Kansas City, KS 
Rosedale Park - Down Under Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A rugged hike in the hills... with golf!

1    11/4/2007   11/26/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 193  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 20.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of shade, lots of interesting terrain, good holes to fit the terrain
Cons: No tee signs. You'll get lost the first time out
Other Thoughts: I'm a fan of shorter, technical courses and this is one of the best there is. That is, once you get past the absence of any kind of signage, either for tees or directional.

Located in the wooded margin of Rosedale Park, this course leads you on a tour of finesse holes a plenty. As you descend the metal staircase from the upper course, you are transported to a completely different golf experience from the course up above. This place is just loaded with trees and rugged terrain.

The things keeping this course from being one of the finest in the area is the complete lack of signage, the ease in which the first-time visitor will get lost and the fact that the exit of the course is so far away from the parking lot (you have to walk through a good chunk of the other course to get back).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 trees trees and cliffs

6/1/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: staugiera
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This has my favorite single hole with the launching pad on hole 11, simply amazing. Helps a person practice their jedi skills with a variety of discs and throws-backhand, sidearm, tomahawk.... After playing this course I find it much easier to get out of "trouble" on the other courses I play. This is also the only course I have found that I feel the natural tee boxes are a pro, it helps to keep the feel of nature a little closer. Must play once the skills get to at least a novice level.
Cons: if you are a beginner then you will have "luck shots" and this may cause you to get lazy. Don't let it trick you, you are lucky when this happens and you need to get it to be a skill shot instead. Not a good place to discover your discs fly, play up top for that.
Other Thoughts: When I am looking for a fun challenging course to play by myself this is where I go. Don't go here unless you are already familiar with your discs and you are wanting to hone your skills, this can help remove the "luck factor" that was previously mentioned. Amazing course that is well hidden and allows you to get away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2000   5/28/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 162  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very unique tight, technical short course. A beautiful walk through the woods.

This course definitely challenges one's ability to hit tight lines, shape shots, and mentally overcome the inevitable bad breaks that come with such a tight course.

Great place to practice to improve accuracy. A nice change of pace. Very fun for casual play.
Cons: Moderate schule in places.

A higher "luck factor" involved than on most courses.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is my favorite wooded course

8/17/2006   5/17/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical
Well laid out
The holes are each unique with little redundancy
You get "penalized" for stray shots but can almost always retrieve your disk
When it's windy up top, it's very protected down on this course
Cons: If crowded (which has only been a couple of times that I have been there) it can get a little bottle-necked
Not many cons in my mind
Other Thoughts: I've played this course many times when I have traveled to KC and it keeps challenging me...I've had one "off the hook" round there that keeps me striving for that feeling again!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.