St. Paul (Roseville), MN 
Acorn Park Share
Uploaded By: sheepweevil Hole #8 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  DEEP and WOODISH

1    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: BOBriege
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course for any range of players. I played with a young 10 year old, experienced other, and another person my age just starting out and everyone was involved and enjoyed the course.

Each hole demands a different approach and makes think about your set ups and approaches. I was using types of shots I've never had been forced to use and loved the challenge.
Cons: Be prepared to hit trees if you're not comfortable with your flight paths, with the exception of 4 holes or so it's a great amount of wood holes. This may be frustrating to those just starting.

Hard course to get a good first impression but it is possible.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved the course and played it very well for my level. Recommended to all levels and for those looking for a course demanding accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jibbinmaster
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: This course has a bit of everything. The front 9 is mostly shorter to medium length holes with trees but still fairly open baskets. There are a few well placed water hazards, which are more like swamps.
The 9th hole can easily be played as a par 4, as its one of the longest holes on the course, especially when the wind is blowing since its the first hole to really open up from the trees.
The back 9 starts getting very technical, lots of well placed trees, for instance on the 11th hole the pin is tucked inbetween about 5 or 6 trees circling it, making a clear shot at the pin almost unheard of. This course will make you think, which is always more fun than being bored.
The last three holes are on open mowed grass hills, with nice elevation changes and when the wind is blowing, offers quite a challenge.
Cons: If you are a beginner, i would reccomend going with someone who has played the course at least once. I dont think this course is too hard for a beginner but its very common to not be able to see the pin from the back tee boxes, and the tee boxes can sometimes be hidden. Watch out because you could easily innadvertantly walk right into the middle of a hole and not notice, ive seen a few people almost get hit. Watch for walkers and bikers travelling the paths that run alongside most of the course as well.
Other Thoughts: Everyone here is very friendly, you would have no problem playing through, or when its busy and im just with one other friend I often will just play with a 2some i meet on a tee box or something. Be aware of law enforcement as well, as it is right off rice street they will patrol on the sidewalks along the course randomly, which is a pretty amusing sight to say the least. Have fun and enjoy.

 Great Skill Park

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers one of the 'more' intimidating 1st holes out there, offering 3 tee locations. One over the "water" which is more like a biohazard swamp, one to the left which skirts it, and one to the right which bypasses it altogether. If you dont have confidence in your throw, borrow a friends disc.

Otherwise the course offers a good variety of holes and shots, you often need to avoid trees, and the back 9 offers 3-4 "open" holes.

There is a Secret teebox on 15 that offers one of the most entertaining shots on the course. Directly to the left while standing on the concrete box there is a path, to the left of the path there is a patch of dirt with a wooden post. that offers a difficult right to left bank shot, and one of the biggest turns on the course.

Everyone is super friendly, and are more than happy to have people play through, or play right behind so they dont get lost.

Its compact and parking is easy, plus the gas station down the road caters to the park, has discs for sale, and is easy to run down to.
Cons: The 'water' hazards are more mud-pit than anything else and can be awful to retrieve discs from if not impossible.

Download and print the PDF of the course map, if you dont have it you will get lost. People always jump from #2 to #9 by accident.

For whatever reason, in the 30+ times ive played this course, there always seems to be the kids tossing beer cans, or people playing multiple discs that slows down the game - it is a BUSY park. Waiting is never that long.

It is easy to lose discs on just about every hole if you arent careful.

Same goes for damage. Ive cracked a couple discs on errant tee-shots that smacked directly into one of the MANY tree obstacles in the course, so be aware.
Other Thoughts: I have been playin this course for the last few years and absolutely love it. The terrain is VERY challenging to maintain par, and requires a good touch. Many reviews say 'not for new players' but i would disagree, we have taken many newbies out and they loved it just because of how fun it was to play. Some people love the 'golf course' approach to disc with wide, open, long fairways. Where is the challenge in that? For those of us that dont have a cannon for an arm, but can still toss 250-300 on a solid drive, this place is a blast to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too Tough

2-4    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: very diverse with lots of nature and trees.
Cons: finding your way around this course is a nightmare due to the lack of posted signs, trees everywhere, and tees in different spots. i do NOT recommend this course for begginers either. while the course does become more fun to play with time, it makes a lousy first impression.
Other Thoughts: it would be nice if they put up signs showing which hole you were on since navigating for 1st timers can is hard.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice layout, good mix of holes. not terribly difficult, only a couple holes that should not be at worst a 3 most of the time.
Cons: BUSY. play during the day to not have to wait, lots of litter. Starting to show it's age
Other Thoughts: Still a very good course, good mix of shots required, 17 is still one of my favorite holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OCILF (an Old Course I'd Like to Frolf)

5+    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Acorn is a shooter's course. Smart design and noticeable variety make it a decent challenge for players of different skill levels. Many reviewers have criticized its "weathered" attributes. But one positive effect of age is the refined nature of most of its holes, providing for some memorable rounds.

- You're immediately faced with a short but neat first hole, crossing over a pond. From there, you experience a nice mix of shot directions, open and wooded fairways, and adequate use of elevation (i.e. holes 3, 6, 9, 10, 15).

- Though the fairways are tight and occasionally run parallel to each other, I always feel like I'm faced with a completely different challenge than the proceeding/upcoming one. Too many courses either ignore or just can't achieve that quality.

- Even for a multi-use park, there's plenty of separation between the main park area and the scenic course grounds.
Cons: - The location and lack of 18-hole courses in the immediate north suburban area have helped make it a popular course. But fame takes its toll, especially in disc golf. Erosion, long waits during peak hours, litter, and reckless vandalism are all by-products of Acorn's location and popularity. There's also the dumbass(es) who treat the park as a fortress of drunken solitude.

- It covers a pretty healthy range of distance between 117 ft (hole 4) and 378 ft (hole 11). But only two holes, 9 (475) and 18 (421), go past 400 ft.

- Difficult for some first-timers to navigate.
Other Thoughts: - Despite the cons and other BS, I've had too much fun here to give it anything less than 4 stars. Whether you're scraping for par or going for consistent birdies, you will have a good time.

- I'm ecstatic to have the recently opened Elm Creek as another North Suburban option for an 18-hole game. Acorn needs all the player-traffic diversion it can get. That said, it would be nice to see a full-size course built somewhere between Roseville and Maple Grove (*cough* Shoreview *cough*).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A one-time jewel fades

5+    6/2/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of birdie opportunities for seasoned players, although simply hitting one of the many trees takes that deuce right out of contention. Holes 9 and 18 offer significant challenges for a three. Though many holes are heavily wooded, a few are out in the open. #17 is a wide-open downhill 275 footer which I think most of us enjoy playing. A good mix of hyzer and anhyzer holes
Cons: I've heard said that this is the most-played course in the Cities, and it shows. The erosion here is significant. Some of the tee pads are in fact eroding away. Roots are becoming exposed from erosion, and the over-crowding makes play slow. There's a heavy police presence often.
Other Thoughts: Acorn really is a cool course, but it's becoming a victim of its own popularity. Twin Cities DG is blowing up, and in this case, it's starting to eat its own.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Difficult course at times

5+    8/16/2008   6/25/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course that will make any disc golfer work to get par. So long as you take your time, and enjoy the course, this is a must play course. Beautiful and really very difficult course.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc on several holes, meaning you have to watch your throws and make sure they stay on track. not really clean, but that's fine, because its a frisbee golf course, and it can be dirty at times
Other Thoughts: A must play, if only for the first hole, with a pond between you and the basket

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I bet there are a lot of squirrels here!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 727  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very well designed course, using the features and very different sections of the property. Variety of tight wooded holes, a couple of forced water carries which is always fun and challenging. Even a couple air it out driver holes.

2) #1 hole is an awesome hole to start out with. It is picturesque having to throw over the water to a basket tucked well into the woods and protected by a few trees.

3) Baskets are in good shape and concrete (some need some work however) pads on all holes.

4) Posts by all tees help in navigation on a few holes.

5) Alternate teepads allow for a different course to be played. Some of them not only make the course easier but they also change the shot required, which also makes it a little more beginner friendly.
Cons: 1) Not beginner friendly, despite the duel teepads. The holes are easier from the forward tees, but the difficulty on most of the other holes outweighs the shorter distance.

2) Obviously this course gets a ton of play. Turf is thin in spots and completely bare in others. There isn;t much that can be done however, as it is just a simple fact of lots of play and the location of this course as one of the closer courses to the University campus will cause that.

3) A few of the teepads are not in the best shape but even poor concrete is better than dirt.

4) A handful of very unspectacular holes that are forgettable. Some of this comes from underbrush/weeds, and could be solved fairly easily, however I did play this in the late spring so mid season it may be more photogenic.
Other Thoughts: Another course I selected because of its 3.5 rating or higher. I have to rank this about the same. It didn;t meet enough of my standards to be a 4, but was still seriously enjoyable. Lots of fun shotmaking required which gets me everytime I have listed it in my favorites too, and man do I wish we had more courses like this here in Milwaukee. MN looks to have a few to spare!!!!

Maintenance brings this down a nothc, but the design and fun factor level out that penalty. It is in my favorites where some 3.5 star ratings didn;t make the cut to my favorites.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course... overcrowded.

5+    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: cmhouser
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Acorn is an excellent DGC that can be very challenging at times. They move the baskets here and there to keep you on your toes. Some holes are long letting golfers test their driving range while others are more of a test of finesse.
Cons: Can be trashy sometimes. Can be muddy. Very crowded on the weekends and afterhours.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course worth playing if you can get the time in during the week day afternoons.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.