Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #18 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 250ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun, short, technical course!

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great change of pace from the longer courses in the area. With trees everywhere and tight fairways (if you can call them fairways, since they often have trees in them as well), Down Under is a short technical course that's going to test your accuracy much more than it will test a monster arm.

A lot of the fun of the course is figuring out what line you want to take. Since several holes have no clear fairway, it's about picking the gap you want to shoot for and making it happen.

While there are definitely a few holes where you'll need power, I found myself overshooting several of the pins. I thought this was refreshing, as there are a lot of holes where you have an opportunity for a hole in one, but it's going to take pinpoint accuracy in navigating the flight to the basket.

There are also some very unique holes, such as one where the tee pad is a big rock outcropping (where you'll fall a good 10-15 feet if you stumble off the end of it), and another hole where you're essentially faced with a wall of rock, where you'll need to make a steep, short uphill throw to get to the flat area with the basket above.

This is also an awesome choice for a windy day. You're playing in a ravine full of trees, so the wind down there is practically non-existent.
Cons: Is very muddy after a rain, and due to all of the cover, takes some time to dry out. The tees are almost all dirt, so they get pretty muddy when it's wet. Most of the course is dirt as well since grass has a tough time growing in the thick woods.

Some spots are a bit tough to navigate as well, especially one spot where the course crosses itself. Fortunately, there's almost always people playing the course that can show you if you're not 100% sure. Some of the holes have signage and some don't, so it's pretty hit and miss.

You'll also have to know how to find the course to begin with (you'll head down the hill near the basket of hole 1 of the upper course). Our first time out, we had to ask people until someone knew, or else it's a mystery.

There is also a steep drop-off along a ton of the course that makes it a huge pain if you get a bad ricochet or roll, or if you just have a bad shot and hang one out there. Of course, some might view this challenge as a positive (I'm in that camp), but be prepared for a steep hike a couple times if you don't have the best control.

Overall, the main complaints are that the course is pretty rugged, and not the clearest to find or navigate.

Other Thoughts: Head here for a change of pace. I think the course is just plain fun, despite the unpolished nature of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A truly unique experience!

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the most unique, fun, cool, exciting courses I've ever played. Situated just below a ridge near the top course, down under has a completely different feel to it. It's like a magical walk through the woods, just with baskets and tee pads.

For being so heavily wooded, this course did an excellent job never getting boring and mixing things up. Lots of elevation change and a good amount of left-right vs right-left shots keep things balanced and fun, in spite of the huge amount of trees.

Stunning views. In spite of the road noise from nearby Mission Road and I-35, you get treated to a lot of great views, including a gorgeous vista of downtown from the first part of the course. Overall, it felt extremely woodsy and was a very peaceful place to play.

The elevation here is used perfectly! Holes and tee pads frequently sit next to steep dropoffs (as with the top course), and there's lots of drops all over the course, making you really think before you shoot.

I can't really call the lack of signage, worn tee pads, and the like a "pro", but in a way, it almost adds to the ambience. The abandoned cinder block building between 12-13, general lack of anything but nature and DG, and various beaten paths just kind of "click" together for a gorgeous experience.

There are a good amount of "benches" and trash cans throughout, even if the benches are just old wooden spools or tree stumps. It's a place to sit and put your bag up off the ground and that's all I care about.

Baskets are bright orange and easy to spot in the woods. We played just after most of the leaves had fallen; this might be different in Summer, but we rarely (if ever) had to shoot blind on this course.

Most of the baskets are in good shape. Not the grippiest I've ever played, but very functional and the color really helps with navigation. Trash cans abount at most tee pads as well.

The bluffs shield you nicely from the wind; we played on a day with 40mph wind gusts and it was barely a factor in our play, with the trees and hills blocking for us. I can imagine the shade would be nice in Summer as well.

Trash was well managed when we were there; cans were mostly empty and it looked like people were using them and not the ground, which was nice.

It's neat to feel so isolated even in the middle of the city. The lack of signs, concrete tee pads, and wood benches almost helps to add to the atmosphere and doesn't affect the gameplay too adversely. However, this also means...
Cons: ...the big downfall on this course is navigation. It definitely has a rougher feel than its up-top cousin, which is really neat and unique, but navigation can be problematic. We played alongside many other groups which helped, but on many holes, especially the woods between 12-18, it's not obvious where you're going and it's easy to get lost. (FYI, keep walking past 12's basket until you see the old stone building on the right. 15 plays back up the hole you climb down to get to the tee pad. Hang a left to get to 16. 17 is a left dogleg shot, and 18, shoot from the teepad on the right with the memorial by it).

Again, tee pads are mostly dirt which makes it harder to get footing. There are a few signs giving the hole numbers, but not many, so pay attention. We found watching for trash cans to be the best strategy.

Wear good shoes! The footing out here can be treacherous. It was after most of the leaves had fallen, and I can imagine it's a muddy mess after any kind of rain too.

Lost disc opportunities everywhere - your discs WILL roll if they take any kind of bounce and with so many dropoffs, you really have to watch them.

This course is crowded, so prepare to see lots of friendly faces. We generally met up with super nice folks, but be prepared for some crowds.
Other Thoughts: Rosedale is very centrally located in the metro; take I-35 and get off on Mission Road, head south, and hang a right. To get to the down under course, go to the pin for hole 1 up top and look to the right; you'll see a little staircase that'll take you to the first hole.

This course is so unique and different that I feel it deserves its 4.5 rating. I've never seen a course use the nature available to it in a way that's so perfect and really adds to the experience. The technical aspects of this course are fun, but it's the way it flows with the nature that makes it so unique and cool. It feels like a DG course perfectly slid into a part of the park they couldn't use for anything else, and that unique experience makes it worthwhile.

Keep in mind that if you're a huge fan of creature comforts and the like, you won't like this course as well as I did. BE PREPARED to walk on some rocks, climb some hills, and maybe scramble down steep ravines to get discs. It's very rough around the edges and the tee pads, navigation, signage, and footing isn't what you'll find up top or at many area courses. But, if you're here to play disc golf and don't care about the creature comforts, I think the 4.5 rating is worthwhile. Happy discing down under!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't get any funner

2-4    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: dbroockerd
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how technical this course is. I carried 7 mid-range discs and used them all. No need for drivers. Plenty of ace chances. Bright orange baskets. Pretty easy to navigate with worn paths. Trash cans on every hole and places to set your bag off the muddy ground. Finesse is a must and many chances to make some long lofty putts.
Cons: Tee signs would be nice but these aren't a must. All the baskets are visible. Tough on the legs due to the climbing up and down but a good workout for sure. Can get crowded for sure.
Other Thoughts: Watch your shot close. It could hit a tree and roll forever down a hill. In the fall the leaves can easily hide a disc on the ground as well. Think before you shoot. If you over shoot you could cost yourself a few strokes easily. Wear good shoes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you're looking to improve your accuracy...

1    6/26/2012   6/26/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight, wooded area perfect for working on your aim, technique, and accuracy. The holes are fairly short, so don't expect to use a driver on this course. Pins and tee are easy to locate and there are signs at each tee box. Tee boxes are poured concrete. Shaded from the sun on hot days for pretty much the entire course. If you don't like it, the other Rosedale course is a quick walk back up the stairs.
Cons: OB can be unforgiving. One side is uphill in the brush (usually not too thick, but that isn't the side I'm worried about) the other is quite a lofty drop-off at points and you may need your spelunking gear if you accidentally toss a disc down there.
Other Thoughts: This course is designed for skilled players and players who want to hone their accuracy with a midrange disc and putter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, tight course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight but fair holes abound here.
Strikingly visible baskets - best paint job ever.
Cons: No long or open shots but this course is not about that....walk 5 minutes and play its twin course for that.
Other Thoughts: Best wooded course I have ever played.Only here for the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love/Hate Relationship

5+    10/20/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: pineappletrees
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course surrounds the upper course and can be reached from many holes uptop. It plays quick and has the most visible baskets in disc golf. Very easy to spot discs in the winter. Ace runs everywhere!
Cons: This course has so many trees that when you hit one in the summer, it can go missing 5ft from the hole. There are cliffs are slops that you have to pay attention to when walking or you could tumble down. Very humid since no wind can make it down there. Tee pads are uneven gravel pits. Poison Ivy.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and I hate this course. The best time to play is in the fall/winter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Awesome!

1    10/18/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is super fun. I love courses that are very hilly and havily wooded because they are such a challenge. This course didnt dissapoint. It has sick looking baskets that are yellow and orange so you can see them in the dense woods. They are really nice baskets, too. Ace oppurtunities are often on this course (I came 2 feet away on one of the holes). It was a really cool course. Benches on most holes and a few trash cans. There were alt. pin placements to make the course different every time. Pretty friendly locals.
Cons: Trash was on the course mostly at tees. There were really not many signs for the holes but the baskets were easy enough to see so it wasnt that big a deal. Tee pads were dirt which isnt so bad but i rather have concrete. The grafitti was unbearable as it was on everything! Hole 18 ends in middle of course so you have to safari to make it out.
Other Thoughts: It was a great idea of a course. It needs some work but i would for shure come back (living 3 1/2 hours away stinks). It was really a enjoyable course. If you play the top course, you should for shure come and see whats for store in the "down under"

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a fan of wooded courses, but this one was okay

5+    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tons of elevation present and it's used very well. Makes walking a little tough, but it's great for the disc golf. 10/10

A large variety of shot paths are required, some left to right, some right to left, some straight, some high, some low etc. You really need every shot in the bag to do well here. 10/10

Once you find the tees, the baskets are pretty easy to find, except in a couple hole positions on some holes. 9/10

The course uses the obstacles well, they did a good job of not overdoing the how wooded the course is on most holes. 8/10

Holes have a variety of distances. Several are short enough to ace, but some are longer and require good shots for reasonable par chances. 8/10

Alternate hole positions really add something to the holes and offer different spins on many holes. 7/10

Tees are flat, and have well defined borders, but they're dirt which makes footing a little difficult. Some are a bit on the short side, and are even a little dangerous so be careful. 6/10

Definitely not a beginner course, be sure to have good control of your disc before you try it. The course is pretty challenging overall, but still provides lots of chances for birdies or even aces with great shots, there just isn't a lot of margin for error. It has the ability to challenge all levels past beginner and novice without being impossible. 6/10
Cons: VERY hard to find discs. Many holes have steep ridges if you go very far at all of the "fairways" (rockways). Rocks can be very frustrating, as discs can hit and skip and roll at any time even after a perfect shot. Discs tend to roll down ridges, and it can be difficult and dangerous to find them 1/10

Navigation between holes is difficult at best. Many holes have multiple paths leading off into seemingly the middle of nowhere, so bring a map or a friend who's played before. 2/10

Overall comfort level: Footing is very rocky everywhere and a little treacherous in some many areas. There are "benches", but they are mostly fallen trees or stumps somewhere close to the tees. No running water or bathrooms on the actual course, so be sure to empty and fill up before you start. Lots of trees mean lots of shade which is good on a hot day. 3/10

Course maintenance: Many tee signs are missing, and the ones that are there only show what hole number it is. Trash cans are usually stuffed full and benches are uncomfortable. 3/10

There is some variety of openness in shots, but none are open at all. The variety is just between very tight and moderately tight. 4/10
Other Thoughts: Very heavily wooded, but most of the obstacles are tree tree trunks, not brush and leaves, which makes the bounces more predictable and fair.

difficulty 8/10

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: spcmitchell28
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most baskets can be seen from the tee pad, good course to test your accuracy because there is very little margin for error. Has a variety of uphill and downhill shots. I threw thumbers off most of the tee pads and ended up with my first course par.
Cons: Entire course wraps around the side of a big hill which makes it crucial to never take your eyes off any rollers. There are also no signs on the baskets, and many of the tee pads are not marked as well.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played in KC.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the good, the bad and the ugly

2-4    5/20/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: carlp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging and plays quick.
Cons: bad intersection in the middle of the course. long walk back after completion. Never played a course that didn't finish where it started. Trash cans were overflowing on my first visit, but debris was removed upon my second visit a few days later.
Other Thoughts: take time to print a map and bring bug spray.
Ultimately I think this is a diamond in the rough.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.