St. Paul (Roseville), MN 
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #6 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 259ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 An aging classic

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: MNcyclone
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Teepads on every hole are uniform in size
- Good mix of shots
- A good challenge for new players
- Its been here forever, a living piece of disc golf history
Cons: - Way overcrowded, one of the busiest courses in the country
- Most fairways are packed dirt from overuse
- Not a challenge for seasoned players
Other Thoughts: This was my first course back in 1990 playing with my dad. I have many fond memories of biking here after school for a round. It was re-done in the mid 90's to accommodate the changing landscape of disc golf. At the time it seemed like enough, but 20 years and warp speed drivers conspired to make the course outdated.

Here you will find a classic disc golf design. You know the shot you need to make as soon as you step up to the box. Every shot is within reach. All but 3 holes are deuce or die. But at the same time, none of the shots are the same. Acorn takes every variation of the 300' hole and puts it to use. Enjoyable if you are 8 down after 9, infuriating if you are stringing together pars.

The short holes and proximity to family neighborhoods makes Acorn a nightmare of overuse. In the peak summer hours you can expect a group of 6 on every pad and a 2 hour round. Police roam the walking paths because of the glut of humanity. The park benches are defaced and the terrain is eroded. Time has not been kind.

Despite all the shortcomings, when you play here realize that you are playing in a slice of MN disc golf history. The course was designed to accommodate the cyclone, the longest driver at the time of the renovation. Step back in time, bring a bag of lightning discs and have fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

1    10/3/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of woods and some more open shots. The wooded holes are short but offer some fun lines to hit and enough trees and scrubby rough that you'll have to work to recover if you miss the fairway. These holes felt pretty balanced with right and left turning holes, I mostly threw mids and putters but on a lot of different lines. There are a couple holes that let you open up and throw longer shots in the field portions of the course, most of these have some rough to contend with. A couple water hazards add some risky shots where you have to make a decision on how aggressive to be. The last hole is a fun way to end the round, 17 plays uphill and you're rewarded with a nice downhill shot to finish.
Cons: There are several shots that play along or over a walking path that seems well-used. A couple of those shots are blind, so without a spotter the danger goes up even more. There isn't a ton of challenge here, most of the course is deuce or die and doesn't test a lot of different skills. It feels very run down, with lots of scrubby brush and weeds off the fairways, and muddy eroded fairways in the woods. The signs are nonexistent, with several blind shots you'll end up doing quite a bit of scouting to know where to throw. The tees aren't in the best shape, many were slick or falling apart.
Other Thoughts: Beginners and intermediate level players will have a lot of fun here, it's not too punitive to be fun and the distances are reasonable. It's a great course for newer players to learn to shape different lines. More experienced players won't really be tested, but it's a nice shorter layout to work on mid and putter shots. A little work on signage and maintenance would go a long way here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Acorn - great for all abilities

5+    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: lteppen
Played: 110  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts in the woods, tight and technical. Hole #1 immediately challenges you with shot over a small pond. Shouldnt be a problem for most experienced players. Hole #2 forces a hard anheiser throw for RHBH throwers.

Holes 3 thru 8 meander through the woods with slight elevation changes testing all types of shots.

Course finally opens up long on #9. You can finally put 100% into your throw. Be carefull of a small pond on the left and swampy area if you go far and then left. Multiple pin placements can make this a tough par.

Holes 10-15 snake through the woods with some long and some short holes.

16-18 are out in the open with slight elevations up and down. Watch out for wind on these holes.

18 is a monster and ends up in the woods near tee off for hole #2.

One of the twin cities more popular courses. Good variety of shots required and course gives player good diversity of looks. Worth a round of time for sure if you are in the area. Good place to meet other discers, always popular.
Cons: Crowded on weekends. Gets bottle necked early on. Gets pretty chilly after October.
Other Thoughts: None

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful design, but old & run down

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well designed course with a nice mix of wooded, open, long, short, hyzers, anhyzers, etc. You'll need pretty much every type of throw here.
-Decent enough tee pads, they look like chunks of old blacktop but they work
-Water hazards are nicely incorporated (however one of the ponds was dry and another one was getting pretty close). Can't fault the course for that though, it's been mighty dry here this year.
-The underbrush is cleared away fairly decently from most holes
-Many holes have benches at the tees
Cons: -The whole course had a very run down, dirty feeling about it
-I've never seen so much graffiti in my life, and a lot of it was pretty inappropriate stuff
-Some of the baskets were getting pretty beat up
-The water hazards were extremely unappealing to look at (think fungus and algae)
-Navigation can be mildly confusing the first time here, but it wasn't terrible
-There were quite a few unsavory looking people hanging around throughout the course, and while I didn't see anybody doing something questionable it wouldn't surprise me
-The signs are pointless; half of them don't even have numbers on them
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly old, and it shows. A lot of areas where there should be grass have been reduced to well-traveled gravel which I assume would get very muddy and nasty after a rain. This is especially prevalent around the baskets and right after the tee pads. This fact is exacerbated by all of the traffic this course gets as it is one of the most played courses around, by prepared to wait at each tee.
The course felt very dirty. It probably doesn't make a whole lot of sense but once you go there for the first time you'll see what I'm talking about. Everything has graffiti on it. The tee pads, while still acceptable, are getting worn down. The baskets are beaten up. The ponds are gross. Some of the people there look like they might have bathed in those ponds… you get the picture. I realize the only way to fix some of that is to charge a fee, but it's worth noting.
Navigation for the most part wasn't too bad, I only got turned around once; and it's possible that was because it was getting pretty dark out. The signs are 4x4s stuck in the ground that may or may not have a hole number written on it in Sharpie. The signs are worthless. Also, some of the baskets did not have hole numbers on them either, although no baskets are close enough to each other for it to get confusing in that regard.
On to some positives now: this course is a very nice layout. It provides you with the opportunity to throw all your discs using all your throwing styles. There are elevation changes on a number of holes as well as water. Between those two challenges and trees there is something to be weary of on every hole on the course; there is essentially only one "wide open" hole. I was fairly skeptical of the course after pulling into the parking lot, but give it a chance it; you won't be disappointed. With some equipment maintenance and some TLC this would be one of the top courses in the region and I would most likely consider giving it a 4.5… but, because of the general disrepair of the course I'll elect to give it a 3.5 with the potential for so much more. I certainly would come back to this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Design

2-4    8/1/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very popular course, due to it being a good free course in the twin cities. The hole designs are very nice, and most holes have lots of trees to throw around. This leads to a large variety of throws.

The water hazards are used well (starting off right away with hole 1), and there are a few holes with interesting elevation changes. Definitely some of the best hole design I've seen in a free course (keep in mind I'm a beginner to intermediate player).
Cons: Graffiti is rampant.
The course is crowded at most times.
The grass has been trampled down into dirt in many places, harming the beauty of the park.
Between 2 and 3 you need to walk past another tee box, which can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated this higher if some grass was planted and the graffiti problem was taken care of. Disregarding those issues, this is a very nice course.

Definitely worth a stop if you are in the cities and don't want to pay to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Intermediate Course Showing It's Age!

1    7/15/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played very early on a lovely July morning so wasn't bothered by the crowds here. I met up with Dennis part way through and he showed me the way. Everything here is showing it's age. The signs are old with lots of grafitti. The teepads are older, some are smaller than you would want. This is an intermediate length course that has had a lot of use over the years. It's fairly tight in places and has has some nice enjoyable ACE runs. # 4 and # 5 are both cool little ACE runs. # 17 was a difficult teeoff through a narrow slot in the trees with it's basket hidden in the trees, probably one of the tougher holes on the course.

And # 18 was a fun ending hole giving you (or me at least) a chance to let one rip downhill.

A doe walked out of the brush probably 75 feet from me and just sat and watched me. I looked at her and she looked at me. It was pretty cool with us just checking each other out for probably 2-3 minutes. A chance for a little nature in a metro park setting.
Cons: Advanced to pro players won't find the challenge here that they're looking for but, Hey, there's plenty of other courses in the Twin Cities area that provides them the challenge they're needing.

Everything here felt a little dingy and old and rundown, from the signs to the pads to the baskets and combined with the litter and grafitti, it just left the experience kinda empty for me. I can't quite explain it but I wanted more because I mostly liked this course and park.
Other Thoughts: One thing I really liked about Acorn DGC is the fact that they (I don't really know who they is) have left the orginal course in it's orginal length/distance. No-one has come in and moved this basket 50 feet farther back into the bushes to make that hole harder and thus ruined the orginal beauty or pin placement. Where I hail from, (Washington state), on a couple of my favorite courses, the advanced to pro players have moved every basket on courses like Acorn, trying to make them more challenging. And the courses are now confusing with 5 different layouts. Acorn retains it orginal solid intermediate course design. It works well.

Acorn could really be served well by putting in new signs. Many of the area courses (Brockway for one) have the simple signs that are vandal proof. Just a pole sticking out of the ground with the # and distance. The local teens seem to love to beat up the white fiberglass metal ones.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great combo of wooded and open holes, along with a great combo of long and short holes. The mix up of holes makes for some great play.
- Some elevation changes are quite fun.
Cons: - Extremely crowded
- Wooded areas have many bugs
- Some of the tee boxes are poor
- The course retains water after it rains
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play. As stated by others, the traffic makes the gameplay slow and difficult sometimes, but aside from that it is a very fun course to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So Busy

2-4    6/2/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course it self is very fun. There are water shots, heavily wooded shots, and long bomb shots.
Multiple tee locations on most holes brings added challenge and variety to the game.

Long tee on hole 18 is downright awesome.
Cons: The traffic there is terrible. It is ALWAYS very busy. This unfortunately brings my rating of the course down.

There is no signage there. It is very easy to get lost if you don't know where you are going. Some tee pads aren't even marked.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course just wish there were more great courses in the area to reduce the traffic at Acorn.

Please get some signs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the course is sufficating

5+    3/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Acorn is a course that has suffered from it's popularity. As one of the old guard disc golf courses in the metro, all of the following ailments plague the course; lack of maintenance is an understatement, overcrowding (understatement), vandalism (for a good time call your mom) and litter. Beyond these characteristics that many older courses ail from, Acorn is a well designed, enjoyable course. It may lack some of the qualifiers that championship courses have these days, but it's a fun round regardless.
Acorn has great hole variety for the time it was made. Hole one starts off an easy shot over the grossest pond in the metro. I've played acorn a lot over 10 years, I don't think I've ever seen the water remotely translucent. So what could be an easy hole gets your nerves going a little bit. From there on holes alternate up and down hills, close and far range, in clearings and wooded areas.
Concrete pads- it's got them, not always the best shape, but there.
Open year round - you figure it out.
Alternative pin locations - It's nice to have things change up a bit on a course that is well known.
Cons: Pace- Acorn is a course I find to have really bad pace. With the amount of players that move through there, there are some places for major backups. At least at most places of the most common back-ups there are makeshift benches to enjoy a refreshing drink and smoke.
Hole 4&5 are kinda garbage holes - Two shorties in a row that lead to what point 1) major backups.
The kidz - It's crowded, sometimes with folks that may not be familiar with proper disc etiquette or punks that need to be put down. I'm a fan of the classic helmet line "fire a warning shot across their nose" and if you happen to fire up it instead of across it, claim to be an asshole and play through.
Signage - is non-existent. Luckily, unless it's -20 there will probably be someone in front of you to show you where to go, just watch out for 3/10 mixup.
Pads- Signage Some of the pads really need help, and the pro tee on 12 needs to become more official.
Other Thoughts: Acorn is a fun course, but I tend to stick away from it during peak hours of the season. Late in the year the traffic tends to die off considerably, sallys.
Also Fairway Flierz is a nice dg store about a mile away and the gas station on the corner of rice and c sells gottago discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A decent course in need of repair

5+    8/4/2010   3/26/2011
Review By: coolbrees15
Played: 566  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For its age and amount of land available for use, Acorn is a well thought out and designed course. The city of Roseville really gets the most out of the land available. None of the holes are overly long and the only hole that is really championship caliber is 18 when the basket is at the long placement. The course does allow for a variety of shots and is fairly technical. It is a good step up course for newer players because it teaches accuracy and shot shaping. It is one of the few true 18 hole course on the north side of the twin cities.
Cons: There are several problems with the course. First, the course is not well maintained. The tee pads are poor. The pad for hole 2 is often flooded with water and is not level. The tee pad on 12 is so small that you can only can take one step before you reach the end of it. The course would be much better served if all the tee pads were replaced. The signage is the second problem on the course. Most of the holes have a wooden sign that says the hole number but no distance or par is listed. The only times when the distance or par is listed is when someone has written it in with a sharpie. The third issue with the park is on hole one. I like the challenge of throwing across the pond but I would prefer the city to trim the bushes directly in front of the tee up to the pond. Beside the course not being well maintained the biggest issue with the course is how much traffic the course gets on a daily basis. There are generally long lines and waits at most of the holes on the course. Most of the people playing the course are in large groups of 5 or 6 and do not have a firm grasp on disc golf etiquette. From the amount of traffic on the course the park takes a beating. There are several holes with erosion problems that seem to only get worse each year. The course is also a swamp pit after any precipitation.
Other Thoughts: If the course went to pay to play, I think a lot of the issues with the course could be resolved. The course is in dire need of a facelift. At one time the course was a good course but now it is merely average. The hole layouts do not need to be changed but the tee pads, signs, general wear and tear, and traffic on the course need to be improved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.