St. Paul (Roseville), MN 
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #17
3 / 235ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Layout is Great, Everything Else is Meh

1    7/27/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +First and foremost and hopefully most important to most people on this course- The layout itself is absolutely wonderful. Most of the holes aren't too long but there are a number of tight holes, blind holes, or holes with ideal landing zones that you need to hit in order to score well. I normally throw forehand and this course made me throw 4-5 backhand shots off the tee.
+Layout is good for all levels. It does make you hit shots but isn't too long so it is approachable by many levels of players.
+Parking is adequate, there is a porta potty, first tee is right there. There is a playground, tennis courts, ball fields for the non disc golfers.
+Tees are asphalt and baskets are all there and adequate.
+Dual tees on some holes.
+Nothing huge for elevation but most holes involve some amount of up or down.
Cons: -The flow of this course is the worst thing about it. I skipped a hole once and found it later by accident, there are paths through the woods and asphalt paths and it is hard to tell where to go. The tees are roughly labeled and you may or may not be at the right one. There are no signs and the baskets aren't labeled. You might throw at the wrong basket a few times as well.
-Garbage and graffiti are prevalent on this course.
-This course can be very busy and overcrowded.
-The tees and baskets are showing their age. The baskets are often very hard to see as they are faded and old. The tees are small and some of them are in rough shape.
-A lot of the wooded holes are very short and pretty uniform in length. This is definitely not a championship course.
-Lots of erosion here, this course is old.
Other Thoughts: +If this course got a few upgrades, it could be a 4 disc course. I had a lot of fun playing many of these holes and would really like to see new pads and signs at least. Baskets would be nice too but things to aid in navigation and throwing would be the first priority. This course is a must play if you live in the metro or are a visitor with a few days to play here. Of course Bryant, Kaposia and BRP are the first 3 to play but this course belongs in the next ring of courses with Lakewood, Valley, Crown, CP Adams, and a few others.
+It is always fun for me to play courses that are older than I am. A piece of MN disc golf history right here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/14/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: - The challenge of this course is awesome! My friend told me about this course and said it was one of the best free courses around and I can't deny that!
- Lot's of different shots using everything you got in the bag to make the hole.
- Great location, busier park but awesome scenery for a city park.
- Elevation changes all throughout the park.
- Depending on the time you go, you can fly through 18 holes quickly.
- Good mix of long and short holes, a few Ace Runs throughout.
- Lots of knowledgeable players from young and old, older guys always are telling stories of how they played this course as a kid.
- Every time I have played I haven't had to deal with bugs a whole lot, just a few.
Cons: - A very confusing layout the first time you go, make sure you bring someone who has played it before or you will end up lost looking for some holes.
- Very hectic course come weekends, my first day playing this course I would say there was at least 20 groups of people on this course, people where everywhere.
- A few water hazards can really screw you, first hole you can have a great drive and your disc may start to fade and you'll hit a huge oak and end in the drink.
- Can get very muddy and very wet after rain, haven't had to deal with major flooding issues yet though.
- Can be a tough course some days just depends on the weather, I hate playing this course in windy conditions.
- Lot's of drinking and smoking going on, slowing down play for everyone else.
Other Thoughts: - Add some signage for next holes.
- Clean up knocked down trees.
- Make a bigger parking lot, very small lot for being such a popular course.
- Some reconstruction to some of the tee pads would be nice, they have shown wear and tear over the last 30 years.
- Overall a great course, highly recommend playing this course if your anywhere near it, even if you aren't close it's well worth the drive. Just make sure you have someone with you who's played before, like I said it's a confusing layout for new players.

Decent Course for in the city

5+    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes. Blacktop Tee-pads that aren't slippery. Very Wooded and plenty of water holes.
Cons: Some of the holes are hard to navigate, best to find someone that knows the course. Not very well marked. Holes are too close to together on a few, so you have to keep watch so you don't get hit. Usually have to wait to play in the summer. Too many holes near walking paths.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great potential, lack of maintenance

1    9/21/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park
- Great hole variation
- Decent baskets
- Good mix of wooded/open holes
Cons: - Major lack of direction/signage
- Horrible tee-pads (sometimes you're better off not throwing from the tee-pad)
- General lack of maintenance
Other Thoughts: There are quite a few DGCs in the Twin Cities and in its surrounding areas, and most of them have the potential to be great courses. When looking at courses like Blue Ribbon Pines or Bryant Lake Park, you see a great course both from the technical aspects of the game, all the way down to the nice landscaping and navigational signs to ensure players never get lost.

When I went to Acorn Park for the first time, we weren't quite sure where the first tee was, and ended up looking around by the 18th hole for a while because the "rules" sign was by the last hole and not the first for some reason. After getting direction from another player, we found the first hole and started the course.

One thing I did not particularly enjoy about my first visit to Acorn Park was how busy it was, but honestly if it hadn't been this busy we probably would not have been able to navigate the course. At least 4 or 5 times throughout the day we ended up in a spot where we didn't quite know where to go next. The worst case was on Hole 9 where after finishing, you can see the basket for Hole 10, but there's no indication of where the tee is and you actually need to walk downhill in the woods to get there.

Other than the poor signage, the tee-pads were the only other real bother at Acorn Park. The tee-pad on hole is un-usable as it is deeply cracked right in the middle. Some other tee-pads were very short as well.

Once you've sifted out the bad about Acorn Park, you can really start to take away all the good that this course has to offer. The photos that were uploaded are a great example of some of the beautiful views offered by a few holes at Acorn Park, especially in the wooded areas, but definitely when you come out of the woods as well.

There were definitely a few tricky holes as well, some required your shot to hook far left, some far right, and others required you to throw a certain distance to avoid water (hole #1), or to avoid landing in bushes/rough (holes #8, #13?, #18).

This course also neighbors both Lakewood Hills (White Bear Lake), and Kaposia Park (St. Paul), which can provide an all-day event for disc golf for those who are up to the challenge. When we played, we hit Lakewood Hills first and then came here, and that worked out perfect.

At the end of the day Acorn Park is a Very Good course, and could easily become an Excellent course with the simple addition of some signposts. (Although some new tee-pads on select holes wouldn't hurt either).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

one

1    5/15/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 71  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every type of shot is required here. Good open space and wooded area. Frequent elevation change without it being significant drops or ups at a time. Few multiple tee pad for short throwers.
Cons: Good luck finding your way without asking someone or being without anyone who has played here before. The baskets are hidden most of the time so you have to run up lookin for it. Swamp water on a few holes. Hole one looked very gross and unappealing thankfully the rest of the course isnt like that. Other water hazards seem a little more natural. Very crowded course.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Pretty challenging. Use just about every type of shot. Beginners might struggle a bit. Hole 16 and 17 kind of seem like filler holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, but Needs Improvement

5+    8/10/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
Pros: The layout of the course is great, but it needs significant improvement. The course offers a wide variety of holes and shots, both in the open and in the woods that require some technical shots. The course also offers several holes with some elevation change, which makes for some fun shots. There are also plenty of birdie opportunities out on the course, which makes it fun to play.
Cons: The tee pads, especially on hole 2, are just awful. The walking paths and some brush throughout the course needs to be cleaned up and improved, along with some erosion control. There are many wet areas that must be avoided after a rainfall, as the course can get very muddy in the woods. Although there are plenty of garbage cans, there is also quite a bit a trash around the tee pads that could use some cleaning up. The course is also very popular and always packed on a nice day, which makes for a very slow round.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait until they make this course pay to play so the tee pads get replaced, quality signs get put up, walking paths are improved, and to overall help clean up the course. Pay to play would also eliminate some of the riff raff and rec players. Once I see these improvements in this course, I would gladly rate this course a 4.0

Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/24/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a good sized park that has some hills, water, and woods. There are some extra activities away from the course, so a walking path is the only source of interference. Should be free and clear for DG.
- A lot of the holes here are set in the woods, either in a lot of skinny trees, or fairways carved out of gnarly woods. Those in the skinny trees include #1, a shot over water and through a gap or two that finishes right at the end. #2 is another RHFH shot around the trees, #3 is an uphill flick shot with lots of little trees to get around, #4 is a little bitty hyzer shot, #5 is uphill with a few lines to choose from, #10 is pretty much straight, #14 is a little hyzer that drops off to the pin behind a big tree, there is a good variety of lines here, that need good accuracy to hit the pin. Overall, these holes are pretty short, so there is a lot of deuce or die.
- The holes with wider fairways, but thicker rough, pose a different challenge - these are longer with more hazardous areas to find. #6 is a downhill hyzer with nastiness on both sides and water on the right near the pin, #7 also has a lot of crap to avoid directly on the fairway, and #8 is a hyzer over swampy water. Must stay on the fairway, but also on the 'good' parts of the fairway. #9 is trickier, a 475' toss with water left, lots of trees right, and a pin tucked under pine trees. #11 is a longer downhill hyzer over thick rough, with a gap in the woods, and #15 is a tighter uphill shot with big trouble on the right.
- A few holes are a little more open at the end of the course, but are still challenging. #16 is the most straightforward, a 327' shot up and over a hill, while #17 is a downhill shot with trees surrounding the pin. #18 is a very cool hole; the tee shot is over some woods and through a gap, to an open area. Then it is an uphill fairway, with the pin behind a large cluster of trees, open to either a righty or lefty shot, or maybe even a tall overhand, but definitely not straight.
- Elevation changes here aren't too extreme, except for the last couple holes, but it is noticeable on many holes. Uphill shots in the woods are pretty common, and some longer downhill shots over some rough areas.
- Baskets are OK, teepads are fine, signs are not so good. Map is probably a good thing to have the first time through.
Cons: - The holes in the woods are pretty, pretty short. A lot of putter shots with five of them under 215'. The lines are tough, but they are still just approach shots for the most part.
- Seems pretty hyzer heavy, especially on the longer holes. Or, at worst, a straight shot. #1 and #12 might be the only ones that don't accept a RHBH hyzer.
- Asphalt tees jut out from the ground, and the lack of tee signs hurts. A little rough around the edges.
Other Thoughts: - Course itself offers a good variety of holes, there are the shorter ones with good line shaping skills needed, longer holes that offer plenty of hazards on longer shots, and some open holes with tougher approaches. A few longer holes are pretty tough, mainly #9 and #18. Short tees are really short, and good for beginners, long tees are good for more experienced players. Worth checking out at least once, for any skill level, though advanced players will be able to crush the score.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ghetto

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging course with lots of woods area for difficult shots.
-Some open holes. 16-18 are in open fields, good finish to a long course in the thick of the woods.
-Fun intermediate course. If possible, go with somebody who has gone before. The challenge of finding your way around takes away from some of the fun.
Cons: -There is no map and nothing is clearly marked. Most of the tee boxes didn't even have posts saying what hole you were on. Or there were posts with non-legible markings.
-Ground cover was mostly dirt, and after rain it is really messy and soft.
-Lots of graffiti everywhere. Mostly inappropriate, some of it is comical.
-Some water hazards, water looks diseased.
-Not for beginners. Unless you are a good beginner with lots of patience.
-Easy to lose discs almost every shot.
Other Thoughts: -Basically a run down version of Plymouth creek park in Plymouth, MN.
-Bring bug spray.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    4/12/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: Riley M
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Benches
-Garbage Cans
-Aspalt Tee's
Cons: I don't have any Cons
Other Thoughts: I love this course and any time I'm in St. Paul I play This course. If your near St. Paul I really suggest this course. I also heard this course has the most foot traffic in the world.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not like I remembered it....

1    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of shots (nice use of the elevation that's available, good balance - seemed to be slightly dogleg right finish heavy, nice open/wooded balance, you have several ace run opportunities)
- The water hazards seem about right. Shouldn't be too much of a challenge for someone with nominal skill/control, but challenging enough to make you think twice about your shot. The pond right on hole one is a shock to the system though - would be nice to have a few holes to warm up.
- Concrete tee pads
- Multiple tee pads and pin locations on some holes.
- Laid out well enough to be challenging without being brutal. You could shoot very well, but fairways are just tight enough, trees are just in a certain location that an errant throw will cost you strokes.
Cons: - Signs = non-existent (and therefore navigation = challenging for a visitor). I knocked the review down 1/2 point for this. There are posts, so clearly the signs have been ripped off, but what about some woodworker routing out distances and an arrow for next tee at least? Thank goodness for DGCR on the iPhone to pull up a course map.
- The walking paths could be a problem. I had a guy walk a dog right across a fairway. He was cool about it - joking "go ahead and throw". I hit most of my fairways, but with the proximity of the walking paths, I could see a slight mis-throw causing some damage (to an unsuspecting pedestrian).
- Very heavily worn (see copious comments in other reviews).
- When I played, Hole 12 had 13 written on it - wasted several minutes of my life looking for the basket.
- What's up with not throwing trash in the can that is literally 10 feet from the bench that it's sitting on?
Other Thoughts: This was one of the first courses I "played" with a buddy before I played disc golf. Both of us lost a disc in the drink on hole one. I had some time on work travel to catch an early morning round (on the course before 7). It was a glorious morning, I only saw 3 other disc golfers (so come on a weekday morning, and you won't experience the delay that has so often been mentioned in other reviews). I remember this course as "super long - who can throw a frisbee that far". I had an enjoyable time having several deuce chances in my round without knowing the local lines - seeing some of the skill I have built up. I could see playing this course and learning the lines and arm slots to allow deuce chances on many of the holes. If the course was crowded, it may not be worth the wait, but if you ever get this course to yourself - it's well worth the time to play it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.