Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #9 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 245ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Best in KC!!!

1    7/8/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in the valleys of the other course in Rosedale Park. There are amazing elevation changes. Lots of natural beauty in there. Baskets are very visible and are in great condition. Lots of fun holes. Very technical...lots of shade a virtually no wind. Navigation is ok. There are next tee signs, but sometimes it leads you to a steep, unsafe slope which makes you wonder if you are going the right way. Tee pads are gravel, but you wont need more than 2 steps of run-up. Benches at most holes.
Cons: Tee signs are pretty bad. Just a laminated piece of paper stapled onto a tree. Course gets very muddy and doesn't drain well. You have to cross the number one fairway of the top course to get to the down under. 17 basket to 18 tee crosses right through 10's fairway making it unsafe. missing a put might mean your putter rolling down to the deep, dark pits of the places even lower than the down under. Holes got a little repetitive. Almost all of them were 200-250 with a slight dogleg right.
Other Thoughts: There was a memorial for someone on one of the holes with some discs which I guess were his. I was surprised it wasn't disturbed at all. My favorite hole was number 11. You tee off from an elevated tee over a valley to another hill about 250ft. away. I left my disc on a bench that had my number on it. Someone called me and told me they would take it to disc golf world. I went there about a week later and they said no one had come by with my disc. I'm not sure if all locals are like that, but that experience left me a little irritated with KC locals.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun hike

1    6/5/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course that tells you how accurate you are. If you can throw a straight 200-foot shot, there is no hole that is tough to par. But if you come in and try to fire your Boss down the fairway, you might be in for a rude awakening. This course is a blast. The elevation can be dramatic for as short as the holes are, so you may have a hole 200 feet long and 30 feet up or down. The fairways are all reasonable and get you to focus on controlled shots. The trees can be thick off of the fairways and will punish errant shots. The bright orange baskets are the most visible baskets I've ever seen. There are 3-4 basket positions on each hole from what I can tell. Downhill shots on courses like these are some of the most fun shots in disc golf. Although most of the tees were natural, they were in good shape, and you won't be needing much of a run-up on these tees anyway.
Cons: There are three main cons:
1. Tee shot repetition. Most of the holes were dogleg right, heavily favoring forehand players or lefties. I liked having to work my turnover shot, but it got a little boring hole after hole. Only two holes called for hyzer shots.

2. Signage. There are laminated signs nailed to trees, but not on every hole. And they only show one hole position, although there are at least three positions on each hole (the signs showed wrong positions on numerous holes). That didn't help on the holes where you couldn't see the basket from the tee. And it's a little annoying to read that the hole is 225 feet long and then see that the position being used is actually 275 feet from the tee.

3. Course design: One one hole (#16?) I was about to tee off when two players walked across the fairway. You have to cross that fairway to get from 17 to 18. Not safe. A couple other holes required you to pass very close to the basket from another hole to get to the next tee. Also, despite some "Next Tee" signs with arrows, navigation wasn't always easy here. At one point we started down a fairly unsafe slope before realizing we'd gone too far and hadn't turned left to get to the #17 tee. Need some stairs or tiers there and much better signs.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here is high. You'll never throw the same second shot here, and the big uphill and downhill shots are great. It's great to have a course like this as a counterpoint to wide open grip-and-rip courses. I didn't get to play the up top course, but the Kansas City disc golf community should be proud of creating this course in the woods.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crikey, This Place Rocks Mate!

1    4/28/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is hands down the most fun I have ever had playing Disc Golf to date (120 courses played at the time of this review). There are so many exciting to throw holes on this course I don't even know where to start. The title of this course is perfect. This course is literally down the outer rim of the giant hill below the trees that surround the other Rosedale course. There is risk/reward, huge elevation, water, LOTS of old trees, great layout, and you are as secluded from the world above as well as non-disc golfers.

There are some beautiful holes over valleys and creeks. If you love technical holes, this is the place for you. I don't think there was a single hole that didn't require accuracy of some sort from the tee box. Some of the tee areas not only have nice concrete pads, but they have some natural seating as well. I love that many of these holes have a drop off right next to the hole. They are dramatic enough to test your guts, but seem to get hung up on vegetation eventually. ;) The baskets are a great hunter orange color and in great shape. You can see these things a long way off. There's not much variety in hole length here, but with all the obstacles and routes, it is not really a noticeable flaw. One last thing is the temperature here. It is a couple degrees cooler down here with all the shade and vegetation.
Cons: There are only a few tee signs up and they are not permanent signs. They are great signs, but laminated card stock signs won't last too long. The tee pads were of a dirt/gravel mix and although they were not bad, they certainly were not giving you the best stable footing. Navigation was really tough. I brought the map, but ended up lucky enough to join a group of guides. I would certainly need help a couple more times to get the hang of this place. You will want bright colored disc and will want to play here when it is fairly light out. It can get dark down here. You cannot play down here when it is muddy as it would be miserable under wet and sloppy conditions. Those are the only negatives I can think of.
Other Thoughts: It was hard not to give this course a 5, because the Fun Factor was the best yet for me. I rate more for the fun factor than anything else. However, the few negatives that I listed do affect everyone who comes and plays here except the locals. I really think that this is the place I would stop by and play each time I visit the area. Come to think of it, it would actually be tough not to play here a couple of times upon each visit. ;)

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly Fills the Niche for a Technical Woods Course in KC

2-4    10/2/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design and Terrain:
*This course perfectly fills the niche for a technical woods course in the overall KC disc golf scene. It's a fantastic change of pace from the other long, relatively open courses in the area; it's the antipodes of Blue Valley. I really like the terrain! You feel like you're secluded, in the woods, away in nature. (But I'm from wooded NC.) There are also rugged rocks and some peaceful paths.
The course plays along the side of a big steep hill, so on some holes if you go off the fairway you're down a very steep slope in thick woods. Good luck getting back in play! That strongly heightens my "Apprehension of Danger" while standing on the tee pad. I often threw softer shots just to do my best to stay in play. Even when my disc took a sickening kick off a tree and went down the hill I enjoyed the challenge of trying to salvage the hole.
*There's very good elevation variety, including several Down-Up ravines and Up-Down holes. (6 Flat/ 5 Up/ 7 Down). There are more elevation changes on the back 9, including hole 16 that is a classic +38 ft uphill on a short 160 ft hole! The front 9 has 5 flat holes while the back 9 only has one.

Basics:
*Baskets- The fluorescent Disc King baskets are the bomb! They're neon orange with fluorescent green poles, so they're much easier to spot in the woods than any other plain baskets I've ever seen. For me, these baskets significantly upgraded the course.
*Navigation- layout maps on the tee signs and small orange "Next tee" arrows make it pretty easy to find your way around.

Amenities:
*A clear and useful map is available online.
Cons: Basics
-Tee signs: They got much better after the PDGA Worlds in 2009, but they're still just laminated 8 x 11 paper stapled to trees. They're adequate, but they could be even better.
-Tees: It would be really hard, maybe impossible, but it would be great to have concrete tees. The dirt tees were fine, but I think they'll get muddy when it's wet. Even rubber mats would be an improvement.

Design
-There's not enough fairway shape variety; straight and dog leg rights predominate. (9 St/ 1 Lt/ 8 Rt)
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 8. You shoot to a peninsula with a big drop on the right side.

Length:
The holes are rather short with the majority being 200-280 (5 of 160-199/ 12 of 200-280/ 1 of 300), but the heavy woods make it play longer. Shorter throwers (like me) will probably like this more than the big arms, plus there are no open holes to just let it fly anyway. Birdies, and even aces, are a tantalizing possibility if you can avoid hitting a tree!

It may just be me, but I've been to Rosedale 3 times now and I always feel like the course is in a kind of shady area that doesn't feel completely safe. I'm wary of being there when it's dark. I got there right before sunrise, and because of the isolation on the Down Under course I felt extra cautious playing by myself. I've never had any problems, so there may not be any basis in reality, but that's how I feel there.

I enjoyed Down Under more than the regular course, so if I had limited time and could only play one I'd definitely play Down Under. I've played almost all of the KC area courses and Down Under is currently my 2nd favorite in this area. The course is such a great change of pace from all the others in KC. If you live nearby you need to play this course to work on your accuracy, and if you're from out of town it's well worth a visit.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome challenge

1    2/7/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing course that forces extremely accurate throws and perfect lies. Terrain changes and TONS OF TREES makes course a lot of fun.
Cons: Not quite sure how to leave after the 18th hole. Some tee pads can be muddy.
Other Thoughts: Don't play this course if you don't like the sound of a disc hitting a tree.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent technical gem

2-4    9/28/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderfully fun and challenging course tucked into the wooded outcroppings of Rosedale Park. Offers an entirely different experience from the blustery winds, open shots, and afternoon crowds on the extremely popular Top course. Technical from beginning to end and despite that there is some considerable variation in holes, hyzers, anhyzers, elevation changes, cross ravine shots. A great test of accuracy. Plenty of chances for an unfortunate rollaway or a plunk off a tree into the deep abyss. Cool new bright orange and yellow baskets which were installed this year make seeing your target and picking your desired route that much easier than the old baskets.
Cons: Lack of some sort of smooth surface teepads. Getting cement pads down here would be a challenge, but flypads would be better than the dirt pads that are there now. They are marked by timbers and are very choppy. There is also plenty of stuff (stumps, dead wood) in the fairways, and certainly off the fairways to trip over. The bottoms can get muddy is your disc gets down there. Better signage is also needed. There are some signs up in the trees to point you around, but you kind of have to look for it. Some signs with hole distances were put up for Worlds, but they're nothing more than laminated paper, and many of them are already deteriorating. Getting hole numbers on the baskets would be nice as there are a few spots where you can be led off course. Not good for people with bad legs on them as there is a lot of hill climbing involved, both up and down.
Other Thoughts: For some reason, I've If you ever arrive at Rosedale hoping to play the Top course and get irritated by the crowds, I'd advice heading downstairs, litterally (they are located in the woods by the Top course's first basket). You can probably leave the bag in the car and traverse this one just with a midrange and putter. I would advise getting a look at the hole before you throw. Some of the trouble spots off the fairway are more forgiving than others. Definitely worth a play, along with its mother course upstairs.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/1/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course, not much hole length variety, but the holes are interesting and great for a quick round if you have the accuracy to avoid some trees. great exercize, but discs find a way over the edges all the time.
Cons: easy to lose discs, the teepads are BAD.
Other Thoughts: Putters and a buzzz is all you need. Hills are a heck of a workout, especially when you play 3 times in one day. Will get very humid in the summer, and there is not much wind every, which is very nice for the fall and winter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    5/18/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 38 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, technical, wooded course. KC is a very windy city and it can be howling at 30+ mph up top and this course is quiet and still down below. Very creative course. All holes are short, but that is perfect for this course
Cons: None to speak of
Other Thoughts: You better love tight and technical courses that reward pinpoint accuracy. Not a course for the big armed howitzer arms. This is all about a masterful short game. Begs you to come back for more and try to go lower.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Wonder

1    3/7/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course that has been laid out very nicely.
Entire 18 holes are in a wooded setting that are sheltered from the wind. You are actually playing on a bluff that surrounds the park, so when the foliage is off the trees, the views were pretty nice.
Each hole felt uniquely different due to terrain changes and layout around obstacles (trees). There were some really nice holes that crossed valleys of varied depth.
What an incredible course in Kansas City that is NOT an open fairway type course!
Even though the course was crowded, it played fairly quickly, and slower groups were all willing to allow us to play through.
Has natural tees which for this course is a definate PRO - I can't see ruining the wooded type feel with concrete tees.
Cons: Tee signage leaves a little to be desired. Hook up with a local if you can - there should be plenty willing to let you join them.
In talking with some of the regulars it can be fairly crowded at times, but typically no longer than a 10 minute wait to start.
Some may consider the "wooded" nature of the course a negative since there is NO relief, but hey - this is a technical course!
A map would be invaluable for this course.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to Jason and Eric for a great round! They allowed me to join them and provided a little guidance on how each hole played - which unfortunately for them worked too well to my advantage.
Restrooms were located at the tennis courts.
Hole #1 starts by decending the metal stairs which are located at the basket area of Hole #1 on the upper course. After completing Hole #18 you transcend the rocky steps to the open field which you need to cross to get back to the parking lot.
I am sure this course is even more challenging when the foliage is in - it will require most dominantly a low ceiling shot on every hole.
Luck will certainly factor in if you are not able to throw off the tee fairly straight. I doubt you'll lose a disc though - but you might have to climb up or down an eroding slope to retrieve it.
A must play if in the Kansas City Area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A rugged hike in the hills... with golf!

1    11/4/2007   11/26/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of shade, lots of interesting terrain, good holes to fit the terrain
Cons: No tee signs. You'll get lost the first time out
Other Thoughts: I'm a fan of shorter, technical courses and this is one of the best there is. That is, once you get past the absence of any kind of signage, either for tees or directional.

Located in the wooded margin of Rosedale Park, this course leads you on a tour of finesse holes a plenty. As you descend the metal staircase from the upper course, you are transported to a completely different golf experience from the course up above. This place is just loaded with trees and rugged terrain.

The things keeping this course from being one of the finest in the area is the complete lack of signage, the ease in which the first-time visitor will get lost and the fact that the exit of the course is so far away from the parking lot (you have to walk through a good chunk of the other course to get back).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.