St. Paul (Roseville), MN 
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #14
3 / 166ft.   3 / 166ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Local Favorite

5+    10/22/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: omni
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a bit of everything! From tightly wooded, obstacle heavy in the front 9 to more open, longer holes in the back 9. Some holes are very technical, bring a tight lined fairway driver or mid range. Once you find the tee area most teeboxes are easy to find and concrete.
Cons: Water comes to play in hole 1 (and a few others to a lesser degree) and I totally hate that hole since there are branches right around it you can snag and lose a disc. If you are new, play the short tee on hole 1 (its a short putt from that box). This course can be crowded at times, I tend to play early morning and that helps. The layout is a bit tricky, bring a map.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course and I've played it over 20 times. There is also a nearby disc golf store and occasionally there will be kids selling disks someone on the front 9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for technical shot selection. Hard because it is tight easy because it is mostly short holes. Only 9 & 18 are two drive holes and 9 really isn't that long. The trees and tee pad placement make is course challenging.
Cons: There is no real elevation change to speak of. Short course. Very Very crowded! Tee pads need some work.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: whereswenzel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, not too long, but still a good distance to be challenging.
Cons: Too many trees, and also easy to lose your disk in the water as the water is often right in the way of play.
Other Thoughts: A good course overall despite the obstacles.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a good course for first timers

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is big enough, there are usually people there who will be willing to help you find your disc if you lost it, great for intermediate players, good variations of difficulties through the course.
Cons: this is NOT the place to play your first game. Very tough for beginners, TOO MANY TREES, weird set up for navigating from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: this is the course i play on the most, being that i live so close to it, i DID play my first game here actually, luckily, i had a natural ability for getting the disc over the water hazards and not doing to bad for a first timer. Personally I find this course quite enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice wooded course

1    6/14/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: midsmalls
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and has a great flow from hole to hole. I personally thought it was damn near impossible to loose a disc as there are so many trails right off of the fairway.
Cons: BUSY BUSY BUSY we went on a rainy monday at 5pm and it was packed. Muddy when raining
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to beginners and seasoned vets alike. It has a real "UP north" feeling to it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but not great

2-4    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jeydax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed course, with many different types of holes. Long, winding holes. Hilly holes, tree holes, short holes... lots of different kinds make it a fun course. A long course to play for sure, but fun. The course will challenge pretty much all aspects of your game. Trees come into play on many holes, some water shots. The baskets themselves were nice, tees were all great.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs, and some of the holes are too "tight", in my opinion. Crowded course. Too much brush/trees in most holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the course itself is over-hyped. It is an extremely well designed course, no doubt, but wasn't *amazing* like some people have made it out to be around the Twin Cities. We played with a group of 4 and we all felt it was too easy to lose a disc. We spent a good 30 minutes trying to find some discs that were only a few feet off some of the holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    4/29/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes in the trees and out in the open. This lets you use your skill shots as well as just step back and throw it as hard as you can.
Cons: It was crowded when I played it, and it sounds like there are always a good deal of people at this course.
Other Thoughts: I will certainly play this course again, and I guess there is something to be said about a course that always has people at it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Course

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: DISC CRAFT BUZZ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really cool course with some water hole's on hole 1 and 9 there are lots of short holes as well, most of which are in the woods. also a few far hole's I play here almost every day it's a pretty basic fun course.
Cons: There's a lot of beginners at this course the past few years it's been getting worse and worse and now kaposia park and north vally are pay to play so people are swarming acorn it's kinda a wait I suggest going there before 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very fun to play, plenty of differant types of holes, most of them are wooded but there are 5 or so out in the open, be prepared to bring all your shots and get yourself out of some tight spots, overall alot of differant types of shots make this course really fun to paly
Cons: overall i like this course a lot, however it is showing its age a little bit, the dirt in a few places is beginning to show some roots and stumps, also a few fo the tee pads need some work.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses, the front 9 is a little easier than the back, if you throw great shots you can score low but big numbers are out there if you have a few wayword drives, and if the wind is blowing pretty good this course becomes even tougher than it is normally

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  DEEP and WOODISH

1    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: BOBriege
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for any range of players. I played with a young 10 year old, experienced other, and another person my age just starting out and everyone was involved and enjoyed the course.

Each hole demands a different approach and makes think about your set ups and approaches. I was using types of shots I've never had been forced to use and loved the challenge.
Cons: Be prepared to hit trees if you're not comfortable with your flight paths, with the exception of 4 holes or so it's a great amount of wood holes. This may be frustrating to those just starting.

Hard course to get a good first impression but it is possible.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved the course and played it very well for my level. Recommended to all levels and for those looking for a course demanding accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.