Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 183ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: About a 50 degree grade up



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Doozy Down Under

1    2/22/2017   2/26/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 308  Reviewed: 205  Exp: 13.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rosedale Down Under is full of woods and has several holes featuring significant elevation changes. None of them are longer than 300', so distance is manageable. If you can make the drives without trees interfering you can get chances at birdies. The pin locations are often near trees and on sloping hilly terrain, so even if you are able to get a good drive, the putt may not be easy.

The tees were natural, but had recently been covered with a fresh layer of fine gravel. They are not very big, but are adequate. Signs near each one indicating the hole number. Benches are usually available by the tee and there are trash cans here and there. I loved the bright orange and yellow baskets, they were easy to spot amongst the trees.

I liked the constant rises and falls in the fairways, and variety of shots presented. The trees are numerous, and create some lanes that demand technical throws with touch. Danger of bad bounces and rolls is there almost constantly, but the lines usually provide a fair chance to get through. A knock down here and there is not the worst, with the short lengths, saving par can be done sometimes.
Cons: The tees can be smaller than I would like at times, and the rocks at the front end tripped me up once or twice. Number 11 tee is a rock that drops off the side of the hill, if you overrun it the game will likely be cut short right there. Fun hole, but those kind of boxes make me nervous.

Grounds were dry on my first round here, with fallen leaves gathered in the low spots deep enough to hide a disc easily. With the tough footing, I would not want to play here in wet conditions.

The layout is kind of crazy, with a couple of turns that would be tough to find if you're not familiar with the course. I would print or screenshot the map if you are going for the first time and don't know any locals to guide the way. A few of the holes are close together, or blind, so be careful not to hit other players or get hit yourself. The path from hole 11 to 12 goes very near another basket, and might be an easy place to get lost for a new visitor.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a really fun course in good conditions, and I am looking forward to playing it when the spring brings heavy leaf canopy in the trees. There could be improvements in the signage, and to the tees, but as is I can still dig it. The funky layout is not perfect, but makes great use of the area.

Trent joined my dog and I at the first tee of the top course, and was very helpful leading the way around. The course had a lot of players out, and I can see why. It was a nice day, but there was a fair amount of wind. Down Under is protected from the breeze very well by the hill and trees.

So many fun holes. My faves were 9, 10, 11, and 15 off the top of my head, but a lot of the rest deserve an honorable mention. I shot a 56, with no birdies, and 2 bogies. Had at least 4 or 5 good looks at birdies, but putts were not going in for me. I was just glad to avoid taking any terrible ricochets over the side of a steep hill, or super bad rolls into the rough.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needing some TLC in KC

1    12/27/2016   12/30/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 78  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical course - with tight fairways and tough elevation, Down Under offers a challenging test with the likelihood for much score variance.

The course offers excellent variety, even though the entire course is in the woods. Hole #15 is an example of such diversity - even at just 183 feet, it features the steepest incline I can recall.

Your mental game will be tested here. Plenty of opportunities exist to consider risk-vs-reward shots while choosing the placement of your drives and upshots wisely as cliffs threaten to punish your wayward shots.

Nice, brightly colored baskets are easy to spot.
Cons: Dirt teepads. More specifically, when I played, the teepads were mud. Also, some of the teepads were poorly marked with occasional rocks, leaving my playing partner and I guessing at the approximate location.

Difficult navigation. The adventure begin with seeking to locate the first teepad - first-time visitors should look for the unmarked steps leading toward Mission Road near the basket of Hole #1 of the Up Top course. After that, occasional small wooden signs with a number confirm your location. No signage indicating distance. No "Next Tee" signs. This lack of direction is frustrating and my playing partner and I had to wander around a few times to determine the right direction. We especially struggled to determine where the teepad and accompanying basket for Hole #10 was. The course map was somewhat helpful, but some new signage would be wonderful.

The "traversability" of this course could be difficult, especially after inclement weather. Several of the first few holes feature steep drop-offs that will likely result in losing a disc if your shot goes too far right. Areas off the fairway feature plenty of uneven terrain and possible slippery footing.
Other Thoughts: The Down Under version of Rosedale Park needs some love and attention. For a course that is about 20 years old, Down Under boasts the skeleton of an excellent course, but it appears to have been starved by neglect.

The course design is solid and offers a good challenge without being repetitive. However, the cons mentioned strongly influenced my rating. I hope that Down Under receives some aesthetic improvements soon and realizes its full potential again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

tight and technical

5+    11/27/2016   11/30/2016
Review By: Omega.Rider
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course requires you to really think about your shot placement. Not just where it lands, but how it lands. It's also a good workout what with the uneven terrain and climbing up and down hills. The baskets are good and despite have dirt tee boxes, they are well-packed and provide decent footing.
Cons: Signage is an issue here and if it's your first time, you might want to go with someone that knows the course. The wooded and rocky nature of the course can be treacherous when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is not a great course for a cart. It can be done, but a bag is so much easier here. The whole course will be played with putters and midranges. There isn't really room for drivers. Be very aware of the slopes, underbrush, and leaves. Our group of 5 lost two discs in one round, but found 4 discs that previous players had lost.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, short, technical course!

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great change of pace from the longer courses in the area. With trees everywhere and tight fairways (if you can call them fairways, since they often have trees in them as well), Down Under is a short technical course that's going to test your accuracy much more than it will test a monster arm.

A lot of the fun of the course is figuring out what line you want to take. Since several holes have no clear fairway, it's about picking the gap you want to shoot for and making it happen.

While there are definitely a few holes where you'll need power, I found myself overshooting several of the pins. I thought this was refreshing, as there are a lot of holes where you have an opportunity for a hole in one, but it's going to take pinpoint accuracy in navigating the flight to the basket.

There are also some very unique holes, such as one where the tee pad is a big rock outcropping (where you'll fall a good 10-15 feet if you stumble off the end of it), and another hole where you're essentially faced with a wall of rock, where you'll need to make a steep, short uphill throw to get to the flat area with the basket above.

This is also an awesome choice for a windy day. You're playing in a ravine full of trees, so the wind down there is practically non-existent.
Cons: Is very muddy after a rain, and due to all of the cover, takes some time to dry out. The tees are almost all dirt, so they get pretty muddy when it's wet. Most of the course is dirt as well since grass has a tough time growing in the thick woods.

Some spots are a bit tough to navigate as well, especially one spot where the course crosses itself. Fortunately, there's almost always people playing the course that can show you if you're not 100% sure. Some of the holes have signage and some don't, so it's pretty hit and miss.

You'll also have to know how to find the course to begin with (you'll head down the hill near the basket of hole 1 of the upper course). Our first time out, we had to ask people until someone knew, or else it's a mystery.

There is also a steep drop-off along a ton of the course that makes it a huge pain if you get a bad ricochet or roll, or if you just have a bad shot and hang one out there. Of course, some might view this challenge as a positive (I'm in that camp), but be prepared for a steep hike a couple times if you don't have the best control.

Overall, the main complaints are that the course is pretty rugged, and not the clearest to find or navigate.

Other Thoughts: Head here for a change of pace. I think the course is just plain fun, despite the unpolished nature of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A truly unique experience!

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the most unique, fun, cool, exciting courses I've ever played. Situated just below a ridge near the top course, down under has a completely different feel to it. It's like a magical walk through the woods, just with baskets and tee pads.

For being so heavily wooded, this course did an excellent job never getting boring and mixing things up. Lots of elevation change and a good amount of left-right vs right-left shots keep things balanced and fun, in spite of the huge amount of trees.

Stunning views. In spite of the road noise from nearby Mission Road and I-35, you get treated to a lot of great views, including a gorgeous vista of downtown from the first part of the course. Overall, it felt extremely woodsy and was a very peaceful place to play.

The elevation here is used perfectly! Holes and tee pads frequently sit next to steep dropoffs (as with the top course), and there's lots of drops all over the course, making you really think before you shoot.

I can't really call the lack of signage, worn tee pads, and the like a "pro", but in a way, it almost adds to the ambience. The abandoned cinder block building between 12-13, general lack of anything but nature and DG, and various beaten paths just kind of "click" together for a gorgeous experience.

There are a good amount of "benches" and trash cans throughout, even if the benches are just old wooden spools or tree stumps. It's a place to sit and put your bag up off the ground and that's all I care about.

Baskets are bright orange and easy to spot in the woods. We played just after most of the leaves had fallen; this might be different in Summer, but we rarely (if ever) had to shoot blind on this course.

Most of the baskets are in good shape. Not the grippiest I've ever played, but very functional and the color really helps with navigation. Trash cans abount at most tee pads as well.

The bluffs shield you nicely from the wind; we played on a day with 40mph wind gusts and it was barely a factor in our play, with the trees and hills blocking for us. I can imagine the shade would be nice in Summer as well.

Trash was well managed when we were there; cans were mostly empty and it looked like people were using them and not the ground, which was nice.

It's neat to feel so isolated even in the middle of the city. The lack of signs, concrete tee pads, and wood benches almost helps to add to the atmosphere and doesn't affect the gameplay too adversely. However, this also means...
Cons: ...the big downfall on this course is navigation. It definitely has a rougher feel than its up-top cousin, which is really neat and unique, but navigation can be problematic. We played alongside many other groups which helped, but on many holes, especially the woods between 12-18, it's not obvious where you're going and it's easy to get lost. (FYI, keep walking past 12's basket until you see the old stone building on the right. 15 plays back up the hole you climb down to get to the tee pad. Hang a left to get to 16. 17 is a left dogleg shot, and 18, shoot from the teepad on the right with the memorial by it).

Again, tee pads are mostly dirt which makes it harder to get footing. There are a few signs giving the hole numbers, but not many, so pay attention. We found watching for trash cans to be the best strategy.

Wear good shoes! The footing out here can be treacherous. It was after most of the leaves had fallen, and I can imagine it's a muddy mess after any kind of rain too.

Lost disc opportunities everywhere - your discs WILL roll if they take any kind of bounce and with so many dropoffs, you really have to watch them.

This course is crowded, so prepare to see lots of friendly faces. We generally met up with super nice folks, but be prepared for some crowds.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is very centrally located in the metro; take I-35 and get off on Mission Road, head south, and hang a right. To get to the down under course, go to the pin for hole 1 up top and look to the right; you'll see a little staircase that'll take you to the first hole.

This course is so unique and different that I feel it deserves its 4.5 rating. I've never seen a course use the nature available to it in a way that's so perfect and really adds to the experience. The technical aspects of this course are fun, but it's the way it flows with the nature that makes it so unique and cool. It feels like a DG course perfectly slid into a part of the park they couldn't use for anything else, and that unique experience makes it worthwhile.

Keep in mind that if you're a huge fan of creature comforts and the like, you won't like this course as well as I did. BE PREPARED to walk on some rocks, climb some hills, and maybe scramble down steep ravines to get discs. It's very rough around the edges and the tee pads, navigation, signage, and footing isn't what you'll find up top or at many area courses. But, if you're here to play disc golf and don't care about the creature comforts, I think the 4.5 rating is worthwhile. Happy discing down under!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Doesn't get any funner

2-4    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: dbroockerd
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how technical this course is. I carried 7 mid-range discs and used them all. No need for drivers. Plenty of ace chances. Bright orange baskets. Pretty easy to navigate with worn paths. Trash cans on every hole and places to set your bag off the muddy ground. Finesse is a must and many chances to make some long lofty putts.
Cons: Tee signs would be nice but these aren't a must. All the baskets are visible. Tough on the legs due to the climbing up and down but a good workout for sure. Can get crowded for sure.
Other Thoughts: Watch your shot close. It could hit a tree and roll forever down a hill. In the fall the leaves can easily hide a disc on the ground as well. Think before you shoot. If you over shoot you could cost yourself a few strokes easily. Wear good shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If you're looking to improve your accuracy...

1    6/26/2012   6/26/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight, wooded area perfect for working on your aim, technique, and accuracy. The holes are fairly short, so don't expect to use a driver on this course. Pins and tee are easy to locate and there are signs at each tee box. Tee boxes are poured concrete. Shaded from the sun on hot days for pretty much the entire course. If you don't like it, the other Rosedale course is a quick walk back up the stairs.
Cons: OB can be unforgiving. One side is uphill in the brush (usually not too thick, but that isn't the side I'm worried about) the other is quite a lofty drop-off at points and you may need your spelunking gear if you accidentally toss a disc down there.
Other Thoughts: This course is designed for skilled players and players who want to hone their accuracy with a midrange disc and putter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, tight course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight but fair holes abound here.
Strikingly visible baskets - best paint job ever.
Cons: No long or open shots but this course is not about that....walk 5 minutes and play its twin course for that.
Other Thoughts: Best wooded course I have ever played.Only here for the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship

5+    10/20/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: pineappletrees
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course surrounds the upper course and can be reached from many holes uptop. It plays quick and has the most visible baskets in disc golf. Very easy to spot discs in the winter. Ace runs everywhere!
Cons: This course has so many trees that when you hit one in the summer, it can go missing 5ft from the hole. There are cliffs are slops that you have to pay attention to when walking or you could tumble down. Very humid since no wind can make it down there. Tee pads are uneven gravel pits. Poison Ivy.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and I hate this course. The best time to play is in the fall/winter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Awesome!

1    10/18/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 66  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is super fun. I love courses that are very hilly and havily wooded because they are such a challenge. This course didnt dissapoint. It has sick looking baskets that are yellow and orange so you can see them in the dense woods. They are really nice baskets, too. Ace oppurtunities are often on this course (I came 2 feet away on one of the holes). It was a really cool course. Benches on most holes and a few trash cans. There were alt. pin placements to make the course different every time. Pretty friendly locals.
Cons: Trash was on the course mostly at tees. There were really not many signs for the holes but the baskets were easy enough to see so it wasnt that big a deal. Tee pads were dirt which isnt so bad but i rather have concrete. The grafitti was unbearable as it was on everything! Hole 18 ends in middle of course so you have to safari to make it out.
Other Thoughts: It was a great idea of a course. It needs some work but i would for shure come back (living 3 1/2 hours away stinks). It was really a enjoyable course. If you play the top course, you should for shure come and see whats for store in the "down under"

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.