Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 246ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -baskets are bright, easy to see and in better shape the the up top baskets
-amazingly, benches and trash cans on every tee
-super well maintained for a woods course, lots of man made bridges and stairs
-about as good as a woods course is gonna get
Cons: -worn as hell, the tees are dirt and so are the fairways
-navigation is confusing in some places, moreso than whats normal
-the intersection of 9,12,17,18 is mildly dangerous
-signage is terrible
-crowded
Other Thoughts: Down Under is as advertised; short, technical and woods. I was more than satisfied. motto should be "down under and higher than up top" :/

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    12/29/2011   2/12/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the woods that belong inside a multi-use park, but well away from anything else going on. Definitely no interference here from anything non-DG related.
- Every hole here is set in the woods, start to finish. A good variety of different lines of varying difficulty. Some are ridiculously tight, like #1, #5, and #16. Pinpoint precision is needed to get to the basket, or just stay out of the jail. All of the others just need very good accuracy, there are very few chances to relax.
- A lot of dead-nuts straight shots are needed here, but there are also some BH and FH hyzers to be found, or maybe some annys/thumbers/whatever gets the disc down there. The funky lines here include a sharp hyzer on #8 (if mando), a little hook on #12, and a long RHFH flex shot on #17.
- Lots of hilliness here, both in the holes and next to them. Multiple valley shots, like #11, a nice downhill on #10 and #13, a blind uphill on #16, pretty good variety on the back nine. A constant feature are some very nasty rollaways/jail next to fairways, a bad kick here or there could be disastrous to scoring and inventory. The woods and hills provide some tricky basket placements as well.
- Nice new baskets... signs are pretty suspect, and the teepads are a little rough. Checking out the map beforehand is highly recommended. Navigation can be tricky.
Cons: - Some very short hole lengths, with the average around 230'. The tight lines still keep things nice and interesting, but there are few chances to rip a drive. It is definitely fun, but a little repetitive/similar.
- Layout is pretty jacked up, a lot of missing signs and rough teepads, and backtracking. Getting to #12 involves walking past another hole's basket, for instance.
Other Thoughts: - A very fun course that challenges players to tone it down and focus almost entirely on accuracy over distance. Even the smallest arms will be able to reach most of the pins here, it all comes down to line shaping and hitting small windows. Throw in some decent elevation changes, and things get very interesting and fun. A little one-dimensional, but it's a good dimension.
- Probably fun for everyone at least once, though beginners might be frustrated to no end. Also, a perfect complement to the Top course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

It's cool down under

1    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .
> Cool location for a course.
> Challenging/punishing in a fun way.
> Creative layout.
> A few really neat views/vistas and other features that you don't see often enough.
> As a previous reviews title says, this course is a mental workout.
> This course would be ideal on a hot day, because it's all in the shady woods.
> Excellent baskets that are both bright/easy to see and catch very well.
.
Cons: UPDATED. Course has been rearranged and very little concern has been taken to mark the changes. A real mess of confusion has been left in the wake.
> Very poorly marked tees are now mostly unmarked tees. I have no idea whether I just played the right tee-to-basket or where to go next.
> Terrible navigation issues, so bring a map, ask a local and pay attention.
> Tees are barely adequate and even dangerous in a couple of spots (especially the 30' drop off the end of the bare rock face tee at 11... jeesh.)
> Cross-traffic safety was an issue at two different holes where players must walk in the path of discs to get to the next tee.
> Getting back to the parking lot from 18 was just silly as it ends right in the middle of the course layout and you still have to walk across a few of the holes you've already played and then right across the middle of the Rosedale Upper course... just dumb.
> The trash was pretty bad and the cans, which were plentiful, needed changing badly.
> Graffiti was out of control here. It was on everything, everywhere and I've never seen so many badly drawn penis's before in my life. What gives people?
.
Other Thoughts: UPDATED.
I had a good time playing this course... the first time I went, especially since it reminds me of several woodsy, nine hole courses that I love to play, but is a full 18. Now, it was simply a nightmare.

Playing in the woods can really beat you up mentally (perhaps even physically if you have to scramble down a steep ravine to recover from a tree hit or a roll). If you want to know how psychological of a game disc golf is, play this course, then go play a wide open course right afterwards to see the effects. Very interesting.

I sure hope to see some improvements made here in the way of new tees, better marking, landscape repair to prevent more runoff and maybe even some improved navigation by reorganizing a couple of holes... and get this place cleaned up. I can only imagine the impression all the trash and graffiti leaves on new DG players and the public.

This course has been neglected and the laziness of the reorganization has left it practically unplayable. I'm sorry to offend, but I'm lost how such potential is being wasted by a lack of concern and the "little things". Put up some darn tee signs, put up some arrows and get a new map made.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, yet challenging

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Stud62
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course winds through a beautiful forest. Short, technical drives.
Cons: Very steep, lost discs very possible without a spotter
Other Thoughts: Fun course for KC. Reminded me of a few courses I played in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Steep inclines. I only played with my mid and putter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Choice! Downstairs is shade and windless.
Cons: Be ready to meet some trees. When get to the teens it can be hard to find next hole but help is always around.
Other Thoughts: Have some putters and middies. I use a whole different set of discs than i play with up top.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Mental Workout

2-4    3/21/2007   3/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While not very long at all by the standards of any of the neighboring courses, Down Under makes up for its lack of length with an extreme test of your accuracy, patience, and emotion-control. You will hit some trees and you will likely get frustrated at some points with no open hole outlets for venting. This course asks if you can keep it cool, under-control and throw with patience and touch even after that nasty kick or roll-away from the green. This is also a course you really have to get to 'know' - with all of the little dropoffs, sideslopes, and multiple route fairways, you have to learn what shots produce the best outcomes over the long-run. As other reviewers have stated, the tricky pins and severe elevation changes force players to learn the consequences of improper landing angles and speeds.
Cons: The tee pads are probably the biggest bummer out here. With quite a bit of play, they are rutted in some places and after it rains they are very muddy. Even just a small strip of concrete for the final plant foot would probably go a long ways - the holes are so short that long run-ups are often unneccessary.
Other Thoughts: With so many great courses in KC, it is hard to recommend this one as a first pick but it certainly is worth a trip for a vastly different experience from that you get from the traditional KC courses like Waterworks and Swope - So don't overlook 'Down Under'!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/24/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Probably the most accuracy course i've ever played. You can get to each basket but you have to know the trees. Each hole is relatively short but you have about 40 trees to deal with each hole. The baskets are bright orange and yellow so you can see them through the thickness. Some holes have an alternative tee box. Each hole has trash cans and most with wooded benches. Each hole has multiple pin selections. Most days it is wind free due to the immense tree canopy. Usually not too busy
Cons: Some of the holes have drop offs that can leave you throwing from the bottom of a hill. They do need some better tee pads. Most are tiny gravel or packed dirt. Bring a towel if it rains it will get your disc will get muddy. The signage is not the greatest and they have no real indication of where the pins are, both placement and distance. Do not wear flip flops!. you will regret this choice immediately. Not for the out of shape. Lost of hills and rocky terrain along the back 9 . Not getting any tree love.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Kansas CIty. Really lets you know where your game is as far as accuracy. Play it weekly

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 HOLY CRAP

1    8/22/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This thing was wicked, it tested every bit of my game and every shot had to be very very very accurate, there were no repeat shots, every hole was unique, especially 13 or 14 i don't really remember which one exactly because it went straight up hill, terrain changes, elevation changes, mixed with some short and long holes, great course i would like to play again.
Cons: Dirt tee pads, and the course was very hard to navigate, we ended up playing to basket 18 from the 11 tee and hole 18 finishes inside the woods which is like ok... how do we get out of here. when we found a path we ended up in the fairway for hole 5 on the top course and had discs flying at us, not cool
Other Thoughts: no other thoughts good park, like having 2 courses to play there, and it is a must play park both top and bottom

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Kansas City Course

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great testing grounds for your accuracy game.
Though there are many trees, if you are truly accurate, you will be able to avoid a lot of trouble that comes in the form of trees and cliffs.
Another pro is how the course changes as the seasons change.
Once you get the hang of the course, shooting a low round is a great possibility. This was my first under par round!
Its a good place to get away from the hot sun too!
Cons: If you are not accurate, you will run into some bad luck with hitting trees, because they are there on purpose.
Be careful about your disc choice if you want to lay up, make sure its gonna land flat, or your disc might roll down a hill. Though on a positive note, you could find some other discs too.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course out of all the courses in Kansas City.
Its a combination of a technical and mental game.
Its also a cool, quite literally, course in that you are in the shade a good amount.
No matter your skill level, come out and play! Just watch your disc until it stops moving for good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Leave Your Driver at Home

1    7/22/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a blast to play. It has a great combination of wooded plus elevation changes. There are a number of very memorable and unique holes. Most tee shots require serious accuracy, but very few require distance. I don't know that I threw much more than a buzz but maybe a handful of times throughout the round. It is a nice change of pace from the many courses in KC the require a big arm for low scores. It is a super unique setup here. I love that someone used "unusable" land around the park to make something great out of it.

To get there, just head to the woods line to right of 1's fairway and there is a drop off into the woods very near 1's basket. It would have taken me a while to find it if a local hadn't pointed me in the right direction.

The orange baskets are awesome! They make it so easy to locate your target off the tee. They also grap discs really well. Better than most I have played on. They are very similar to the Titans. The course appears to be very well maintained. I didn't notice any trash out there to speak of.

I didn't get the same impression that others noted about most of the holes being anhyzer shots off the tee. Maybe it was just where the baskets were situated when I played, but I thought there was quite a bit of variety, knowing that the whole course plays in the woods. The elevation changes were enough to give plenty of variety.
Cons: There are definitely a few places on the course that are confusing if you haven't played out there before. I had a local that was out playing that I jumped in with, which saved my bacon but I would have been in trouble otherwise. Please note that this is only in a couple of places. For the most part it flows seamlessly....but where it is confusing, it is quite confusing. The tee signs could be better, but I didn't feel like I needed them because you can spot the basket easily from 90% of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This was a ton of fun and I look forward to revisiting next time I am in KC. The reason I gave it a 4 instead of higher is simply because for me, to go beyond a 4 the course needs more variety beyond just wooded holes. While I feel like there was plenty of variety for a wooded course, to take a course to the next level (in my mind) it needs a greater variety of shots. That is not a diss at all. The course does what it does very well and I loved it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.