Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Top Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #6 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hone your skills here

5+    11/8/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Mr. Sir
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course to work on your skills, it has some technical holes and some farily open ones as well. Always find a good group of player to shoot a round with. If your accurate lots of birdie chances
Cons: This park gets crowded quick. This parking is also crowded. Not that it's a true con but if your not accurate you could end up down a cliff for your up shot
Other Thoughts: Keep it on the green. Play on players. There is an am tourney there every fall the RAC. Its a great time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun open course

1    2/7/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open course than can be played easily with any skill level. Some interesting terrain changes and reasonable tree challenges.
Cons: Sometimes hard to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Can be incredibly busy on weekends, so be prepared to queue up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 quite simply...a really good course

5+    11/22/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -alot of different pin placements.
-really nice variation in types of holes, some are in the woods, or out in the open, some play right to left and vice versa. a few tunnel shots come into play also.
-almost every hole has some sort of challenge, alot of the baskets, are within 10-15' feet of either a densely wooded area, or a severe drop off. either way a "slightly" errant shot could have you practicing your wilderness survival skills.
-overall a great course.
Cons: -there isn't alot of change in elevation throughout the entire course, and most of the holes are not terribly long.

-listed among my pros are the severe drop offs looming near some of the holes. I have to include this among the cons also. I spent the better part of 20 minutes searching for a disc that had rolled down a steep, muddy drop off.

-not in the best of areas in KC. best played before dusk.
Other Thoughts: overall, a great place to play a round. A very challenging course, that will test your technical skills, and your patience. However, not overly frustrating, or difficult.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stop on by you will love it

5+    4/2/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in the KC area.
Great mixture of shots and a ton of pin placements that are moved a lot.
Elevation is used well.
One of my favorite courses to play. If I'm down in KC again I'll be stopping through
Cons: The only big con I have with this course is the people. Sometimes there are WAY to many people to deal with and trash.
That having been said, it isn't really a CON to the course.
Everytime but once I have had to wait on the first hole because of the people. So forget throwing multiple discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course and I highly recommend it. Even though it is arguable one of the busiest courses in KC, go in the morning or on an overcast day and you will be pretty isolated.

I believe there are a few bathrooms throughout as well

One of the other great things about this course is there is another 18 hole course right below it so you can get 36 in if you have the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love how many pin placements there are, fun variety
Cons: cliffs can be a problem, especially with the proximity to the hole. don't overshoot the putts, rollers can be a bad idea
Other Thoughts: Good variety of length. One of the closer courses in the area. It is very well trafficked, so do not expcet to blow torugh the course, there are occastionally holdups. Very popular course to hold tournaments, so plese be aware of those as they hapen.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is currently set up for the upcoming World Championships, so all the pins are in the long positions and for the tourney, hole 6 is being skipped entirely. There is an extra hole after the real #9 to make up for it. Anyway, what a great course. As others have mentioned, there are multiple baskets on each hole, and some have as many as 9! The slopes (cliffs...) on the sides of a lot of the holes can be brutal, especially with an errant up shot or skip and roll. #1 is tucked way back on the right (495') and the cliff is looming nearby. Tough indeed. #4 is a tunnel shot w/ the cliff on the right, through the woods and then around the corner. #8 stood out to me also with a nice island green and a challenging up shot.
Cons: I missed Ken Climo by about 10 minutes - he was out there warming up. I didn't really see too many cons here, other than some of the footing being rough due to rain. Slippery on those slopes!
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, stop off at this one. I didn't get a chance to play the Down Under course (locals said it was pretty damp), but I hear it's good too. The course was busy today, but we never got held up. Awesome challenge! Looking forward to watching the top guys play it next week.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 KC staple and my home course

5+    5/19/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Moufwash
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of holes, well maintained, easy to navigate, good scenery. Tons of different hole locations with benches at every tee. I seem to always meet people at this course and you get a very wide variety of people playing there. Having the lower course (down under) there as well is great cuz it often gets pretty crowded at Rosedale and Down Under provides an options if its windy or you just want to work on your control.
Cons: By far the most popular course I have ever played.
Other Thoughts: Great course I play all the time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Kansas City Classic

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is quite large and this course borders the tree line to the "Down Under" couse which provides for a nice scenery backdrop. This is another one of Kansas Cities great courses and has been around for along time. The established DG community in KC probably favors this course over others due to its location and having a sister course that is a technical wonder!
-There are minor elevation changes with 10 Down/4 Up/and 4 Flat. The front 9 was much more flat than the back 9.
-There is a great mix of tee placement that ranges from tight within trees to out in an open fairway.
-Has great extended concrete tee pads along with benches at every hole.
-All holes have trees as a factor to deal with. Only a few holes really require tight corridor type drives.
-Overall Scenic Beauty is fantastic.
-Tee signs very helpful and located at each tee. Up to 5 different basket locations on some holes.
Cons: -No map other than through the course review link on this site.
-Length variety is average. 7 of 244-299/ 10 of 300-399? 1 of 429.
-Most of the fairways are straight (13) with 1 left and 4 right.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes:

# 3 which is a great corridor hole and absolutely terrific.

# 14 which felt like a pinball machine of trees with a nice narrow corridor to slip through.

-Portable restrooms are located next to Tee #1.

-There were only a couple of holes where navigation as a first time player was odd.
-Transition from #3 - #4 is via a path on the left side of Hole #3. We actually walked back up the fairway because we did not see it until we got to #4.
-Transition from #12 - #13 is up the hill toward the entrance and crosses the road.

For a more detailed hole by hole review - http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../d143ce5b.pdf

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rosedale Rocks!

1    7/9/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Up to 5 pin locations on all holes, allowing for endless possible variations. Hills, tight fairways, and some snarly woods make this course a good challenge.
Cons: Couldn't play the lower, the local that showed me around said it was under water from a recent rainstorm.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lived up to expectations

1    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of left and right holes makes you expand your game. Elevation changes were nothing spectacular but I wouldn't call it flat by any measure. A lot of trees but I always had an open shot at the pin.
Cons: A little crowded and all the pin placements appeared to be in the shortest positions (maybe for the winter?).
Other Thoughts: 3rd hole gives you a feel for the other Rosedale course narrow fairway in a solid tree lined rough rugged terrain.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.