St. Paul (Roseville), MN
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 319ft.   4 / 475ft.   3 / 475ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love it

5+    4/12/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: Riley M
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Benches
-Garbage Cans
-Aspalt Tee's
Cons: I don't have any Cons
Other Thoughts: I love this course and any time I'm in St. Paul I play This course. If your near St. Paul I really suggest this course. I also heard this course has the most foot traffic in the world.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Local Favorite

5+    10/22/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: omni
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a bit of everything! From tightly wooded, obstacle heavy in the front 9 to more open, longer holes in the back 9. Some holes are very technical, bring a tight lined fairway driver or mid range. Once you find the tee area most teeboxes are easy to find and concrete.
Cons: Water comes to play in hole 1 (and a few others to a lesser degree) and I totally hate that hole since there are branches right around it you can snag and lose a disc. If you are new, play the short tee on hole 1 (its a short putt from that box). This course can be crowded at times, I tend to play early morning and that helps. The layout is a bit tricky, bring a map.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course and I've played it over 20 times. There is also a nearby disc golf store and occasionally there will be kids selling disks someone on the front 9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice wooded course

1    6/14/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: midsmalls
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and has a great flow from hole to hole. I personally thought it was damn near impossible to loose a disc as there are so many trails right off of the fairway.
Cons: BUSY BUSY BUSY we went on a rainy monday at 5pm and it was packed. Muddy when raining
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to beginners and seasoned vets alike. It has a real "UP north" feeling to it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very fun to play, plenty of differant types of holes, most of them are wooded but there are 5 or so out in the open, be prepared to bring all your shots and get yourself out of some tight spots, overall alot of differant types of shots make this course really fun to paly
Cons: overall i like this course a lot, however it is showing its age a little bit, the dirt in a few places is beginning to show some roots and stumps, also a few fo the tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses, the front 9 is a little easier than the back, if you throw great shots you can score low but big numbers are out there if you have a few wayword drives, and if the wind is blowing pretty good this course becomes even tougher than it is normally

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Skill Park

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers one of the 'more' intimidating 1st holes out there, offering 3 tee locations. One over the "water" which is more like a biohazard swamp, one to the left which skirts it, and one to the right which bypasses it altogether. If you dont have confidence in your throw, borrow a friends disc.

Otherwise the course offers a good variety of holes and shots, you often need to avoid trees, and the back 9 offers 3-4 "open" holes.

There is a Secret teebox on 15 that offers one of the most entertaining shots on the course. Directly to the left while standing on the concrete box there is a path, to the left of the path there is a patch of dirt with a wooden post. that offers a difficult right to left bank shot, and one of the biggest turns on the course.

Everyone is super friendly, and are more than happy to have people play through, or play right behind so they dont get lost.

Its compact and parking is easy, plus the gas station down the road caters to the park, has discs for sale, and is easy to run down to.
Cons: The 'water' hazards are more mud-pit than anything else and can be awful to retrieve discs from if not impossible.

Download and print the PDF of the course map, if you dont have it you will get lost. People always jump from #2 to #9 by accident.

For whatever reason, in the 30+ times ive played this course, there always seems to be the kids tossing beer cans, or people playing multiple discs that slows down the game - it is a BUSY park. Waiting is never that long.

It is easy to lose discs on just about every hole if you arent careful.

Same goes for damage. Ive cracked a couple discs on errant tee-shots that smacked directly into one of the MANY tree obstacles in the course, so be aware.
Other Thoughts: I have been playin this course for the last few years and absolutely love it. The terrain is VERY challenging to maintain par, and requires a good touch. Many reviews say 'not for new players' but i would disagree, we have taken many newbies out and they loved it just because of how fun it was to play. Some people love the 'golf course' approach to disc with wide, open, long fairways. Where is the challenge in that? For those of us that dont have a cannon for an arm, but can still toss 250-300 on a solid drive, this place is a blast to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OCILF (an Old Course I'd Like to Frolf)

5+    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Acorn is a shooter's course. Smart design and noticeable variety make it a decent challenge for players of different skill levels. Many reviewers have criticized its "weathered" attributes. But one positive effect of age is the refined nature of most of its holes, providing for some memorable rounds.

- You're immediately faced with a short but neat first hole, crossing over a pond. From there, you experience a nice mix of shot directions, open and wooded fairways, and adequate use of elevation (i.e. holes 3, 6, 9, 10, 15).

- Though the fairways are tight and occasionally run parallel to each other, I always feel like I'm faced with a completely different challenge than the proceeding/upcoming one. Too many courses either ignore or just can't achieve that quality.

- Even for a multi-use park, there's plenty of separation between the main park area and the scenic course grounds.
Cons: - The location and lack of 18-hole courses in the immediate north suburban area have helped make it a popular course. But fame takes its toll, especially in disc golf. Erosion, long waits during peak hours, litter, and reckless vandalism are all by-products of Acorn's location and popularity. There's also the dumbass(es) who treat the park as a fortress of drunken solitude.

- It covers a pretty healthy range of distance between 117 ft (hole 4) and 378 ft (hole 11). But only two holes, 9 (475) and 18 (421), go past 400 ft.

- Difficult for some first-timers to navigate.
Other Thoughts: - Despite the cons and other BS, I've had too much fun here to give it anything less than 4 stars. Whether you're scraping for par or going for consistent birdies, you will have a good time.

- I'm ecstatic to have the recently opened Elm Creek as another North Suburban option for an 18-hole game. Acorn needs all the player-traffic diversion it can get. That said, it would be nice to see a full-size course built somewhere between Roseville and Maple Grove (*cough* Shoreview *cough*).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course... overcrowded.

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: cmhouser
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Acorn is an excellent DGC that can be very challenging at times. They move the baskets here and there to keep you on your toes. Some holes are long letting golfers test their driving range while others are more of a test of finesse.
Cons: Can be trashy sometimes. Can be muddy. Very crowded on the weekends and afterhours.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course worth playing if you can get the time in during the week day afternoons.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    10/17/2008   3/29/2009
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great challenging course that provides you with a new challenge every time you play. With more holes in the woods then open spaces it really makes you work on your accuracy; yet there are plenty of holes that allow you to air it out.
Cons: This is a really busy course with a lot of new players. If you value your time I suggest you come during the off hours.

Some of the tee placements a little crazy for new players (#1 over a pond and #18 through the trees)
Other Thoughts: Great course, but get their early enough so you are not stuck behind groups.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/6/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good variety of shots, as well as an assortment of pin placements. Water comes into play on holes 1, 8, and 9. Many narrow fairways as well as trees, so accuracy is key. Some open long holes to give you a chance to throw one a little harder, but most holes are relatively short.
Cons: There's usually this weird old guy near the pond at number one that tries to sell you discs that he has most probably fished out of the water. Both ponds are very gross, so if you throw your disc in, enter at your own risk. Most holes are near other holes, so you always have to keep your eyes and ears open so you don't get beamed by an errant throw.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

7/2/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: sdwhatley
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of short technical holes with many longer holes. Many trees and water hazards make even shorter holes difficult sometimes. 18 holes is always nice. Right next to fairway flyers disc golf shop, great place to test new discs
Cons: very crowded on weekends and during peak rec hours. Lots of first timers travel in large groups and slow play to a crawl.
Other Thoughts: One of my overall favorite course to play!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.