Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 275ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, short, technical course!

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great change of pace from the longer courses in the area. With trees everywhere and tight fairways (if you can call them fairways, since they often have trees in them as well), Down Under is a short technical course that's going to test your accuracy much more than it will test a monster arm.

A lot of the fun of the course is figuring out what line you want to take. Since several holes have no clear fairway, it's about picking the gap you want to shoot for and making it happen.

While there are definitely a few holes where you'll need power, I found myself overshooting several of the pins. I thought this was refreshing, as there are a lot of holes where you have an opportunity for a hole in one, but it's going to take pinpoint accuracy in navigating the flight to the basket.

There are also some very unique holes, such as one where the tee pad is a big rock outcropping (where you'll fall a good 10-15 feet if you stumble off the end of it), and another hole where you're essentially faced with a wall of rock, where you'll need to make a steep, short uphill throw to get to the flat area with the basket above.

This is also an awesome choice for a windy day. You're playing in a ravine full of trees, so the wind down there is practically non-existent.
Cons: Is very muddy after a rain, and due to all of the cover, takes some time to dry out. The tees are almost all dirt, so they get pretty muddy when it's wet. Most of the course is dirt as well since grass has a tough time growing in the thick woods.

Some spots are a bit tough to navigate as well, especially one spot where the course crosses itself. Fortunately, there's almost always people playing the course that can show you if you're not 100% sure. Some of the holes have signage and some don't, so it's pretty hit and miss.

You'll also have to know how to find the course to begin with (you'll head down the hill near the basket of hole 1 of the upper course). Our first time out, we had to ask people until someone knew, or else it's a mystery.

There is also a steep drop-off along a ton of the course that makes it a huge pain if you get a bad ricochet or roll, or if you just have a bad shot and hang one out there. Of course, some might view this challenge as a positive (I'm in that camp), but be prepared for a steep hike a couple times if you don't have the best control.

Overall, the main complaints are that the course is pretty rugged, and not the clearest to find or navigate.

Other Thoughts: Head here for a change of pace. I think the course is just plain fun, despite the unpolished nature of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A truly unique experience!

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the most unique, fun, cool, exciting courses I've ever played. Situated just below a ridge near the top course, down under has a completely different feel to it. It's like a magical walk through the woods, just with baskets and tee pads.

For being so heavily wooded, this course did an excellent job never getting boring and mixing things up. Lots of elevation change and a good amount of left-right vs right-left shots keep things balanced and fun, in spite of the huge amount of trees.

Stunning views. In spite of the road noise from nearby Mission Road and I-35, you get treated to a lot of great views, including a gorgeous vista of downtown from the first part of the course. Overall, it felt extremely woodsy and was a very peaceful place to play.

The elevation here is used perfectly! Holes and tee pads frequently sit next to steep dropoffs (as with the top course), and there's lots of drops all over the course, making you really think before you shoot.

I can't really call the lack of signage, worn tee pads, and the like a "pro", but in a way, it almost adds to the ambience. The abandoned cinder block building between 12-13, general lack of anything but nature and DG, and various beaten paths just kind of "click" together for a gorgeous experience.

There are a good amount of "benches" and trash cans throughout, even if the benches are just old wooden spools or tree stumps. It's a place to sit and put your bag up off the ground and that's all I care about.

Baskets are bright orange and easy to spot in the woods. We played just after most of the leaves had fallen; this might be different in Summer, but we rarely (if ever) had to shoot blind on this course.

Most of the baskets are in good shape. Not the grippiest I've ever played, but very functional and the color really helps with navigation. Trash cans abount at most tee pads as well.

The bluffs shield you nicely from the wind; we played on a day with 40mph wind gusts and it was barely a factor in our play, with the trees and hills blocking for us. I can imagine the shade would be nice in Summer as well.

Trash was well managed when we were there; cans were mostly empty and it looked like people were using them and not the ground, which was nice.

It's neat to feel so isolated even in the middle of the city. The lack of signs, concrete tee pads, and wood benches almost helps to add to the atmosphere and doesn't affect the gameplay too adversely. However, this also means...
Cons: ...the big downfall on this course is navigation. It definitely has a rougher feel than its up-top cousin, which is really neat and unique, but navigation can be problematic. We played alongside many other groups which helped, but on many holes, especially the woods between 12-18, it's not obvious where you're going and it's easy to get lost. (FYI, keep walking past 12's basket until you see the old stone building on the right. 15 plays back up the hole you climb down to get to the tee pad. Hang a left to get to 16. 17 is a left dogleg shot, and 18, shoot from the teepad on the right with the memorial by it).

Again, tee pads are mostly dirt which makes it harder to get footing. There are a few signs giving the hole numbers, but not many, so pay attention. We found watching for trash cans to be the best strategy.

Wear good shoes! The footing out here can be treacherous. It was after most of the leaves had fallen, and I can imagine it's a muddy mess after any kind of rain too.

Lost disc opportunities everywhere - your discs WILL roll if they take any kind of bounce and with so many dropoffs, you really have to watch them.

This course is crowded, so prepare to see lots of friendly faces. We generally met up with super nice folks, but be prepared for some crowds.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is very centrally located in the metro; take I-35 and get off on Mission Road, head south, and hang a right. To get to the down under course, go to the pin for hole 1 up top and look to the right; you'll see a little staircase that'll take you to the first hole.

This course is so unique and different that I feel it deserves its 4.5 rating. I've never seen a course use the nature available to it in a way that's so perfect and really adds to the experience. The technical aspects of this course are fun, but it's the way it flows with the nature that makes it so unique and cool. It feels like a DG course perfectly slid into a part of the park they couldn't use for anything else, and that unique experience makes it worthwhile.

Keep in mind that if you're a huge fan of creature comforts and the like, you won't like this course as well as I did. BE PREPARED to walk on some rocks, climb some hills, and maybe scramble down steep ravines to get discs. It's very rough around the edges and the tee pads, navigation, signage, and footing isn't what you'll find up top or at many area courses. But, if you're here to play disc golf and don't care about the creature comforts, I think the 4.5 rating is worthwhile. Happy discing down under!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't get any funner

2-4    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: dbroockerd
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how technical this course is. I carried 7 mid-range discs and used them all. No need for drivers. Plenty of ace chances. Bright orange baskets. Pretty easy to navigate with worn paths. Trash cans on every hole and places to set your bag off the muddy ground. Finesse is a must and many chances to make some long lofty putts.
Cons: Tee signs would be nice but these aren't a must. All the baskets are visible. Tough on the legs due to the climbing up and down but a good workout for sure. Can get crowded for sure.
Other Thoughts: Watch your shot close. It could hit a tree and roll forever down a hill. In the fall the leaves can easily hide a disc on the ground as well. Think before you shoot. If you over shoot you could cost yourself a few strokes easily. Wear good shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in KC!!!

1    7/8/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in the valleys of the other course in Rosedale Park. There are amazing elevation changes. Lots of natural beauty in there. Baskets are very visible and are in great condition. Lots of fun holes. Very technical...lots of shade a virtually no wind. Navigation is ok. There are next tee signs, but sometimes it leads you to a steep, unsafe slope which makes you wonder if you are going the right way. Tee pads are gravel, but you wont need more than 2 steps of run-up. Benches at most holes.
Cons: Tee signs are pretty bad. Just a laminated piece of paper stapled onto a tree. Course gets very muddy and doesn't drain well. You have to cross the number one fairway of the top course to get to the down under. 17 basket to 18 tee crosses right through 10's fairway making it unsafe. missing a put might mean your putter rolling down to the deep, dark pits of the places even lower than the down under. Holes got a little repetitive. Almost all of them were 200-250 with a slight dogleg right.
Other Thoughts: There was a memorial for someone on one of the holes with some discs which I guess were his. I was surprised it wasn't disturbed at all. My favorite hole was number 11. You tee off from an elevated tee over a valley to another hill about 250ft. away. I left my disc on a bench that had my number on it. Someone called me and told me they would take it to disc golf world. I went there about a week later and they said no one had come by with my disc. I'm not sure if all locals are like that, but that experience left me a little irritated with KC locals.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crikey, This Place Rocks Mate!

1    4/28/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is hands down the most fun I have ever had playing Disc Golf to date (120 courses played at the time of this review). There are so many exciting to throw holes on this course I don't even know where to start. The title of this course is perfect. This course is literally down the outer rim of the giant hill below the trees that surround the other Rosedale course. There is risk/reward, huge elevation, water, LOTS of old trees, great layout, and you are as secluded from the world above as well as non-disc golfers.

There are some beautiful holes over valleys and creeks. If you love technical holes, this is the place for you. I don't think there was a single hole that didn't require accuracy of some sort from the tee box. Some of the tee areas not only have nice concrete pads, but they have some natural seating as well. I love that many of these holes have a drop off right next to the hole. They are dramatic enough to test your guts, but seem to get hung up on vegetation eventually. ;) The baskets are a great hunter orange color and in great shape. You can see these things a long way off. There's not much variety in hole length here, but with all the obstacles and routes, it is not really a noticeable flaw. One last thing is the temperature here. It is a couple degrees cooler down here with all the shade and vegetation.
Cons: There are only a few tee signs up and they are not permanent signs. They are great signs, but laminated card stock signs won't last too long. The tee pads were of a dirt/gravel mix and although they were not bad, they certainly were not giving you the best stable footing. Navigation was really tough. I brought the map, but ended up lucky enough to join a group of guides. I would certainly need help a couple more times to get the hang of this place. You will want bright colored disc and will want to play here when it is fairly light out. It can get dark down here. You cannot play down here when it is muddy as it would be miserable under wet and sloppy conditions. Those are the only negatives I can think of.
Other Thoughts: It was hard not to give this course a 5, because the Fun Factor was the best yet for me. I rate more for the fun factor than anything else. However, the few negatives that I listed do affect everyone who comes and plays here except the locals. I really think that this is the place I would stop by and play each time I visit the area. Come to think of it, it would actually be tough not to play here a couple of times upon each visit. ;)

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 trees trees and cliffs

6/1/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: staugiera
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This has my favorite single hole with the launching pad on hole 11, simply amazing. Helps a person practice their jedi skills with a variety of discs and throws-backhand, sidearm, tomahawk.... After playing this course I find it much easier to get out of "trouble" on the other courses I play. This is also the only course I have found that I feel the natural tee boxes are a pro, it helps to keep the feel of nature a little closer. Must play once the skills get to at least a novice level.
Cons: if you are a beginner then you will have "luck shots" and this may cause you to get lazy. Don't let it trick you, you are lucky when this happens and you need to get it to be a skill shot instead. Not a good place to discover your discs fly, play up top for that.
Other Thoughts: When I am looking for a fun challenging course to play by myself this is where I go. Don't go here unless you are already familiar with your discs and you are wanting to hone your skills, this can help remove the "luck factor" that was previously mentioned. Amazing course that is well hidden and allows you to get away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center