St. Paul (Roseville), MN
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #16
3 / 231ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wonderful design, but old & run down

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 21  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well designed course with a nice mix of wooded, open, long, short, hyzers, anhyzers, etc. You'll need pretty much every type of throw here.
-Decent enough tee pads, they look like chunks of old blacktop but they work
-Water hazards are nicely incorporated (however one of the ponds was dry and another one was getting pretty close). Can't fault the course for that though, it's been mighty dry here this year.
-The underbrush is cleared away fairly decently from most holes
-Many holes have benches at the tees
Cons: -The whole course had a very run down, dirty feeling about it
-I've never seen so much graffiti in my life, and a lot of it was pretty inappropriate stuff
-Some of the baskets were getting pretty beat up
-The water hazards were extremely unappealing to look at (think fungus and algae)
-Navigation can be mildly confusing the first time here, but it wasn't terrible
-There were quite a few unsavory looking people hanging around throughout the course, and while I didn't see anybody doing something questionable it wouldn't surprise me
-The signs are pointless; half of them don't even have numbers on them
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly old, and it shows. A lot of areas where there should be grass have been reduced to well-traveled gravel which I assume would get very muddy and nasty after a rain. This is especially prevalent around the baskets and right after the tee pads. This fact is exacerbated by all of the traffic this course gets as it is one of the most played courses around, by prepared to wait at each tee.
The course felt very dirty. It probably doesn't make a whole lot of sense but once you go there for the first time you'll see what I'm talking about. Everything has graffiti on it. The tee pads, while still acceptable, are getting worn down. The baskets are beaten up. The ponds are gross. Some of the people there look like they might have bathed in those ponds… you get the picture. I realize the only way to fix some of that is to charge a fee, but it's worth noting.
Navigation for the most part wasn't too bad, I only got turned around once; and it's possible that was because it was getting pretty dark out. The signs are 4x4s stuck in the ground that may or may not have a hole number written on it in Sharpie. The signs are worthless. Also, some of the baskets did not have hole numbers on them either, although no baskets are close enough to each other for it to get confusing in that regard.
On to some positives now: this course is a very nice layout. It provides you with the opportunity to throw all your discs using all your throwing styles. There are elevation changes on a number of holes as well as water. Between those two challenges and trees there is something to be weary of on every hole on the course; there is essentially only one "wide open" hole. I was fairly skeptical of the course after pulling into the parking lot, but give it a chance it; you won't be disappointed. With some equipment maintenance and some TLC this would be one of the top courses in the region and I would most likely consider giving it a 4.5… but, because of the general disrepair of the course I'll elect to give it a 3.5 with the potential for so much more. I certainly would come back to this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Design

2-4    8/1/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 23  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very popular course, due to it being a good free course in the twin cities. The hole designs are very nice, and most holes have lots of trees to throw around. This leads to a large variety of throws.

The water hazards are used well (starting off right away with hole 1), and there are a few holes with interesting elevation changes. Definitely some of the best hole design I've seen in a free course (keep in mind I'm a beginner to intermediate player).
Cons: Graffiti is rampant.
The course is crowded at most times.
The grass has been trampled down into dirt in many places, harming the beauty of the park.
Between 2 and 3 you need to walk past another tee box, which can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated this higher if some grass was planted and the graffiti problem was taken care of. Disregarding those issues, this is a very nice course.

Definitely worth a stop if you are in the cities and don't want to pay to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Intermediate Course Showing It's Age!

1    7/15/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played very early on a lovely July morning so wasn't bothered by the crowds here. I met up with Dennis part way through and he showed me the way. Everything here is showing it's age. The signs are old with lots of grafitti. The teepads are older, some are smaller than you would want. This is an intermediate length course that has had a lot of use over the years. It's fairly tight in places and has has some nice enjoyable ACE runs. # 4 and # 5 are both cool little ACE runs. # 17 was a difficult teeoff through a narrow slot in the trees with it's basket hidden in the trees, probably one of the tougher holes on the course.

And # 18 was a fun ending hole giving you (or me at least) a chance to let one rip downhill.

A doe walked out of the brush probably 75 feet from me and just sat and watched me. I looked at her and she looked at me. It was pretty cool with us just checking each other out for probably 2-3 minutes. A chance for a little nature in a metro park setting.
Cons: Advanced to pro players won't find the challenge here that they're looking for but, Hey, there's plenty of other courses in the Twin Cities area that provides them the challenge they're needing.

Everything here felt a little dingy and old and rundown, from the signs to the pads to the baskets and combined with the litter and grafitti, it just left the experience kinda empty for me. I can't quite explain it but I wanted more because I mostly liked this course and park.
Other Thoughts: One thing I really liked about Acorn DGC is the fact that they (I don't really know who they is) have left the orginal course in it's orginal length/distance. No-one has come in and moved this basket 50 feet farther back into the bushes to make that hole harder and thus ruined the orginal beauty or pin placement. Where I hail from, (Washington state), on a couple of my favorite courses, the advanced to pro players have moved every basket on courses like Acorn, trying to make them more challenging. And the courses are now confusing with 5 different layouts. Acorn retains it orginal solid intermediate course design. It works well.

Acorn could really be served well by putting in new signs. Many of the area courses (Brockway for one) have the simple signs that are vandal proof. Just a pole sticking out of the ground with the # and distance. The local teens seem to love to beat up the white fiberglass metal ones.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great combo of wooded and open holes, along with a great combo of long and short holes. The mix up of holes makes for some great play.
- Some elevation changes are quite fun.
Cons: - Extremely crowded
- Wooded areas have many bugs
- Some of the tee boxes are poor
- The course retains water after it rains
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play. As stated by others, the traffic makes the gameplay slow and difficult sometimes, but aside from that it is a very fun course to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So Busy

2-4    6/2/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course it self is very fun. There are water shots, heavily wooded shots, and long bomb shots.
Multiple tee locations on most holes brings added challenge and variety to the game.

Long tee on hole 18 is downright awesome.
Cons: The traffic there is terrible. It is ALWAYS very busy. This unfortunately brings my rating of the course down.

There is no signage there. It is very easy to get lost if you don't know where you are going. Some tee pads aren't even marked.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course just wish there were more great courses in the area to reduce the traffic at Acorn.

Please get some signs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the course is sufficating

5+    3/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Acorn is a course that has suffered from it's popularity. As one of the old guard disc golf courses in the metro, all of the following ailments plague the course; lack of maintenance is an understatement, overcrowding (understatement), vandalism (for a good time call your mom) and litter. Beyond these characteristics that many older courses ail from, Acorn is a well designed, enjoyable course. It may lack some of the qualifiers that championship courses have these days, but it's a fun round regardless.
Acorn has great hole variety for the time it was made. Hole one starts off an easy shot over the grossest pond in the metro. I've played acorn a lot over 10 years, I don't think I've ever seen the water remotely translucent. So what could be an easy hole gets your nerves going a little bit. From there on holes alternate up and down hills, close and far range, in clearings and wooded areas.
Concrete pads- it's got them, not always the best shape, but there.
Open year round - you figure it out.
Alternative pin locations - It's nice to have things change up a bit on a course that is well known.
Cons: Pace- Acorn is a course I find to have really bad pace. With the amount of players that move through there, there are some places for major backups. At least at most places of the most common back-ups there are makeshift benches to enjoy a refreshing drink and smoke.
Hole 4&5 are kinda garbage holes - Two shorties in a row that lead to what point 1) major backups.
The kidz - It's crowded, sometimes with folks that may not be familiar with proper disc etiquette or punks that need to be put down. I'm a fan of the classic helmet line "fire a warning shot across their nose" and if you happen to fire up it instead of across it, claim to be an asshole and play through.
Signage - is non-existent. Luckily, unless it's -20 there will probably be someone in front of you to show you where to go, just watch out for 3/10 mixup.
Pads- Signage Some of the pads really need help, and the pro tee on 12 needs to become more official.
Other Thoughts: Acorn is a fun course, but I tend to stick away from it during peak hours of the season. Late in the year the traffic tends to die off considerably, sallys.
Also Fairway Flierz is a nice dg store about a mile away and the gas station on the corner of rice and c sells gottago discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A decent course in need of repair

5+    8/4/2010   3/26/2011
Review By: coolbrees15
Played: 457  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For its age and amount of land available for use, Acorn is a well thought out and designed course. The city of Roseville really gets the most out of the land available. None of the holes are overly long and the only hole that is really championship caliber is 18 when the basket is at the long placement. The course does allow for a variety of shots and is fairly technical. It is a good step up course for newer players because it teaches accuracy and shot shaping. It is one of the few true 18 hole course on the north side of the twin cities.
Cons: There are several problems with the course. First, the course is not well maintained. The tee pads are poor. The pad for hole 2 is often flooded with water and is not level. The tee pad on 12 is so small that you can only can take one step before you reach the end of it. The course would be much better served if all the tee pads were replaced. The signage is the second problem on the course. Most of the holes have a wooden sign that says the hole number but no distance or par is listed. The only times when the distance or par is listed is when someone has written it in with a sharpie. The third issue with the park is on hole one. I like the challenge of throwing across the pond but I would prefer the city to trim the bushes directly in front of the tee up to the pond. Beside the course not being well maintained the biggest issue with the course is how much traffic the course gets on a daily basis. There are generally long lines and waits at most of the holes on the course. Most of the people playing the course are in large groups of 5 or 6 and do not have a firm grasp on disc golf etiquette. From the amount of traffic on the course the park takes a beating. There are several holes with erosion problems that seem to only get worse each year. The course is also a swamp pit after any precipitation.
Other Thoughts: If the course went to pay to play, I think a lot of the issues with the course could be resolved. The course is in dire need of a facelift. At one time the course was a good course but now it is merely average. The hole layouts do not need to be changed but the tee pads, signs, general wear and tear, and traffic on the course need to be improved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Most popular course in the Twin Cities

5+    2/10/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In some ways Acorn is a great beginner to intermediate level park. It's the quintessential "local course" for any suburban-city dweller. Short enough that anyone can play it. Long enough that good players will still be able to let a few drives rip at full power. Wooded enough that it's not just an open field. It presents a pretty good variety of shots without being overly punishing or difficult.

The front 8 are all birdies for anyone who can throw 300 feet and all very aceable. From there it gets a bit harder, but not much. It's below average difficulty when compared to other full length courses in the area. There is some funky water to contend with, but shooting around it from an alternate tee is always an option.

Acorn is a casual friendly course. Its got nice baskets, benches at a lot of the holes, and it flows pretty naturally. There are always enough people there that getting lost shouldn't be a problem.
Cons: It gets ungodly busy during peak hours in the spring, summer, and fall. The course only takes about an hour to play a leisurely round in a small group, but that can be doubled or tripled by wait times if you go on a weeknight or weekend. Lines of 10-20 people on hole one are not uncommon and large groups (6-10+) of complete noobs with no knowledge of etiquette appear regularly.

The quality of the teepads is inconsistent but they are serviceable.

There is a very legitimate chance of being hit by a disc or hitting someone else. I've seen it happen no less than 3 times in the hundreds of rounds I've played here. Acorn has a few blind drives near very busy walking paths and a lot of holes play next to each other or the path with no natural boundaries to block stray drives. In addition, despite the hundreds of disc golfers there every day, the park is frequented by a lot of people who just stroll around the course with no regard for the danger or inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: Acorn is an entertaining, pleasant course to play, if you get there at the right time of day. The earlier in the morning you go, the less likely you are to run into crowds, and more likely you are to find unmarked discs just laying around, lost the day before by some unfortunate beginners.

It's not the most challenging course. A skilled golfer will have fun racking up the birdies and a recreational player will have a decent chance at pars.

If you're new to the area, it's a good place to go to meet disc golfers when it's busy. If you're passing through, it's a nice place to stop by and play. If you live close by, it's a great place to play every day.

If you're looking to play a course in this area on a weeknight or weekend, go to Lakewood Hills or Kaposia instead.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Local Favorite

5+    10/22/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: omni
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a bit of everything! From tightly wooded, obstacle heavy in the front 9 to more open, longer holes in the back 9. Some holes are very technical, bring a tight lined fairway driver or mid range. Once you find the tee area most teeboxes are easy to find and concrete.
Cons: Water comes to play in hole 1 (and a few others to a lesser degree) and I totally hate that hole since there are branches right around it you can snag and lose a disc. If you are new, play the short tee on hole 1 (its a short putt from that box). This course can be crowded at times, I tend to play early morning and that helps. The layout is a bit tricky, bring a map.
Other Thoughts: This is my local course and I've played it over 20 times. There is also a nearby disc golf store and occasionally there will be kids selling disks someone on the front 9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for technical shot selection. Hard because it is tight easy because it is mostly short holes. Only 9 & 18 are two drive holes and 9 really isn't that long. The trees and tee pad placement make is course challenging.
Cons: There is no real elevation change to speak of. Short course. Very Very crowded! Tee pads need some work.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.