
Cons: Can be very busy, in parking and on the course. Holes can get backed up. Might be a little tough to navigate on the first trip. A few places where the woods are unforgiving to finding skew discs.
Other Thoughts: A great course that offers a fun experience.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Model Course

1    4/16/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a gorgeous and well maintained course with thoughtful tee and pin locations. The whole course was filled with good variety and shots that made sense and kept the game flowing very naturally. Very clean park too. I felt like I could have used most all of the discs in my bag to properly conquer this one.
Cons: Some shots were a little too close to the road for comfort and my brother actually lost a disc in the back of a garbage truck that was driving by. It also looked like there might be big crowds most of the time (understandable for such a nice course). I was a little concerned that there seemed to be too many opportunities for kids to play on the fairways and get knocked silly by a driver. The biggest con for this course is that I live 400 miles away ;)
Other Thoughts: There was a brilliant and honorable feature of this course that I'd like to see everywhere: A drop box where you can return missing/found discs and a local official opens it and calls the numbers or asks people to show up to claim their lost discs on a specific, posted date and time. Cool.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/24/2010   1/27/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 114  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice concrete teepads, signs and benches at every hole, trashcans are scattered around the course, baskets are all in good shape and are moved frequently. This course has a lot to offer as far as shot variety: fairways ranging from narrow and short, to open bombs and everything in between, some risk/reward situations can make for some interesting lines, some elevation that plays really well, multipe basket locations, some blind shots, a lot of length variety without having anything too short or overwhelmingly long.
There are also some benches and a practice basket by the start of the course. Often times, there will be someone selling used discs here for cheap.
Cons: Can be extremely crowded, especially on the weekends. The grass isn't consistently mowed, so sometimes it can be long but I have rarely had any problem finding any discs in the open. If you have problems keeping it on the fairway, you might end up in some serious trouble or lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This park offers two of the best courses in the area. Two dramatically different courses, great in thier own way. Another favorite in the area is Waterworks. If there was a "must play" list for the KC area, Rosedale and Waterworks would be right at the top.
Down the street there is a gas station with a decent disc selection and Oklahoma Joes BBQ, my personal favorite.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the mult. pin placements

1    9/16/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 155  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice park course situated in Kansas City, KS. This course offers a nice mix of open and technical shots with good variations of distances throughout. There is a lot of different pin placements, which I thought added a lot to the course, because with the 6 or so layouts available there are new challenges and changes every time you play the course. The course also offers a good mix of elevation shots throughout. The tee signs a well marked and have nice concrete tee pads. The course flows well throughout the park which makes it easy to navigate the park. The park also offers a bottom, more technical course, which is another bonus. There is a variety of shots required to play this course which add to the overall challenge of the course.
Cons: There are a few flaws with this course. The course was a fun course, but challenge wise was only about a 3.5/5. This course also was lacking the wow factor to put it above other courses. The course was also rather boring with design and beauty.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course that I would recommend if you are in the Kansas City area after Water Works. This course has some challenge and is very fun to play, but many of the locals were rude and disrespectful of the course which is a big negative in my book. The multiple pin placements really add to the course and make it stand out in my book, because you are basically getting more than one course with different difficulties.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not as hard of a course to navigate as the down low but it was just as fun, concrete pads are awesome and each hole is a challenge, plus multiple placements, flat course with some tree obstacles not very technical like the bottom, if u miss slightly with your drive could still be a good shot.
Cons: some holes seemed like the same shot, not all, it had a good mixture, but when i came to these it was kinda a downer when i was like ok didnt we play a hole just like this but it was still ok.
Other Thoughts: had a great time at this park and anyone going to play make sure u have time to play both courses

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course- Very Busy

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of baskets that are moved frequently.
Diverse holes, some long and open, some short with obstacles.
Right off the highway.
Challenging for all players, but good place to learn.
Flows very locigally.
Has another course, Down Under, literally right below it.
Cons: This is the most crowded course in KC which can be good and bad. You might be able to hop in with a group and have fun with them, or be stuck behind a group of beginners that don't understand ettiquette.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and advanced players that play a variety of courses.
Allow yourself plenty of time to finish as it is busy.
There is also one of the best courses anywhere, at the same park.
Great KC course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Course Down Below...

1    6/19/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a hilly park of south-western KC. Plenty of changes in elevation here. Lots of uphill/downhill shots. Excellent variation in shots here. Left to Right/Right to Left and even straight shots are here. Good mix of open/wooded here, but not as many wooded holes as I would have liked. Good variation of distances and there weren't very many "should have been par 2" holes. Tee signs were in good shape. Tee pads were the biggest I've ever seen! Benches and trash cans at most tees. Baskets were in good shape and had flags on the top of them which made them easy to see from the tee.
Cons: Grass really needed to be mowed when I was there. I spent a good half hour looking for discs in the open. Navigation was a little rough. I skipped one hole and spent lots of time looking for the next tee. Not in the best neighborhood. I saw some guys sitting at a table who looked like drug dealers. Some of the fairways with rocks really tore up the cheap discs (DX Pro-D etc.).
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. I didn't have a good day when I came. I got a disc stuck in a tree and I wasted tons of time because of navigations issues and looking for discs in the tall grass.

*UPDATE* I decided to up the rating from a 3 to a 4 because I've played a lot of courses that were worse recently and I realized that this isn't that bad of a course.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.