Kansas City, KS
Rosedale Park - Top Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Doin ok in KCK!

1    11/11/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: Great layout all over Rosedale Park! I didn't leave feeling like they could have done more with the land they had. It snaked nicely between woods and open spaces, with more emphasis on open. Nothing ridiculously long, but lots of interesting holes to keep the game moving.

Several of the fairways and approaches have steep dropoffs that will severely punish a bad drive. There's a good amount of risk/reward and I thought the elevation changes were used very well.

Benches and concrete teepads at every hole, which is nice. Frequent trash cans and there were bathrooms at the beginning of the course.

Very pretty scenery for most of the course. With the exception of a few holes that play very close to Mission Road and some backyards, it was a very pretty play this fall.

This course makes good use of the land it has. I didn't feel it was lacking in any way, or that the designers could have done anything better really.

While this course is one of KC's oldest (I believe second oldest, built in 1984), it didn't feel too terribly dated or anything. I think the local club has done a good job adding pin positions and the like to keep things interesting.

I never got bored on this course. While it's fairly open in most parts, there are some tight shots, and the elevation changes mean you have to be careful with your drives or you'll end up having your disc roll down a hill.

Nicely spread out for the most part, only a couple holes play close to each other and even then it's not a huge deal (10-11 come to mind). Nothing like fellow older course Swope Park.

There is a whole other course you can play here -- more on that later, but it exists and is also 18 holes.

The navigation generally makes sense and isn't hard to follow. On 9, watch for the staircase on the right that leads you down to 10. On 3, you have a tiny path near the fairway you can take to get to 4. That's about all as far as tricky areas go if I remember right.

I tend to grade courses partly by how memorable the holes are the night after I've played. 3, 4, 8, 10, 11, and 15 all stood out to me, especially 3 -- might be my favorite hole on the course. That's a tight shot done right.

Very few blind shots. You have to shoot well on most shots, but if you're a beginner, just take it easy and focus on throwing straight, and you'll do just fine.

Multiple pin positions keep things very interesting, sometimes changing the par of the hole -- more on these later though.

I read multiple reviews complaining about the trash level on the course, but it seemed under control when I was there in mid November. Might not always be like this, of course.
Cons: What is up with the GRAFFITI everywhere?! Seriously, it's on everything. Benches, trash cans, baskets, tees, signs, everywhere. Not sure if it's from fellow DGers who think it's cool (it's not) or those in the surrounding area. This isn't really that bad of an area in relative terms so I'm not sure what's going on.

The course sees a ton of use; while it was fairly slow when I was there on an overcast Monday in November, I could tell it's well traveled. Not that the grass is all trampled or anything, but you can definitely tell it sees some use and you might have to be patient on a weekend or a sunny day.

The signs are getting a bit faded and could use an update. Also, there's no markers for which pin position is active. That's an issue because...

...okay, the pin positions on this course are a bit ridiculous. I saw a couple holes with 7 or even 8 pin placements. I mean, I like having two or maybe three, but it gets a little pointless when they're literally a few feet away from each other. There's not a lot of blind shots in the current positions, but some of the others could get irritating.

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the fact that 16 and 17 play right along fenced yards, many of which have either unfriendly dogs or huge "NO TRESSPASSING" signs. Clearly the neighbors are not amused at DGers traipsing into their yards to get discs. Granted you would have to hit a pretty bad shot for this to be an issue, but it happens and it definitely made me play these holes more conservatively than I'd have liked.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is very centrally located and easy to get to from almost anywhere in the Metro. Take I-35 south of downtown (or north of Johnson County) to the Mission Road/Southwest Blvd exit, and head south on Mission Road. The park is on your right after about a mile.

I was surprised to see so many reviewers mention the neighborhood. I mean, the Rosedale neighborhood of KCK isn't fantastic or upscale by any means, but it's no war zone and don't forget, it's just a few blocks north of Johnson County. Besides, it's an urban park. I wouldn't want to wander around ANY urban park after nightfall. Maybe I'm wrong, but I think if you lock up your car you should be fine. If you won't play here due to the "neighborhood", that totally cuts out Swope, Blue Valley, and Kessler park too. Keep your head on a swivel (as you should do in ANY large city), and enjoy the game. You should be fine.

Overall, this is a very fun course that players of all skill levels can enjoy for different reasons. Good maintenance (minus graffiti) and a good layout are key here. Beginners can enjoy an established course they won't totally bomb at; experts can enjoy a trip down memory lane seeing how the game has progressed since the 80s. Happy discing in KCK!

I love the course, love the people

5+    9/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: constantlyej
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: It is a fun course, easy to locate. The holes are very well laid out and finding your line is pretty easy once you get a feel for the course.

When the course is recently mowed, it is beautiful. There is a lot of variety on this course. I have found that every hole has potential for par, birdies are attainable with great drives. Ace runs on about 3-4 holes depending on pin placement.
Cons: Sometimes it gets kind of busy, but I have never found that to be a real problem. Other than that, I really wish that people would pick up their trash and keep the course a little cleaner- but I don't blame this all on disc golfers. The park is fairly busy by many people in the area
Other Thoughts: I love the people. There is always a great group of guys to sit and visit with around hole one. This is by far the most social course in the entire city, which makes it one of the greatest courses to play in the city. It makes taking a little bit of an extra drive worth while when you can sit and visit with Charlie and Gabby.

Lock the Doors

5+    2/16/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate. Offers a variety of pin locations, distances, hole types, and shot selections. The course is well kept and maintained. It is in a multi-use park, but the course works around that quite well. Tee boxes are cement and there are hole signs and benches at each.
Cons: OB here can be very unforgiving on most holes, you'll either go down a giant hill in the woods or into someone's back yard. I suppose you could risk the attack dog and getting shot at to retrieve your disc from the yards, but let's face it man, that disc is gone. That being said, the neighborhood around the park isn't the greatest, so go during the day and not at 2:30 in the morning.
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course after work and never had a problem while I was there. Aside from 1 lost disc, I enjoy my experience everytime I go there. This is a tournament-worthy course and hosts them every year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open, wooded, short and long holes. Well marked and easy to navigate
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Incomplete

1    11/15/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mapping
Tee Maps
Clear path to each tee/basket
Great layout/course plan
Cons: Looks a little older but well kept
Some of the tee maps are faded - expected over time
Some tees have all the marked baskets and others have one of many, unclear
Other Thoughts: I admit that I only played this top course and didn't have time to finish yet. Though I have a hard time finding any negatives for this course. Impressed with the level of deatail and the great layout to cover 18+ baskets (x2+). I can't wait to go back and finish this course and play the lower course as well. So far, the upper course is impressivly balanced and flexible for just about all types of play and ranges. Proximity to Oakie Joes is great too, and they sell discs!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Spot

1    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Good variety of shots in and out of the woods. The wooded shots have fairly easy openings. Oklahoma Joes is right down the road, so that is always a plus.
Cons: Very worn, slightly trashy. Was a windy day, but alot of liter about. Wasn't always easy to find where the pin was, due to multiple locations per hole, and not very well marked.
Other Thoughts: All and all is a godo course and a good. Grab some Joes between the Down Under and the Top, and your good to go.

I Love Rosedale

2-4    8/9/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.3 Years
Pros: Hole 3: Fun tunnel shot through the woods. Great for right handed golfers with one of the hole placement.

Hole 5: Another fun tunnel shot. The elevation change is fun to throw low on. There's a nice drop off after about 50 feet.

Hole 7: If you want to practice your distance, this hole is the one for you. At the long basket, this is a perfect driving hole for the average player.

Hole 10: This is a fun hole to play with right handed anhyzer shots. Fun to play with those understable discs (there's never too much wind down there either - lots of protection by the trees)

Hole 13: Good elevation change. Easy to overdrive the hole.

Hole 14: If you have an overstable fairway driver, excellent opportunity to practice.
Cons: Hole 9: The island landing is fun to mess with, but why one pin is par 4 and the pin 30 feet in front of it is a par 3, i have no idea...

Hole 13: Open, not many trees.


Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It's very playable for the average dolfer. There's a few birdie opportunities too. There's plenty of wooded areas that aren't too difficult to play through also. If you're in the area, you gotta play this course.

great place for a quick 9

2-4    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: teddster06
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
Pros: -Tons of different shots/hole types.
-Easy to follow no confusion on hole placement or tee pads.
-Tees and baskets are in good condition.
-Shaded most of the course so it was no problem playing in 100+temps.
-Lots of benches and trash cans.
-Multi-basket locations
Cons: -For how many well placed trash cans there are it was kinda trashy.
-Some holes placements are just a tad far fetched for some par 3s but far from impossible.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really liked this course and I love the fact that there is a bottom 18 course just down the hill. It's a great location to meet people from anywhere in kc and would be a great park to play all 36 holes and have a vast variety of land holes and shot types. Great course for beginners and pros alike.

Good mix of holes

5+    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 46  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of alternate hole locations keeps it fresh and fun every time. Every hole has at least three positions, and many have five (hole 8 has 7) 10/10

There is a great variety of openness on shots. Some holes have tight drives, some tight approaches, some of both, only a couple that are pretty open the whole way, but those are nice for a breather. For example, drive on the first hole is pretty open, but the approach is into a treed region and is very technical. 10/10

Baskets are in great condition and tees are concrete and also in great condition. 10/10

Navigation between holes is pretty easy. A couple of exceptions are after the ninth hole (look for the staircase down the slope to the right) and also the 18 tee looks like it could be the 13 tee (13 is across the road to the right), but nothing too difficult. 9/10

The course is pretty well manicured most of the time. There are visible, regularly mowed fairways that help with navigation, but the rough isn't too deep or uncomfortable. There are lots of benches and several trash cans that help with litter. 9/10

Tee signs with maps on every hole that show distances and all of the various hole positions help with navigation of the actual holes. Several holes are blind, but the maps and fairways make it pretty easy most of the time. 8/10

Obstacles are used very well and help make up for the lack of more than mild elevation on the first 12 holes. 9/10

Not too difficult for more advanced beginners. You probably don't want to play this course if you're occaisionally a wild thrower because of the dropoffs mentioned in the cons. Overall though the course does a good job of challenging many skill levels, longer hole positions can challenge more advanced players, while shorter positions can be exciting for beginners. 7/10


There is good variety in the distance. However, longer holes tend to be more open while shorter holes are more technical or require more shot shaping. The difference in numerical lengths is there, but not as much in how long the holes feel.There are some holes that are exceptions to this for sure (5 immediately comes to mind as a short hole, while 8 can be a monster with either of the back 2 positions). It could definitely be better, but it's still pretty good. 7/10

There isn't a ton of severe elevation present, there is definitely more of it in play on the back nine, while the front nine is pretty flat. The elevation is still used well even at spots where there isn't a ton. How flat it is isn't really noticeable while playing, even after playing it about eight times I never really noticed until I thought about it for this review. 5/10
Cons: Most holes are pretty simple and straightforward, and there aren't very many different ways to play them. 3/10

Discs can be pretty easy to lose. There are lots of steep dropoffs if you venture very far off the fairways, and getting down to them can be dangerous and nearly impossible. 3/10

Not a huge variety in distance. Longer holes tend to be more open while shorter holes are more technical or require more shot shaping. The difference in numerical lengths is there, but not in how long the holes feel.There are some holes that are exceptions for sure (5 immediately comes to mind as a short hole, while 8 can be a monster with either of the back 2 positions), but overall 4/10

Some hole positions demand different shot paths (5, 6, 10, 12 favor left to right, 13 favors right to left), but the course is below average in this area overall. 4/10
Other Thoughts: Overall difficulty 6/10

Often appears more crowded than it is since there is another 18 hole course on site.

Be sure to bring solid footwear, the course is rocky in places.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recreationally fun

2-4    7/25/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Teesigns present, teepads are large, navigation relatively simple, benches a plus, colored poles help with hole distances. good mix of shots left to right, right to left.
Cons: A couple of holes have 8-10 different placements fine, but makes it awefully hard to figure out where to go, maybe spend extra money on some alt teepads. that makes every pin placement x2.
Other Thoughts: The course is well played and having a down under in the same park bonus. Also, DD has moved their store in just up the road so if you lose a disc stop by. Also right next to DD is the best BBQ in the nation so Easy to make a good day out of rosedale

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.